reviews for: listing #47976 - Boone, North Carolina Cabin rental

Log Cabin with View - Hot Tub, 60 inch TV, Pool Table, Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Crystal Mountain
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $275 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful and Beautiful Mountain Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We enjoyed this cabin very much and loved the area! The cabin was neat and clean with plenty of towels, cookware etc. The house itself is well built and the furnishings and decor were up to date and comfortable. The large dining table was a plus as well as the hammock chairs on the back porch. There were 7 of us with room to spare. The maps and brochures that Ken provided were very helpful and the wifi available was good for any other research you might need. Our favorite restaurants were Storie Street Grill and Foggy Rock in Blowing Rock and Coyote Kitchen in Boone. Favorite sightseeing was Grandfather Mountain and Moses Cone mansion and property. Overall, the cabin, neighborhood, and surroundings are beautiful, peaceful and refreshing - perfect for a relaxing mountain vacation.

Owners response: I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit to my beautiful log cabin and the neighborhood. Hope you will come back for another visit someday. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental 165647

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We highly recommend this cabin to anyone wanting a wonderful vacation spot in the NC mountains. It exceeded all our needs with a wonderful view, great location near Boone and Blowing Rock, ammenities, and a table where all of us could join together for family meals ala Duck Dynasty. The cabin was the gathering place where we were able to spend time with all three of our adult children (one in school in Tampa FL, one in the Air Force in Valdosta GA, and one in seminary in Wake Forest NC) and daughter-in-law, as well as my sister, brother-in-law, and nephew (from Winston Salem NC and an NCSU student), over the course of the week. Everyone was in agreement that the cabin had everything you could ever want in a mountain vacation cabin (this is our fourth year of fall mountain vacations and the best cabin, to date). We spent the days enjoying the Virginia Creeper (about an hour drive and we recommend you check the Shuttle Shack for your bike needs), hiking around Bass Lake (right down the road), and shopping in Boone and Blowing Rock. We spent most of the evenings in the downstairs area with the pool table, hot tub, and large screen tv providing the backdrop for great family time. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to bring together family and friends where more room is needed. The listing is accurate, the property well maintained, and the customer service was excellent.

Owners response: I am happy to hear you and your family really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin. Hope you will come back for another visit someday. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Lovely cabin with all the comforts of home!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Beautiful, clean cabin and views! We flew in from California and my brother and his family drove down from Ohio - seven adults in all. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed our stay - including our 23 and 21 year old "kids". The beds/bedrooms were all very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils and appliances. Be aware that there are other cabins in fairly close proximity, so this is not a place to party all night, but to relax and unwind. As I realized from my communications with Ken, many of the other cabins nearby are owner-occupied - not rentals - so I think this is a definite plus. It's a very quiet, peaceful community which is exactly what we were looking for.

We had no difficulty finding the cabin - the directions Ken provided were spot on and easy to follow. Lots of brochures are handy and Ken provided a list of suggestions for activities and restaurants which was most helpful. There are many things to do in the area - zip lining, Linville Falls & Caverns, kayaking, golfing, visit Blowing Rock, etc. Found an Irish pub in Boone that had some great live music. If you want to stick around the cabin, you can veg on one of the two decks, soak in the hot tub, challenge your roomies to a game of billiards, watch a movie in the comfortable media/game room, or take a nap and enjoy the wonderful, fresh mountain air.

I highly recommend this cabin and would definitely return!! Thanks, Ken!!

Owners response: I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin and that all the information I provided was very helpful. Hope you will come back for another visit someday. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

A great time was had by all

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Our group had a wonderful time. The cabin had everything as advertised and Ken was very helpful as we made our plans. LOVED the hammock chairs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin and that all the information I provided was very helpful. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

"Perfect" get away place!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our get away. The Cabin was beautiful, equipped with everything you would ever need, so peaceful, enjoyed the Deer in the morning hours. This was our first trip to Boone and we fell in love with the little town.
Ken provided perfect service to anything we needed to know and was always willing to answer your emails timely, a wonderful person to work with and so kind.
We love our trip so much that we have already booked another trip to his beautiful home.

