reviews for: listing #47982 - Long Beach, Mississippi House rental

Renovated and spacious 4 bedroom vacation home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $275 /nt
    $1,485 - $2,100 /wk
    $5,100 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

Crazy family fun at the Happy House!!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The house is beautiful and perfectly set up for family fun. The bedrooms being shut off from the house helped us, because they could nap and we didn't have to be quiet. We'll be back hopefully before next year, but next year for sure. I would have recommended this house already to friends. Thank you for your graciousness.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Extraordinary Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

My family and I had the privilege to stay at the "Happy House" enroute from Florida to Houston. What a blessing!

The house good easily sleep over a dozen people, and is very tastefully appointed, wirh more amenities than we could have ever imagined.

Great location. HIGHLY recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home! Great Owners!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

The house was beyond our expectations! The family loved the game room as well as fully stocked game closet! My family ranged for 5 months to 73 years old and there were no complaints! The owner was available for all questions before, during, and after our visit to the happy house! The kitchen was well stocked and clean! The Happy House will always be my number on choice when staying on the Mississippi coast!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cruisers

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

The house was exactly as described. Everything was really good. It suited our needs very well.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mini-family Reunion

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the "Happy House". Our family ranged in age from 17 to 81 years old and everyone had a good time! The game room was awesome, the house was very private and the beds were comfy. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils needed to cook a great meal! There were a few grocery stores and a seafood market close by. We went to the Saturday street market in downtown Long Beach. We visited Darwell's downtown for lunch; excellent Cajun food (featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives with Guy Fieri)! We visited "Beauvoir", the last home of Jefferson Davis in Biloxi and also the Beau Rivage Casino. We went to the beach and took a day trip to New Orleans! I liked that there were a lot of TV's, we could watch whatever we wanted and it just so happened that "A Streetcar Named Desire" was playing the night night we returned from N.O.!! The week flew by way too fast! I would definitely recommend the Happy House to stay in!! Thanks Joni for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy House comes through!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

This home made us feel comfortable, and our host made us feel welcome. We made great use of the large pool in the cool mornings accompanied by coffee and reading, the hot afternoons, and the delightful evenings when the pool was warm and the lighting relaxing. Our family dogs also loved the huge fenced yard. The rec room hosted our family ping-pong tournament and numerous other games. Best of all, the large dining table and the family-friendly seating in the living room gave us great time to talk and enjoy each other - that really was the best part of the week! We made the trip into New Orleans (including biegnets at Cafe du Monde and lunch at Muriels), and spent an afternoon on the beach. Happy House was our favorite place to be, and we're thankful we found it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

happy times

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

My grown children and grandchildren loved this house. We had not been to the gulf in 8 years so our family is bigger now and this was great for us. I wanted to stay in Gulfport but we love the location and ease of getting where we wanted in Long Beach.
Ages from 62 to 2 and something to do for all. We enjoyed using the huge kitchen and the game room was great. The pool was used everyday and you had thought of everthing that we needed.
At night some of us just sit outside and grill and just was with each other. We did the beach, sight seeing, New Orleans and the casinos. A place to get supplies less then a mile away and a Walmart close by.
The last two day was just spend around the house and it was great. Big enough that the baby could nap and we just went on doing what we was doing.
Internet was used by all as at least 4 was doing school on line.
We live about 13 hours away but we will stay at HAPPY HOUSE again when we come back. Thank you for thinking of everthing we could need. Brenda and Roger

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Rental!! Perfect Location!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Joni - I am so sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. I am guessing at the date that we were there but I think it is close.

For anyone who loves the south and wants to do site seeing this was the perfect home. We had 15 people staying in the home and we were never crowded. Very spacious, clean and fun. Having the bedrooms separated from the main part of the house helped when the little ones went to bed earlier then the adults or were napping during the day. We didn't have to worry about being loud and waking them up.

It was situated perfectly between New Orleans and Mobil so day trips worked out great. We made lots of use of the internet connection doing research on places to see, restuarants and driving directions - sometimes we had 4 laptops going!!

