reviews for: listing #474960vb - Playa Langosta, Costa Rica rental

5000sf Luxury Penthouse - 5BR/6BA, Pool Table, Jacuzzi and Expansive Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Tower
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 500 - $ 1,714 / night
    $ 3,494 - $ 12,000 / week
    $ 10,485 - $ 14,985 / month
  • sleeps  16
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Amazing penthouse with excellent views.......and more...

Review submitted: August 25, 2014   Date of arrival: August 13, 2014

The place was awsome, as soon as you walked in ti looked like it was shown in the website, which as I'm a skeptic i wouldn't beleive easily. The place was clean and organised and the views are great at the 6th floor. We had some minor issue of the A/C unit dripping water in the middle of the kitchen and the A/C in one of the other bedroom was not working , but were told that the maintenance guy will come and fix it next day and they came and worked on it and fixed it . So barring some minor inconvenieces we had an excellent time. The membership to the Langosta beach club was very helpful as well since you could spend time while bathing the beautiful pacific ocean. Though the waters of this ocean were very comfortable to stay in for as long you can, not as some of the southern CA pacific's COLD water.
We had a big family with eleven people and were all comfortable to stay there, and would highly recommend for big groups to stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The views.. ah the views. We didn’t want to leave!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

Throughout the entire process, from the initial inquiry, to booking, to our final departure, Bob and his team were excellent. Upon our arrival (very late in the evening) we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome by the in-house concierge, Sebastian, who stayed late and gave us a tour of our “home for the week”. He was kind, courteous, spoke English and knew the lay of the land very well! Our cooks were absolutely amazing and they prepared the most delectable meals. The cleaning ladies came everyday and were so kind and wonderful. I fully recommend the chef and maid service. We enjoyed the sights, returned to a clean “home” and relaxed in the jacuzzi on the wrap-around balcony while our meals were being prepared to perfection. Often times we would go on an excursion (they help you plan these, by the way) and then come back to a home cooked meal waiting for us. They completely cater to you and your needs. It felt so nice to be so pampered, even if it were only for the week. We felt safe and in great hands.
The villa is absolutely stunning. The pictures here are true, but they do not prepare you for the real beauty of the home. Each room was extremely spacious and tailored with nothing but luxury in mind. The view from every single room was spectacular and the sunsets, ay..ay..ay.. the sunsets. I miss those. We were a total of 16 with ages ranging from 5 to 53, including teenagers, and this villa had each and everyone of us in mind. There is ample room for everyone to hang out as a group and also ample room for anyone who wanted some time alone. We were a large group and the villa felt like it was made for us, but also some of the couples expressed how it felt as if they were in their own little suites as well. There was something for everyone in this villa. The amenities were great as well. The Playa Langosta Beach Club (included with your stay) was awesome. It was our very well thought out home away from home. It is was beautiful, comfortable, relaxing and very much enjoyable. We will be back and we will be staying here.
I can honestly say that none of the reviews listed here do this villa complete justice and I will add my own to the list. You have to visit, stay here and then you’ll see what I mean. You will not be disappointed.
Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Experience.. Fantastic Rental!

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

After lots of time searching for the perfect rental our group agreed on the playa longosta penthouse. This was our first time in Costa Rica. We were three seperate families 12 people in all. I have to say when I walked in I was pleasantly surprised. The pictures do not do the place justice. It was beautiful, bright and spacious. It never felt crowded. We had 6 kids age 8-12 in our party. They spent lots of time at the pool which we pretty much had all to ourselves. The cabana at the beach Club was a huge bonus. We spent lots of time there. Drinks were cheap..$2/beer...The dinner we had there was one of the best. The evening sunsets were amazing. Location was awesome. Always felt safe and secure. You can easily walk to town. I highly recommend this rental. .. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5 Star Experience!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

Incredibly happy I chose this penthouse for my recent Tamarindo trip. I couldn't ask for more. The penthouse itself was immaculate. Very modern & spacious with all the bells & whistles you can ask for. The location is amazing. Walking distance, or a very quick cab, to the beach/restaurants/shops/nightlife. We were able to do it all on this vacation ranging from beach days, catamaran trip, canopy tour, whitewater rafting, surfing, horseback riding and more. The penthouse location was perfect- it was either a quick ride to join these tours or they'll actually come pick you up in front of the building. I highly recommend this unit to any others visiting Tamarindo. I can't wait for my next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunningly Surreal. You have to experience it to believe it.

