reviews for: listing #47874 - Charlevoix, Michigan House rental

Bay Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $275 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing !

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at this property for a couple of days and we really enjoyed ourselves here. It is not exactly secluded but the other homes are far enough away, and when you are in the home all you can see are trees and the beautiful water. That gives you the feeling of being off and alone somewhere secluded. The home is slightly dated but everything is clean and all the amenities in the home are really wonderful. You don't feel like you are in some pristine cold home, and for us, we felt "right at home". It was so comfy and everything was nice and clean that with the warm fireplaces and and a great layout showcasing the views so well we really regretted only having a couple of days to spend here. We certainly hope to be back here some day and will highly recommend this home to our friends. The owner was just a delight and so helpful. She even sent some restaurant suggestions with her own personal opinion of each place for us when I had told her we would be looking to have a nice meal somewhere in the area during our stay. As it turned out we only went out to eat one time as the kitchen was so well appointed and the place so nice that we decided we would rather stay in together and cook most of our meals there. What an enjoyable stay and such sweet memories we made here, "Thank You", Kristen for being so kind and helpful, and for letting us have the chance to share your home. Curtis & Lori

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We, too, often find it relaxing to just stay in and cook together, enjoying the view and a fire in the fireplace! The home does have a surprising feeling of privacy compared to what one would expect just driving by. We've had some small improvements planned that will help the house feel more updated, and we will make sure to make those a priority to give our guests a more comfortable experience when they visit. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay, Curtis and Lori, and we look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Cozy Comfort

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Bay Villa provides a lovely, tranquil escape. The home was clean, spacious, and accessible. Our party of four adults enjoyed the space despite inhospitable weather. The beds and bathroom facilities are "top notch". Towns nearby make great half day excursion destinations when looking for natural beauty and small-town charm. Stairs might limit access for some vactioners.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay! The home really is fantastic in the cool weather months. It is nice to relax by a warm fire and enjoy the beautiful view of the woods and the lake. We believe that a clean home is most important to our guests, so we make it our highest priority. The home's main living area is on the upper level, so a guest who has a hard time navigating stairs would find it difficult to stay in this home.

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

So disappointed, we left early.

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

So disappointed we left early.
Our experience at this rental property did not match any of the posted reviews. One of the first things we noticed when we entered the house was the soiled and stained carpeting on the stairs and living spaces. We used the hand rails on the stairs and were aware of the grime and stickiness on the wood.
The furniture, including the couch and chairs in the living room was actually “sticky” to the touch and looked grimy and oily. So, in order to use the couches, we took sheets off the bed to use as “throws” on the furniture.
When we took the sheets off the bed in the master bedroom we saw that the mattress was topped with a piece of foam that was stained and clearly worn and the mattress itself was patched together with what appeared to be black duct tape.
When it came time to prepare dinner, we found that only one burner on the stove worked. We tried to use the oven, but found that it too did not work. And, the bottom portion of the dishwasher was half attached—exposing insulation and wires.
Yes, the neighbors are quiet, but the owner neglects to mention the noise from MI-31, the “street” you need to cross in order to get to the bike path. The house is located just feet away from a major north -south route and the noise from the road makes it almost impossible to have the windows open.
You have to cross MI-31 to reach the bike path, and then go down a rocky path to reach the path itself. Hardly an experience for the faint of heart. We stayed only 3 nights of a 6 night reservation.

We have used VRBO for more than 14 years, renting seven different homes in five different states. This is the first time that feel we have been misled by the information posted by the owners and also the reviews posted by the owner.
Stayed July 2014Submitted July 29, 2014Source VRBO

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful property, had a great stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

I stayed at Bay Villa with my wife and two other couples while we were in town for a wedding and it was great! Downtown Charlevoix was less than 10 minutes away, Petosky about 15...so either area was just a quick jaunt down the road. The house is very neat... lots of exposed brick, fireplaces, natural wood... very welcoming! We had tons of space to hang out in, even had some of the wedding party over on Saturday afternoon - cooked up breakfast in the kitchen without incident, and had a couple nights of frozen pizzas too. No lack of cookware, and while the appliances are old - they worked fine. The whole house sound system was a nice touch, and having a garage to put cars in was an added bonus. Overall, we were VERY happy with the house, and we're kicking around the idea of coming back up next summer when its warm enough to explore a little more!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully having you back for another visit! The home does have a unique design and was built with all four seasons in mind. The view of course is beautiful year round, and the fireplaces add a cozy touch when it is chilly. During the coldest months, the sauna is very relaxing and enjoyable after a day of skiing, and in the summer, the large yard is perfect for lawn games and watching the stars by the fire pit.

