reviews for: listing #48098 - Ambergris Caye, Belize House rental

Casita Buena Vista, Guesthouse with private beach, NEW ! !
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Pedro
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $180 /nt
    $980 - $1,190 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful property on a beautiful island.

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

This was such a cute rental. Wolfgang was a great host and helped us and answered questions when we asked. His staff is beyond nice. I will come back and this is where I would stay again. Love!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Casita Beuna Vista. The guesthouse was lovely, well-appointed and spotless. The greatroom was large and cool, with many fans, and the bed was very comfortable.
Wolfgang was a gracious host, and we enjoyed our tour of San Pedro.
We also enjoyed our walks along the beach and exploring the island in the golf cart (recommended). We booked two tours with the help of Eldon, the groundskeeper, and had a great time snorkeling and visiting Mayan ruins on the mainland. We would love to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Honeymoon!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

My husband and I were married in September, but did not honeymoon until March, which gave us many cold winter months to look forward to this trip. Everything about our trip far exceeded our expectations (which were fairly high already based upon the other info we read beforehand). Of all the locations we were able to check out on Ambergris Caye, we couldn't imagine a better place to stay. We loved being slightly out of town, but very close to everything. Definitely rent a golf cart, we loved riding around, and my husband loved driving it. Each morning, we made coffee in the casita (which we drank with delicious rum crème that Wolfgang hooked us up with during our tour!), and snorkeled for several hours. We would then venture downtown for lunch, before more water activities in the afternoon. We did several tours through Suya next door, and thought they were exceptionally well-arranged, and worth what we paid. We went to Lamanaii, and took a catamaran to snorkel at Hol Chan and Shark Ray. We liked Hol Chan much more than Shark Ray, and almost went back a different day. We did not have a bad meal anywhere--we tried many of the places Wolfgang recommended, and also stopped in a few we found on our own. The mojitos everywhere were amazing as well. Get ceviche everywhere---best I've ever had!! In addition to all of this, we could not have asked for better hosts. Wolfgang, Eldon, and Mirta were available to help with virtually anything at any time (even helping us to arrange our tours, and make sure the boats were coming to pick us up on time), but also had a knack for seeming to disappear when we desired a quiet nap or drink under the coconut tree. What a great balance! I unfortunately lost my luggage for several days, and Wolfgang went above and beyond to help us try to track it down, giving up his time (long wait times on the phone!) and allowing us to use his phone to check for updates..so gracious. The casita is also beautiful inside--not that we spent a lot of time inside! We cannot wait to return, and, in fact, have rebooked already, and are bringing family to enjoy this paradise with us next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great return visit

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was my second time at Casita Buena Vista. Since my stay 4 years ago, many improvements were made especially in the bathroom. The same two great staff workers, Eldon and Mirta, as well as everyone's vacation dog Cookie, are still present making it a nice welome back. The owner Wolfgang makes sure his guests are happy and comfortable. Buena Vista is a great, quiet vacation spot not far from town. I would highly recommend Buena Vista as a place to stay on the Caye.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely, quiet and tranquil.

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Great spot. Gracious host. Groundskeeper and housecleaner are wonderful. Not much view in casita but the beach is right out your door. Only frustration is the wireless is not good in the casita. Stayed three weeks and really slowed down. The people everywhere were genuinely warm and welcoming.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Honeymoon - 10 stars - Seriously!!!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Since we've been home we've been trying to think what to say for this review - we can only speak of the Casa, Casita, our host, the dogs, Eldon & Mirta, the beach, San Pedro, our tour, and all of Belize in non-descriptive superlatives - amazing, unbelievable (unbelizeable?), indescribable, awesome! We know that's not very helpful, so we ask that you trust us. We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our honeymoon!

