reviews for: listing #47954 - Owasco Lake, New York House rental

Glenbrook Point with 300' private beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Scipio
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,900 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Highly Recommend-beautiful, quiet, fantastic, fun

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We stayed at Glenbrook Point on Owasco lake during the last week of August. We live in NJ and were vacationing with our relatives from Germany (5 adults and 5 children in total). Neither of us had ever visited the Finger Lakes, but we found a wonderful vacation spot at Glenbrook Point!

When we arrived, Derek and Luga were there to greet us as they were watering the beautiful flowers and stocking up the firewood. They made us feel very welcome and helped us with a couple of extras that we forgot to bring.

At the house, we had no problem keeping busy with kayaking to the other side and back, swimming, snorkeling to see the fish, rafting, digging for worms/fishing, camp fires by the water and volleyball in the spacious side yard. We also really enjoyed eating meals together, reading and relaxing on the huge wrap-around porch.

Beyond the house, we adventured to Niagara Falls, Ithica, Aurora and a local Mennonite dairy farm. We wanted to do more, but we enjoyed the house so much that we didn't venture out to hike or visit the nearby Filmore Glen.

We found the listing details very accurate and helpful for info about beds per room and kitchen details. The house is even more beautiful when you arrive.

We really enjoyed our stay! See you again and thank you.

Rob & Yvette

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We rented both the main house and the boathouse for 12 relatives (and 1 dog). During the week we had another 12 relatives stopping in to visit at various times, and we all had a great week taking advantage of everything this property has to offer. The lawn was the perfect spot for the kids to hold numerous games of badminton and bocce, while the adults spent countless hours enjoying the wonderful porch. Many of us took the opportunity to test our fishing skills from the docks, while at night we made a campfire on the beach for some smores. The views up and down the lake are superb, and there was always a small group of us that would get up bright and early to watch the sun rise across the water.
Both houses are clean and very well maintained, and large enough to accommodate everyone comfortably. Derek and Luga couldn’t have been more gracious and helpful in making sure that our stay was perfect.
Even our dog had a good time, as he worked to make friends with the owners dog “Bo”. The kids have already asked about returning next year, so it is very likely that we’ll do it all again. We’re already looking forward to it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stellar

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The pictures do not do this property justice--beautiful waterfront, wraparound porch, great room, and grounds. Beachside fire pit, chairs and picnic table topped it off. All you need is included with the rental. Owners very easy to contact and deal with. We were lucky to get this for the week we wanted, you will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, relaxing, comfortable

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The Glenbrook Lake House provided the perfect location for our grown children and their children to be with us for a week of family fun. There was room for everyone to eat and sleep, and the inviting front porch provided the ultimate in comfort as well as showcasing the beauty of the area. We loved playing on the pebbled beach, making s'mores at the fire pit, and tossing a baseball in the yard. A short drive took the family hiking at beautiful Filmore Glen State Park. I would recommend that you bring your own canoe or kayak or rent one to experience the peace and serenity of the lake. There's a dock just waiting for you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Family Fun!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful and serene vacation away from the hustle and bustle of your daily life, and a place that can accomodate a large group comfortably, Glenbrook is the place to come. Glenbrook is one of the most private and beautiful settings on Lake Owasco. The view is spectacular from the spacious porch where you can sit for hours reading, relaxing, or spending quality time with family and friends. Our family has been coming for over 3 years now and look forward to our yearly return trips. This year the ages of the group ranged from 1 to 63 and all had a wonderful time. The house is clean, well maintained, and also spacious, with just about all the amenities needed. The owners have consistently been gracious and helpful. We recieved a list of activities and events going on in the vacinity of the lake prior to our arrival, which was helpful to those that wanted to venture out, explore the area, or participate in the wide range of activities that can be found. Hiking, fishing, boating, shopping, and visiting the many wineries are just a few of the fun things that we have enjoyed doing. The private dock allowed the fellows to go fishing whenever they were up for the big fish battle! I would recommend this property to those wanting to get away, those who love out-door activities, and to families or friends who want a relaxing and peaceful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Boathouse

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My husband, dog, I stayed in the Boathouse which was a smaller cabin also on the property, just the right size for us. It was wonderful to awaken every morning with a view of the lake and the sunrise. Our dog couldn't wait to go outside to explore every piece of the property and take a swim in the lake. It was great to see such a happy animal. Since no one was in the bigger home during our stay we had the ability to walk all around the property while enjoying the beauty of the area and be relaxed. During the day we visited many wineries with our dog, all of which were dog friendly. It is so nice to be able to visit somewhere in which dogs are welcome. The owners were very easy to communicate with and answered all of our questions. When we mentioned that the pot on the coffee maker had a broken handle, they promptly brought a whole new coffee maker to us. The only thing we regret is that our stay was not long enough. We should have planned a longer getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Weekend

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

This was a great house that was rented by a group of friends Labor Day weekend 2011. One of the vacation days included a golf outing at a nearby course followed by a BBQ by the lake which include some additional close family members. The house and the outdoor space is incredible and perfect for anyone looking to enjoy the outdoors and secluded lake atmosphere. The house has great yardspace that runs along the huge wrap around deck and also has a large beach/firepit area on the point with tons of chairs. The whole weekend our group talked about coming back again and renting this house. Highly recommened.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review