reviews for: listing #47938 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Luxury Santa Fe Hobbit House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Neighborhood
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $350 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

a Santa Fe Treasure

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

When I and my three traveling companions stepped into The Hobbit House our mouths dropped open in unison with amazement. This place is a 1600 square foot work of art and a visual treat to behold. Comfortable, very well designed and well furnished, and close to the downtown area. We are hikers, and it was a perfect base of operations to explore that part of New Mexico. If you are looking for a VRBO in Santa Fe, look no further. This is the place to rent! I will strongly encourage my friends to consider a vacation in Santa, if only to experience The Hobbit House.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

There's nowhere else to stay in Santa Fe...

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

I've rented vacation homes many times and this was the FIRST time when I can honestly say the photos didn't do it justice. Hobbit House is like a museum - every nook, corner and cranny, there's something new. The craftsmanship on all of the details (the cabinets, stained glass, furniture, lighting) is absolutely incredible. If this home hasn't been on an HGTV show, it really should be.

It is wonderfully appointed. The kitchen was stocked with knives, pots, pans - everything. No hotel towels here - the bathroom towels are fluffy and luxurious. The beds are so comfortable that getting up in the morning was challenging. It is VERY clean - almost feels like brand new.

Usually with rentals, there's a list of things to do before leaving. The Hobbit House was an exception. No list and no scrambling around to get packed and chores done before leaving made for an unusually relaxing departure day.

Sheila was kind enough to field our questions about details of the house. It really is one of those places where you want to want open every cabinet because it feels like there might be a surprise inside. :)

My friends and I plotted how we might be able to stay at Hobbit House forever but we figured the next guests just might notice us. Thank you Sheila and Terry! We can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Magnificent, clean home in a terrific location

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

My husband and I don’t travel often, but when we do I am extremely picky about our accommodations. I found the Hobbit House online after doing a search for places to stay in Santa Fe, and immediately knew this was the place for me. We drove up in the evening, so I wasn’t able to take in the gorgeous garden in the front of the house immediately, but was thrilled once we opened the door! What a glorious place to stay! The love and care put into this home were very apparent! Each room had a very special feature to it, whether it was the murals, the mosaics, the light radiating from the skylights – it was totally amazing! The kitchen was my favorite room – well-stocked, with a gorgeous ceiling and skylights and a wonderful view of the waterfall, garden and sunsets! Being an avid gardener, it was very apparent to me that Sheila had lovingly designed the landscaping, demonstrating that you can grow beautiful flowers in a drier climate. The mosaics and inlaid wood were magnificent and showed a tremendous artistic ability and talent to work with both mediums. We wouldn’t hesitate to return to the Hobbit House should we return to Santa Fe, a city of great diversity, great food, and lots to do! We would recommend this home to anyone who wants to visit the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything You Could Want

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

The Hobbit House is everything you could want in a vacation home. The owners provide not only a magnificent property but loads of extra touches--from coffee and homemade granola bars to beautiful gardens, a wonderful patio and a very stylish interior. The property is conveniently located in a safe and quiet neighborhood with easy access to attractions in every direction. Our children and grandchildren had room to play and the six year old loved dancing on the green, green lawn out back. Hummingbirds greeted us for breakfast on the patio and sunsets greeted us at the end of the day. It was a delightful vacation and the owners were readily available to answer any questions or solve any problems. If you are going to Santa Fe, put this home at the top of your list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing home - a work of art

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Hobbit House from May 10-15, 2013. The house itself is spectacular. Being in it is like living in a work of art. The woodwork, stonework and painting are amazing. The house is also well appointed with comfy beds, lots of towels, china and glasses and a well-stocked kitchen. The location is quiet and close to everything one wants to do in Sanata Fe. The private back yard has a little waterfall that the birds love to visit. Overall this is an excellent rental accommodation that I would recommend to my friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't say enough!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Just got back from a weekend retreat with my "sisters"!!!! What an extraordinary property. I can't say enough. What a refreshing, wonderful gift to share with others. We will be back many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Satisfied in Santa Fe

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Just beautiful...the house is a work of art. Owners are outstanding: they love this place and it shows. Great location, great owner tips, well-stocked would be an understatement. Outstanding communication. You cannot go wrong with this one. Feels very upscale. You could stare at tiled shower all day. A very safe rental, and nobody is fussier than me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Serene, beautiful, spacious, everything I wanted

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hobbit House for 4 nights in late August. We were very excited given the lovely photos and reviews here, but it was so much better in person. First, everything is as beautiful as in the photos. The house was much larger to me though than the photos led on. We loved how the kids' rooms were a bit removed from the master bedroome too. The beds were super comfy and we had a great night's sleep every night.