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

I came across the Atlantic Ocean to meet my friends in Costa Rica and we stayed five nights in this premium deluxe penthouse. I was a bit skeptical when I heard a group of 11 of us would all be staying in this one place. To my amazement when I arrived, not only was there ample space for all of us to stay, but we were all able to have our own rooms with individual beds. And there were still empty beds and room to spare! To sum it up, there are 5 yes 5 bedrooms with king size beds in a couple rooms, double size beds in the rest and additional bunk beds and twin beds. There is ample closet space and drawers. There are private bathrooms in each room as well as a community bathroom, like 5 in total. Each main room is equipped with a flat big screen tv and all are hooked up with cable. There is a large living room, a big dining table, a fully equipped kitchen with all brand new appliances. There is another sitting room area with another large flat screen great for watching movies. There is a bar. There is a full size deluxe pool table. Then there is the full outside deck with the most gorgeous view of the ocean and amazing sunrise if you wake up early enough (or stay up late enough). There is a jacuzzi on the deck. There are two flat screens installed on either side of the deck as well. There is a deluxe weber for grilling and BBQ. There is daily maid service and ample clean towels and toiletries. You definitely don't miss out on the amenities of a five star hotel or resort. The building has 24 hour gate security. There is a large pool and jacuzzi on the ground. Oh, did I mention you get access to the exclusive Langosta beach club which is absolutely gorgeous? They have a full gym to work out in. There is also a small fitness center upstairs from the penthouse. You are less than five minutes from the main beach and strip. There are many nice restaurants nearby. But honestly, be careful, because the penthouse is so sweet you may never want to leave the comforts of it. But be assured, you are only a stone throws away from everything and anything you will want to enjoy an unforgettable vacation. The accommodation is ideal for large families, couples and groups of friends vacationing together. It offers something for everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Do not hesitate to stay at this beautiful penthouse!!

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Just returned from our Costa Rica holiday, 10 nights of which were spent at this penthouse. 3 families stayed here, 6 adults and 6 children (6-11). It was perfect, each family had their own bedroom, bathroom, closet, shower etc. The main bedroom was not used, it had a king size bed with a big jacuzzi style tub. The were bunk beds in a different room that were also not used. So yes, the penthouse easily sleeps 16.

There were huge TVs everywhere. Each bedroom, 2 (70") in the living area, at least 3 on the patio. Kitchen is a decent size with a large fridge/freezer. Only drawback would be that there is only 1 dishwasher and with a large group, it would have been nice to have another.....minor detail though. There is a separate ice maker at the bar which comes in handy. The main dining table is massive and easily accommodates everyone. I believe this was 2 condos made into 1 huge penthouse. Usable living area, prefect for large groups. Each living room is a mirror image of each other. That worked out well, kids on one side, adults on the other. Pool table is a nice touch.

Bob (the manager) and Karla (our concierge) were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The penthouse is in a great location with a stunning view. The complex is gated and guarded 24 hrs a day. Not that we felt we that we needed it, but it was nice to have. There is a nice pool with a smaller (and a little warmer) kids pool on ground level, visible from the balcony of the penthouse.

There are 3 underground covered parking spots allotted to the suite. Each family had their own vehicle, so the parking was essential.

When we first booked their was no mention of the Lagosta beach club. It was a pleasant surprise when we arrived to learn that the owner had recently purchased a membership to the club. It is a short walk down the road to the beach club. We did not spend much time there (too much to see and do)but it was nice, private, and not busy.

Throughout the whole "booking/reserving" procedure, communication was excellent. Emails replied by either Bob or Karla were done quickly. I was quite impressed actually. Having booked numerous holidays through VRBO, it can be frustrating having to wait for a reply to a question.

Give this penthouse serious consideration when looking at a place to stay in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. Only 1 drawback I can think of...there is NO telephone.

Feel free to send an email and ask me a question.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Penthouse

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

It's easy to see that no detail was spared in the Penthouse. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. My room had a private balcony with a wonderful view. And what about the views? The main balcony was perfect for a sunset BBQ!

I can't wait to go back. I highly recommended checking it out for yourself. Thank you Bob and Richard for making our trip so memorable!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

I enjoyed very much our stay at this nice condo !! Although it was late at night : the ride and arrival were relaxed and joyful , we found the place easily . The condo is very spacious , perfectly clean and all aplliances work smoothly, towels and bedding are fine quality, and feel very good !! You can either walk or drive to any of the two beaches , Langosta : very few people visit ths one , which makes it peaceful and Tamarindo , this is a beautiful white sanded and full o life . Mostly any restaurant is good , but recomend highly Lazy wave , and don't go away without a smoothie at Mandarina!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Pura Vida Style Vacations

