reviews for: listing #48079 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

Charming updated Telegraph Hill retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Telegraph Hill
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $300 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,900 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Wow ... wow and WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

WOW was the first words out of my families mouths upon entering this apartment!! So open, so fresh, so airy. Bedrooms huge in size. Kitchen and living room view was A~M~A~Z~I~N~G! Found myself eating breakfast by the kitchen sink just watching all the bay activity. Super easy walk to Pier 39, can see the double merry-go-round lit up at night directly across from kitchen window. W/ zoom lens on camera can even see docks were seals hang out! You can walk to Pier 33 easily to Alcatraz cruises, along bay to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square up to Lombard Street and take a walk down the fantastic "crooked" road and don't forget the stairs up to Coit Tower! EXCELLENT home base for our San Francisco trip! Could not imagine staying any where else!!! HIGHLY recommended!!!! Family of 5 absolutely hated to leave and wish we could have stayed longer than the 3 nights!!! Having the carport was a MAJOR bonus and the icing on the cake!!!!! FANTASTIC!!! Working with Dawn was a breeze. She was more than kind, helpful and prompt when answering all my emails and questions!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large Fabulous View Condo

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) loved this home away from home. We needed a base of operations for a sporting event in SF. The floor plan was great with the two bedrooms on opposite sides of the apartment, each with a bath. The living room area was very spacious with lots of seating and the view from the full wall of glass was MAGNIFICENT...the GG bridge, Alcatraz, Sausalito etc.!! A great place to relax and watch an amazing sunset after a long day on the water!

The kitchen was large with a great island and large dining table. It was well equipped and made preparing a meal very easy for the times that we did not dine out at the great restaurants in the area. Having access to a washer and dryer was also very helpful since we had plenty of wet sailing clothes each day.

The location was also fabulous. It is on a very quiet, short, 1 block street and came with parking although a car is not needed for most site seeing. Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Marina areas are very accessible by foot. Cable car and trolley stops are also very close. For those who need a grocery store, Safeway and Trader Joes are two blocks away.

I can't say enough about this apartment and its locations, it was a great place to sty and the price was very reasonable, we definitely plan to use it again and again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view and easy access to everything

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

We, 4 adults 2 toddlers, stayed at this condo for two nights and everyone wanted to stay longer.
The property is very well located and has a great view of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Pier 39 is literally in walking distance(about 10 min with strollers). All other destinations except California Academy of Sciences are all very close.
I wish we could have more time to sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful view through the wall size windows.
We'll definitely go back to this house when we visit SF next time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, nice spacious condo with Bay View

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

Excellent location and great view of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate. Condo is easy walking distance to Pier 39, Coit Tower and Little Italy with all of its great dining choices. Even walking to downtown is also easily reachable from this location. Very enjoyable watching boats coming and going into the Bay from the spectacular view - was just nice even to relax in the condo admiring the view. A quick drive also to other spots such as Ocean Beach, Marin County, and the East Bay.

Unit itself was very spacious and clean with big kitchen and dining area that. Looked onto the magnificent bay view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Fran condo

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

Great location, plenty of room, wonderful view.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great locale and beautiful view!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

We spent a long weekend at this rental. My in-laws were visiting San Fran for the first time and when they walked into the place and saw the view from the kitchen and living they couldn't believe it! (Perfect view of the Golden Gate Bridge off to the left and Alcatraz right in line with the place). It was an easy and close walk to Pier 39, the Alcatraz tour boat dock, and Fisherman's Wharf. It is situated on a nice quiet street and the car port was really convenient! This is the first time we have ever rented an apartment and were a little wary in the beginning, but Dawn definitely put us at ease. She was quick with communication and left really great detailed notes inside the apartment. It was also a great price and well worth it! We will definitely check to see if this rental is available before anywhere else!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful apartment

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Lovely apartment with views across the Bay that were amazing. 4 adults on holiday for a week had a wonderful time. Lots of space, all amenities, everything was as described and even better. This is a great place to stay to see San Francisco, you can walk easily to Fisherman's wharf one way and Union Square the other. We will be recommending it to our friends when they visit San Francisco and hopefully we will be back some time from the UK.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible View!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

Beautiful view of Alcatraz and surrounding bay and mountains, a peak at Golden Gate to the left and Bay Bridge to the right ..... all out the living room and kitchen windows! If you listen carefully you can hear the sea lions from Pier 39!
This was the perfect place to stay without a car. Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, ferries, Coit Tower, Lombard St. and great North Beach and China Town restaurants. Easy access to public transportation. Quiet neighborhood yet close to everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This apartment made for a perfect place to stay for four adults and one child. It is open and spacious with great natural light and air flow. The two separate bedroom/bath combinations give lots of privacy for two couples.
I can't say enough about the view. We never tired of watching the freighter traffic past Alcatraz, and enjoyed frequent glimpses of the Cup challengers out for practice sails.
It's an easy walk down to the waterfront and the F trolley leading to many popular attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible VIEW