Thanks for the perfect get away! Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you stay at my cabin. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the cabin so much that you will be coming back for the fall foliage in October 2013. You too were very easy to work with. Thank you very much for taking great care of the cabin during your stay. - Ken

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were breathless. This cabin was amazing and the entire family loved it. The views were great and the local wildlife were always around to watch. Ken did a great job with this cabin and made sure our stay was easy and relaxing. thanks Ken, we will be sure to make this a yearly stay for us now.

Owners response: I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin, my views and the wildlife. Looking forward to having you come back again next year. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Tranquil mountain getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My family decided to come down from NY and retreat to the mountains with us. We had 3 kids (ages 5, 9, 10), 4 adults between 33-41 and one adult 58. We had a fabulous time. We all fought over the loft where there was a chaise for reading. It was so cozy. The views were beautiful. We had all the necessities needed for preparing meals. There were so many nice little touches throughout. The air chairs were fabulous.
The owner, Ken, even includes a list of local restaraunts and attractions for you which is helpful since we didn't know the area. Will definitely visit again, maybe in the middle of the hot summer or when it snows. Thanks again for sharing your home with us! My mom's chiropractor in NY even asked us for the link to your site.

Owners response: I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin and that all the information I provided was very helpful. Thank you for referring my lovely cabin to your friends and family. I hope your all able to visit again someday. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Perfect Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Beautiful cabin to enjoy a peaceful retreat. Conveniently located near Boone and Blue Ridge Parkway. The cabin was appointed as advertised with all the comforts of home. Owner provided excellent information and follow through. I highly recommend this property for families or adults looking for relaxing and enjoying mountain views. Thanks Ken!!

Owners response: I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin and that all the information I provided was very helpful. Hope your able to visit again someday. - Ken

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Awesome cabin!

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Oh my goodness!  Your place is awesome, Ken!  It is absolutely beautiful, and it had everything we needed to be completely comfortable. The view is gorgeous even in the winter. We are already trying to figure out a time when we can go again.  Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!  
Blessings,
Donna

Owners response: Donna,

I am happy to hear you really enjoyed my beautiful log cabin. Hope your able to visit again someday. - Ken

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Simply Lovely

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2011

This cabin was perfect! A beautiful view of the mountains and very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is equipt w/ everything you could possibly need at your fingertips. The family room was lots of fun for everyone with the pool table, large screen TV and jacuzzi right out the back door!. This private gated community also has new paved roads perfect for enjoying early morning or afternoon walks!

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Restful vacation get away

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

We found the cabin to be as described on the web site. When we needed to reach the owner he was readily available by cell. Lots of firewood and fireplace was so easy to use. If you happen to be bothered by dust this could be an issue. Basically the cabin had been lightly gone over, but wouldn't describe it as cleaned. Thankfully the roads are paved inside the gated community as it is steep in places. If you would be bringing small children the terrain would demand close supervision. Having said that there is lots to entertain them with inside. Our stay was very pleasant with only a few issues to deal with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I offered to have my housekepper go back the same day they checked in but they said it wasn't necessary.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Fantastic Time!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

I had rented Ken's cabin for a few days as a birthday present for my wife and she couldn't have been happier! The cabin is exactly as advertised which, in this day and age, is refreshing. If anything, I think Ken sells this cabin short. My party consisted of two families that included 6 children ranging in age from 9 to one and a half. No one was bored, no one was uncomfortable and even the baby slept soundly upstairs while we were all "partying" in the rec room with the pool table downstairs or in the hot tub. The cabin was clean, well appointed, and convenient to shopping when you inevitably realize you forgot something. The only question we have now is when will we be going back. Thank you, Ken for a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Phil,

I very happy to hear you and your family really enjoyed the cabin and your wife had a wonderful birthday there. Hopefully she will remember it for many years to come. Please come visit again. Thanks - Ken

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Place of my dreams

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

It's a very nice place to go with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again.
Thanks,
Ken

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome cabin in lovely location

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Many thanks for the rental of your beautiful cabin. We had a great vacation and we all thought the cabin was wonderful, great location, lovely views and nicely furnished. The big kids loved the pool table, the little kids loved the XBox and everyone loved the hot tub.

The cabin was very well equipped and we made good use of your recommendations for things to do.

Our enquiry was handled quickly and easily and I loved the instructions that were emailed to us, including good directions.