We spent several nights in the Casa as well as the Casita, and both are clean, well-maintained, well-appointed, and luxurious. We cooked many meals for ourselves in the kitchens that were enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the Caribbean while staying at the Casa and the screened-in porch with a sea view at the Casita. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms and closets are of ample size and feel very upscale. The Casa has the benefit of the sea breeze coming through the windows facing the ocean, so it stays quite cool - we never had to turn on the AC. The Casita, being shielded by the Casa, is a little hotter, but the abundant fans and AC kept us cool.

The beach is great, the best in the area! We used the steps and the public dock to access the water. Great swimming, and clear water! Eldon and his helpers keep the beach and water very clean! We saw stingrays jumping and a dolphin(!) from the beach, as well as lots of cool birds (alas, no toucans).

Wolfgang was a great host, both before and during our vacation. He helped us book airfare through Maya Air and our golf cart from Carts Belize at a discount. His tour of San Pedro was invaluable. Afterwards, we were able to jump right in and go to the best places. He introduced us to Maria's fruit stand (home of THE juice), Neri's tacos (many mini tacos, we called them), the tortilla factory, the fish guy, Marin's grocery store, the coffee & rum house, the Blue Water Grill - great sushi on Tuesday - and the Pupuseria, home of THE lobster burrito (which is totally worth it)! Wolfgang, Eldon, and Mirta were always available to assist us and give us advice. We booked the all-day beach BBQ and snorkeling trip with Suya and had the best time - we'd highly recommend it! We also visited the Marco Gonzalez Maya site, which was excellent and a taste of the jungle on the Caye. We spent the rest of our time exploring town and relaxing on the beach, often with Cookie by our sides and Tiga watching us from above! We cannot wait to go back! Thank you Wolfgang, Eldon, Mirta, Tiga and Cookie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacations

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We just returned from our one week vacation at the Casita Buena Vista. This place is amazing! All the information that was provided by Wolfgang was true and exceeded our expectations. The location of his house and the casita is really the best on the island. The casita was spotless and equipped with everything you need. Wolfgang gave us great tour around the San Pedro area and was very helpful during our entire stay! We also were very happy with Eldon and Myrta. Eldon was around the property every day and pretty much catered to all our needs and wishes. He also recommended to us best snorkeling and fishing trips and guides. We didn't use his recommendations for deep fishing trip and we really regretted it. The company that took us didn't fulfill all their obligations and we felt shortchanged. Wolfgang stepped up and helped us to reconcile the situation. He is very well known on the island and can definitely be helpful in these kind of situations.
I cannot imagine better way to spend vacations if you like adventure and new experiences. I would recommend this place to all my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

IN LOVE WITH THIS PLACE

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

I wanted 'something to remember' with this vacation trip to San Pedro, Belize.....Casita Buena Vista exceeded ALL expectations! This place is an unbelievable existing postcard! Everything in the apartment/mini-house is completely up to date and impeccable in taste......the bathroom is truly unbelievable. There are huge windows all the way around giving great views; especially in the bedroom and the back screened in porch which both give you gorgeous views of the ocean and sunrise, which we used every morning to enjoy our morning coffee and email reading....off of the provided wifi. If you happen to be in need of anything, all you had to do was ask the proprietor, the grounds keeper, or maid....whatever you needed, it was quickly provided!!! This included fresh coconut water pulled down from the trees and opened in front of you!!! You just cant imagine a better place!! Snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboarding were all provided; theres also guided snorkeling/exploring trips and the most quaint town, San Pedro; which are all the lil extras that just make you wish you never had to leave!!!!! I will be returning to Casita Buena Vista!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Resort on the Beach!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Wow is the only word to describe this place.. absolutely high end, spotless condo right on the beach! We were greeted by the owner who gave us the tour and helped us arrange our flights back right away. We spent the next couple days relaxing, cooking in the beautiful kitchen, napping at the beach, snorkling, fishing and hanging out in the city. We already cannot wait to come back.. awesome place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

Our vacation at Casita Buena Vista was absolutely wonderful. It was a perfect break from our usual hectic lives, and Wolfgang and the crew made us fee right at home - long before we even arrived. Wolfgang provided a wonderful amount of information about the island and the property to make us feel comfortable, and when we arrived we were greeted by Wolf, Eldon (groundskeeper), Cookie, and Tiger - who are Wolf's very friendly dogs. Wolfgang's heralded tour of town was just right to show us all the locals spots (especially the taco place on back street), and set us up for our week long stay.

