reviews for: listing #47536 - Mokuleia, Hawaii House rental

Quiet Large Oceanfront Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Great Home

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

A wonderful place to stay with family. We went with children and grandchildren, The fenced yard was great for small children. The beach was quiet and beautiful. We could watch the sunset every night while eating dinner on the patio. The home had everything we needed for a great stay, beautiful furnishing, beach items, and a well supplied kitchen (even an extra refrigerator in the garage). Try sky diving at Dillingham....Fun! Tim and Maggie were great hosts. They were at the house when we arrrived and they answered questions, and were available if we needed anything during our stay. A WINNER!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Integrity plus . . .

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

Sadly, I've neglected writing this review which is no reflection on how much we loved our stay. We were here for a week in August 2013 with all our adult children and spouses (9 of us) and I can't say enough about this place. We loved it and everything was as described by other VRBO reviews and spot on to the descriptions on the website. It's just what we hoped for - VERY quiet neighbourhood; off the beaten track. It just has a quiet feel to it that will linger with us for a long time. Here's a short checklist of other things that come to mind. Clean - excellent! Spacious inside and out easily accommodating all of us. Loved the yard. Super quiet beaches (with a bit of a steep shore break) - we seldom saw anyone else on the beach!!! We had a blast exploring the beaches finding some very isolated bays for swimming and body surfing. Super friendly neighbours and others in the community we go to know. It felt like home in no time.

About the title. We usually rent VRBO but are always cautious looking for properties with lots of good reviews and have been around for a while. What has us completely impressed with this property is the owners, Tim and Maggie Twigg. We left a couple of items at the place when we left. When Maggie discovered them, she promptly mailed them to us with our security deposit. It never arrived (I expect due to our less than competent postal service). I tried to trace it, but gave up and got busy doing life. Maggie emailed the other day and said the package finally arrived back to her and asked if she should resend it. I had forgotten about the security deposit so told her not to bother. As she was going through the package, she saw the uncashed security deposit and checked to see if the money was ever withdrawn from their account. She immediately contacted me and told me it had not and she would resend immediately. That to me is very impressive and in an environment (VRBO) where trust is essential (and not always detectable), Maggie demonstrated an ethic and integrity that should lay rest any anxiety about booking this place, (although given the high review ratings and comments this likely comes as no surprise). Simply magical and I take great comfort in knowing that there is no chance of being double booked, scammed, or cheated out of a damage deposit. Thanks Maggie and Tim. This is a property we hope to rent again (. . . and again, . . . and again, etc.).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing location! Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We spent an incredible week playing and relaxing with our 5 children (ages 6-16) and our parents. The home was just what we were looking for. The view is breathtaking and the being right on the beach is amazing! All the beach equipment you could need was provided! Beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, sand toys, and even water shoes! We watched local surfers every day right out the back. We saw turtles, dolphins and even whales breaching! The kids loved boogie boarding, building sand castles, jumping over the waves and looking for shells. The home itself is beautiful! Large dining table that accommodated 10. Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher and laundry room. The pool table was a hit! The home is tucked away on a quiet street with a gate for privacy. Maggie & Tim were great! Answered all our questions before we came and even stopped by to say hi and give us a few tips to the area. We took a few day trips to other sites on Oahu but really just loved being at the Hibiscus house and enjoying the quiet, peaceful beach! We would definitely rent here again! Thank you Tim and Maggie!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a wonderful family trip!!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

My siblings, neices, nephew and cousins helped me celebrate my birthday and spent a perfect week in your beautiful house in Mokuleia. We so enjoyed watching the sea turtles feeding in the reef right in front of the house, the whales just beyond the breakers and the surfers riding the waves. Even got to watch Tim catch a couple one day. The house is wonderful, so light and open and equiped with everything you could possibly need to feel at home. We'll definitely be back!!!!! Thanks Tim and Maggie for a great and so relaxing vacation!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

This is truly an island paradise. The house exceeded our expectations. The pictures of the rooms are exactly as they are. We have stayed at other vacation homes and they do not meet the pictures, but this house does. As stated to Maggie--the bench that faces is the ocean is "dangerous". We could have flittered our whole vacation on the bench, and not gone sight-seeing. It is so relaxing just to watch the waves and surfers from the bench. The house was perfect for our party of 10.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family reunion