Thanks once again. You have a lovely home in a beautiful area. I would certainly want to return if we were ever in the area again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving my cabin in great shape for the housekeeper. She was very happy!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

My wife and 2 other couples spent a long weekend at the cabin. The cabin was in excellent shape and was as advertised. The view was awesome. The ladies enjoyed the short drive to either Boone or Blowing Rock, the guys enjoyed watching football on the big screen. Both guys and girls really enjoyed the hot, especially while it was snowing. If we decide to make a return trip to Blowing Rock next year, we will definitely plan on staying at this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to return. - Thanks, Ken

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Comfortable, Cozy, Convenient...

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

You will not be disappointed with this beautiful comfortable mountain "home". This was our second visit to "High Country Hide-Away" and we stayed for a week. There were 8 adults & 4 kids (10-6) and the accommodations were absolutely perfect. We are Appalachian State Alumni and visiting for APP Homecoming/Tailgating/Football - they won BIG. The kitchen is generously stocked and we cooked in every night; lazy morning coffee on the porches watching the trees turn their fall Carolina colors; late afternoon cocktails in the hot tub and also late evening when the kids were settled. We enjoyed our evenings sitting in front of the cozy fireplace eating popcorn; we had pool tournaments; watched everyone's favorite TV shows (mostly sports) on the downstairs big screen. The cabin is large enough for personal quiet time. The convenience to Boone, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountain is perfect. Ken, the owner, is easy and professional to work with and made sure everything was in tip-top shape. Thank you Ken for sharing your cabin - it was definitely quality family time. GO APP!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Darla,

I am very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay again. I appreciate your business and hope you will come back again next year. Go App!!! Ken

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

The listing of this property was right on target. We had an excellent vacation. The amenities were superb. The cabin was definitely well maintained and was spotless. Ken, the owner, provided super customer service. We would definitely recommend this property to others. We went to Blowing Rock, Chimney Rock, Lake Lure. We also took a trip to Asheville to see the Biltmore Mansion. As far as restaurants go, we primarily did our own cooking; the chef was wonderful, he is also in the food business, so that all of our vacation mates thouroughly enjoyed the home-cooked foods, we even named one of the dishes: Kabin Salmon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy to hear you enjoyed my cabin. I hope you will visit again.
Ken

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Great place in the Blue Ridge

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

Went back to Boone, my home for more than 30 years to attend my youngest sons wedding. Place was perfect, well kept, as advertised, clean, everything worked.

It is a hike from parking lot up full flight of stairs. Major mastor upstairs.

When we arrived had two deer in yard, did I tell you they had grill?

Also Robins nest right next to the hot tub (we didn't use hot tub so not to scare Mom off the nest)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This cabin has been by far the best place to stay!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

As ASU grads, we have been coming "home" to Boone with our family for years. This cabin has been, by far, the best place to stay. The location is perfect. It seems like the middle of nowhere, but it's only about 10 minutes to the 105/421 intersection in Boone, and 15 minutes to Blowing Rock. We wore the kids out at Appalachian Ski Mtn. one day and Hawksnest the next, made spaghetti dinners one night, steaks the next, and put the kids to bed. The best part... the adults could stay up, talk, watch a movie, or play pool with no worries about waking the little ones. And the hot tub on the deck, what a great way to wind down. You can't do that in any of the hotels in Boone or B&B's in Blowing Rock!! I would definitely recommend to anyone from a group of adults getting away, to families with small kids. We had 8 people which included 4 kids aged 5 to 8 and had plenty of room. The house was spotless when we got there and the owner was extremely quick in returning the deposit. Great, great vacation!!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

We loved the cabin!! Our family and dear friends of ours rented the cabin for Thanksgiving. The cabin was well furnished with plenty of games and activities for everyone. Would highly recommend. Owner was very helpful and responsive. A great experience!!

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better then Advertised!

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

GREAT house!! We rented this house in January and it is better than the ad. Beautifully decorated and in a prime location close to several different ski resorts. This is a great place for a big family or several diffent couples. It has three different levels which allows lots of space for everyone. Will be back next year for sure!

