reviews for: listing #47839 - Winter Park, Colorado House rental

Mountain Home Retreat; Luxury in a Rustic Mountain Setting
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Winter Park Ranch
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $699 /nt

sort by:

All the Amenities of Home

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

My colleagues and I (all business professionals) have been making an annual ski trip to the Winter Park/Fraser area for the last 6-7 years. We usually stay at a private home in the Fraser area for 7-8 days.

However, the Carabou Mountian home was the nicest and most well equipped home we have ever stayed in. We were all very pleased with the decor, comfort and warmth the home provided throughout our week long stay. The kitchen was the most well-equipped we have ever seen at any other residence we have frequented in the area. The home was extremely clean, conveniently located, and easily accessible. The owner was always prompt with his responsiveness regarding payment, expectations of the rental agreement, and questions concerning certain features of the home, even after our arrival.

The New Hong Kong Chinese Restaruant in Winter Park is outstanding and has some of the best Chinese cuisine I have ever experienced.

I would definitely highly reccommend this property to anyone who is looking for "all the comforts of home" combined with simplistic luxury during their vacation stay in the Winter Park/Fraser area.

This home was oustanding and I look forward to our trip and staying at this home again next year. This home was even more beautiful in person than the website portrayed.

You certainly won't be disappointed!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Billy,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the extra touches we have provided in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would be more than happy to accommodate you next year!

Art

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely home for 5 wonderful nights. The accommodations were fantastic - excellently equipped, great kitchen, cozy home, outstanding hot tub, and very close to WP. It was very hard to come back to reality!!!

Owners response: Thanks Jenny! Please come back and see us some time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A delightful place for R&R

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

For Thanksgiving this year, we decided to leave the Metro area and, as an extended family, try something different. The space in this mountain Vacation Rental was just what we needed to spread out and enjoy extended time together over the long holiday weekend. The kitchen was stocked with just about every appliance we could imagine! The beds were comfortable, and the space was large enough for all of us to not feel that we were on top of each other. There is a Safeway grocery store about 5 minutes away which was wonderful for the few food items we forgot to bring. Winter Park is only 8 minutes away as well. The main living area in this home is on the second story which makes for some incredible views. My 84 year old father was able to get up and down the stairs fairly easily.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible experience at an amazing property.

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

I visited this property for a weekend in December 2012 with 11 of my friends. The house was very accommodating, comfortable, and just minutes from the town and ski area of Winter Park. It was clean and inviting. We certainly expect to return, as we couldn't have pictured a better getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Mountain Getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this cabin with our extended family in just before Christmas and had a wonderful time! It has everything you would want to have an easy fun mountain vacation. Everything was so easy - it was very nice just to show up and have everything you need ready to use... kiten utensils, grill, hot tub, sattelite TV... everything was awesome! The cabin is located only about 5 minutes drive from restaraunts, pubs, etc... and only about 8-10 minutes from the main ski lift area in Winter Park. I would absolutely reccomend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Winter Park area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family had a great time at this Luxurious Moun

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Our family had a great time at this Luxurious Mountin Cabin. The place was decorated to perfection, equipped with everything you could possibly need, warm and cozy (the radiant heat in the floors was a plus!), and very clean. Having the two "family" rooms was also a plus. We had our four adult children and one grandchild with us. It gave the family two options for television, games, or just quiet time. There were movies to watch, games to play and some wildlife to watch. We saw some foxes and moose! We have been visiting Winter Park for over thirteen years and this was the first time we saw moose!

The owners were very accommodating and asked if there was anything else we needed for our stay. They checked on the hot tub during the stay to make sure all was well. Before our arrival they provided us with all a very informative packet of instructions for the home. It was very helpful to refer to when we had questions.

I highly recommend renting this Luxurious Mountain Cabin!!!

Maureen Prendergast

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Club Caribou

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

The house and amenities were great! The owner was prompt with every detail for every question. It was a great place to stay. Location was nice and the setting was beautiful. I would definitely stay here again! Everyone in my group had a wonderful time. Look forward to returning in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good house for big group

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We had 8 adults and 7 kids and had a great time. House comes nicely stocked with way more amenities and pots/pans/spices than we've experienced at other Vrbos. Great owners - super nice and helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

This home fit us perfectly. The rooms are large, the place is warm and we had a great stay. We ski every year in Feb and this by far was the nicest house we stayed at. We loved the open floor plan and the furniture and accomodations were great. I would recommed this house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome home and location!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

All the comforts of home. Well stocked kitchen with a most awesome waffle maker. In fact all the appliances were top notch. The beds were comfy and the house was very clean. The owners have thought of everything you might need - snow shovels (and we needed them), sleds and tubes (fun!), games, movies, internet, towels - even shampoos and hair dryers! Can't think of anything that was missing. Best treat were the foxes that visited nearly every evening, and the amazing snowstorm followed by gorgeous sunshine. Shopping for groceries right nearby - only a few minutes from Winter Park Ski Resort and some awesome snowmobiling. Don't miss tubing on Fraser Hill only minutes away! Very relaxing - beautiful views!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at this beautiful home!