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

We were are party of 10 including 2 teens. This home was phenomenal!! The home is large enough we all found our niches. There are plenty of boogie boards and water shoes for all sizes. some had the opportunity to swim with the sea turtles right outside our doorl and there was a monk seal sunning herself on the beach; not to mention all surfers to keep us entertained. Driving into the town of Halewia is easy and close, about 7 miles. And even this time of year, the weather was warm giving everyone lots of opportunity to just hang at the house and play in the water...we've already started talking about another reunion in the next couple of years. Can't forget to mention that Tim and Maggie are easy going, fun people. Great to work with. don't miss out on this opportunity!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Our party of ten had an amazing two week stay in hibiscus house. There was plenty of space for everyone and the pool table was a huge hit. Beds were all large and comfortable and there were plenty of beach towels. The kitchen had all necessary utensils, pots pans etc. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone. We loved our stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My children and grandchildren and I just spent ten wonderful days at this perfect home. It was actually our second time (first time six days) and our next time is going to be 14 days!

We did not want to leave.

Wonderful location, layout of home and very, very clean. Lots of fun activities for kids 3 up with lots of space for adults to relax.

I would highly recommend. ***** 5 Star!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Already told our friends!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

What better recommendation can we give than telling our friends as soon as we got home how much we loved staying at the Hibiscus House and if they plan a trip to Oahu, then this is the place to stay. Our grandkids (ages 12, 9, and 6) loved the ocean, the large yard for hide and seek, and the morning walks including the sea turtles and monk seal. The adults loved the views, no crowds, and the quiet. As stated in other reviews, the house is very clean and very well-stocked, including all of the snorkel equipment in the garage. The owners are very responsive and helpful. The only complaint: as the 6 year-old was going to bed on the first night, she asked us to turn down the waves because they were too loud. She soon got used to the wonderful sound and we all loved sleeping to the sounds and smells of the ocean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Recommend for North Shore Getaway

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

I am writing this review to let everyone that is looking for a place to stay on the North Shore know that you can stop your search because you just found the perfect place. Why you ask? First, the property owners, Maggie and Tim give special attention to their guests. Everything from detailed directions to the house to the best beaches to watch for sea turtles. Restaurant recommendations were also spot on. Secondly, the house was as advertised and more. We (seven adults) found Hibiscus House spacious and very clean. Can't think of anything the house is missing for a relaxing get away. Lastly, the house is close to activities that everyone can enjoy from hiking, swimming, horseback riding and the backyard is a great place to watch the beautiful sunsets.
The secret is out - this is a fantastic place to stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

lovely getaway

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Tim and Maggie have a very well appointed sparklingly clean, comfortable home on the beach. They were available by phone, and very responsive. I loved the fact that they had so many beach toys, snorkels, towels, etc for our enjoyment. This s a wonderful spot on this planet, I would return if I had the opportunity.
Thanks!
Dominque

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

We arrived at this house in the evening after dark from Alaska and had no problems finding it. Maggie gave us very good directions. We were pleasantly surprised that the house is just as it is portrayed on the internet. It is very roomy and very clean. We didnt know what to expect since this is the first time we have ever rented a house on vacation. We loved it there! We were sad when it was time to leave. We had 7 of us there and we did a lot of cooking at the house and never felt crowded. The kitchen was well equipped and the whole house had everything we needed. The teenage boys never turned on the TV believe it or not. They were either on the beach or playing pool or ping pong which was really nice. There were plenty of water toys for all ages. The little towns around there are fun to explore too. We even got to go to the Pipe and watch a surfing competition. We would love to go back again soon and would choose this house again in a heartbeat!! It is also very quiet and peaceful there. Maggie was very helpful with all the questions we had about Hawaii even before we went. She was very fast at email replys any time we had questions. The only thing we would change is we would stay longer next time!! Thanks Tim and Maggie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING!!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Forget the old adage, "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is." THIS beachfront property is not only "as described" in words and pictures, it is BETTER! The owner is great to work with, and the house is lovely - clean, welcoming, and very well equipped. It has ample space and enough dinnerware that we were easily able to host a large family meal that included our new in-laws from Japan. It has LOTS of beach items including chairs, toys, boogie boards, and a wide assortment of nice snorkeling gear. The beds are super comfortable with soft linens and beautiful Hawaiian throws. There are two Pack N Plays, a high chair, and a baby gate available for those traveling with little ones. The smell and sound of the ocean are still fresh in my mind. Coffee on the backyard bench that overlooks the Pacific, early morning walks on the beach, swimming and snorkeling right at the property, sighting sea turtles in the water and basking on the sand, surfers racing to catch a promising wave, a showcase of stars sparkling like diamonds at night.... I can't think of a better place, this side of heaven, for our family to have spent a week together!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just as described and then some....