I had promised myself I wasn't cooking on this trip but the gourmet, fully stocked kitchen really made me want to cook. The fact that there are dry goods and some refrigerated staples left behind is great. We did stock the fridge with water and snacks for our stay.

The owners of this vacation home are true professionals. Everything you could possibly need (from utensils to baking items to toiletries and tons of extra towels and linens) is in the home and easily accessible. The place is spotless. The backyard and patio inviting. We didn't even use the air conditioning as just having the windows open was suitable.

When we use rental homes I'm always worried about the location and surrounding neighborhood. This was not an issue here. One of the quietest locations I have ever stayed in. It was safe yet walking distance to a few nice places to eat or pick up forgotten items. Less than 2 minutes drive to the Railyard and just another 1 or 2 minutes to the Plaza from there. Like everyone else has stated, our only complaint is that we had to leave. I hope to stay here again and will recommend it to anyone heading out to Santa Fe.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Rental so far!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our family of 6 loved this house! The attention to detail and artistry of the design was unlike anything we've ever seen. The back yard w/waterfall was wonderful to sit in on the cool mornings and drink coffee and eat breakfast. The robes that were provided were warm and cozy and the welcome basket was the perfect touch! I LOVED the homemade granola bars. We loved our stay in Santa Fe as well...we went river rafting, horseback riding (the kids did...our youngest was 6 so we couldn't do the full trail ride) and hiking. Nambe Lake was our favorite hike. None of us wanted to leave when Saturday rolled around. We would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Hobbit House

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

Hobbit House is a magical treat for all ages. Upon entering, you feel like you are in a fairy tale of your own. The sky lights make you feel like you are the star of your vacation. The décor makes you feel like you hit the lottery and the landscape shows you that you will have a great vacation, even if you never leave the house.
The owners are gracious hosts who have invested tremendous creativity and attention to detail that invites you warmly from the moment that you pass through their door. The mosaic tiled bathrooms leave you looking for more surprises of birds and animals with each daily shower. The murals bring out the child in all of us making you lighthearted and happy. The landscape brings you closer to nature. And, the sound of the waterfall lulls you into peaceful meditation by breakfasts end.
If you can’t tell, my vacation at the Hobbit house was fabulous. It is suitable for adults and children in a safe and quiet neighborhood. So, if you are looking for a truly relaxing vacation to replenish yourself, this is the place to be.
Barbara

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

English visitors

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Our visit to the Hobbit House far exceeded our expectations and they were high before we arrived. No pictures can ever do this house justice. Everything was spotlessly clean, the linens were soft and sumptuous, the kitchen was equiped with everything you could ever want and the garden was beautiful too. The decor is totally unique and no amount of pictures or descriptions could ever relay just how wonderful it is, you have to come and see for yourself! The imagination to create it in the first place is amazing but to then have the skill to make almost everything in it is hard to believe - not just the mosaic's, the wall paintings, the wooden cabinets but even the table and chairs and vases - it is all incredible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay Here

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This place is amazing! The pictures don't do it justice. It is incredible and beautiful. I wish I could live here!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Setting a high standard

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

What a treat it was to stay at Hobbit House for two weeks. I nearly cried when I had to leave. I loved the ambiance of this house, where my husband and I felt instantly at home, where we slept so soundly, where we enjoyed such tranquility. And what a fabulous location, with a yoga and dance studio, the best grocery stores, an organic cafe and Santa Fe's best breakfast pastries, plus the daily NY Times, all within a few blocks. Everywhere seemed to be no more than 5 minutes away ... even the bus route at the corner took me to the Plaza in 5 minutes. Museums, hikes, late night music were all at our fingertips whenever we wanted them, yet didn't intrude on our peaceful existence. I must make mention, too, of our hospitable hosts, who thought of anything one could want in a house--plush towels, soft linens, quality cookware, oodles of kitchen accoutrements, clearly written instructions and suggestions for everything--and provided it. This was our first house rental in the U.S. and I doubt anyone will be able to top it.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best VRBO we have ever had

