reviews for: listing #47502 - Santa Monica, California Studio rental

Charming Private Guest Cottage
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $600 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

California Dreaming and wishing I was still there!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This place is absolutely lovely! In truth it would not be for everyone as it is a little on the small side, but the outside patio extends the living space and it is a wonderful quiet spot for morning coffee or to relax with a book and a glass of wine. Evelyn has done a wonderful job of making the space very
workable, with lots of shelves, hangers and cupboards and she has thought of everything. All the comforts of home are there including lots of information about the area. We managed without a car and made good use of the Big Blue
Bus. The neighbourhood is gorgeous!!! Loved the Brentwood Sunday market, so much to see and do. Would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Brilliant stay!

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

Great little apartment. We stayed here when we first arrived in LA. Brilliant place to explore the city. Evelyn couldn't have been more helpful. Would really recommend this to anyone! Wifi is nice and fast

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a couple of weeks at Santa Monica

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Clean and with everything we needed for our two weeks stay in Santa Monica.
Had a little problem with the garage and the owner fixed it in less than 12h.
We would totally recommend.
Close to westwood village and UCLA university and 2 minutes drive to Santa Monica beach and commercial third street promenade.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent place to stay - quiet, secluded

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

We enjoyed the cottage very much. It was quiet, comfortable, and secluded. The owner was very gracious. It was close to shopping, grocery stores, restaurants, interesting places (like the Getty Museum), and other entertaining venues. I would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

The cottage is very nice, comfortable, clean and has a great location.

The description offered by the owner is accurate as well as the pictures.

Don´t expect a big place. The cottage is small but really cute and ideal for spending some days!

We spent there 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We´ll be back there for sure!

Thank you Evelyn!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

The cottage is nice, clean, comfortable and has a great location.
The description shown by the owner is really accurate as well as the pictures.

Everything is prepared for your arrival and stay.

We spent 3 nights at the cottage and we have a great experience. We for sure will be back!!

Don´t expect a big place, but is ideal for spending some days.

Thank you Evelyn!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and Restful Cottage

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

The cottage guest house lived up to our every expectations - it was charming, clean, restful yet minutes away from the excitement of the city.

We highly recommend this property to travellers looking for a clean and special place to stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Rental 221862

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

I have one word for this rental.PRECIOUS!!! I never thought you could convert a garage into a beautiful cottage like this was. It had everything you would need. It was secluded in a beautiful neighborhood near shopping.the major freeways. LA airport, eateries, the Pier and all the attractions in LA. It was the perfect location for our needs. It was spotless!! All we needed to do was buy some food for breakfast, who wants to cook when your on vacation.We never met our host Evelyn,
but we were confident that she was watching out for us. We arrived a few hours early due to us flying in from New York but that didn't seem to be a problem. I would definitely recommend this rental and anytime we visit this area we will stay here. You can't compare a home to a hotel and this was home. Thanks Evelyn!!:)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Back to have a great staying

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

After a year, back to this lovely cottage, and again it was perfect.
I don't hesitate to recommend this place, in a great neighborhood, with an optimum balance between price and comfort.

Thank you very much, Evelyn.
Next time, will bring you a new box of Argentinian "alfajores".......

Eduardo.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place & Nice owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

This charming cottage is perfect for a quiet stay in Santa Monica.
The place is well equiped and we had everything we needed.
The owner, Evelyn, is a very nice person and we will not forget her kindness.
We would definitely recommend this property and will not hesitate to rent it again and hope to be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice studio in Santa Monica

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

The desciption of this studio in VacationRentals is accurate and well represents the condition of the property. We had no problem at all for a 3 weeks stay and we enjoyed the clean, well-maintained and cosy accomodation. We recommend it to a couple looking for a quiet and comfortable arrangement in a strategic location for visiting Santa Monica and the attractions of NorthWest and Central greater Los Angeles.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We had a great time in your place

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

Magnificent & charming cozy tasteful touch on a small studio
My daughter and I stayed during 5 nights.
The street a Quit nice houses , safe area,
The location is central between the beach /Santa Monica Board walk
and Beverly Hills.
When we entered to the back yard of the studio ,there was a great smell
of the Jasmine tree there and a beautiful red flower tree as well.
the place is well equip we had every thing we needed.
Please pay attention for parking on the street as Friday & Thursdays are cleaning
street days no parking 9:00am-12:00pm.
... We Enjoy our stay! and will defiantly come back!
Eden & Kelly D. Gilad
from NYC

Owners response: What great guests! It gives me so much joy hearing from my guests. Thank you Eden and Kelly.
FYI, there is plenty of street parking on Thurs and Fiday but cars must park on alternate sides each morning, clearing one side each morning. Good advise from my guests because although I alert guests to this in pre-arrival info and there is a sign in the cottage, it's good to hear from the guests reminding potential renters! Thanks again. Evelyn

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great place & Sweetest owner!