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Great place. Great location. We had family reunion and this house was perfect for us. Very roomy. Plenty of things for everyone. What I loved about this place is that it was clear the owners care about their guests experience. They are attentive but not overly. The other thing is that the quality of the furnishings and amenities was top notch. Many rentals I find look nice on the outside but have crappy stuff inside. Not this place. Everything was first rate. We will return. Huge thanks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Napalyn

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

This was a well equiped house good for all ages. There was everything we could ask for except a couple of beater bikes would have been fun.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Absolutely recommend for a family vacation spot!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Very impressed with how well equiped the house is. We had all the kitchen ware needed to cook & serve a group of 7. Bedding was very comfortable and plenty of bath & beach towels for all. Plenty of snorkel and beach gear for all of us. There was even a tripod, which was perfect since i forgot to pack one. We were able to capture the most amazing family photos at sunset.

Family enjoyed eating out on the patio for breakfast and dinner every night. The setting and views were so amazing.

We enjoyed sitting in the bench along the fence line watching sea turtles swim and even saw a huge turtle on shore. We also had a great time crabbing at night with the kids along the beach.

Water was too rough for our young ones to snorkel out back but we found a great sandy beach about 10 minutes from the house near Backpackers Vacation Inn.

Our only constructive feedback would be the lack of hot water. For a house that accommodates 10, the hot water tank sure doesn't accomodate that many showers with laundry & dishwasher running. Other than that, this place is amazing and we would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect everything!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about the property and the owners Tim and Maggie. Perfect location on a secluded stretch of beach. The amenities were great. The neighborhood was beautiful and a short drive to the city of Waialua and Haleiwa. We stopped at the old Waialua Sugar Mill that has a great store with local products, especially the delicious Waialua Coffee AND shaved ice that was better than those in Halewia. We had coffee every morning outside on the patio and backyard that is steps from the beach. Saw turtles swimming right out the back door in the ocean.

The list of amenities is noted in the listing and too many to count and we used them all. We fell asleep each night to the sounds of ocean waves and woke up to birds chirping. One morning walk down the lane we ventured upon a hula halau having a class and watched it briefly. The Waialua Sugar Mill had a farmers marked Saturday morning and there was plentiful veggies and fruits along with huli huli chicken!

Again, we had a fabulous time and I know you will too. A big mahalo to Tim and Maggie! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Beach House - Everything you could ever want

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We loved our stay at Hibiscus House in Feb. We were a little worried that it may be rainy and too cool in February but we had great weather. It was around 80 degrees each day and we only encountered a few quick showers (just enough to wash the salt off the windshield). The house was very clean and well-stocked. There were plenty of towels and beach towels. The mattresses were comfortable – no saggy spots like we’ve run into with other vacation rentals. There were plenty of pillows to choose from. The sound of the ocean waves lulled me to sleep in the master bedroom. With the time change, we were up by 6 or 7am each morning so we made coffee and headed to our favorite spot - an elevated bench that sits right against the fence overlooking the beach. It had a little shelf to sit a drink on. Great spot to watch surfers, sea turtles and take pictures. We really miss that little spot!