The house itself is very comfortable, nestled between the main house and the road, with quick and easy access to the beach and water. Spacious with plenty of room for a couple, the guesthouse is a perfect accommodation for a getaway. We enjoyed the 2.5 mile bike ride into town when we wanted to be part of the action, shop, or dine, but loved the remote feeling of the house as it is far removed from the "tourist" parts of the island.

This is certainly not an impersonal resort destination, where you only know the concierge by his name tag - it is a personal setting where you will interact with Wolf and Eldon, and they make sure to provide every thing you need. We even enjoyed having a wonderful pot-luck dinner with Wolf and the family staying in the main house on our last evening on the island - full of fresh lobster tails from Eldon, jerk chicken from Robin's Kitchen, and ribs from the Sausage Factory.

All in all, it was a wonderful home away from home, with no stress and no worries - and lots of attention from the dogs.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We just returned Sunday from San Pedro! I love this place! It was hard leaving,Wolfgang & Eldon were so wonderful to us.
Everytime we had a question they were there to answer. Merda was so gracious in helping us rent a golf cart. We didn't have to leave to get it. It was delivered.
The property is clean & close to everything. Wolfgang took us on a tour of the town-Which was so helpful since we hadn't been to Belize before. Eldon is the kindest person you will meet. So helpful!
Our favorite restaurant was The Black Orchid. It's walking distance from Casita Buena Vista.
Our favorite tour place is Richland Tours-Mel & Miner made our tours so special & private. Much nicer than the bigger company. When we went on our Snorkeling trip Miner would go with us. He showed us things I wouldn't have seen on my own. We can't wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cant wait to go back!

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

Great place and great people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just ok

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We stayed in three different places while in Belize & San Pedro was by far our least favorite. The guest house was really nice but the beach was not. In fact there was no beach in front of where we were staying and there was a lot.of garbage in the water so it made it difficult to snorkel. There was no view of the ocean from the guest house & were told there was a partial view. Like I said house was nice but beach was not and did not like the town! Too busy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

A perfect get away

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

We felt from the moment we decided to travel to San Pedro we were in good hands. There never a question that was unanswered. Wolfgang Wind was engaging and fair with what he offered us. This continued through out our stay. The area was lovely and amazing. By the middle of stay we were already making plans to return. This was our favorite get away and met our expectations. We have no need to look further.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home away from home!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

What a great find! Casita Buena Vista is much more than a guest cottage--it truly was our home away from home for the best vacation of our lives. The casita is the perfect combination of comfortable, convenient and private. It's tastefully decorated and modern, with a luxurious tiled shower room and lovely open kitchen. Probably best of all is the gorgeous beachfront location.

The owner, Wolfgang, is a warm and accommodating host, always helpful and available if needed. His golf cart tour of San Pedro was invaluable (and fun!). Eldon, the groundskeeper, and Mirta, the housekeeper, were great, too. Always friendly and happy to assist. Both keep the place spotless and as others have noted, Mirta even will do your laundry mid-week if you like. Eldon helped us several times, even finding us seafood in town when we wanted it. And then there's Cookie and Tiger--the sweet resident dogs. For guests missing their own canine companions, they are ideal company--friendly and super easy-going.

