reviews for: listing #47937 - Augur Lake, New York Cottage rental

Pocomoonshine Camp, Rustic Jewel on the Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $250 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing cozy winter getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

The cabin is a cozy relaxing retreat near lake placid. We had such a great time watching movies by the woodstove, cooking fabulous meals in great kitchen, taking walks through neighborhood. It was winter and snow everywhere which made the hotub a great amenity! Thank you for the owners kindness and flexiblility in accomodating us. Great place near skiing. Hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

special place

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Renata,

Our third time at Pocomoonshine, what a special place. Our hectic ‘life’ goes away as we are secluded and cozy here. We spent most of Sunday on snowshoes enjoying the winter wonderland. We found Cub Mnt. Trail on the other wise of the lake. The views are spectacular in this area.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful camp.

Crystal & Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect size

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

What a cozy little cottage, a perfect size to heat by fire. We watched a family of bald eagles fish the lake and relaxed by the fire. A little hiking and some great cooking. Thanks again,
The Canucks,
Toronto, Ontario

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

little details

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

We loved spending our time here, the house is beautiful, full of little details, it’s like a home away from home. The fishing was pretty good, lots of pass and pikes… The hot tub was just perfect after going for a walk to the Ausable Chasm. We’ll definitely be back.
Thank you!

Lisset & Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon week

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We enjoyed spending our honeymoon week at Pocomoonshine Camp and found its quiet and rustic charm to be very relaxing. The leaves were beautiful, we had fun fishing and especially enjoyed the wonderful hot tub every night.

Monica & Todd
Rochester, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully relaxing

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

We had a wonderfully relaxing time, no TV, E-mail, phone calls. Just enjoyed the simpler things life has to offer, sun setting on the lake, chipmunks playing by the chairs out front. Saw a rather large white tail buck and some does by the hot tub! Hiked Poke-O-Moonshine Mountain. Steep, but the views are fantastic.

Lynne & Doug

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

What a charming place of retreat you have here, we had lots of fun exploring the countryside around the area. Fishing was a highlight – there is lots of good fishing, what with the lake and the Ausable River so close. Another highlight was ‘Caving’ at the Pottersville Caves. Very fun! Thanks also from our dogs. They had fun too!

Fiona & Rob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great base

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We loved staying in your cozy little house. I love the way you have it decorated. It is a great base of operation to see all of the other sites as well.
Sincerely,

Margaret & Stephan
Michigan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fantasy vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Just gotta say, this house full of its décor is nothing short of a fantasy vacation in the mountains. It was quite an escape.
Genuinely,
Matthew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Enjoyed our family vacation here on the lake. On the really hot days, we floated off the dock. I think we put our kayaks in the water every day.
Day trips included Montreal (the Old City) and Lake Placid. Drove up Whiteface Mountain and went up the ski-jump towers. Very impressive – both of them!
Thank you for having us at PocoMoonshine Camp.

Arlen, Barb, Becca & Sam
Reading, Pennsylvania

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks and Kisses

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We were here two years ago, my oldest was pregnant and this year we came back. My grand-daughter, her mother, and my universal daughter who most of the time is travelling, So we got a chance to be together in your cozy cottage and we really enjoyed it, Thank You. My grand-daughter got her first look at the squirrel from up close, thanks to your little cottage, so Juliette says.

Montreal, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

enjoyed the Hot Tub

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We enjoyed the Hot Tub in the snow, then running inside to the warmth of the wood-burning fireplace. We made some great meals at the BBQ, then dined with candlelight inside. We enjoyed sitting outside and listening to the sounds of the wind rushing through the trees. Hopefully we get to come back in the summer to explore the lake.

Pennsylvania

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

To die for

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

Dear Renata and Charly,
We loved your cabin; it was to die for.
We loved your lamps and wood ceilings,
We loved the hottub and the lake and the
Zebra masks. We will be coming back ?
And we loved the Zen candles, we googled it.
Definitely will be coming back. Love the
80-degree heat in Feb due to wood stove.