The kitchen had everything we needed (coffee pot, blender…) The washer and dryer came in very handy. The dryer was slow to dry but there was a 2nd dryer in the garage/rec room. The 2nd story/finished attic with deck was a great place to hang out. Amazing views!! There were windows all the way around so there was always a nice breeze. The white beamed, vaulted ceiling gave it a very beachy, relaxed feel.

The garage had a ping pong table, foosball table, extra refrigerator, coolers, beach chairs, sand toys, floats, boogie boards, lots of snorkeling gear, etc.. Just a few steps down from the well-manicured yard was the beach. My husband and daughter tried to play in the waves a few houses down where there wasn’t as much reef rock in the water but gave up after a few scrapes. (In all fairness, we usually vacation in the Florida Gulf so we just weren’t used to this type of beach.) We made a couple of trips to different beaches and the Tommy Bahama beach chairs w/ the backpack style straps were great! After a day of sightseeing, it was really nice to come back to the peaceful beach house where we had plenty of room to do whatever we wanted.

Maggie was there to greet us when we arrived. She was easy to work with to set up the reservation and our security deposit was returned promptly. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone. So much better than a cramped hotel!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream vacation comes true!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Wow! What can we say. Maggie and Tim provided us with a most wonderful 'home away' for our family - 7 adults and 3 babies. The house was spotless, and well stocked from bedding, towels, through to kitchen appliances and utensils both large and small. There was ample space and more for all; able to accommodate all three baby playpens within the bedrooms. View of the surf exceptional, accessible, and just through the back gate. How awesome is that! Sunsets were usually amazing and the night sky out of this world. Maggie passed on several great tips for local shops and restaurants; Tim stopped to check in a couple of times also. Both are gracious hosts. Thank you for making a dream come true.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, quiet, quiet.....

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

After reviewing and contacting dozens of properties on Oahu and still not finding the "perfect," getaway, I came across the listing for the Hibiscus House. Looked amazing and had great reviews. I contacted Maggie and of the dozen places I emailed she was the only one that took the time to call me. She answered all my questions and after our conversation I knew I found the perfect spot.

Our week at the house was perfect. Tim and Maggie have thought of everything and have it at the house to make your trip that much easier. Beach equipment, snorkel gear, Foosball, Ping Pong, Pool, ....you name it. The kitchen is fully outfitted with every appliance and utensil needed. The BBQ was ready to go and dinners on the back patio with the waves crashing on the reef were amazing.

The house is very clean, everything is newer, and there are towels, pillows, blankets galore.

Hanging out on the bench above the beach watching the stars at night, the skydivers, surfers, and fishermen by day was fun. The house is close enough to Haliewa for a quick dinner or snack pickup or jaunt to the famous North Shore waves, and a short drive to Town if you want to hit the shops and restaurants of Waikiki.

No matter where we ended up on the island that day, we looked forward to driving over to the secluded, quiet, Hibiscus House to fall asleep to the sound of the waves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Vacation Spot

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

The beach as your backyard and the view of the ocean from the Hibiscus House was more than we imagined. Everything in the property description was accurate - clean and well-maintained. The house had everything! We loved the bench overlooking the beach and falling asleep at the sound of the waves is addicting. We highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

ON OCEANS EDGE November 2011

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

This house is exactly what they say it is fully furnished. The pictures do not do it justice. The garage is full of boogy boards fins snorkling gear kids beach toys and fishing gear. The reef is full of fish sea turtles just a few yards off the beach. Locals very friendly. This house is off the beaten path very peaceful. Dont worry about distance its 45-60 min drive from 1 end of the island to the next never had any traffic problems. You may see looking out any of these; Skydivers everyday floating down back to the airport, surfers trying to catch the wave, seaturtles nice rolling waves ready to boogy board. I reccommend the hike to the point at sunset the house has flashlights see some seals collect some shells and get some great pics. Tim stopped by checked on us very hospitable and knowlegable. I would reccommend this house to anyone just had a great time! Thanks Tim and Maggie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

My entire family stayed at Tim and Maggie's home in November 2010. I can honestly say that I would never stay anywhere else when visiting Oahu. This is not a "vacation property" rather a home away from home. No detail has been missed. Tim and Maggie have done a wonderful job of making sure that all the comforts of home are available. The home was spotless and comfortable for a large family. The grounds were impeccable! I felt like I was in another world. Words cannot express our gratitude to Tim and Maggie for opening up their home to us and allowing us to share in this paradise. We would recommend this home to anyone.