We, too, find that the old appliances still work fine and really enjoy the indoor Jenn-Air grill. We periodically get comments about them, though, so it may be time to start looking into updating them!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Rental!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This home is an awesome rental! It is cozy, yet roomy, clean and very accomodating. It has a wonderful atomosphere. I appreciated the comfty beds, multiple fireplaces (one in the kitchen too!), huge windows, beautiful view, and prompt, clear communication from the owner. We had such a great experience and felt right at home in this rental. We will DEFINATELY be back to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have found the home to be cozy, too, during the many cold and chilly months we have in Northern Michigan! The home is well insulated, and the gas fireplaces give an extra cozy touch. The lake side of the house is almost all windows and sliding glass doors, making it possible to enjoy the view from the warmth of the house. There is also a sauna in which to really warm up after spending time outside in the colder weather! We're glad you enjoyed the home, and we look forward to having you back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Rental! We'll be back!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This home is an awesome rental! It is cozy, yet roomy, clean and very accomodating. It has a wonderful atomosphere. I appreciated the comfty beds, multiple fireplaces (one in the kitchen too!), huge windows, beautiful view, and prompt, clear communication from the owner. We had such a great experience and felt right at home in this rental. We will DEFINATELY be back to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Bay Villa

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Everything worked out great! The property location between Charlevoix and Petoskey worked out wonderfully, the views from the home were fantastic, and of course the weather cooperated the entire visit, so I have no complaints. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice getaway from the "city". The owner was very helpful, and the photos represent exactly what you get when you get there, nice views and a nice property. Thanks..

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit, Corey! The home's view and location are two of the most popular features of Bay Villa. We're glad that you found the photos to be accurate. The most common question we get from families after looking at the website is whether the property is lakefront. The home is actually on a hill across the road from the lake and was custom designed to take advantage of the striking view. There is public access to the water from the Little Traverse Wheelway, a short walk from the house. It's not really a swimming beach, but the lake and the Wheelway are both beautiful for walking along and enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Charlevoix rental home!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We arrived to this home after receiving excellent directions from the owners. We rented this property for our wedding weekend and to house our parents & children, who fell in love with the property as we did.

The pictures are very accurate, and the view is even more breath taking that we had envisioned! It is in a quiet location approx 15 minutes from beautiful Charlevoix. The beds were very comfortable, the home was very clean, and we couldn't have asked for anything better! There was a few fall time bugs present in the living area, but we reported to the owners and received immeadiate response.

There were many stairs in the home going from level to level, so would be diffucult for those who had very small children or limitations.

I will surely reccommend this property to anyone who is looking to rent a beautiful home for their get away. Im almost wanting to keep in secret so we can use it again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed the home and look forward to having you back again! We know how important it is to have clean accommodations when traveling, so we make that a priority with our home. The bugs were an issue in the area for a couple weeks this fall - we were disappointed that they were a problem at the house and will make sure to spray for them next year! The home was custom designed for the location, and the master suite and main living area are on the upper level. This makes for a striking view of the lake, but as this guest mentioned also requires the use of stairs to reach the main living area. We've had guests with minor difficulty stay in the home and received positive feedback from them, but the home would not work well for guests who are uncomfortable with or unable to navigate stairs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall in charlevoix

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Rented this house for a family wedding at Castle Farms and all of the family that stayed with us and stopped by loved it. The photos are completely accurate at depicting the fabulous views of Lake Michigan and we were able to take our lab across the street to play on the shore. The house is located right between Charlevoix and Petoskey, convenient to either destination. Kristin was very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone, I know we will be going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the property! We often hear from guests that they find the home's location convenient for visiting the area's charming towns and sights. The lakefront across the road is not great for swimming but is beautiful for walking along, and dogs especially love it and the Little Traverse Wheelway that runs along the lake. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this house. It was spacious, very clean and had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. Kristina was extrememly accomodating to our last minute requests and was friendly and easy to work with.
The house was perfectly located near all of the areas we wanted to visit-Traverse City, Charlevoix, Petosky, Mackinaw Island, Torch Lake, Harbor Springs.
I would definitely rent this house again and recommend it to friends traveling to the area!

