reviews for: listing #47854 - Keystone, Colorado House rental

Gorgeous Alpine Home! Hot Tub, Close to 5 Ski Resorts!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $675 /nt
    $1,400 - $4,200 /wk
    $2,800 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

Mountain Manna

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 19, 2008

6 members of my family stayed very comfortably in this very clean, well-located mountain home. It was just like the written description and pictures provided were very accurate. We enjoyed easy trail hiking near the home so we could adjust the the altitude. Then we ventured further out but never drove over 30 minutes to get to majestic mountain trails. The hot tub and grill were great for enjoying a relaxing evening at home. We enjoyed dining out at the brewery, a local pizza parlor within minutes of the house, and a mountain grill with lots of atmosphere in Dillon. We also enjoyed the outlet mall shopping just a 15 minute drive from the home. The owner was very prompt with replies and precise with directions. I would highly recommend this home to any family wanting to enjoy the Colorado mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to having families and groups come back for repeat visits!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Fabulous Last Minute Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

At the last minute, I planned a wee getaway for my daughter's birthday and came upon this home. The owner was extremely fast at responding to emails regarding availability and various questions. The photos and description in the listing are spot on. Unfortunately, the weather for our stay was a bit off (that is Colorado for you!) but we had a grand time nestled in the space before the fireplace eating, drinking and playing games. The hot tub was fabulous, especially in the rain. One of the best things about the home is it is pet friendly. We brought our dogs and they also had a grand time. The back yard is fenced so you could let them out to enjoy the scenery and not worry. As an added bonus, the owner emailed helpful information about the area, including where to get groceries, good restaurants, items to bring (such as flip flops to get to the hot tub), where to find coupons, deals and local events, as well as the best times to travel to avoid traffic. We could not have had a better experience and I highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Location for a Summer Getaway!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Awesome week away in the mountains! So much space, the rooms are good sized and lots of towels, great layout for family. Plenty to see and do in the area for the summer, hiking, fishing, shopping whatever you want this place is centraly located. Great owners in a great location would absolutely add this to my favorites to stay. Loved the private back yard, short walk to the hiking trails and private hot tub.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

R NC

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Great place, close to the slopes in the summit area. The house was both beautiful and functional. Definitely would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a wonderful Holiday vacation!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Paul, the house was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed in our ten years of family ski trips between Christmas and New Year's. My husband did not go as he is still in the recovery stage of a surprise coronary bypass at the beginning of December and did not want to deal with the discomfort of anemia at that altitude, so we ended up with four teen-aged girls (our two granddaughters each brought a friend), who shared the large bedroom and bath. That was a perfect solution for us, as it kept their incredible debris isolated in that part of the house (which is a relief because I am something of a neatness freak, according to my grandchildren, at least). Our grandson had the smaller bedroom to himself, my son and daughter-in-law had one of the other bedrooms, and my daughter and I shared the other bedroom (her husband had to stay in Norman to work at the hospital this year). The teenagers enjoyed the hot tub enormously and the cooks in the family appreciated the nicely-stocked kitchen (loved that coffee grinder--need one myself).

Additionally, thanks for the extensive amount of information you provided about the area. The information about the ski rental place was particularly helpful, as we discovered it saved us a nice amount of money. We also really liked the young people who worked there; they were helpful, pleasant, and personable.

P.S. . . . and thanks for not using a property management company. Our experience indicates that even the best of them fails to take the kind of care you provided.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Dog heaven indeed!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay here in mid-October, while the weather was still reasonably mild and autumn leaves were still turning, and we gladly echo all the superlatives mentioned in previous reviews. The house is exactly as it appears in photos, except that the rooms are much more spacious than they appear. The bedrooms are especially impressive. In terms of value, location, layout, style, comfort and ease of use, this house is as good as it gets; throw in the child- and pet-friendly elements of unfussy decor and a fully fenced yard and it becomes perfect.

The house is located in a very quiet neighborhood with quick access to anywhere in Summit County you might wish to go: it's about 10 minutes by car to Frisco, less than 20 minutes to Breckenridge and maybe 45 to Vail. There is plentiful shopping, particularly for active types, and a surprisingly good selection of restaurants just down the hill. Sunshine Cafe, Dillon Dam Brewery and Last Chance Pizza were all winners. Skiers, hikers, walkers and anyone who drives a car or rides in one will be in heaven thanks to the mountain vistas and that gorgeous lake.