Our mornings began early, as we'd take our coffee outdoors to sit beneath the coconut trees and look out over the turquoise waters, listening to morning birdsong--all just steps from our backdoor. An hour or so later, we'd take a walk up or down the beach. Sometimes we'd take one of excursions with Suya Tours, just a short distance away. We had one terrific morning fishing with Suya, catching Spanish macks, snapper and horse-eyed jacks--all good eats. Another day, we took an excellent tour to the mainland, guided by Allen of Suya, to see Altun Ha. We were back at the casita by the afternoon, in time to cool off with a margarita (or two) on the beach again. Snorkeling was awesome--simply walk down the steps from the beach with your gear, look underwater, and you'll see a natural aquarium of beautiful tropical fish! For dinner, we'd take our golf cart to the Mexican place around the corner, Black Orchid, Robins (best down-home local fare), or Hidden Treasure--all nearby and excellent. A few times we cooked at home. (Grilled lobster is hard to beat!)

Our week was so perfect we can't wait to go back--and this time for a longer stay! There's much more to explore ... or, we might not leave the chaise lounges at all next time. That's the thing about Ambergris Caye.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful relaxing oasis from our everyday world

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

A wonderful relaxing oasis from our everyday world. Wolfgang is attentive, as are Eldon and Merta, and they make sure that you are properly orientated to the island. Wolfgang tells or shows you the best places to purchase whatever you need or the best places to eat. He is very familiar with the island and is well known by many of the locals and business owners.

The island is fun – lots to do if you want to – diving, snorkeling, Mayan Ruins, and shopping. Suya Tours zipline and cave tubing was most convenient with only a 2 minute walk down the beach to their dock. Or the island lifestyle invites you to relax and enjoy the sun, water, and quiet. The private beach in front of the villa beckons you to soak up the rays, take a quick dip, keep track of the local crabs peeking up over the seawall, or spend hours reading or sleeping while being caresses by the warm ocean breezes. The well cared for grounds invite you to leave your shoes in your room and tickle your toes with the white sand.

You can spend your day as active as you want or relax all day and do nothing! And Casita Buena Vista is the perfect place for an island getaway. Just far enough from the city of San Pedro to be relaxing, but close enough to cart or even walk into town for dinner.

Casita Buena Vista has everything you could ever need. The kitchen is a perfect for making any size meal you should need. Living room furniture is very comfy. Several options exist for seating for a light snack at the kitchen counter or larger meals at the lovely antique dinning table. A delightful screened porch makes for a quiet reading corner with a view to the water. While the bedroom is small, it is a very usable space and the newly renovated bath features a large open shower.

All-in-all, Casita Buena Vista was a great find for us. It provided us with just the right amount of relaxation and peaceful environment. Wolfgang and Cookie, with the newest addition of Tiger, are the perfect host. Wolfgang’s orientation golf cart ride into San Pedro is very informative and shows he is truly proud of his adopted home, and shows how friendly and welcoming the island is. Casita Buena Vista should be on everyone’s list of places to stay when in San Pedro, and is top on our list of places to return to. This feels like our second home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply awesome