We had wonderful meals at the large dining areas both inside and out. The kitchen is beautiful with everything you can imagine. No need to eat out which is nice.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautiful. We were lucky enough to stay upstairs with our 6 year old daughter. It is a perfect space for parents and their children.

There is something for everyone. Whether you are lounging by the beach or up for playing some late-night ping pong!

Thank you Tim and Maggie! We look forward to coming back soon.

Betsy and Michael Habermann

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

It is always nice when your expectations are met when staying at a new place for the first time. It is wonderful when your expectations are exceeded. All the positive reviews are well deserved. This home is just as pictured in the listing. We stayed for 6 nights with 6 couples and a pair of teenagers for a total of 8 people and everyone loved the house. The quite beach location is perfect, the house is exceptionally well maintained, and absolutely well furnished with everything you might need.

We were introducing friends to Hawaii for their first visit, so we had to drive some to do some sightseeing in Honolulu at Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head, and Waikiki Beach, but it sure was nice to come back every evening to our own private beach. If you make the drive down to Honolulu or the South Shore, I recommend taking the time to drive back along the eastern coast road (Hwy 83) for some spectacular coastal views and also check out the beautiful beach at Kailua if you can. Bob’s Boston Pizza there in Kailua is a great spot for lunch.

The North Shore is great with picturesque Haleiwa and all the famous North Shore beaches like Waimea Bay, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, and Sharks Cove just a short drive away. No parachuters in our group, but it was fun to drive the short drive to Dillingham Field and watch all the Parasailers come down to land in the field right in front of us.

We all enjoyed going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of the surf, and being back at the house in the evenings to enjoy being in the backyard for the cool trade winds, the sunsets on the horizon, and grilling the Mahi-mahi that we caught on our fishing charter on the “Lucky Lady”. We swam with turtles in the reef behind the house, and saw turtles in the surf every day, and even saw a pair of Rays swimming behind the house one evening.

We didn’t get a chance to meet Tim and Maggie before we left for the airport, but they were wonderful hosts who called to check on us to see if everything was OK, and made sure the house had everything that any age group could need to make an enjoyable stay.

If you have a group large enough to warrant renting a house on Oahu, I highly recommend Tim and Maggie’s wonderful North Shore home without any reservations. I look forward to the opportunity to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful House!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

We spent 7 nights at this gorgeous house. Tim and Maggie are so down to earth and just wonderful. What you see is what you get and more!! The Location stunning. We had around on Oahu on the 16th, stayed in a Honolulu Hotel right in the center. I have to admit that I was worried at first having basically 3 teenage and plus daughters who are completely city girls that staying away from the city I was going to get nagged. As soon as we got to the house they were all over looking through it. Then they ran up to me and demanded to know why hadnt I booked this property for our whole trip. Well that says it all!! They loved staying at this magical property more than the week at a 5 star city hotel. My love for turtles was the ultimate I saw so many every day I was thrilled just watching them sitting on the seat facing the ocean. And oh my god the whales!!! what a treat. Haleiwa town is absolutely gorgeous, and so close.
I had found a wonderful clothing store on the last day and bought 2 dresses designed by a local. Sadly 1 of the dresses was in the suticase we lost and never found. Maggie going out of her way over her hostess hospitality even offered to go into town and send me another one, when i wrote her to thank her for allowing us to stay at her home and told her what had happened. What a wonderful host could not ask for more it would be impossible. Thankyou again Maggie and Tim I will certainly be back!! in 2012 with a few ladies we are all turning 50!! and celebrating it in Hawaii!!
Mahalo Nui Loa
A Hui Hou

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent, location beautiful setting, wonderful home. Perfect for a group or family.

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

As the 9 of us arrived, we marveled at the closeness of the beach. The house was excellent, containing everything we all could possibly want. Great location, near all the North Shore activities, 30 minutes or so from Honolulu and Wakiki Beach. Excellent setting, beach views. Well worth it. Clean and inviting. Ample parking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Stayed for just over 3 weeks, with some friends, what a great place.