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

I can't believe I had never written a review on here! This little guest house is perfect for a quiet stay in Santa Monica/Brentwood. It's cozy and spic and span clean. My wife, I, and our 6 month old stayed over a week in the summer and it was perfect. The owner could not have been nicer...she even offered to lend us a crib for our stay, since we were traveling from far away! Great amenities in walking distance in a beautiful little neighborhood. I challenge anyone to find a better deal! We can't wait to get back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The most Wonderful Stay you could look for.

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

An Hidden Gem!

I have been in Santa Monica several times and this was the most perfect stay I ever been. The house is small but very clean and it is incredible how well it waqs maintaied, every detail is simply perfect.

The owner, Evelyn is just outstanding, she also left a Cake in the house for the Thanks Giving Day, amazing.

The house is 2 mins away from bot the Sunset Blvd and the Santa Monica Blvd, ideal solution to reach everything in 10-15 mins. Close to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Promenade and Montana Ave for shopping...

Stop searching for an House to stay in the Santa Monica neighborhood, ths is the ideal solution!

Hope to be back this year, but from Italy is pretty far away, let's see.

Thanks Evelyn!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Just Perfection

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

There are not enough words to explain how perfect this property is. It was everything I wanted and more. The listing description was spot on although the pictures don't do the property justice - it is absolutely beautiful and had everything I needed for my 8 day stay.

The property was very clean, bright and airy with plenty of additional towels, the kitchen was well equip and there was a spare hairdryer which saved me hauling my bulky thing over from the UK. It was so peaceful and relaxing sitting in the private patio area first thing with my coffee before the start of my day, something which is impossible in January in the UK.

Another great feature is the free WiFi as coming from the UK I was unable to use any of the features of my Blackberry other than texts but was able to keep up to date with home when in the property thanks to this.

I came back to the property each night well after dark but there are plenty of security lights outside the property and the neighbours were always around and very friendly and welcoming.

The location of the property was perfect for what I needed. It is only a 12 minute drive into Santa Monica where the theatre was located, the shops and amenities are plentiful and reasonable and the Brentwood Golf Club was perfect for early morning/late afternoon strolls. The people in the area are very welcoming and helpful and although I was staying on my own, I never felt alone.

The owner was extremely helpful, especially leading up to my arrival and it was very comforting to know she wasn't very far away if I needed her.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone and will not hesitate to rent this property again, whether by myself or with my husband. In fact the property is so comfortable and well equip I could actually have happily lived there for the rest of my life!

Do not hesitate to rent this property....I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Thank you very much Evelyn - thank you.x

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

The place was beautiful, squeaky clean and well maintained. Everything was thought of to the smallest detail. We have stayed in many vacation rentals and own one in Tahoe and I can honestly say that this is the best one so far. It's not big, but the colors, the decor and the private garden makes it feel spacious. The location is great too: 10-15 min to Getty Center or beaches and an easy drive to anywhere. Thanks Evelyn, we hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

A wonderful place to hide away after spending the day with my daughter and grandkids. Property is very clean, great location and the owner provides excellent customer service. Looking forward to staying again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

The Place to stay in L.A.

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

This is the place to stay in L.A. for 1 or 2 people. Excellent Location- close to everything esp. Santa Monica. The studio is very clean and in good condition. Just like the photos. Evelyn, the landlord is junst outstanding. If you have any concern she will take care of them . I found the patio to be very pleasant. I stayed for one week in 2010 and two weeks in 2011. I plan to go back again in 2012. I nice little kitchen to make meals with good shopping and resturants near by. Excellent customer service! Also, you can use the washer ande dryer which comes in handy. I am looking forward to my next visit next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Cozy ... home away from home!

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this cozy little hideaway. It was in a beautiful, safe neighborhood. I was impressed with how well it was maintained and all the details. Stove, Fridge, dishes, pots & pans, Comfy bed, fluffy towels, coffee maker & coffee, Washer/Dryer, Soap, Hair dryers, iron, Q-tips, Dir TV & Wifi that worked from the minute we walked in. There was a large closet for tucking suitcases away and out of sight, and the private patio was so peaceful!

Although I never had the chance to meet Evelyn, (I wish I could have) I spoke with her several times. She was the most gracious hostess. I will not forget her kindness.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Neighborhood

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

I stayed here in Febuary. I arrived at the unit but no one was home to let me in. I did have to travel to find a WiFi Hot Spot as my phone and Netbook battery needed to be charged after a cross country flight. I checked in 1.5 hours after arrival. When I did get the unit, I found it too be very nice. Small patio out front, Great Coffee maker with assorted coffees from other peoples stay. The bed was very comfortable as was the linens. The thermastat and hot water where equally as nice. The TV Channels on the Directv where plentiful. I did find a few quirks that where annoying. No IPod docking station to play my music which I had brought. The wireless internet didn't work. The toilet overflowed the next morning and I had to use all the towels to soak up the water. I did notify the people that where left in charge and they did come fix the rooting problem that caused the toilet to overflow in the first place, but, was told by her son that I would have to wash the towels myself (while I was on vacation). This did annoy me.