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We had a summer family get together in the mountains at this property. The owners were great to work with, the home was beautiful and relaxing. There were great instructions on how to operate and care for everything. It is definitely as beautiful and clean as pictured. The hot tub water was clean and nice. We will absolutely be back to enjoy this area again and this will be our first choice for a place to stay!
Lori and Tony

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect mountain retreat

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

My family and I were extremely impressed by this gorgeous mountain home! We came to the mountains for some sanctuary and to do some skiing and snowboarding. The house is literally 10 minutes from Winter Park and only minutes from restaurants, Safeway and a tubing hill! The welcome packet was detailed and accurate. We were greeted by a cheery bottle of champagne and a personalized note from the owners! The pictures, layout and amenities were just as described on VRBO. The kitchen was fully stocked with all our cooking needs. Everything was neatly organized so we knew where to replace dishes, pots and pans and blankets. The owners were extremely gracious and generous! We couldn't have been happier with our choice of properties and we look forward to visiting again!

Owners response: Thank you Stacie. I'm so glad that you and your family had a good time over Colten's birthday. Glad to have you back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Winter Vacation

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Our family stayed here for an after Christmas vacation and it was perfect! Gorgeous property with everything you could need. Owners were a pleasure to deal with and very prompt with getting back to us with any questions we had. Would definitely recommend this property for anyone. Within a few miles of ski resort and tubing hills, snowmobiling and many other activities!

Owners response: Jack and Patricia,
I'm happy you guys enjoyed the house so much! Glad to have you back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home !!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

As always, beautiful home, well maintained, well appointed, and very comfortable. Having stayed in the area many, times at various locations, this is by far our favorite. Highest recommendation!

Owners response: Thank you Tom. I hope to continue having you back in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

This home was amazing! We had everything we needed and more. Beautifully decorated with a gourmet kitchen. More than what we expected! Hot tub with heated path was awesome! We would definitely recommend this home for families, friends or just a delightful getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Bryan. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed it. Would be happy to host you guys again if you are ever interested.

-Aaron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome week-long Ski/snowboarding vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This was absolutely one of the best vacation homes I have had the privilege to stay in. I planed a couples trip with some friends/colleagues, medical professionals, and had a great time. The view of the mountains from the front deck is AMAZING!!! Also, the hot tub was a clutch bonus after long days of skiing/snowboarding. The kitchen was well stocked with anything you would need for cooking and organized for ease of use. The heated floors throughout were also a plus during the cold months. We enjoyed our stay so much that we discussed returning the next year. A word of advice for anyone planning to stay in this home during the winter months is to rent a 4x4 vehicle. The snow in the area around this home is pretty tricky to navigate without 4WD.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Week-long Ski/Snowboarding trip

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This was absolutely one of the best vacation homes I have had the privilege to stay in. I planed a couples trip with some friends/colleagues, medical professionals, and had a great time. The hot tub was a clutch bonus after long days of skiing/snowboarding. The kitchen was well stocked with anything you would need for cooking and organized for ease of use. The heated floors throughout were also a plus during the cold months. We enjoyed our stay so much that we discussed returning the next year. A word of advice for anyone planning to stay in this home during the winter months is to rent a 4x4 vehicle. The snow in the area around this home is pretty tricky to navigate without 4WD.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We were very pleased with the cabin in Fraser, CO. It was decorated beautifully for Christmas and they made sure we had extra playpens for the little ones to sleep in and a baby gate for the stairs. The cabin was beautiful! We could have just spent everyday at the cabin playing in the snow and sledding, but we had to explore the towns too. The owners are very friendly and made us feel right at home. Thank you for a wonderful Christmas experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to be able to provide a comfortable home for your vacation and allow you to be able to enjoy our Rocky Mountain environment. We hope that you will be able to spend your next winter vacation with us again! Thank you for being such exemplary guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Family Experience

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

My family of six (four kids under the age of 8) stayed at the Caribou home in Fraser for 2 weeks and loved it. It is very close to the YMCA of the Rockies (20 minutes), which is a great place for family activities. It is also about 15 minutes from downtown Winter Park, which is also fun, albeit pricier. The home itself is well-appointed and beautifully finished, with a kitchen that has every gadget you could possibly want. It also has a wonderful game closet and entertainment center for family movie nights. Also, the grocery store is only 5 minutes away, even though the home is up the mountain in the woods. A great find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for 3 families

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

We stayed 3 nights over Spring Break. The kids stayed in the bunk room downstairs and loved having their own space to play games and watch movies after a full day of skiing at Winter Park. The open kitchen/living area floor plan is great for the adults to relax with a glass of wine and take turns cooking an easy dinner. The kitchen is very well equipped and organized! Having a hot tub right out the door was a nice luxury too. This is probably the best VRBO property I have rented!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family fun

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

My family and I had a great time at Winterpark. The house was beautiful. It was so nice to come home from a day of skiing or site seeing to a warm, quiet home. We enjoyed not having neighbors right next to us. The kids favorite was the hot tub. We are looking forward to staying again next year and would definitely recommend the Cabrera house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy! Wonderful!