The house was just as in the pictures, I have stayed places before where the actual property didn't live up to the pictures, certainly wasn't the case here.

Some of us were surfing and the rights in front of the house worked most days and unlike most other spots were empty. Not the most famous spot on the North Shore but not hassle to get waves.

The reef protects the beach so snorkelling out the front was also great, turtles all over the place, amazing.

The house was spacious and well equipped, close enough to Halewia to get anything we needed, but far enough away to be relaxing and tranquil.

I've stayed in Oahu and wasn't sure I'd ever go back, this house made it completely different and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

I'm not easily impressed and 5 stars is almost unheard of, but this was worth it.
It has everything you could ever want and more.

Good times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Stayed for just over 3 weeks, with some friends, what a great place.

The house was just as in the pictures, I have stayed places before where the actual property didn't live up to the pictures, certainly wasn't the case here.

Some of us were surfing and the rights in front of the house worked most days and unlike most other spots were empty. Not the most famous spot on the North Shore but not hassle to get waves.

The reef protects the beach so snorkelling out the front was also great, turtles all over the place, amazing.

The house was spacious and well equipped, close enough to Halewia to get anything we needed, but far enough away to be relaxing and tranquil.

I've stayed in Oahu and wasn't sure I'd ever go back, this house made it completely different and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

I'm not easily impressed and 5 stars is almost unheard of, but this was worth it.
It has everything you could ever want and more.

Good times. Unfortunately it's to big for just my wife otherwise I may have been back again before too long.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a great vacation spot!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My family, friends and I all had a fantastic week at this home. It was very spacious inside and out, we all felt we had our own private spaces and it is right on the beach. We got up every morning and swam in the crystal clear waters outside our door. We went to sleep and woke again to the sound of the surf and watching the sunrise. We saw MANY sea turtles floating directly in front of the house every day - an amazing experience! This is a great house for anyone going to Oahu to enjoy the beautiful nature that is there -- hiking, snorkeling, etc. Gorgeous beaches and snorkeling can be found at many North Shore beaches. When we arrived the house was very clean and well maintained. The listing was very accurate in terms of what is offered. I recommend a visit to Shark's Cove for snorkeling/diving, Waimea Bay for jumping of the big rock (if that appeals to you) or just playing in the surf. Hailewa is the nearest town - fun restaurants, shave ice, shopping. Tim and Maggie are great hosts - helping whenever needed - giving advice if requested - and otherwise letting you enjoy the privacy the house offers. Highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic week

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My family, friends and I all had a fantastic week at this home. It was very spacious inside and out, we all felt we had our own private spaces and it is right on the beach. We got up every morning and swam in the crystal clear waters outside our door. We went to sleep and woke again to the sound of the surf and watching the sunrise. We saw MANY sea turtles floating directly in front of the house every day - an amazing experience! This is a great house for anyone going to Oahu to enjoy the beautiful nature that is there -- hiking, snorkeling, etc. Gorgeous beaches and snorkeling can be found at many North Shore beaches. When we arrived the house was very clean and well maintained. The listing was very accurate in terms of what is offered. I recommend a visit to Shark's Cove for snorkeling/diving, Waimea Bay for jumping of the big rock (if that appeals to you) or just playing in the surf. Hailewa is the nearest town - fun restaurants, shave ice, shopping. Tim and Maggie are great hosts - helping whenever needed - giving advice if requested - and otherwise letting you enjoy the privacy the house offers. Highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

Our family stayed here the last week of July - first week of August. We had a large group and the house was absolutely perfect! Having lived in Hawaii while in the Army, we were looking for a quiet retreat away from the busy nightlife of Honolulu and that's exactly what this house offers. The beach at the house is great for snorkeling and we saw plenty of turtles while using the supplied gear. The fishing is a little tough due to the reef and I recommend heading over to the Haleiwa jetties for your shore fishing (we left some gear behind for the next renters). The house was exceptionally clean and the sports tables (pool, ping-pong, and foosball) provided hours of family fun competitions. We hope to "borrow" Tim and Maggie's beautiful home again sometime in the future. I say borrow because it was like no place I've ever rented and I recommend this home to anyone looking for a quiet vacation on the north shore!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