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Mr Wolf, Eldon, Marita, & Cookie made us feel like family from the moment we arrived!
The place is beautiful, the town is great and the people are genuine!
Every suggestion made by Mr Wolf was spot on. Mr joe's, Neri's, Maria's Mini Market and The Rum, Coffee 7 Cigar Shop are fabulous! And, Suya Tours gave us a huge discount for taking more than one tour & they took great care of us the entire time!
Without a doubt, we fully & whole heartedly recommend a stay at the Casita Buena Vista! We WILL be returning! We miss them already!!!!
God bless you Mr Wolf, Eldon, Marita & Cookie!!!! Thanks you for making our stay in San Pedro a dream vacation!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply fabulous!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt at home! Mr Wolf, Eldon, Marita and Cookie took wonderful care of us doing everything possible to make us feel welcome and relaxed.
The property is beautiful and well maintained. The house is beautifully decorated and comfortable. We had everything we needed short of food. But, as a very nice and thoughtful welcome, Mr Wolf had taken the time to provide a gallon of fresh juice and a papaya for us.
Mr Wolf took the time to show us the town which was invaluable! All of his suggestions from food to fun turned out to be spot on. Maria's Mini Market made the best fresh juices, salsa & guacamole! Mr Joe's Grill & Cantina and Neri's Taco Stand were so tasty!!! Both are a MUST! And a stop in at The Rum, Coffee & Cigar shop on Middle Street to take in a sampling of all they offer is not to be missed!
A couple of nights we hired Eldon's better half, Bonzie, cooked local cuizine for us. She is an amazing cook and we highly recommend her!
We met so many amazing and friendly people. Since we were there in the off-season we really got to experience the true San Pedro. The place is relaxed and the people are genuine.
Casita Buena Vista is off the beaten path and private which made it a quiet and tranquill stay. We had the beach to ourselves. The snorkling right there was sweet with lots to see among the rocks and sea grass. Wolf has really done a beautiful job making a little piece of Heaven in paradise!
Suya Tours, another of Mr Wolf's suggestions, did not disappoint! They gave us a large discount for taking more than one of their tours. We did the cave tubing & zip-lining plus spent half a day swimming with sharks, turtles & rays at Hol Shan Reserve. We highly recommend them!
In short, you would not be disappointed in any way staying at Casita Buena Vista! We had the best time and will be returning as soon as possible!!!!
Thank you, Mr Wolf, Eldon, Marita and especially you, Cookie, for making our time in San Pedro a dream vacation!!!!!!!!!!! We miss you already!!!!!!! God bless you all!!!!!!!!!!
Sincerely,
Jenna, Scott & Aaron Norcom

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

casita buena vista

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

I thought the place was awesome! It was alot bigger than I expected. I would definitely stay there again. The owner was extremely helpful and was accurate on his restaurant recommendations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Memorable times

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

If you are looking for the granite and soaker tub luxury, stay in the casa. The casita has the luxury of wonderful people (Eldon and Marta) and a terrific, gracious host. We stayed here for two weeks and felt like it was home. We biked, swam, soaked up the sun and enjoyed the spacious casita. While we did not have a direct view of the ocean, this is remedied by a walk around the house and full use of the many lounge chairs, swimming, kayak, etc. Our host made us feel like friends and we had a fabulous time. Wolfgang provides many extra services and comments.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Vacation at Casita Buena Vista!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

We couldn't have found a better place to explore San Pedro & Belize for the 1st time. Safe, clean, away from noise but not too far away, the Casita is absolutely Ambergris Caye's best value. Wolfgang & his staff make sure you have everything you need to enjoy every minute of your stay, & miss being there even before you leave. Wolfgang provided an expert town tour, recommendations for dining, groceries, & excursions, & his picks were right on, then he got out of our way so we could enjoy our vacation. His dog Cookie adopted us right away, & I am convinced he was sad to see us leave! This is NOT a luxury resort, so no 5-star dining (that's just down the road), or turn-down service (unless you do it yourself). Suya Tours was a little more expensive, but well worth the small extra cost, as my wife & I had our own personal guide snorkeling, & were in a group of 4 for the Mayan ruins. Favorite restuarants included The Sunset, Carolines Kitchen, & Caramba!, as well as the couple selling BBQ chicken by the side of the road. Maria's produce was always fresh, but try going down to the docks for produce right off the boats as well. Fresh fish is down there too, but get there early or get left out! The meat store has outstanding choriso, breakfast links, bulk sausage, & smoked BACON. The eggs are fresh & tasty, so we made breakfast each morning in the Casita. If you want to buy rum, shop around OUTSIDE of town - all the small grocery stores sell BELIZE rum, & prices were best at La Malinas across from the Hidden Treasure Restaurant. Also, rent the golf cart. The 1st time it rains, you'll be glad you did!