The family is already asking if we are planning another trip down and it is a definate YES that we would be renting this house again. It was also close to my aunt's house that lived in Gulfport - we had 5 more family members staying with her. She has since sold her home and moved up to northern Mississippi to be closer to her son - be we still plan on visiting again.

Again - thanks for providing a GREAT rental Joni!!

Sheri from Illinois

Owners response: Thank you, Sherri, for the wonderful review! I just wanted to add that we have just finished another vacation house, Cozy Cottage, that is about 2 miles from the Happy House (on the way to the beach!) It currently sleeps 9 people, and I love it! I think others will, too.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

I can not thank you enough for letting my family use your home for our first vacation. We enjoyed every day. My 5 kids (13, 11, 10, 5, 2) loved the playroom and pool. We came with my sister-in-law, so in total we had 11 people and room was not an issue. Your home is happy just like it is called. Thank you so much. I hope to see you again. You have made our first vacation something we will never forget. P.S. Blueberries won over the pool!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Thank you so much for opening your home so other people can enjoy it. We had a blast even though it rained almost half of our trip. We still got to enjoy the pool...This definitely is a "Happy House." It was nice to meet you while we were here and you probably didn't even get to your truck before the kids were at the blueberry bushes picking handfuls. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Thanks for sharing your home with us. We enjoyed the house and pool! My boys loved the blueberries!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Happy House. We had our beach wedding and reception here at the Happy House on Father's Day, June 19, 2011. Both our parents and sisters and brothers stayed with us here at the house. There was plenty of room for all the family to stay and play. Also, the sunroom made an amazing spot for a reception! We will definitely rent this house again. Thank you, Joni, for everything. You're great for all you did for us. Can't wait til next time.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it.

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a wonderful, peaceful time. Enjoyed the pool beyond words.
We are booked for two weeks next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I trusted the previous reviewers- and am SO HAPPY I did!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

We rented Joni's "Happy House" for a destination wedding. As our family was travelling a long way, we wanted space for everyone to get some peace and relax. Before the we all (sadly) had to leave, everyone was enthusiastically asking "When can we come back? Let's rent this place again next year!" If you have a dog, your pet will be in HEAVEN- It's the largest fenced back yard we've ever seen, with lots of room to run and explore. If you have kids, they will be ENTERTAINED- the pool and water slides are fabulous, and the game room kept everyone busy. If you want to do relax, you will be PLEASED- there are five? TVs in the house, multiple group seating areas, and even the world's comfiest hammock in the yard. Twice people spent the night out there sleeping underneath the stars, the neighborhood is so quiet. It was extremely clean, and the owner was very friendly and helpful. If you go- make sure to eat at the Half Shell Oyster House in Gulfport, and Shaggy's on the Beach, which is right on the water. Thanks for a wonderful stay- it would be a joy to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Friends

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Great House and Host, Everything was there even the little items that makes it all worth renting a house not a hotel for the weekend get away. Host even brought us a wine cork when we could not find one..Had a blast pleanty of peace and quite nice pool rooms were great.

Thanks Joni will see you again soon

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will come again

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

What a greathouse and host, Three couples no kids had a blast and already making plans to bring the whole familes later this summer, house has everything you'll need to make it a weekend or whole week stay, Nice and peaceful at night time swimming pool was great hot tub great..Plenty of kids toys and x-box games.

Thanks Joni

Wayne, Sharlotte, Stacey, Delilia, Donald, Heather

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

spring break vacation

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

we stayed at the happy house for spring break,and it was fantastic.the rooms was spacious,and the kitchen was really nice would recommend the hapy house for all your vacation needs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family home

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

This large comfortable home was just right to accommodate three generations gathering for a family weekend. The kitchen is well outfitted for cooking and serving large family meals.

The house has plenty of space for groups to watch TV, play games and have conversations - a nice floor plan for entertaining and keeping all age groups happy in various activities without over-running each other. It was nice to have indoor and outdoor spaces too.