Love,
Jen, Daniel, Shawn
Syracuse, New York

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Away from it all

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Rating
4 out of 5

Away from it all

Silvs Eastchester, New York

Review Submitted: June 1, 2008 Date of Stay: May 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend with our 3 yr old son and loved it - it was so wonderful to be away from everything. The cottage is cosy and homely with everything you need for a vacation. It is just a short walk to the lake and is surrounded by trees, the perfect setting for a quiet getaway but within driving distance of the town and other Adirondack attractions like Ausable Chasm, or the ferry across the lake to Vermont.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of Fun and Great Memories

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

Lots of Fun and Great Memories

Coast2Coast Irvine, California

Review Submitted: July 30, 2008 Date of Stay: June 2008

My wife and I and our 2 teenagers traveled to upstate NY to visit relatives and take a side trip to Augur Lake for 4 nights. Pocomoonshine Camp is an excellent retreat, very clean with many ammenities. The kitchen is well stocked with appliances and cookware so that making meals are a breeze. We especially liked the canoe and used it every day to explore the lake as well as fishing. The fishing was pretty good considering the stormy weather, we caught Northern Pike, Large Mouth Bass, Black Crappie and a variety of sun fish. The lake is very clean and free of weeds which is rare for Adirondak lakes. We visited Ausable Chasam and even hiked up Pocomoonshine mountain and enjoyed the tremendous view. This was also a trip down memory lane for my wife who used to vacation at Augur Lake as a child.
Good Times, Wonderful Stay, Great Success!! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful stay at Pocomoonshine Camp

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

A wonderful stay at Pocomoonshine Camp

Gina Berkeley Heights, New Jersey

Review Submitted: August 8, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008

My husband and I, along with our two teenage children, and our Labrador Retriever, stayed a week at Pocomoonshine Camp and really enjoyed our stay. The house is in a perfect location, close to hiking trails, the ferry to Burlington, Vermont, and Lake Placid. We found a fantastic bread/cookie store in Wadhams (about 20 minutes away) and a wonderful market (with a butcher section) even closer, as we made great use of the kitchen for all of our meals. The house is charming, and across from a lovely lake, which had great fishing. We hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Sweet Escape

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

A Sweet Escape

Ms. Giddy New York, NY

Review Submitted: June 13, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009

My boyfriend and I spent Memorial Day weekend 2009 at Pocomoonshine. It was the perfect getaway for us. My boyfriend is Mr. Outdoors - loves fishing, hiking, camping, the outdoors, etc. I'm the City Mouse to his Country Mouse. I don't much care for the outdoors and don't do camping as I need a certain level of comfort (plumbing, a bed, etc.). Pocomoonshine was the perfect compromise. My boyfriend was able to hike, fish, kayak, etc and I was able to lounge around reading.

The communication was great. Renata was really quick with replying to my emails and answering all of my questions. The camp was super adorable, clean & cozy. It was spacious which was nice. The kitchen was completely stocked with cookware, tools & utensils so we were able to cook everything we wanted. The grocery store was a short drive away. The bed was crazy comfy - OMG, we didn't want to get out of bed it was so nice. The armchair was super comfy too - great for reading. It was nice being able to stay inside and just stare out the window at the lake or enjoy the view over a meal. The cabin was very nicely decorated which gave it a nice homey feel.

We were especially happy that our dog was welcome to come with us. It's hard going on vacation since we often have to leave him behind so this was a nice treat. He loved going for walks in the woods or staring out the window in the sunroom or at fish in the lake. He had a good time out in the canoe on the lake too!

The lake was amazing. It was beautiful and had great fishing. We were especially impressed that we could see fish in the lake from the dock and managed to catch several sunfish and bass from the dock and more out on the lake. We saw the pike but they managed to elude us.

The washer & dryer came in handy for cleaning the fish and dirt stained clothes. My boyfriend had a nice nap in the hammock.

The description was accurate, the property well-maintained, customer service was great & deposit returned timely. We would recommend Pocomoonshine to anyone. My boyfriend loved it so much he was wondering if we could buy it! LOL. We had a wonderfully relaxing time and are looking forward to returning soon. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than we hoped for

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

Better than we hoped for

KLong Rochester, NY
Review Submitted: April 27, 2008 Date of Stay: April 2008

Pocomoonshine was inviting from the moment we entered...clean, charming and organized. Friendly little touches were everywhere and made us feel both at home and also far, far away. We'll be back! Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review