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

High Country Hideaway

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We just returned from a wonderfully, relaxing vacation at High Country Hideaway. We have never stayed in a home before that was so well equipped for everything! Everything was perfect-a First Class vacation home. This beautiful home even included spectacular views. Thanks, Ken, for sharing your awesome home with us.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We just returned from a wonderfully, relaxing vacation at High Country Hideaway. We have never stayed in a home before that was so well equipped for everything! Everything was perfect-a First Class vacation home. This beautiful home even included spectacular views. Thanks, Ken, for sharing your awesome home with us.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

We can all say that our first visit to the mountains was one of our best vacations yet and your home was a huge part of that!! Your home is very comfortable from the moment you walk through the doors and what we saw in the pictures is exactly what we walked into....beautiful!!
When we arrived at the cabin it was very clean and we were pleasantly surprised at how well stocked the kitchen was! We have always rented homes at the ocean and have been in the habit of bringing many kitchen items with us, we soon realized for your home we over packed!!
We were able to have the grandparents for the first two days and the house was perfect for my mom who does not do stairs very well, she was very mobile and comfortable! For the weekend we had 4 adults and 4 children and everyone had plenty of space for fun and lots of laughs!
Thanks again for making it a great experience from the first moment we contacted you! Especially with all the information you offered before we even left home! We are all excited for another trip back in the winter!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Our family had a great time at the beautiful cabin. After sight seeing during the day we looked forward to sitting on the porch at night until sunset. Then some of us would go inside for a game of pool, or a movie on the big screen tv, while others enjoyed the hot tub. Mornings on the porch were great too. Beautiful weather and scenery! Hated to leave.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

What a wonderful surprise...you never know from a picture what the house really looks like but this exceeded our expectations. The house had everything we could possibly need or want...from a 72 inch flat screen TV and hot tub to martini glasses. The house was very clean too. It looked as if this was a vacation home for Ken too.

Owners response: It's actually only a 61 inch flat screen TV.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

This is a beautiful home in the mountains, a perfect place to be accessible to sightseeing, shopping, & outdoor activities, and also in a location to just get away & enjoy a beautiful, peaceful setting in a very comfortable, home-like atmosphere. The
people in the neighborhood & the sur-
rounding town are very friendly, and there is much to see and do. This is the perfect vacation spot, wonderfully relaxing. The scenery will take your breath away, and the mountain air will
lift your spirits unbelievably. The only down side was that we couldn't stay
there forever. This is as close to heaven as any of us will be in this life!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

My wife and I went for a couple of days and had the best time we've ever had together. The cabin was better than expected and we'll definately be back.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

As ASU grads, we have been coming "home" to Boone with our family for years. This cabin has been, by far, the best place to stay. The location is perfect. It seems like the middle of nowhere, but it's only about 10 minutes to the 105/421 intersection in Boone, and 15 minutes to Blowing Rock. We wore the kids out at Appalachian Ski Mtn. one day and Hawksnest the next, made spaghetti dinners one night, steaks the next, and put the kids to bed. The best part... the adults could stay up, talk, watch a movie, or play pool with no worries about waking the little ones. And the hot tub on the deck, what a great way to wind down. You can't do that in any of the hotels in Boone or B&B's in Blowing Rock!! I would definitely recommend to anyone from a group of adults getting away, to families with small kids. We had 8 people which included 4 kids aged 5 to 8 and had plenty of room. The house was spotless when we got there and the owner was extremely quick in returning the deposit. Great, great vacation!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

GREAT house!! We rented this house for a long weekend in January and it is better than the ad. Beautifully decorated and in a prime location close to several different ski resorts. This is a great place for a big family or several diffent couples. It has three different levels which allows lots of space for everyone. Will be back next year for sure!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

As for the cabin. It was perfect. It was very clean. The man that was there to fix the hottub did so fast and was very nice to our sons (that just had to see what he was up too). There is nothing that I can think of that would make that a better trip. We never left except to go buy food to make dinner. I had everything I need to make all meals so it was great. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome cabin with us. we all looking forwarding to coming again some time soon. Thanks so much!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We loved the cabin!! Our family and dear friends of ours rented the cabin for Thanksgiving 2008. The cabin was well furnished with plenty of games and activities for everyone. Would highly recommend. Realtor was very helpful and responsive. A great experience!!

Owners response: The Realtor they are referring to is also the owner of the cabin.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the moutain home with my sister Darla and Tom. It was so relaxing and everything was there that we could want. It worked out great. We are looking forward to going back again. Thank you so much,Ken. We had so much fun. Sandy and Steve Schmaltz

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 30, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

The 4 "P's" - Perfection / Peaceful / Playful / Privacy. The accomodations were comfortable and relaxing. Easy morning coffee. Enjoying cocktails at 4:00 on the decks after "lots-to-do" day. We cooked in every night(great fully-equipped kitchen)and enjoyed dinner by a romantic fire. Hottub views of the stars made for a dreamy sleep. Ken, thanks for sharing your little bit of heaven.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We have spent many weekends at this beautiful home. The accommodations are top notch. The owner's attention to detail to ensure that the experience exceeds all expectations is remarkable.