We LOVED it here. We snorkeled right off the sea wall & saw fish, starfish, & morey eels. The sun is hot, & the water inviting. Bring an underwater camera (we found one for under $100) - you will certainly use it. Oh, & forget about long pants, socks, or a suit: you won't need them (but bring a light jacket just in case). Also, Wolfgang provides personal laundry service halfway through the week, so you won't need a suitcase full of clothes either.

I'm rambling, with good reason, as I keep on thinking of other things that made this vacation super special. The reality is that although I enjoy emenities, what I REALLY enjoy is VALUE. This was the BEST VALUE trip I have ever made, & my wife & I are already making plans to go back again (& as I usually wear out a place in the first few days with typically no desire to return, that's sayin' something!).

Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

A comfortable, immaculately clean and spacious casita on La Isla Bonita!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

You will be welcomed to Ambergris Caye by the most kind and gracious host imaginable, and then you're ready to jump into the warm beautiful water right in your backyard. The casita is very spacious, with modest but comfortable furniture, two televisions, and a kitchen furnished with everything you need - including a new coffee maker! The location of the casita is out of the main city, which we loved for the quiet and privacy,however, a warning: no one is knocking on your window except Mr. Woodpecker, so don't get up to answer the door like we did our first night. We would also recommend the boat right to the island, and the small plane back to Belize City. Definitely make Casita Buena Vista your vacation home!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The perfect vacation!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Wolfgang's Casita Buena Vista rental during the first week of May 2011. Wolfgang and his staff, Mirta, Eldon and his awesome dog, Cookie, were the greatest and made our stay here absolutely wonderful. No complaints at all!

Wolfgang, the owner, treated us to a great tour of the town of San Pedro on our golf cart rental (which he arranged for us). The tour of the town was extremely helpful to us. All of his suggestions as far as places to shop, eat, etc., were right on the money.

Eldon, the groundskeeper, was there everyday and always went out of his way to talk to us and make sure we had everything we needed. He was such a cool guy! Mirta was a sweetheart and cleaned our casita twice while we there, even took care of our dirty laundry.

Wolfgang's 2 dogs & 1 cat were also great. His dog, Cookie, should be on the payroll. He had the sense that we were dog lovers and acted like it was his job to check on us, entertain us, and keep us company when we were just hanging out on the beautiful beach. Such a sweetie!

The Casita was very cute and quite accomodating -- exactly like the pictures and description! It was very clean and quite large, with a fully stocked kitchen. The bed was small, but very comfortable. The casita is located right behind the main house and just a few steps to the beach. And the beautiful beach! It had plenty of loungers, a hammock, lots of palm trees where you could always find shade out of the sun. It overlooked the beautiful Caribbean. The colors were just magnificent!

On Wolfgang's recommendation we used Suya Tours for diving and snorkeling and would highly recommend them! It is a 3 minute walk down the beach to their dock. We enjoyed several restaurants in town -- our favorites were Wild Mango and Crazy Crocs (awesome BBQ). Estels by the Beach has a great breakfast! The Hidden Treasure was great (but spray yourself down with Off -- there were mosquitos).

So if you are just looking for a great, quiet, comfortable place to enjoy a relaxing vacation that is away from town, this is the perfect place.

We will definitely be returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

paradise on earth

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We had the time of our lives at Casita Buena Vista. We came in February from
Montana. It was like a wonderful blast of summer in the middle of brutal winter. We enjoyed fun activities every day.
Wolfgang and his staf treat you like you live there.We felt right at home but in paradise.Cant wait to book another vacation. Gina from Montana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

the perfect vacation!

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We arrived with joyful anticipation ... and we were never disappointed! Wolfgang is an impeccable, delightful host who made Casita Buena Vista feel like a home away from home. We were sad to leave, but happy that we booked our next visit before we departed.