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Incredible view that stretched from the Golden Gate, Alcatraz to the Bay Bridge. AMAZING we loved watching the fog roll in and make Alcatraz disappear. Close to everything that we wanted to do. Wonderful kitchen and TWO master suites. This was perfect for our family. Blocks from the Wharf and so many great things to do. Wonderful food, entertainment and grocery stores are close by. We had two teens with us and had no trouble keeping them busy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A quiet base in central San Francisco

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This apartment provided us with an excellent base for exploring San Francisco. It is centrally located, close to public transportation, cable cars, great restaurants and grocery stores, and Fisherman's Wharf. For those who want to explore Sausalito, the ferry is a very short walk away. At the same time, its location on a one-block street means that while you are close to all popular sights and amenities, you are far from the traffic and noise of the city. Plus, the view of Alcatraz and - when the fog lifts - of the Golden Gate Bridge is an added bonus. The apartment is bright, fairly spacious, and very well-equipped; the kitchen has everything you could need. It also has multi-channel TV, if you can tear yourself away from the attractions of SF for long enough to watch. All in all, it was a great place to stay and really enhanced our visit. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We came to San Francico from New Zealand for 2 weeks and the Condo was the fabulous for our stay. We also had our 8 month old baby with us and that was no problem, Dawn even provided a Pack n Play (with bedding) for us.
Everything you need for your stay is in the condo, including a very well stocked kitchen for those who like to cook. You will be within walking distance to everything, so there is no need for a vehicle unless you are doing a lot of trips out of the city. The neighborhood is fantastic, with excellent restaurants and cafes, Safeway and Trader Joes are just one block down and one across.
We honestly can't say enough about this place, we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We came to San Francico from New Zealand for 2 weeks and the Condo was the fabulous for our stay. We also had our 8 month old baby with us and that was no problem, Dawn even provided a Pack n Play (with bedding) for us.

Everything you need for your stay is in the condo, including a very well stocked kitchen for those who like to cook.
You will be within walking distance to everything, so there is no need for a vehicle unless you are doing a lot of trips out of the city. The neighborhood is fantastic, with excellent restaurants and cafes, with Safeway and Trader Joes just one block down and one across.

We honestly can't say enough about this place, we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Location w/view!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this sweet one bedroom apartment on a quaint peaceful lane with a view park steps away to gaze out over rooftops with Alcatraz in the distance. Quiet nights with fun and frolic in the day, only two blocks away at Fisherman's Wharf. What a treasure! We can't wait to return. It was a perfect location, perfect amenities,....our perfect vacation...Thank you Dawn!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Location!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Dawn was very accommodating and the location of this rental couldn't be more perfect! You're steps away from everything, but the unit is on a quiet little street - very charming and warm. The property was clean, well maintained, and pictured as is, so expectations are well set. Be sure to go to Trader Joe's (a short walk from the apt) for your basic groceries and wine! If you want to rent a bike, go to Blazing Saddles on Fisherman's Wharf. They were very helpful and provided maps and directions to bike across the bridge and over to Sausalito.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

May, 2011 - We had a wonderful time! Many extras!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

It was our first trip to San Francisco, California and the west coast.

We could not have picked a more convenient and comfortable place to explore the city.
The apt provided everything we needed and more. We were able to eliminate quite a bit of packing since our hosts supplied a
full kitchen with dishes, pots, pans, utensils, wine glasses, silverware and even an ice cream scoop; microwave, dishwasher and coffemaker. We made our own breakfast before heading out to nearby Pier 33 for our Alcatraz cruise, Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. There was even a manifying glass for reading the city maps and guidebooks also provided. Binoculars for the great view of Alcatraz island from the living room.

There was an iron, ironing board and blowdryer with plenty of towels.
The water pressure in the shower was manificent! (a pet peeve of mine)

We also made use of the garage parking with its automatic door opener.
We only needed to use the car for our Napa, Muir Woods and Monterey/Carmel trips.
The apt was easy to find coming back on Hwy 101 to Lombard St. At the top of the crooked section just take a left turn, 1 block to Chestnut. Turn right and Chestnut takes you over to Stockton which is only 1/2 block away from the apt.

And you must try Freddy's Sandwiches on the corner of Francisco & Stockton as well as Ceasar's Italian on the corner of Bay and Powell! The Safeway/Walgreen's shopping center was right across the street from Ceasar's and Trader Joe's was in the next block.

Walking as far as Hyde Street Pier and Ghirardelli Square was an easy stroll. You can then take a bus or cable car to the rest of the city to avoid walking up any steep hills. From Chinatown and Washington Square Park you can then walk downhill back to the apt.

So glad we were here instead of booking in a hotel!
It felt like our home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Location.