The vew from the deck is amazing. I suggest a dip in the hot tub before retiring for the night.

Thanks - perfect as always!!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This home is everything it says and more. It is a rustic mountain cabin with a wood burning fireplace. The cabin is well designed if you are looking for a family get away. The main level has your kitchen, living room and two bedrooms with a Jack and Jill bath. Excellent for parents and their children to stay on one level. The master is upstairs with a sitting area to read, play chess or surf the net for those who just can't leave it behind. The lower level has the pool table, darts and a separate bedroom. This is a great house for a family get together. My daughter and I love to cook and the kitchen is very well equipped. You will not be disappointed with the tranquility of sipping your morning coffee in a rocking chair on the balcony. You're going to love it.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

My family stayed at the cabin to celebrate our aunt's 50th birthday, and had a great time! The cabin is a tremendous value, every couple had their own room, the kitchen and dining room was well stocked and the washer/dryer was a nice touch. The pool table and big screen tv were great, and I can just imagine how nice it would be in the fall/winter in this cabin.

There is plenty to do in the area, we went golfing a few times (Red Tail in Mountain City, TN -- very nice!), whitewater rafting on Watauga River (great for families with kids), and rented a pontoon boat on Watauga Lake. We also visited the local towns and Grandfather Mountain.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Our stay at this cabin was great. It was very clean and well stocked. We were able to enjoy this with our grandchildren. We went to Mystery hill and to blowing rock. We also did some shopping at the wonderful Tangle outlets. Can't wait to go stay again.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

My family and I just returned from spending a wonderful week at this cabin. The cabin is very centrally located, but at the same time nicely secluded. The cabin is very nicely furnished and clean. We enjoyed our visit very much and hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Fantastic mountain find

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

As you drive up the windy road of Shull Mill, at the end of your journey you will discover mountain paradise. For you to enjoy is a very large home that has been equipped with every detail you can think of to not only make your stay relaxing but to just drop your bags and slip into "life at the mountains". Ample space is given on a variety of levels for a large family to be comfortable...large seating area in the kitchen to have meals together and every utensil, pot, pan you would need....that is, if planning to cook!!! Two wrap around decks encompass this oasis with a hot tub, gliding bench and two hammock chairs to view the majestic sights right in front of you. A large grill is also available with propane tanks ready to go and lots of BBQ tools at your dispense. On cold nights a fire "pit" is also available while sitting outdoors, or if you would rather nestle inside....a fireplace is located in the spacious living area. Loads of firewood are stacked in the back. TV's are equipped with DVD/VHS are in every bedroom but if you would rather have the TV off....novels, board games, a pool table, darts and wireless access are also at your disposal. Three full baths are located throughout this home and there is even a small refrigerator located downstairs in the lower level recreation area to save "steps" up the stairs. Even the decorations are cozy and make you immediately feel that you are "home".

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Fantastic cabin- more than ample space for a large family. Every detail thought of to have a wonderfully relaxing stay. We definitely plan to return. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay! We completely enjoyed our time at this clean, comfortable cabin. The view was great, location was quiet, plenty of room and all the amenities you need for a perfect vacation. The front porch was especially relaxing...a great place to just relax, read a book or talk. We had 12 people (6 adults and 6 kids) and this property provided plenty of space for everyone. The location is perfect; a short ride to Boone in one direction, or a short ride to Blowing Rock and the BR Parkway in the other...lots to do. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a mountain vacation.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a wonderful surprise to find everything as advertised. This is a great house, well appointed, exceptionally clean. The area is one of the prettiest mountain get-a-ways that I can think of. We spent a week with our adult children and their spouses. The owner has thought of every convenience with couples and families in mind. Plenty of games, hot tub, TV in every bedroom as well as family room and living room.

The owner is a pleasure to deal with and responds quickly to any questions.

Definitely the nicest situation we have encountered in a long time.