Eldon greeted us upon our arrival, and after showing us around the house and property, he pointed us toward Mr. Joe's, where we enjoyed a lunch of fish burgers and a couple of Belikins. Jonathan from Carts Belize brought our golf cart to us at the restaurant -- nice! -- and we met up with Wolfgang after our meal. Wolfgang took us on a two-hour tour of San Pedro town, stopping along the way to point out must-eat restaurants (EVERY tip was on point!). He also took us to pick up necessary provisions: lamb salami at The Butcher, a fresh baguette at The Baker, a case of beer at the distributor, locally roasted coffee and Austrian cheese at Island Buy, and fresh-squeezed pineapple-orange juice and assorted vegetables and fruits at Maria's roadside stand. Wolfgang knows everyone at these sites and introduced us not just as guests but as friends. Each day, he and Eldon (always accompanied by Cookie and Affie, Wolfgang's sweet and silly pups) inquired about our sleep and any needs we had, and encouraged us to enjoy the many island adventures available to us or simply to relax on the beach.

The Casita is located 2.5 miles from town, and we found that the golf cart was well worth the money we spent -- a 10% discount from Carts Belize made an already reasonable deal even better. We could be in the heart of it all in a few short minutes, and we often took advantage of the opportunity to drive into town in order to check out the fresh catch of the day (be there no later than 9 a.m. if you want fresh fish to cook in the finely appointed kitchen at the Casita) or to check out the local restaurants Wolfgang recommended. Once we drove back to the Casita, we felt like we were the only people on the island! We found ourselves in the inviting lounge chairs to read fiction and drink cold Belikins on several afternoons, breaking only to swim in and around the rock wall, take a walk with Cookie, and chat with our new friends, Wolfgang and Eldon.


We've already recommended Casita Buena Vista (and the Casa's two-bedroom/two-bath apartment) to friends and strangers alike, and we cannot wait to return next year. It will be wonderful to reunite with our new friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Jewel of Ambergris Caye

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

What a great place! Ashort golf cart ride from town but far enough away to feel isolated, if that's what you want. Wolfgang takes excellent care of you. Do not miss his tour, it will come in handy while you are their.Wolfgangs recommendations are very reliable. The Casita is all it says here and more. His beach is a great place to lay the hours away on in the Ambergris Caye sun. A kayak is provided to paddle out to the reef for some snorkeling, a real treat. We stayed 8 days and 7 nights and my wife and I can't think of anything but accolades for Casita Buena Vista and Wolfgang. Eldon, (the groundskeeper) is a true San Pedro treasure and is always their to help. This is a great deal without all the hassles of a resort or being close in to town. Carts Belize had our cart waiting on us at the Casita. We have a wonderful vacation to remember thanks to Wolfgang and Casita Buena Vista. We wil be back soon for a longer stay. We may be back in Texas but a day doesn't go by that we don't think about this place. Do not hesitate to book Casita Buena Vista. Well worth it!!!! Have fun and tell Wolfgang and Eldon, Michael and Jann say hello.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Serene Hideaway

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Casita Buena Vista and had an absolutely serene and memorable time. As noted in the earlier review, the owner Wolfgang is an excellent host. He took us around town, San Pedro, to orient us to various dining options and where to supply for groceries. During the week he made himslf available for questions and support but was never in the way.
The Casita is large and comfortable and we enjoyed making some of our meals and dining in. The beach on the property is fabulous and I spent many hours sitting under the palm trees just contemplating the peace and beauty of it all.
You can swim and snorkel right off the beach and all docks in Belize are open to the public during daylight hours so you can go out on the docks of the adjoining properties. Wolfgang also has a nice 2 person sit-on-top kayak we took out to get some exercise.
You are a good ways from town, which is nice for quiet and privacy. However, you'll probably want to rent a golfcart, (approx. $250 US/week), to get back and forth for shopping and dining in town.
I would go back in a heartbeat. The rental was a good value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A+ rating

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

The Casita Buena Vista certainly met all of our expectations and more. Pictures do not do justice to the wonderful beachfront location and the perfect ocean breeze that accompanies it. The location is near enough to San Pedro to be able to take advantage of restaurants, shopping and recreation, but far enough to partake only in R&R if that is your desire. Wolfgang is a wonderful host providing every possible assistance, if needed. I would rate this an A+ and recommend it to anyone interested in a non-resort experience.