The house was centrally located for shopping, beach and most coastal activities. Would recommend for families or large groups of mixed ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Send Off Party Place For Soldier Going To Afghanistan

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

What a great relief on arriving in Long Beach, MS - our vacation/send off home for a week was as advertised. It was large and comfortable for 11 of us, including a 1 1/2 year-old. It was close to stores and shopping. Very close to and easy to find beaches, which were very nice and well kept.

We particularly liked the kitchen which was well equipped to make/serve large groups. Of course the game room was used almost constantly with hot tub, ping pong, pool, card games - very enjoyable.

The large yard was great for hourseshoes, vollyball, lounging, swimming, you name it. Lots of memories.

Would definitely do again. Yeh, Happy House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fall 2010 - Mississippi Vaca

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

This vacation home was warm and welcoming, and beautifully decorated. The house was spotlessly clean, and has all the modern conveniences you have at your own home. Joni is a very sweet host, and is up to date with local events in the area, (fairs and concerts).

The location of the home could not have been better if we built it ourselves. Close to the beaches, a short 50 minute drive to New Orleans, (which we did two times), and very close to the casinos’.

All the beaches from New Orleans to Oceans Springs were in pristine condition. The water was clear and the sand was as white as could be. Our two golden’s loved the beach almost as much as they loved the huge back yard and the pool.

Even when it rained, “Happy House” will not let you down. The game room was fantastic, and the hot tub was truly relaxing after a day shopping in New Orleans. Oh, another big plus for large groups with different interest is there are six tv's to keep children and sports fans happy.

Our favorite restaurant in the area has to be Molly Malone’s. It was very beautiful on the inside and the service was fantastic. I don’t know where our travels will take us next fall, but if we return to MS, there is only one place I will stay again, and that is Joni’s “Happy House.” I highly recommend it to everyone visiting the gulf coast, for a young couple to a large family gathering. Perfects location, perfect house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Warm and Welcoming

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

I brought my mom down to celebrate her 80th bday and while I have rented any number of vacation homes around the country, Happy House seemed the most perfect for a family get away. It was perfectly appointed and so personally done. I stayed in the pool most of the trip, but the rest of the family enjoyed the spacious layout of the house and felt very much at home there. Huge yard, countless games and activities available--we didn't need a thing! I could go back today--and stay there. Thanks, Joni. You did a wonderful job of anticipating needs and meeting them in abundance. God bless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mississippi coast vacation site

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Quick note to let you know I received the deposit refund check. I was surprised and pleased to get it so quickly.

We really enjoyed ourselves. You have a really nice place with so much to do there that it cut into the touristy stuff we had planned. The grandchildren really loved the pool. It was all we could do to get them out of it every evening. Loved the blueberries. They were great in muffins, pancakes and on vanilla ice cream. The dogs loved the big backyard. Ours found a squirrel on the back pecan tree that kept both of them busy for hours.

A day trip to the Mobile area and another to New Orleans. Amazing how much stuff there was to do for the whole family ranging from my 86 year old uncle (who also enjoyed the pool) to a six year old grandson. Didn't even have time to hit the casinos.

Don't know when we will head that way again, but rest assured we will certainly remember you if we do.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Wow, very impressive rental. The amenities are incredible! We had our family's Thanksgiving dinner here. It's VERY spacious, the yard is perfect for big dogs, the house is in great shape. It's comfortable, sleeps about a thousand, and offers great amenities, like the pool table, hot tub, etc. There's a great grocery store a couple miles away, good restaurants (Harbor View is my favorite). Joni is very helpful, a pleasure to work with.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

North Carolina, Melbourne Australia and VA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Loved your comfortable home. Our get-together group found this home a wonderful base to see your State.

Joni,
Enjoyed your home! A home away from home! Very comfortable. Enjoyed the time with friends from here and around the world! Thanks

Thank you so much for opening your family home to me and my friends. We had an awesome time here this week in Mississippi. You were right, you do have a beautiful home and we were not disappointed! Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Real Vacation!