Elaine
St. Petersburg, Florida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: April 23, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

Nice Property. Well maintained. Nice quiet area. We were husband wife three kids and two of their spouses. We were all very comfortable. Plenty of space for all. This was a short trip for us only Thurs. to Sun. but we were able to do horseback riding, some hiking, shopping, mined for gems. The area was very quaint. Friendly folks lots to see and do. Could have stayed a couple more days to fit everything in. Did not eat out much as the house had a full kitchen and large grill. Home owners attention to detail was great. Everything they laid out prior to our arrival was how it happened.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This is truly a gem. I stayed here with my family for a long weekend and it was fantastic. The foliage views in the fall are outstanding and it's close to all the attractions. Cabin was impeccable and well decorated as a true luxury mountain cabin. Nothing like sitting in the hot tub over looking the mountains.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Ski Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: February 23, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This cabin was perfect for our weekend getaway! It was beautiful, inside and out. I was pleasantly surprised with the great location (close to ski areas, Blowing Rock and Boone)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This cabin was perfect for our weekend getaway! It was beautiful, inside and out. I was pleasantly surprised with the great location (close to ski areas, and Boone)

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 1, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This vacation rental was true to its description online. There is such a peace and warmth felt the moment you walk through the door. Time actually slows down. My entire family of ten had plenty of privacy when needed, and plenty of room when everyone was gathered together for games and eating. The fireplace was never without a blazing fire and what fun it is to sit in the Hot Tub while the snow is falling. Rocking chairs and every type of swings are available while enjoying the wrap around porch as one enjoys the spectacular mountain view. Ski resorts are just a short drive away and the town of Blowing Rock is a five minute drive from this gated community. Wildlife in abundance such as deer and wild turkeys can be seen as you drive up the mountain to this cabin. This vacation was a dream fulfilled and we will surely visit this retreat again.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway, and Sightseeing

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Winter escape

Review submitted: January 26, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This vacation rental was true to its description online. There is such a peace and warmth felt the moment you walk through the door. Time actually slows down. My entire family of ten had plenty of privacy when needed, and plenty of room when everyone was gathered together for games and eating. The fireplace was never without a blazing fire and what fun it is to sit in the Hot Tub while the snow is falling. Rocking chairs and every type of swings are available while enjoying the wrap around porch as one enjoys the spectacular mountain view. Ski resorts are just a short drive away and the town of Blowing Rock is a five minute drive from this gated community. Wildlife in abundance such as deer and wild turkeys can be seen as you drive up the mountain to this cabin. This vacation was a dream fulfilled and we will surely visit this retreat again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this cabin in Boone, NC. The house is well-equipped for fun with TVs, games, and a pool table. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The scenery is terrific in the area and the environment is relaxing. We look forward to renting this cabin again.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We had a Wonderful Vacation at the cabin/house in Boone with our children and grandchildren. The game room downstairs was the hit for the kids and adults. Loved the hot tub even though it was cold. We had loads of space for us all with 6 adults and five children from 12 to 5 months it worked fine. We had a nice big dining table and we spent plenty of time there also. The fireplace was great!! A great place for a family get together. This was our gift to our 2 boys and their families. We even had a little snow. Great place and Highly recommend.

Owners response: I confirmed with John and Fern that the hot tub was hot, but it was cold outside.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

My husband and I are ASU grads from 89/90 and
wanted to take our 6 and 2 year old sons back for a
visit. We were worried we would run out of things
to do but this house was terrific. The hottub/pool
table and widescreen tv was perfect at night and
during the rain showers. The house has everything
you could ask for, very well planned out and in a
nice area close enough to boone as well blowing
rock. we took time to visit ASU/Boone and did
some whitewater rafting and trout fishing. We
enjoyed our visit and the house and hope to do it
again next summer. If you are looking for a place
to unwind, relax and not need to go anywhere
unless wanted, this is the place to do it. We even
enjoyed our nightly visit from the raccoon.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We stayed at this cabin a year ago when we had my wife's brother come down from NY with there 3 teenage boys. Along with our 2 boys, we needed a bigger place. How perfect this cabin is! We never saw the kids all weekend long. The game room downstairs is very well equipted to keep kids intertained for the whole extended weekend, leaving the upstairs and the hot tub completely free for the adults. Great neighborhood for walks and veiws, very quiet and secluded. Property very well equipted for all your needs. Would highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review