reviews for: listing #47984 - Venice, Florida House rental

$95 -Spring Break - Sunny Cottage with Private Beach access
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Venice
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $80 - $140 /nt
    $695 - $995 /wk
    $1,400 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy and Confortable

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The house was very nice, clean, and welcoming. There was everything we needed, lots of dishes, cookware and linens, and we appreciate that there was beach toys and a cooler bag which came in very handy. The trundle bed was difficult to use due to space in the bedroom, there would have been no walking space. We had 6 adults staying there and it wasn't crowded. We appreciate that there was a washer and dryer available, with 6 adults we needed to wash the towels, etc. a couple times during the week. The private beach was really nice and clean, unfortunately, the temperature wasn't quite beach temperature but we made the most of it. The 24 hour WalMart near by was really handy for whatever we needed including food and drinks. The location of this home was good, we did rent a car at the airport, so we were able to travel around a bit but nothing we wanted to do was too far. Overall, we enjoyed staying here and would book this house again when we want to vacation in this are. I would definitely recommend renting this house:)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a place like no other....

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

My family and I stayed for a week at this lovely family home where as the pictures show, the ammenities where very clean and a home worthy of praising.

The sleeping quaters were more than adacute for our family of 4 and the space within the house was very spacious.

In addition to the particulars of the house, it is located in a relaxing neighbourhood where we were able to rest and go to the beach given the proximity to the sea, without having the unrest of being accross from it.

I intend to take my wife and 2 kids again at my earliest convenince as we were able to find a place that was not only clean and spacious but also very much family oriented which made us fit in the community of neighbours as yet one of them...

thanks to my friends in Mississauga, Ontario that suggested this place...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for being our valuable guest. We are so happy you have founded a "Hidden Gem" where you your family can relax and play together in the sun. All the best and hope to see you very soon.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Avoid this property

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Run down, dirty, rotting wood, torn screens, hornets nests, and an extremely busy street from early morning to late at night. Windows are either partially open (cranks are broken off) or shut off track and unusable. Water smells like sulfur, is very salty and not good to drink. Kitchen stove has missing knobs on controls so difficult to use. Oven has no temperature dial; impossible to gauge. Laundry area is very dirty with cockroaches , water leaves orange deposits on clothes; dryer takes hours to dry a towel. Linens, towels and kitchen towels are all stained; no mattress pads on beds. Pillows extremely stained with no covers. Yard has half dead orange tree, long scrub for grass and is unkempt. Abandoned house across the street, motorcycles just down the street. Outside patio is dirty with broken chairs. No comfortable seating in the house with dirty area rugs. Busy traffic pattern continually along with house in flight pattern from nearby airport. This property was misrepresented as peaceful and quiet. It is the opposite. Left early, just couldn’t take it anymore.

Owners response: We are sorry to hear that you haven't experienced Venice and the area in fullest. Our vacation home is not in a secluded area. It is nestled in the quietest area of Venice with only local traffic and it has an own community private beach that is considered Florida's best kept secret. After each Guest departure our entire home is cleaned and sanitized along with all the linens and towels. We always strive to provide high customer service and if anything needs attention we immediately respond to it. We wish you all the best.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Great time for entire family.

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

We stayed in this house twice already, our latest stay in December for a week.
We enjoyed our stay as always.
The house was clean, fully equipped so that the only thing to buy was food.
It was nice to be able to grab a fresh orange straight from the tree in the back yard and to squeeze a fresh tropicana into your glass.
Shopping is close, public library with free internet round the corner.
The private beach was beautiful. It takes you 1 min by car to get there, free parking is provided. If there were 20 people on the beach then we considered it overcrowded. You get to know these people quickly, they look out for each other. Since the beach is private theft is simply non-existing so you can leave your valuables, no problem.
You leave the beach around 6pm and play tennis until 9pm in a nearby park before the dinner.
Life is good.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful vacation experiences. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we feel privileged to have you and your lovely family as repeated guests. All the best.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Good Times in South Venice

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

As repeat visitors to this property over the past three years, we want to thank the owners once again for our most recent visit in early August. The place was clean and comfortable as always. We always enjoy our time spent in the house and at the beach. We will be be back.

Neil and Terry

Owners response: We are happy to hear that you always enjoy your stay and have a terrific time in Venice. We are always happy to welcome you at our vacation home in South Venice.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Could have been perfect

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Upon arriving at the house everything looked great. It looked like the owners cared about making our stay good. The house keeper on the other hand didn't do her job very well. There were dozens of short black hairs in the tub that didn't drain hardly at all. There were two dead cockroaches in the laundry room. We didnt get a chance to enjoy our backyard due to the fact that the grass was over ankle high. When we used the washer/dryer it ruined our cloths with some kind of orange substance. This same stains were on all the sheets and towels. There were linens left in the dryer. There were dirty dish rags in the sink and the refrigerator was dirty with crumbs and other food. There was garbage in the mulitple recycling bins on the back patio so we could not enjoy that either. I received an electric shock from an uncovered broken outlet in the master bedroom while trying to plug a light in. Some of the silverware had crusts of food on them. The coffee maker had old coffee in the bottom and was very dirty and filled with loose grounds. There was sand in one of the beds in the extra bedroom. There was used a used bar of soap and an almsot gone bottle of baby soap in the shower. The house was cute and exactly what we wanted but the cleanliness was unacceptable. I didn't call the house keeper upon arrival. I assumed she didn't care much about cleaning before we arrived so I didn't want her there after we drove for 24 hours and just wanted to sleep. We removed the hair from the tub and the bugs from the laundry room. We washed everything again and just went on with our vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: On behalf of our entire family we apologize for the concerns you had upon your arrival at our vacation home. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operation in the hope that we can meet or exceed guest's expectations. The housekeeper is replaced and the new housekeeper shares our vision of high standards.

Our guest's comfortable stay is very important to us and we would appreciate immediate response for all concerns and needs. We always strive to provide an excellent customer service and we go an extra mile to ensure our guest's stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review