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Not only is the home beautiful and comfortable, but it is kitted out as if you are actually going to live there and cook there. Everything you need in the kitchen, including good, sharp knives; shocking! It is as if the owner's want you to enjoy the house. Wonderful, I hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We've rented many places through VRBO over the years but none as amazing as the Hobbit House. Terry and Sheila are fantastic hosts and have created an absolutely beautiful vacation home. The pictures online, while wonderful, can not possibly give the visitor a real feel for the experience of staying in this enchanting house. The five of us were constantly awe-struck by the artistic touches; from fabulous mosaics, stained glass, inlaid wood and cut out cabinet doors to the murals and paint techniques, the wonderful waterfall and the patio and garden. And the furnishings and accessories complete a fantastic home away from home. The gift basket on the kitchen island and the refrigerator stocked with basics when we arrived made us feel right at home too. It is easy to see that Terry and Sheila enjoyed creating this wonderful house and sharing it with others and we are so thankful that they did. The Santa Fe area is marvelous and staying in this house completes the experience wondrously. Our heartfelt thanks, Terry and Sheila. We would love to come back some day and have shared our pictures of the house and your brochures with several friends. Ben and Lisa, Kay and Joel and Linda.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

My mom and I took a much needed road trip to Santa Fe from Colorado. Upon arrival we felt so at home and welcomed by the owners. The home just shined and was amazing. I can't even explain all the detail and encourage a visit. We only stayed 3 nights and felt like we needed 3 more to see everything in Santa Fe and the surrounding areas. The bedding was a perfect 10 as well. Thank you for sharing your guest home with us and we will return for sure. Cheers!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BLISS

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Our family of four, parents and two teens, enjoyed our stay here immensely. Of all of the places we've rented for vacation, this was hands down our favorite. Not only is it akin to living in an art gallery, it is very comfortable. We looked forward to spending time on the patio in the evenings as the clouds rolled in. We slept in complete comfort and enjoyed cooking in the well appointed kitchen. The only drawback is that you'll eventually have to leave. Terry and Sheila are great hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

HOBBIT HOUSE -- A JOURNEY INTO THE EXTRAORDINARY

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

The Hobbit House is a journey into the extraordinary. Phenomenal creative attention has been put into every detail -- intricate, extensive mosaics in the bathrooms and kitchen backsplash; inlaid woodwork and furniture; astounding murals; and more! Every which way you turn is truly a delight to the eyes and senses. Step into flowering gardens, and fall asleep in ultra-comfortable beds (one king & two queens) to the tiered, spilling waterfall. Enjoy a well-stocked house, and visit Trader Joe's or Whole Foods, only several blocks away. Or, if you prefer, the organic Body Cafe is even closer. Wander down Galisteo (1.2 miles) to the busy artsy Plaza. Sample the marvelous museums, old churches, galleries, and tasty restaurants like The Shed, and La Fonda's La Plazuela and Bell Tower Bar. Count on returning to a stunning, tranquil retreat in a quiet neighborhood that goes beyond your wildest expectations. The Hobbit House is an ideal place for reunions, girls' gatherings, wedding parties, families with teenagers, other small groups, and a romantic get-away. On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best), the Hobbit House is a '25' with no exaggeration. Its design was a creative endeavor of the heart, resulting in an awesome, artistic outcome and comfortable living in every way. What a blessing; what a gift!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Destination!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

The Hobbit House was an awesome destination and more... It is beautifully done and the best location in Santa Fe.! We thoroughly enjoyed the patio area with the beautiful gardens and waterfall. It could not have been better in any area. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review of Hobbit House

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Our family stayed at the Hobbit House for a family reunion. Our three adult sons, spouse and friend came with us.The accommodations were perfect as a meeting point. We enjoyed various dinners and talking together. The patio provided a perfect venue. We concluded our time together with a cookout. The sense of detail in the house and setting provided a relaxing and enjoyable time together.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sanctuary! Sanctuary!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