Thank you, Paul and family for generously sharing your home with us! We will happily recommend it to others without hesitation.

Owners response: Thank you Dan for the wonderful words. We hope you and your pooches come back to stay at our alpine home again in the very near future. Best, Paul.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

WOW1 WHATTA A VACATION---A GREAT TIME HAD BY ALL

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Our family consisting of children, grandchildren, a friend and a boyfriend (11 of us) spent five wonderful nights at this Alpine home. Owner of the home was very helpful and pleasant in aiding us in our planning of this vacation. The descriptions and photos he provided of the property, exterior and interior accurately reflected the house and surrounding area. The property is close to good restaurants, shopping and many activities and attractions in the Keystone, Dillon, Breckenridge, Frisco and Gerogetown areas. This is a special place......so special that my granddaughter's boyfriend chose the woods nearby to propose to her. Although we did not see snow while here, I can imagine how beautiful it must be during that season. I would certainly recommend this rental property to others and I hope our family will have the opportunity to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Property!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

Our family of 6 (including a 14 month old) and two dogs stayed in this home for 4 days and had every amenity we needed. The dogs loved the backyard and the toddler loved the open space as he was learning to walk! The house is gorgeous, very well maintained and truly had everything we needed. It was convenient to all of our local destinations - we highly recommend it to anyone! Thank you, Paul, for making our family vacation a memorable one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great house, excellent location. Dog heaven!

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We wanted to thank you for the use of your house in Dillon. We had a
great trip. The weather was fantastic the last 5-6 days. The first 2 it snowed!!! In mid June!!!
We hiked and biked until our legs were sore. The house is perfect! The dogs loved the yard.
And we liked being able to let them spend time outside. Most homes up there dont have yards that are fenced. The dogs were in heaven. We hiked and biked the trail-trails by the house and
got some ideas on which offshoots we want to try next time. We were only 50 yards from a trail system that you could hike for miles and miles. I also liked the easy access to the bikepath that goes to Vail and Breckenridge.The hot Tub was soothing, the TV enormous. The Kitchen had everything you could ask for. We have stayed a week in Colorado in the summer 6 years in a row, and we both agreed
that this was our favorite house, and the first we would return to if we could.
Thanks for everything.
Robert & Debbi Donovan (and Gus and Allie)
Wichita Ks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful home. Dog heaven!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Hey Paul,

We wanted to thank you for the use of your house in Dillon. We had a
great trip. The weather was fantastic the last 5-6 days. The first 2 it snowed!!!
We hiked and biked until our legs were sore. The house is perfect! The dogs loved the yard.
And we liked being able to let them spend time outside. Most homes up there dont have yards that are fenced. The dogs were in heaven. We hiked and biked the trail-trails by the house and
got some ideas on which offshoots we want to try next time. The hot Tub was soothing, the TV enormous. The bedrooms were super comfortable, with cozy linens. We found everything we needed in the large kitchen,(except pot holders) you now have 2 new pot holders!
We really liked the location. We were 50 yards from a trail (system) that we could hike or bike for miles and miles and miles if we wanted. Also it was simple to get to the awesome bikepath that goes to Breckenridge and Vail. We have stayed a week in Colorado in the summer 6 years in a row, and we both agreed that this was our favorite house, and the first we would return to if we could.
Thanks for everything.
Robert & Debbi Donovan (and Gus and Allie)
Wichita Ks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great winter get away for group of 8!

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

We had a great stay at this wonderful 4 bedroom home in Dillon Colorado. There were 8 adults plus 2 dogs and we all had adequate room to enjoy ourselves without feeling cramped. We found this house to be just as described on the website. The owner, Paul, was the best we have ever rented from. He was prompt with replies to any questions we had prior to booking and since returning home. He took the extra time and effort to send recommendations on things to do in the area and tips about shopping, skiing and dining. The house was stocked with everything we needed for our stay. The location was great for us since we wanted to visit several resorts. We had plenty to do every day within 20 minutes of the house. Our evenings were mainly spent playing games, enjoying the hottub, or just spending time with the group. We would love to come again during any season because this area has something to offer everyone. Special thanks to Paul for allowing our furry family members to stay with us. This just made the trip complete.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Sharon for the kind words. We look forward to having you stay again!! Best, Paul