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

I strongly recomend you to visit this place and specially to enjoy your vacations at this condo,to beging with the service and attention from Bob and Richard was so good, they took care of everything since we made our reservation, we got there perfect timing 5:15 pm the sun was going down Bob took us on a tour thru the condo all the rooms are beutiful, and have spectacular views,the main balcony has a beutiful and open view of the shore and even the mountains, if you got the chance to be awake at the early morning you must be able to watch the sunrise too, the kitchen área is awesome, is just a beutiful place as soon as you open the principal door you will feel happy the decoration details, and vibrant and bright colors help you to get on vacations mode, I think as a girl what I like the most is the big mirrow on the dinner área also I love to have tha chance to have breakfast outside with the view, I love the fact that the building has a lot of things for kids, specially cause I have a baby and she really enjoy it, starting with the sand toys, the baby pool area and the playground, then if you want to exercise they also have a fittness area, I totally love the idea of having two living rooms with diferent ambience, in case you want to have your friends there, you have the jacuzzi, the pool table and the bar, is so perfect!! the master bedroom is wonderful with beautiful details and great taste, the location is perfect as much as it is for the views it is also perfect to go and take a walk to the beach or if you prefer you can use your car and go to downtown tamarindo, one beautiful restaurant there is name pangas and then the supermarket that we love was the automercado that is also really close, the pool is fantastic and it has a barbecue área, you can easily use the house with other 13 people and you will still think that you have room for more, I personally enjoy it very much, and you have to be there to feel the expirience, hope you have a wonderful pura vida style vacation!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Penthouse increible!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

La visita al penthouse fue increible desde la llegada hasta la ida, todo muy fino, amplio espacio, muy limpio, muebles nuevos, entretenimiento...cada cuarto cuenta con su propio ipod player!! Nos encanto el jacuzzi con la vista a la playa de tamarindo y el jacuzzi del master bedroom! especial para celebraciones con gran cantidad de amigos o familia!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing penthouse with extraordinary ocean views

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We, a group of friends, stayed at this penthouse for three nights and were absolutely spoiled by so much luxury in every detail, more than enough space for every one of us but without loosing the feeling of coziness. The kitchen was just amazing and was modernly equipped with everything we could wish for, and if it couldn't get any better, there was an extravagant pool table and the outdoor jacuzzi looks directly over the ocean, not to mention onto these magnificent sunsets the Costa Rican Pacific has to offer. The beach is in a 5 minutes walking distance, and considering the overall street conditions in Costa Rica, it seems that the road that leads to the Condo is going to be paved very soon. Thanks you very much for this amazing experience, we really had the time of our life, right next to the most beautiful beaches in Tamarindo and Langosta.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

My Boyfriend and i just returned from this beautiful Penthouse in Playa Langosta , it was a unique and unforgettable experience , i could say i would go back , no doubt. Besides the beautiful beaches , there is places to go out at night , we visited some great restaurants , overall we had a blast.
We felt like at a hotel , brian made sure we had everything we needed , took really good care of us. As a student of interior design , i was thoroughly impressed with the design of each and every space inside this condo , nautical colour scheme of yellow and blue stripes , very beachy. And finally you can appreciate a Great view from every room but the main terrace is Spectacular ! I Fully recomendd this condo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Playa Langosta Penthouse with my family and I must say this was the best rental property we have ever visited. I am not one to write reviews but I felt it was necessary to share my experience with others.

The property is located in a great area: only minutes away from the beach and the center of town where their are several boutique shops and a newly built supermarket (Auto Mercado). We spent a couple days at the Langosta Beach Club where we were welcomed warmly thanks to Brian. The food there was absolutely delicious and the view was spectacular. They have a kid friendly menu which was REALLY nice considering we were traveling with kids and toddlers! Another must see is Lola's in Avellanas - Great food served right on the beach! The decor and atmosphere was distinctively nice and quite rewarding.

The time spent in the unit was equally rewarding as the time spent site-seeing. The unit is absolutely exquisite in every sense of the word. Definitely family friendly - my group included 12 people and their was still remaining space for additional people. Not sure if it was their beds or luxurious bedding that allowed me to sleep so comfortably but it was absolutely wonderful. The views from the unit are some of the most memorable memories that I can take from the trip. We spent a lot of our time on the main deck where the jacuzzi is located but every room in the unit had their private balcony with the most incredible views.

The unit was beautiful and immaculate! It definitely exceeded my expectations. It was much more than what Brian had originally described. With that said, I'd like to thank Brian for this wonderful recommendation... The best vacation by far!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING VIEWS !!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend and a few of our friends in this beautiful Penthouse in Playa Langosta. For starters the view is amazing since you have 5 different balconies you can appreciate both the sunrise and the sunset which are incredible.
The condo has a really nice centerpiece jacuzzi in the front balcony where you can relax while watching the sunset , the place is fully equipped with everything you need.
We spent most of our time at the Langosta beach club which is 200 m away (4 minute walk) where they had yoga , a gym , a pool and great food! On our last day we went to Playa Dantas which is a beautiful place just 25 minutes away, we enjoyed a great meal at Lola`s right next to the beach. Met Brian B who made sure this place felt like home and Brian K who made sure we were on all the VIP lists for the week. thanks guys!!
I would suggest looking no further and book this place immediately! This place is absolutely incredible !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review