From the moment we drove the car into the round garage door, we were fascinated with the home. Every where the eye rests or hand touches has lovingly and masterfully been turned into a function with beauty. I bathed and took a moment to study the art, I looked at a small blue dot on a dining room wall and it came alive as a river in mountains and valleys, I thought of how God created, as I looked at perfectly chosen tiles shade into and out of amazing scenes throughout the house. The morning sun shined through the elaborate doors. Every appliance and tool we needed was provided, the bedding felt like it was ironed, the brook splashed in the garden in our ears throughout the night, We read and walked and ate in thankfulness the first few days, then we were ready for the Capitol, the Chama train, the Native home ruins, we got pictures with the Governor, shopped, walked some more through the neighborhood looking at the different homes. We ate out only once but chose to have dinner and a movie at night.in our beautiful discovery. This is a great location. The garden surrounds the home. I took a chair and found a little alcove in the garden to read my Bible listening to a sparrow and splashing water. Why, the storage shed would even do. As I lay on my back doing some exercise therapy, I was happy to look at the beauty of the ceiling. I could go on and on, and I have. We studied flowers and plants every day in the garden. One night after a long day of hiking and climbing ladders and enjoying the desert, one of our party lay on a huge patch of carpet grass and looked into the sky ... Minnesota guy had to have his grass.
Next time I want to see a flamenco dancer, more museums, another train ride with the delicious meal, the tent mountains, and I'd like to check out that blue hole, somewhere.
But the best, seriously, was the Hobbit House sanctuary. We are ready to come home and kick in after being there.
Thank you for sharing your gifts with us. (p.s. we have had a lot for twenty years on Lake Superior and have never gotten a place on it....after being at your place ... I feel we haven't planned a thing. Ha

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

beautiful vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

We had a wonderful mothers daughters vacation in Santa Fe. Renting the Hobbit House was such a treat and made our stay perfect. The house has everything one needs, a perfect equipped kitchen, confi beds,beautiful garden and the bathrooms you have to see to belive it. In every corner is a personal touch, right down to the live plants. Thank you Terry and Sheila, we did not meet you, but you must be real nice people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Christmas at the Hobbit House

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We have rented homes for many family events and get togethers, but the Hobbit House is, by far, the best ever. I always wonder if website pictures are accurate representations and, in this case, they only showed a few of the wonders this fabulous home. The mosaics, amazing woodwork, gorgeous walls - a work of art in every corner of the home. Yet the HH is also extremely comfortable, well-equipped and absolutely great for relaxing. It is a short walk to Trader Joes or Whole Foods and a long walk to the galleries of Canyon Road and the Square. The Body Spa (just a block away) and restaurant Maria's (a two blocks) are not to be missed if you like pampering or terrific food. Thanks to our gracious hosts, Terry and Sheila, for a perfect family holiday. We truly don't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Everything you could want and more! Like living in an Art Gallery.

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We had the pleasure of living in the Hobbit House over the Thanksgiving 2010 holiday. What a spectacular place to call home for a few days. It is a visually stunning and hand-crafted home as described in so many other reviews: Spacious, comfortable, and with every amenity. The beds were so comfy and the linens (and wow, those pillows!) were to die for! We will soon be ordering some of our own!

We had everything we needed to cook a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner in the gourmet kitchen - from first rate cookware and utensils to beautiful serving pieces, plates and wine glasses, and we enjoyed watching the games on the big screen with a nice fire in the fireplace all day long (plenty of firewood and kindling all ready for us!). The garden and fountain were also beautiful and I am sure fantastic in the summer.

Such a wonderful, secluded place, but just minutes from everything we wanted to see and do! A treasure. We will be back! Thanks so much Terry and Sheila - Carl and Sally, and Kevin and Coly

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

UNBELIEVABLE

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

The pics on the website truly don't show how unbelievable this house is. Every time you look at something else, there is something even better to see. It is truly a work of art. Terry is the complete artist/craftsman. One feels immediately at home. The back patio truly affords the ultimate relaxing atmosphere with the sound of the waterfall and the beautiful landscaping. Everything is top of the line. Linens in the bedroom are beautiful. I just can't even say enough good. If you don't rent this house while visiting Santa Fe, you are missing out.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best Yet!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

We have been going on "girls' trips" for 20 years. We have been from Napa to New England. The Hobbit House was the best yet. The pictures on line do not do it justice. Every attention to detail has been provided. The quiet neighborhood and the serene back patio added to the atmosphere of the beautiful house. I would not hesitate to recommend this remarkable house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We loved the Hobbit House!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

This was the best rental home we've stayed in. The house was beautiful with its wonderful woodwork, artistic mosaics and beautiful garden. The kitchen was a joy to use. Everytime I wanted something ... a cooking utensil or a paper product ... it was there. We have rented homes in our country and overseas and this was the best furnished home of all of them. The attention to details was amazing. The Hobbit House was so comfortable, we couldn't wait to get back to it when we were out exploring the wonderful Santa Fe area. We hope to come back to the Hobbit House soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful week in Hobbit House