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

Joni,
We had a great time, a real vacation! We are so looking forward to coming back! This is a perfect house for a family, something for everyone and a room for all to get away as well for private time. My kids love the house. TVs in every room was a treat, since we don't have our own TVs bedrooms. They thought the game room and jacuzzi were awesome, too.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Randolph, Ohio

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful home. We all had a wonderful time and are sad to leave. We hope to come back on our next vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Belgium

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The house was a comfortable home away from home :^)
We enjoyed the playroom, the pool and the yard!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Thank you for the use of your home on our special 50th Anniversary. It was so special.
The kids enjoyed all the things available to them - your house is lovely and comfortable and the beacj was beautiful.
It was a wonderful 4 days!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Colorado

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

This is our family's second year all converging in MS to visit great grandparents. Some of us are from Colorado. There are some of us from Pennsylvania and Virginia. And some of us are from Iowa. There were 11 of us total and the house was a erfect fit.

Call us crazy, but the best part was the bunk beds - they made a great fort; great zoo cages for monkeys, tigers and bears; and a wonderful corral for all the worn-out children. :^)

There were also a lot of other favorites - the pool, the game room, the open floor plan, the semi-circle driveway.

Thanks for opening your home to our families, Joni.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

St Helena, CA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

From the St. Helena, Cal. Mission trip group (14 in all)
What a treat to be in a home comeplete with blueberries, cozy beds, chairs for 14, a basketball hoop and so many different rooms to meet and play in. Thank you for your hospitality!

Your home became our home for the week! Thank you!

We enjoyed life on Pineville Rd!

We couldn't believe 14 people could be so comfortable! You have a very nice home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kentucky

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Thank you for your hospitality.
The house is wonderful. We enjoyed the layout - neat having the laundry room isolated. We would have liked to take the pool back to Kentucky with us!
We all played the games in the sunroom.
PS. The 3 year old was learning to swim in the week we were here - time well spent!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Montgomery, TX

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Joni,
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed your home so much! It was so great to have the pool and the kids love night swimming! Thank you for an amazing 4th of July!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrytown, LA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

We all had a great time and did not want to leave. The house, pool, pool table, hot tub, and etc. were enjoyed by all of us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

West Monroe, LA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

We had SUCH a great time. We loved the pool and jacuzzi. Oh, and you can't forget the Ping Pong! Haha! We can't wait for next time! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Metairie, LA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

Thanks!!! The weekend here was wonderful! We enjoyed the house, pool, and jacuzzi! Can't wait for the next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kenner, LA

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

Thanks for letting us use the house, it was amazing! The pool was the best. can't wait for the next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family of 5 Stayed Here

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Very nice people and a beautiful house. We give them our highest rating. Home Away From Home. We may come back here for our next vacation. It is exactly as described. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much!

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

All ten of us had a great time. In fact, the kids are already asking us when we can come back! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

This is a very large & beautiful home to stay in. Our family felt very comfortable & had lots of fun. The game room is perfect for any type of family & the pool is amazing it is one of the largest pools I have seen with a rental home. Joni is a wonderful person to deal with & answered all questions we had before our trip. We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

This rental home was absolutely fabulous! Our family stayed here on vacation from June 5th til June 12th and we all had a wonderful time. Actually no one wanted to leave and they talked about how great of a time we had for days. The home was very spacious, clean, and well equipped to ensure that our stay was a fun and enjoyable one. We will definitely without a doubt return next year if not sooner. Thanks for everything Joni! 06/12/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

Thanks for the AWESOME stay Joni! If you are looking to get away from the Craziness of Destin,and Orlando to have a true family vacation....... this is it! HUGE pool, GIANGANTIC back yard, well equipted LARGE home and picked fresh blueberries in the back yard! Too much to brag about. Rented 2 houses in Destin, one in Orlando. Will be back next year Joni! Thanks again for the personal touch and remodeling ideas.

Owners response: I am so happy you enjoyed the house! I do hope you come back, since I've added a pool table, karaoke machine and more :^)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

This is a great house to stay at we stayed the first week of may 2009 and we were a family 5 adult and the house was very roomy inside and outside also the house is clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly. We plan on going back for our next vacation. :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review