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

We can't imagine a better location from which to explore the beautiful city of San Francisco. Just a few steps to Fisherman's Warf and a few more to the Ferry Building and then a few more to downtown.

The apartment is well equipped for a couple or a small family. Clean, quite, central - perfect. Will surely come back.

PS: be sure to go to Mama's for breakfast and Tony's for dinner. The best French Toast and Pizza, respectively.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A cozy, quite place in a charming neighborhood

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this place. It was safe, clean, and sunny. It has everything you need to feel comfortable, and you can walk to different areas without the necessity of car or buses. You can stroll to Fisherman's Wharf, Russian Hill, Market Street, the museum of modern art and restaurants on Columbus Avenue. If you feel adventurous you can take the bus o the Bart to explore Bernal Heights with its amazing views of downtown and surroundings o Mission area neighborhood where there are restaurants worth to try (we actually walked to those places.) If you like to cook there is a very good Trader Joe's four blocks away. Also important to us was the generous amount of privacy we got in this place. We felt at home! Truly worth it.

Rob and Sandra
Astoria, NY

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

My parents stayed here four nights while visiting from FL. I couldn't have designed a more perfect place to stay. Amazing location, close to everything. Wonderful quiet, peaceful neighborhood. Beautiful view from living room window. And best of all, all the comforts of home, including a kitchen full stocked with everything from condiments to wine glasses. SO much nicer than staying in a hotel and far less expensive! I hope to secure this apartment for future visitors to San Francisco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This was home away from home. Dawn made us feel that way. We had access to her washer and dryer and her garage. The condo is spacious, close to public transportation, walking distance to Pier 39, Fisherman's wharf, grocery stores, pharmacy. We travel 5 weeks a year and we can say the accommodations are great. The photos don't do the condo justice.

Emil and Johane, Montreal (Quebec) Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in unit 1 of this building (different decor, but very similar layout/amenities). We had a great view of the Blue Angels as they were practicing for the Fleet Week airshow.

This apartment is in a great location for pretty much everything you would want to do and see in San Francisco. It's on a quiet residential street but only a few blocks to Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, the cable cars, North Beach (which has a lot of Italian restaurants) and more. It's about a 10-minute walk to Ghiradelli Square.

Inside the apartment, the kitchen is modern and has all the cooking utensils you need. We worked from there one day; it was super easy to access the internet, and the connection was strong and without any interruptions. The bed was comfortable, and the shower had plenty of hot water.

We'll definitely be back the next time we're in San Francisco - this place is a much better value than a hotel. Thanks again, Jan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

We picked this property due to the fact that we could walk to Trader Joe's. And found out that we could walk to the Wharf, where we shopped, ate good food and rented bikes that we used to tour the city. Also great location for walking the other direction down to Columbus Street where there are many many restaurants and Chinatown. Be sure to check out the urban hikes of North Beach and Russian Hill to really get to know the neighborhoods. This is a great location for exploring!!!
As far as the apartment, it was perfect. Quiet, clean and well furnished. Everything you need for comfort.
Dawn was very helpful and easy to communicate with during the booking processes. Once we were in San Francisco, she was as helpful as we needed her to be.
You will feel safe in this location and are real just minutes from all sorts of activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You'll never want to leave.

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

This was our first time in SF. When the cab took us to the apartment, going uphill, downhill, then uphill again, having to ask his colleagues if they new where the street was, we were a bit skeptical. But the we arrived, and we opened the door, we knew we would have a great time in this place. And sure enough, we did.
The location is great, close enough to pier 39 that you can feel the ocean breeze in the morning and hear the sea lions when you open the kitchen window. You can also have a glimpse of the bay and Golden Gate Bridge from the living room window, and that's a great thing to wake up to.
You can easily walk to the piers, Fisherman's wharf, or Chinatown, and you're one cable car ride away from union square and market street. (and if you like to run, I recommend the piers in the morning. It's just great)

So there you go : beautiful, spacious, great location... If you're going to visit San Francisco, this is the place you want to rent.
(and then you'll want to live there for the rest of your life ... Yes, that's how much we liked it)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would love to stay here again!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

What a great location, I'm sure it wasn't even a 5 minute walk down to Pier 39! The apartment was clean and cozy and had absolutely everything we needed. On our next vacation to SF this is definitely the place we'll try to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Had a wonderful experience with Dawn. She was very accommodating, had a list of local places to try, and even had a pack&play for our son. She even had some toys for him to use. The location was in a great area to enjoy the local shops and restaurants and tourist spots. We were able to walk all around the city from here and took cabs only when going to the other side of town. I actually think the pictures don't do this place justice - yes, it is a bit older, but it is spacious, well kept and has EVERYTHING you need when away from home. It has a great views too! The walls are a bit thin, so we could hear the neighbors doing work on their place and the kids playing, but it was during the day. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend for the location, views, size, and price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review