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

I loved this house and my stay there was wonderful, I truly did not want to leave. Everything in it is top of the line. Linens very nice and house spotless. The greeting amenities the owners left for us made us feel very welcome, plus they were very friendly to work with when reservations were made and paid for. The water fall and beautiful gardens in bloom surrounding the house a joy to be outside. Though in a neighborhood of many houses it was very quiet. I have traveled a lot, but this place I will come back to if at all possible. Loved Santa Fe, but you will need a car to see downtown. However,there are restaurants and groceries within walking distance. Lue

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful rest

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

The Hobbit House was the perfect place for two couples to find rest and serenity for one heavenly week. Having traveled all over the world, we can say that this is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. It was obviously created with great love and care for the guests who would stay there. Every single thing you need is there. The back patio with gardens and waterfall are immaculately kept and show the same attention to design as the interior. Gorgeous! It's a little bit of paradise. You will love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pure Luxury and Comfort at it's BEST

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

The Hobbit House was the perfect place for our girl's retreat. Linnea flew in from Dallas while Michelle and Jane drove from Colorado. We were awestruck when we walked in - the pictures on the Internet just can't do it justice! Jane loved the well-stocked kitchen. We spent much of our time gathered there while our resident chef (Jane) cooked for us. We all loved the beds and beautiful linens and showers. Michelle enjoyed the serenity of the waterfall, though it was a bit too chilly to enjoy it close up. Thanks so much for your hospitality and the beautiful art that went into this wonderful house. We enjoyed every minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hobbit House Is Luxury!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

I don't know where to begin! Sheila and Terry, it was a pleasure meeting you! The welcome basket of goodies was so sweet! The home is absolutely stunning. The pictures on VRBO and website are beautiful, but you just have to see it to really appreciate it. The gardens are equally breathtaking and peaceful. Amazing! The home is well stocked with all that you need. They have wi-fi and the use of their computer and printer came in handy. Sheila and Terry had an abundant amount of brochures on everything to do in the area. They also had a list of favorite local places to eat. Cafe Pasqual's and Santa Fe Baking Co. were definitely popular choices! My friend and I had a relaxing moms away weekend. We leisurely strolled along the many shops in the Plaza, galleries on Canyon Road, and made it to the farmer's market. We visited the Georgia O'Keefe museum, San Miguel Mission and Loredo Church. Bandelier National Park is a must see! Just for the experience, try out some chocolate elixirs at Kakawa Chocolate House! I would love to come back with my family to explore and to stay at the lovely Hobbit House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Very Special Place

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Our visit to Santa Fe in April 2010 was made extra special by our stay in the Hobbit House. Everything read and viewed on the VRBO website about this house was better than true. It is a charming, well-appointed house and spotlessly clean. You do feel like you are living within an artwork, interesting yet comfortable. The thoughtful welcome basket greeted us with really good treats that lasted all week. A call to the home owner for a TV adjustment was attended to right away. Sleeping on the good quality mattresses with fine linens had us rested and ready to tour the city each day. Although we did not walk into town, it was within walking distance. Also close by were grocery stores like Whole Foods, Trader Joes, and Albertsons. Museums and good restaurants were 5 minutes away. Upon returning to the house at the end of the day, we enjoyed the outside terrance with soothing sounds of a waterfall in the small attractive garden. We would highly recommend the Hobbit House to those visiting Santa Fe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Skiing was Great

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

The weather was great, skiing was great, the accommodations were great. Our stay could have not been better. The Hobbit House is truly a well crafted, unique and very "cozy" environment to have spent time with our family. Thank you for a first class experience, and sharing your space with us. We are looking forward to a return in the future and hopefully the Santa Fe Hobbit House will be available.