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place for the Whole Family

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

This comment was entered on my Homeaway website (169350): This home is a perfect "home base" for entire family. We had 10 adults, 3 babies and 3 dogs. Great proximity to all sorts of fun: cycling, hiking, fishing or just strolling Breckenridge. Favorite place was a tie between the Talking Room with big leather chairs and the covered front porch where we spent many an afternoon lounging. We dazed at a billion stars while soaking in the hot tub in the evening. The only bad part that time seemed to disappear in a moment and seven days went by in a blink. Family vote was unanimous: same place, same time next year! Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Smiles

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

This comment was entered on my Homeaway website (169350): 6 members of my family stayed very comfortably in this very clean, well-located mountain home. It was just like the written description and pictures provided were very accurate. We enjoyed easy trail hiking near the home so we could adjust the the altitude. Then we ventured further out but never drove over 30 minutes to get to majestic mountain trails. The hot tub and grill were great for enjoying a relaxing evening at home. We enjoyed dining out at the brewery, a local pizza parlor within minutes of the house, and a mountain grill with lots of atmosphere in Dillon. We also enjoyed the outlet mall shopping just a 15 minute drive from the home. The owner was very prompt with replies and precise with directions. I would highly recommend this home to any family wanting to enjoy the Colorado mountains. Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and Beautiful Views

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

My Husband and I and 8 friends of ours rented this house for a week in the beginning of Febuary. We had a fantastic trip! The home was very large and roomy, as well as decorated nicely. The house came equipped with everything we needed, we just got our own groceries. It is very short ride to Breckenridge, Keystone and Arapahoe basin. There is also a bus that can pick you up, which was very helpful. The 8 person hot tub was used every night! The home was perfect for relaxing after a long day of skiing. I highly reccomend staying here for families and friends to reunite and enjoy lovely colorado!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

From finding your home on the internet to checking in on the day of our arrival, the entire process was smooth and stree-free. The home's features and location are exceptional and very well suited for larger families. Everyone had a great time and is looking forward to a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: December 19, 2008   Date of arrival: December 10, 2008

Our family stayed December 10th-14th. Was very pleased with the everything about the property. Would like to rent it again for a ski trip with friends in January but I see it is already booked.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 21, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I had the privlege of staying here with my family and a some friends for a few days in August. This is a beautiful home in a wonderful location! We spent our days hiking, kyaking, and mountain biking. The town of Dillon is great and Keystone is right up the road (biking distance). We plan a return trip one of these days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We totally enjoyed our time at this beautiful home. There was more than enough room for the eight adults and 2 dogs we had in our party. The pictures on the website give an accurate description. It had everything we could have wished for as far as location, amminities, and comfort. We would definately use it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for the Whole Family

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 27, 2008

This home is a perfect "home base" for entire family. We had 10 adults, 3 babies and 3 dogs. Great proximity to all sorts of fun: cycling, hiking, fishing or just strolling Breckenridge. Favorite place was a tie between the
Talking Room with big leather chairs and the covered front porch where we spent many an afternoon lounging. We dazed at a billion stars while soaking in the hot tub in the evening. The only bad part that time seemed to disappear in a moment and seven days went by in a blink. Family vote was unanimous: same place, same time next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: June 10, 2008

This comment was entered on my Homeaway website (169350): This home is a perfect "home base" for entire family. We had 10 adults, 3 babies and 3 dogs. Great proximity to all sorts of fun: cycling, hiking, fishing or just strolling Breckenridge. Favorite place was a tie between the
Talking Room with big leather chairs and the covered front porch where we spent many an afternoon lounging. We dazed at a billion stars while soaking in the hot tub in the evening. The only bad part that time seemed to disappear in a moment and seven days went by in a blink. Family vote was unanimous: same place, same time next year!
Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

This comment was entered on my Homeaway website (169350): 6 members of my family stayed very comfortably in this very clean, well-located mountain home. It was just like the written description and pictures provided were very accurate. We enjoyed easy trail hiking near the home so we could adjust the the altitude. Then we ventured further out but never drove over 30 minutes to get to majestic mountain trails. The hot tub and grill were great for enjoying a relaxing evening at home. We enjoyed dining out at the brewery, a local pizza parlor within minutes of the house, and a mountain grill with lots of atmosphere in Dillon. We also enjoyed the outlet mall shopping just a 15 minute drive from the home. The owner was very prompt with replies and precise with directions. I would highly recommend this home to any family wanting to enjoy the Colorado mountains.
Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review