Owners response: We often hear that guests love the convenient location for visiting the area's charming towns and sights, and we find the view to be beautiful in every season. We do make cleanliness a priority at Bay Villa because we understand how important it is to guests to have a clean home to stay in during their visit. We're glad that you and your group were happy with the house and enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love it!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We rented this home for a weekend wedding....we love it. We will definitely consider this rental again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy that you had a nice stay and look forward to having you back! We have received great feedback from groups coming in for weddings. The home has two full bathrooms and a half bath along with a shower in the sauna area, which is helpful when a large group is getting ready at once. Bay Villa was also designed for entertaining, and we've been told that guests find the home to be a comfortable spot to relax and enjoy time together between wedding activities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for girls' getaway or family

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Bay View was very comfortable and spacious for eight women who stayed a week at August's end in 20ll.
When we were at the house we relaxed or walked to the bay nearby. For touring days, we shopped or saw sites in Charlevoix and Petoskey, spent a day on Mackinac Is., and were awed by the Great Sand Dunes Seashore, stopping at some delightful wineries en route to our vacation home. We'd all like to go to Michigan again! Bay View owners were helpful and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We're happy that you all enjoyed your stay! We often hear from guests that they find Bay Villa's location convenient for visiting the many fantastic sites and charming towns in the area. The Little Traverse Wheelway across the road runs from Charlevoix almost all the way to Harbor Springs. There's public access to walk down to the water from there, and the path itself has gorgeous views of the lake, especially nice for enjoying a relaxing sunset or sunrise walk!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

The house was very clean, well-stocked, and comfortable. Christina was wonderful and easy to work with. The drive to Boyne Highlands for skiing was really easy and Petoskey is right down the road. I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

we came up for the fall colors last October and the views from the decks overlooking Lake Michigan were astounding. It was one of the best vacations my husband and I have taken, so relaxing, so refreshing. The perfect spot to enjoy being "way up North"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay, Kate! We too think that Bay Villa is the perfect spot to enjoy fall in Northern Michigan. We enjoy the view year round, but it's especially nice through those beautiful fall colors!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Vacation 2009

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

Our children are grown and several live out of town. All of us came to Bay Villa in August of 2009 to spend a week together. We had a wonderful time. The grill was great - the kitchen wonderful too. Supplied for all types of food. Our friends own a vacation home just up the road so we entertained as well. The best cities were all close for fun shopping excursions and several beaches are nearby. The view from the deck shown above is beautiful. Travelers came from Chicago and Madison, Wisconsin. A great time for all! The owners were wonderful to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We stayed at Bay Villa in August (2010) and highly recommend it. Quick drives to Charlevoix, Petoskey and Bay View. Pretty, trendy Harbor Springs is close too. Our four days in the area had terrific sunsets, and the rocky beach scenic area a half mile west was a good spot for viewing.

The Villa was extremely nice. Lots of room, good kitchen and bathrooms, comfortable beds, beautiful view for breakfast on the balcony, and the side yard was excellent for football and Frisbee. The architecture is wonderfully creative. Our kids loved the balconies, hidden rooms, winding staircases, see-through fireplace, endless doors, and evening S’mores at the fire pit.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We’re happy to hear that you had a nice time, Dave! The home was custom built and designed for entertaining, and guests often tell us that they enjoy its unique character. Kids always seem to love the house! They find the nooks and crannies fun and also often like sitting at the bar and playing games. Of course the view is probably the most striking feature of the home, and enjoying a nice meal and good company on the deck while watching the boats on the water is one of our personal favorite pastimes. It’s nice to be able to share the home and have others enjoy it as much as we do!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Get Away

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

The Villa was a wonderful place to stay. The view was spectacular. The amenities were above and beyond of what to expect when renting. We had a wonderful time and it would be worthwhile to stay for a week, given the location to travel to various sites.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review