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

A group of women piled into a few cars and went up after work on a Friday night. We were greeted to a hospitable bottle of wine and some snacks for snowshoeing. The place was beautiful, spacious, warm and had a great kitchen for all the cooking we did. We loved the hot tub and dining room table/space, especially.

Thanks for such a wonderful time!

Allison and friends from Denver

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this vacation home! The house was beautiful and well maintained. It comfortably slept our party of 5 adults and 5 kids. The kitchen was large and very well stocked with dishes, appliances, and everything you might need to cook up a tasty dinner. The furniture/ beds and other amenities were of very good quaility. We found the owner to be very helpful and easy to communicate with. Our children in particular loved having the large yard to play in (build snowmen, go sledding, etc). It's location in Fraser makes it easy to commute to Winter park to ski. I would highly recommend this property to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Moutain Home

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

This home was eactly the way it was discribed. It was cozy, clean, and everything our 3 families with children was looking for. It was conviently located just miles from the Winter park Ski resort, shopping and resturants. Our families really enjoyed the spaciousness of the home, not to mention the outdoor fun that they had. We would definetly rent this home again. The owner Art, was wonderful to work with. He was even so gracious as to buy a new hot tub during our stay b/c the one that was at the house wasn't working properly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family winter getaway

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

This mountain home has everything you need for a great stay. We had 10 people there ranging from 6 months to 60. There was plenty of space for all of us to play a game together and enough individual rooms for people to relax on their own. The kitchen was great and we really enjoyed using the high end appliances to make our family dinners.

Fraser is a great place to stay with the access to the Winter Park ski bus, the sled hill and snowmobiling.

We can't wait to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You will not be disappointed!

Review submitted: December 9, 2008   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

My family of 10 rented the house for Thansgiving 2008. We had a great time, and were very pleased with the house, its location, and the transactions with the owner.(Thanks Art!)

The house had everything we needed, from the fully stocked kitchen, to extra towels for the hot tub (really nice hot tub).

If your looking for great cabin near Winter Park, your search is over, book this one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I would like add some quotes from the email Caleb sent me after their stay:

"Hey Art,

We were all looking forward to this trip for a long time, so the house had to fill some really high expectations...it surpassed all of them!

I wish I had a video of all of us running around the house (especially my 4 year old niece) the first half an hour after we arrived. It was a lot of fun to find all the little extras the house offers. I run a construction company and was impressed with how well built the house is. It is obvious you did not cut any corners.

It snowed 3" the first night, so everything was beautiful, and skiing was great. We got about 4" the second day, so half of us stayed at the cabin and had a great time sledding down the driveway, while the rest of us went skiing. Then we sat in the hot tub that night and watched it snow.

The kitchen had everything we needed for a great Thanksgiving dinner."

"We had a great trip... The next time we venture to the mountains, we will be giving you a call. Thanks again"

Thank you, Caleb, for you kind responses. We hope that you can stay at our mountain home again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family gathering for my son's wedding.

Review submitted: October 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 17, 2008

The kitchen and eating and living area were open and perfect for our large group. There were lots and lots of matching plates, silverware, glasses, serving trays, pots, etc. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The setting is beautifull in the pines with foxes and squirrls running around. We hope to come back some day. Thank you for a great wedding/family reunnion party, jp.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous home for family reunions

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We searched the internet for a rental home in the center of the U.S. for a mini family get together and chose Fraser, Colorado. We arrived from Wisconsin, Oregon and California by car/RV at equal mileage. Our directions were simple to follow over beautiful terrain. The house was neat and clean with plenty of room for our group of 9. It could have held several more if more family members were able to come. The kitchen in my opinion was the best feature. It's large and well stocked with great appliances and cookware. The outdoor grill was used twice and we didn't eat a single meal out which saved a lot. What we saved in meals out we spent at the great poker table provided each night. I never knew it was so much fun taking money from family! We brought two keyboards and several guitars with no worries of disturbing the neighbors. The Safeway grocery store is two minutes down the road and had all we needed at reasonable prices. The bedrooms were large and comfortable with plenty of linens and towels. The TV’s are a bit complicated with several remotes for each but if you've got kids, it's a snap. We brought a laptop and the wireless internet worked well. The kids enjoyed the giant TV and video game system downstairs while the adults visited upstairs. Art and Cheri, the owners, were very helpful and pleasant to deal with answering every question quickly. You simply won't be disappointed with the area for outdoor activities or the house for visiting. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We pretend it's our own...

Review submitted: February 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We are repeat visitors of this property and make it our first choice when desiring time in the Winter Park/Fraser area. I no longer have to worry about what I will need as this home has it all. We have enjoyed it as a group of 12 or just mom and the boys. We love the location and its upscale coziness. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

New Year's Eve Stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The house was perfect for our 4 night stay. It was in a great location in Frasier. We were able to ski at two resorts and enjoy New Year's Eve festivities in Frasier. We used the kitchen every morning and night instead of eating out. The property was very clean and well maintained. I would definatly recommend this property to anyone and would rent it again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation home. We all had a great time relaxing and enjoying the cool summer weather of the rockies. Very family friendly home. The whole family enjoyed themselves!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review