Best to you both!
D&S, Austin, TX

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2008

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

This Home is so unique in so many ways, it made us all feel truly pampered during our stay. We built a fire every day. We appreciated the close proximity to Trader Joe's and the Santa Fe Plaza. We enjoyed the Farolito Walk on Christmas Eve on Canyon Road. We took advantage of the fully equipped kitchen and made Christmas cookies and wassail.
Thanks so much for making this a very special Christmas to remember!
Abilene, Kansas

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Home

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This lovely home has been the perfect home for our first visit to Santa Fe. The house is so warm, welcoming and full of delightful detail and beautiful craftmanship and artistry. We've admired the garden,cooed at the hummingbirds,we've eaten the delicious snacks you gave us and we have vowed to return! Thank you so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Christmas 2009

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

This is an extremely attractive house in a very quiet neighborhood that is also close to all the major necessities like grocery and drug stores. The house construction is amazing, with almost all features custom hand crafted with exceptional care and workmanship, Very impressive artistic touches are found everywhere, in all rooms, inside and outside. The house was very well stocked with all types of supplies, including local tourist information, books, top-of-the-line appliances, and an extremely well equiped kitchen and pantry. The house was very comfortable for six adults (and a baby), and would put most five star hotels to shame. We all thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

We are three couples who come to SF
every new year's. Frankly we were blown
away not only by the artistry and
craftsmanship of the home but also by
the thoughtfulness of the owners. From
the welcome basket to the stocked pantry
and fridge to the plush towels and big
screen TVs, plenty of firewood,
wonderful heated floors, walk in 2 head
shower, leather, granite, top brands,
thriving house plants everywhere you
look - the list could go on and on.
Hobbit house is a 10+ for sure. Better
stay here soon before the word gets out.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

I rented the Hobbit House for my family the week before my son's wedding. I felt like I was at home! Until looking at the photos taken in the house, seeing the amazing backdrop for each picture of brothers and sisters and wives and new family members, hugging I had forgotten to write a comment for the accommodating, kind, honest, reliable homeowners! I would love to know the story of how that remarkable home was designed. It was so easy to make meals, clean up, store food, do laundry, relax. I hope to make a visit to the Hobbit House a ritual. And now my newlyweds are already in the family way. Maybe in July I'll be back to meet my first grandchild! Thank you Terry and Sheila

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

I don't know what I can add to the comments others have made about this property - it is simply a gem. The woodwork and mosaics throughout the house are works of fine art. The house itself is a masterpiece of design and taste. The landscaping is superb and the location is super convenient. But beyond those physical attributes are some intangibles - the incredible comfort and "at home" atmosphere you feel immediately upon entering the house; as well as the hospitality and concern the owners -Terry and Sheila - obviously show for their guests. A terrific spot and an incredible value.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

From the minute you enter the driveway, it is a fantasy land! The interior wood and stained glass details take your breath away. The amenities are first-class and so nicely done. Thank you for a trip to remember!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Stunning house! Incredible woodworking details at every turn. Very centrally located in a quiet neighborhood with great shop and resturant within walking distance. Owners extreme nice with a lot of pride in their wonderful creation! P.S. The backyard is magical.
Thank so much for this experience!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Scores a 10 out of 10. Sept 23-26, 2009 stay.
Immaculate, creative home in quiet neighborhood
with beautiful landscaping and private backyard
patio with wonderful waterfall.

The Hobbit House is an artwork feast for the eyes.
Mosaic panoramas in kitchen and both baths.
Rooms are quiet, beds are comfortable, towels are
plush, everything is modern, updated and in like-
new condition.

A welcoming basket of goodies waited our arrival
and the whole stay only good better from there. We
would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What an enchanted place!

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

"The world is an open book, and every new place we visit is the next page".

We rented many beautiful vacation properties. This home was exceptional with a heart of its own. We were 5 adults. When we arrived we spent the first hour pointing out details about the house, walking around marveling like kids in a candy store. We had never seen anything like it.
The property is like a big HUG.
The mosaic work in the kitchen, and bathrooms, and main entrance features are worthy of the best galleries in Santa Fe.
The kitchen: beautiful dish ware, granite combined with art and stainless steel appliances.
The bedrooms: the mattresses and linens can be compared to "Heavenly Beds" Westin Hotel style. They also have robes for guests!
The bathrooms: showers are artistically tiled. You have to make a point not to stay there too long! Beautiful towels, shampoo, conditioner, hair drier, granite, super clean.
The yard: very private, amazing landscaping and a great patio with a BBQ.
The neighborhood: safe and quiet located minutes away from shopping and downtown Santa Fe.
The owners thought of everything! They had courtesy treats and suggestions for where to shop and dine.

On the second day it was raining (rare for Sept. in Santa Fe) and the Northways contacted us to make sure we were warm! This is a first for us!