The neighborhood is great and there is a really nice Farmers Market up the road on Sundays. It is in a great location in Brentwood with Wilshire and Santa Monica Blvd several blocks over. Evelyn was a wonderful person to do business with.

There is a book of recommended things to do that was very well put together. Several where on my bucket list, and found them to be quite entertaining! Even for the mishaps! I would stay here again just for the location!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: This renter did not read the instructions I send to every renter prior to arrival regarding the entry. All of my renters are given detailed instructions regarding key location and how to access. I have never had a renter not follow them before.
The is an iPod player in the bedside alarm clock, the lid must be lifted it, it's there. There is wifi and readily connected and I would have helped him with both iPod and wifi had he called.
The toilet overflow was unfortunate and I have since had all the sewer lines rooted so this doesn't happen again. Normally I would have had clean towels for the renter but I was out of town and explained to the renter and asked if he would help. I felt really bad not being there and taking care of it. I was glad at least that there is a washer and dryer and detergent provided for the renter.
If there is ever a problem I am happy to offer a fast solution and 90% of the time I am close by.
I'm glad the renter was happy with most of the accommodation. For the low cost I feel my renters are
getting a great value in a great location.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Felt like at home

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed this cottage during 13 days.
It's clean, well located, in a very beautiful neighborghood, quiet and peaceful.
And besides that, it has a plus, her owner Evelyn.
A very kind person, generous and always there to solve any kind of problem.

I do not hesitate to recommend it, at any time of the year.

Eduardo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Brentwood Comfort

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

We stay here when we visit our son and grandchildren. The location is great, the place is clean, well-appointed, comfortable and quiet. Evelyn is a gracious and helpful host.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect accommodation for 2 in LA!

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

Excellent location that is an oasis of calm in the otherwise bustling city of LA. Located in an up-scale Brentwood location, close to all amenities and 10 minutes from the ocean - we're regular visitors to LA and this is the perfect location.

The accommodation is exactly as described; good quality furnishings and all you need for a great stay. Satellite TV provides good entertainment while you cook meals in the kitchenette using the products from nearby Montana or Brentwood.

Evelyn the owner is helpful and on hand if needed but not intrusive; just as it should be. GREAT location and accommodation - highly recommended.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic get away

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this cottage while visiting our daughter in Santa Monica. Everything was meticulouly clean and beautifully appointed. The privacy was perfect but the owner was available if we needed anything. We loved the patio for our morning coffee.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Adorable Cottage in Fabulous Location

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

This cottage was adorable and sparkling clean. My husband and I were very comfortable. We did a lot of sightseeing in Santa Monica, Venice, Beverly Hills, West Hollywood and surrounding areas and found this to be a very central location. It's in a very quiet, residential neighborhood and it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of L.A.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nettes, winziges Appartment in Brentwood

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

Nettes, winziges Appartment in Brentwood (Luftlinie 3 Meilen vom Strand). Alles ist sehr gepflegt. Leider ist es sehr hellhoerig und manchmal hat man das Gefuehl, das man in einer Garage wohnt (Waender sind sehr duenn).

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 13

 

Cosy LA Cottage - Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

A very positive experience - cottage was exactly as described, no unpleasant surprises. Owner was a delight to work with - small issues dealt with quickly and professionally, owner respects your privacy and is not intrusive, very much appreciated. This guest cottage is just adjacent to the owner's property, but you still have your own outside area of substantial size to relax and enjoy. Lacks nothing, every small detail is there - just like (or better!) than being at home. Great location in gorgeous upscale Brentwood neighbourhood - very safe. Within quick and easy reach of Santa Monica, the 405 and surrounding sights. Supermarket and several restaurants catering to all budgets just a minute away. Very easy street parking, just pay attention to alternate street cleaning Thursday and Friday on Gorham. If you are planning a trip to West LA area for 2 and do not require an enormous rental, this cosy cottage represents fantastic value for money. In summary, highly recommended !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

My husband and I visited our daughter and her fiance and found the cottage just perfect for two. It offered a quiet respite and an excellent location. We felt relaxed and had everything we needed there.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

I love this home

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

This place is beautiful. Sparkling clean, safe, quiet and just lovely. The outside patio is wonderful for breakfast lunch or dinner. The location is close to everything and the bed is really comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

The place to be!

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

Me and my friend went to Los Angeles for vacation and this was the prettest place ever. This place is so beautiful and in such a wonderful nabourhood. It was very clean and with love for every detail.
The beach is near and also a goshery.
And Evelyn, is such a wonderful person. Thank you so much for everything.
We loved it there and wanna come back as soon as we can. Much love, Caro & Nici from germany (berlin)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Santa Monica studio

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

What a find! I was traveling alone and so happy to come upon this lovely studio in a quiet neighborhood with, easy parking, and close to everything. It was newly decorated, and immaculate. Thank you Evelyn, you were such a help. Darlene

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review