The house, the location, the owners--everything about this property is AWESOME! We had the best family vacation ever! The beach is just steps from the back door. The view is fantastic. The house was perfect for the 5 adults and 4 children with plenty of beds for everyone. The game room was great for the kids. There were beach toys and equipment available for us to use. Everything in the house felt new and unused, as though this paradise was built just for us. We were there in June and had no problems with being hot. We opened the windows and the ocean breezes soon cooled the house. I can't wait to go back. Thank you Tim and Maggie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hibiscus House

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Can't add anything more to reviews already written. They are all true. The house and property are clean, well maintained, well stocked and a beautiful setting.
Would recommend to families of all ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic vacation in waterfront beach house!

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

The house and the ocean view are both very beautiful and very clean. This was our fourth trip to Oahu and the first time we rented a house. My family of five and my mother spent an amazing eight days on the island and it was so relaxing to have such a clean well-kept property to come back to each day. The house was equipped with all the amenities including kitchenware, plentiful towels, and beach attire (snorkel masks, fins, and boogie boards). Property is in great condition and perfect if you are looking for your own private beach to walk, run, swim, watch sea turtles, or view the breath-taking sunsets. The evening sounds of the ocean waves is something you will never get with a hotel rental property. We will very definitely do this again the next time we vacation in Hawaii. Renting your house was so much more relaxing! Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful getaway

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

My family and I stayed at this house for 9 days in May. It was wonderful. The house has a beautiful view of the ocean. The beach is quiet and my kids had fun playing with the toys the house provided. The water was ideal for good swimmers. The house itself was in a nice quiet neighborhood. The house was spacious and very comfortable. It provided game tables for fun. Even without air conditioning the house remained comfortable during the day with all the windows and fans. At night it cooled off nicelyl. The home was very close to Haleiwa which was a great town (for shopping, dining and beach). The owners are very eager to assist with both the house and the area. I would very definitely recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mahalo

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

We stayed in May of this year. nice, open, clean, quite and peaceful. Beautiful beach (hardley anyone on it) - good location. would recommend to anyone who wants to get away and enjoy the real Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome North Shore Rental

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better beachfront rental home. This house was fully stocked from the kitchen supplies, linens, and beach towels to boogey boards, beach chairs and umbrellas. We felt very safe and secluded. The wonderful beach just three steps off the fenced in grass yard was very secluded and provided for great sights each day. We had the great experience of a pregnant monk seal that hung out with us for a few hours, turtles both on the beach and in the water, and whales. Tim and Maggie have a great property that lends itself to their great hospitality. They checked in with us a couple times just to be sure everything was as we expected and to see if they could help with anything. It felt great to have owners who truly cared that we were having the time of our lives. Maggie even game me exact directions to find the "Black Pearl" that was being refurbished down near Ko Olina. Our 8 and 6yr. old boys loved boogey boarding and we all loved snorkeling right there at the house. Nothing made them happier than spotting a couple Humuhumu swimming around each day.
Maggie and Time, I can't thank you enough for making this home available for rent. This trip was not once in a lifetime, because I can guarantee you we'll be back. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic waterfront beach house in great location

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

5 out of 5

Karen11 Australia
Review Submitted: November 15, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
We stayed in this for property for nine amazing nights. This house itself is wonderful, right on the beach set in a private surrounding. House contained everything we required plus more. The bedrooms were all wonderful, clean and spacious, kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed. The games room was a real favourite for us. Were lucky enough to swim with the turtles right out front of the house... a real dream holiday in a great north shore location! Thanks to Maggie and Tim the owners for their welcome at the property and also a nice phone call the day prior to leaving! Would rent this wonderful place again and recommend it to anyone!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabili

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Beachfront home

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

4 out of 5

Tornado Soccer Mom Arkansas
Review Submitted: January 20, 2010 Date of Stay: November 2009
What I enjoyed most was being able to walk out the back door onto this nearly secluded beach. The only downside is the house does not have an air conditioner and if you are used to an air conditioner than you need to get out of the house during the day because it did get hot in the house even with all of the windows opened. At night the house cooled off enough where we could sleep comfortably. Other than that, the house was really enjoyable. My children loved the pool table so much that we had to get them one for Christmas. Going to sleep with the sounds of the waves crashing is priceless. The beach was really nice and we enjoyed it so much more because it was not crowded. The house was stocked with all the neccessary items. Received our deposit a week after returning home. Thanks Maggie and Tim for making our first Hawaii trip such an enjoyable one.
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

5 out of 55

Traveling Teacher United States
Review Submitted: July 13, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009
A wonderful place to stay with family. We went with children and grandchildren, The fenced yard was great for small children. The beach was quiet and beautiful. We could watch the sunset every night while eating dinner on the patio. The home had everything we needed for a great stay, beautiful furnishing, beach items, and a well supplied kitchen (even an extra refrigerator in the garage). Try sky diving at Dillingham....Fun! Tim and Maggie were great hosts. They were at the house when we arrrived and they answered questions, and were available if we needed anything during our stay. A WINNER!!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5
Fantastic waterfront beach house in great location
Karen11 Australia
Review Submitted: November 15, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
We stayed in this for property for nine amazing nights. This house itself is wonderful, right on the beach set in a private surrounding. House contained everything we required plus more. The bedrooms were all wonderful, clean and spacious, kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed. The games room was a real favourite for us. Were lucky enough to swim with the turtles right out front of the house... a real dream holiday in a great north shore location! Thanks to Maggie and Tim the owners for their welcome at the property and also a nice phone call the day prior to leaving! Would rent this wonderful place again and recommend it to anyone!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

Review Submitted: January 20, 2010 Date of Stay: November 2009
What I enjoyed most was being able to walk out the back door onto this nearly secluded beach. The only downside is the house does not have an air conditioner and if you are used to an air conditioner than you need to get out of the house during the day because it did get hot in the house even with all of the windows opened. At night the house cooled off enough where we could sleep comfortably. Other than that, the house was really enjoyable. My children loved the pool table so much that we had to get them one for Christmas. Going to sleep with the sounds of the waves crashing is priceless. The beach was really nice and we enjoyed it so much more because it was not crowded. The house was stocked with all the neccessary items. Received our deposit a week after returning home. Thanks Maggie and Tim for making our first Hawaii trip such an enjoyable one.
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Review Submitted: July 13, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009
A wonderful place to stay with family. We went with children and grandchildren, The fenced yard was great for small children. The beach was quiet and beautiful. We could watch the sunset every night while eating dinner on the patio. The home had everything we needed for a great stay, beautiful furnishing, beach items, and a well supplied kitchen (even an extra refrigerator in the garage). Try sky diving at Dillingham....Fun! Tim and Maggie were great hosts. They were at the house when we arrrived and they answered questions, and were available if we needed anything during our stay. A WINNER!!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Beachfront home

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

What I enjoyed most was being able to walk out the back door onto this nearly secluded beach. The only downside is the house does not have an air conditioner and if you are used to an air conditioner than you need to get out of the house during the day because it did get hot in the house even with all of the windows opened. At night the house cooled off enough where we could sleep comfortably. Other than that, the house was really enjoyable. My children loved the pool table so much that we had to get them one for Christmas. Going to sleep with the sounds of the waves crashing is priceless. The beach was really nice and we enjoyed it so much more because it was not crowded. The house was stocked with all the neccessary items. Received our deposit a week after returning home. Thanks Maggie and Tim for making our first Hawaii trip such an enjoyable one.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic waterfront beach house in great location

Review submitted: November 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

We stayed in this for property for nine amazing nights. This house itself is wonderful, right on the beach set in a private surrounding. House contained everything we required plus more. The bedrooms were all wonderful, clean and spacious, kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed. The games room was a real favourite for us. Were lucky enough to swim with the turtles right out front of the house... a real dream holiday in a great north shore location! Thanks to Maggie and Tim the owners for their welcome at the property and also a nice phone call the day prior to leaving! Would rent this wonderful place again and recommend it to anyone!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review