We don't like to repeat our destinations, but the Hobbit House will see us again! So much to see and do in the area; highlights for us were Tent Rocks and Bandelier National Monument.

Thanks Sheila & Terry!
PS: We forgot to mention 10+ skylights bring lots of natural light into the house.

Mark and Patricia Wilson

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Your Hobbit House is absolutely amazing. We just can't believe the
attention to every detail. Truly it's a work of art. Thank you so much
for your graciousness. We love to cook and the kitchen is so well
equipped, we are enjoying every minute and every meal.

The waterfall and skylights, the shower mosaics -- and the doors! I
could go on and on and never say enough about the spirit in this
place. You and your husband must be very special people.

Thank you. We are so happy here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

The Hobbit House is not to be believed. Truly, the
pictures don't do it justice! This house is a work of
art, but more than that, it's a retreat where you will
feel completely at home and attended to in every
detail. The beds are heavenly, the kitchen is well
stocked and the owners make sure there are
yummy treats to welcome you. We've rented a lot of
vacation homes but none holds a candle to the
Hobbit House. It's filled with joy and love. Imagine
staying in a house that is at once an artistic
masterpiece and a cozy retreat where you have
complete privacy and yet are close to all that Santa
Fe offers. Run, do not walk, to this special house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Couldn't have picked a better place to spend my 50th birthday with my husband, my good friends, and our two 12-yr old girls. Luxury and comfort, beauty and convenience. Sipping wine on the patio after a great day in Santa Fe and cooking a wonderful meal in the fully equiped kitchen with gorgeous food from the Santa Fe Farmer's Market. Even the shower is a mini vacation with the most beautiful mosaics! Hobbit House lives up to more than our expectations... happy birthday to me!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AMAZING LIVE-IN ART HOUSE!!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

This house is amazing!!! We just enjoyed the most incredible "retreat" in this glorious, live-in work of art. My husband and I felt as though we were living amongst the art instead of merely observing it in the galleries...it was incredible! Behind ever corner of this house is an artistic detail. Beyond the artistic walls of the house is a fantasy garden with a zen waterfall, flowers, and hummingbirds! This house is centrally located to all the downtown attractions, but is located on a quiet street. The house is stocked with everything you need for an amazing vacation...I highly recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Santa Fe Hobbit House

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

A most unique property! Everywhere you look is an interesting detail. The house is truly an extension of the artistic nature of Santa Fe. In our thirty years of visiting Santa Fe this could be the most relaxing. Thank you Terry and Sheila for sharing this with the rest of us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

We loved our stay in this beautiful house! Everything was perfect, and every desire was met, down to the "no boys allowed" sign! The owners were very friendly and accommodating, doing everything they could to insure a delightful stay. The mosaics were incredible--the pictures just can't do them justice. The beds, oh, the beds! Had we not had a flight to catch, we'd still be in them! The wonderful soaps and lotions and cozy robes made us feel incredilby pampered. The kitchen was large and as beautiful as the rest of the house, and most appliances were top of the line. No KMart shopping to outfit this house! We really lucked out when we happened upon this little bit of paradise!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We had an amazing time with our friends and family in the Hobbit House. Your gift of art was truly a high light as we moved from one work of art to another. Your attention to detail is incredible. We look forward to another visit to Santa Fe with our lodging being in this very place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to spend four nights in your Hobbit House; our family made some wonderful memories there. We enjoyed the welcome basket and all of the amenities that you provided, including those cozy robes! It was definitely first class all the way. We will be talking about the mosaics in the kitchen and bathrooms for years to come as well as the heated floors, stained glass doors, beautiful wood, and murals! I can't begin to name everything that made our stay unique, but I can assure you that your personal attention to detail was not overlooked. We hope to return to Santa Fe again soon! It was amazing!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Work of Art

Review submitted: January 22, 2009   Date of arrival: January 15, 2009

Our families had a wonderful time at the Hobbit House. The house is a work of art and imagination. If I could create a house like this out of our Victorian house, I would.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy and Mike and their "crew" were wonderful
guests! We really enjoyed having them.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This home is a work of art!

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

We stayed for five wonderful days at the Hobbit House in December 2008. The home is a work of art! Our hosts, Terry and Sheila, were wonderful. Their homemade granola bars are to die for! The home has everything you need for a great family vacation. Spend time admiring the artistry of the home, yard and especially the shower! The home is close to everything you need. Lots of restaurants, great supermarkets and galleries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review