9-4-09
Jerry and Liz from Golden, CO

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream vacation at Casita Buena Vista

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Craig Cascio (Sebastopol, Ca. USA)
Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

This is truly a wonderful find in Ambergris Caye!! What you see in the web-site pictures are very accurate, what you don't see is how wonderful the owner (Wolfgang) is. Upon arrival Wolfgang was very helpful in getting us moved in. He then took us out to the local store where we picked up some provisions for the morning (coffee). The next morning we were given the grand tour of San Pedro, complete with where to get groceries, exchange US dollars for the best rate, fresh fruit and juices, and pointed out the many restaurants along the way.
Wolfgang also set up our golf cart rental, so once the tour was complete, he then took us to pick up our new mode of transportation. (YaHoo)!!
The property is well maintained outside, and well appointed inside. A great outside shower with hot & cold water for when you get back from snorkeling in the waters right outside your door! There are two docks on each side of the property that you can be picked up for tour adventures, or water taxis. This property lacks for nothing, Wolfgang is always around if you have questions.
He even found me a dentist at 7:00 pm one night. This property/Casita Buena Vista is very safe and one my wife and I will recommend often!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise found

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Paradise found, March 6, 2010
By Richard Gardineer (Rotterdam, New York)

We are just 24 hours home and are already planning our next stay. 2 weeks of the best relaxation we have ever taken. As others have stated if you are looking for a high end busy resort type stay, this is not for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet with a fantastic view and a gracious host and staff, THIS PLACE CANNOT BE BEAT! This was our first time to Belize and not sure of anything as far as travel or transportation or tours. Wolfgang made all the proper arrangements and we were not disappointed. His staff (Eldone & Merta) were kind and professional, taking care of any need we had. The Casita was VERY spacious and lacked nothing. Ambergris Caye is paradise and Casita Beuna Vista is a big part of it. Wolf, Thanks again for a wonderful stay and send along our thoughts too Affie and Cookie. Warmest Regards; Richard & Leslee

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Quiet Paradise

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

This is truly a wonderful find in Ambergris Caye!! What you see in the web-site pictures are very accurate, what you don't see is how wonderful the owner (Wolfgang) is. Upon arrival Wolfgang was very helpful in getting us moved in. He then took us out to the local store where we picked up some provisions for the morning (coffee). The next morning we were given the grand tour of San Pedro, complete with where to get groceries, exchange US dollars for the best rate, fresh fruit and juices, and pointed out the many restaurants along the way.
Wolfgang also set up our golf cart rental, so once the tour was complete, he then took us to pick up our new mode of transportation. (YaHoo)!!
The property is well maintained outside, and well appointed inside. A great outside shower with hot & cold water for when you get back from snorkeling in the waters right outside your door! There are two docks on each side of the property that you can be picked up for tour adventures, or water taxis. This property lacks for nothing, Wolfgang is always around if you have questions.
He even found me a dentist at 7:00 pm one night. This property is very safe and one my wife and I will recommend often!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful week stay at Casita Buena Vista on Ambergris Caye. What a wonderful introduction to Belize for us. We especially enjoyed the newly enlarged Casita and the beautiful scenery form our own beach. We loved being able to just walk 3 properties over to Suya Tours to go on wonderful snorkel trips with Carlos. We loved paddling out to the reef in our own kayak to snorkel and spear fish and hunt for lobster. Fishing off the dock for our dinner was also relaxing and enjoyable. We enjoyed meeting Wolfgang and talking with Nelson about his life growing up in Belize. Everyone we met was very friendly. We will cherish the memories and if we are able to return to Belize we would definitely return to Casita Buena Vista.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Casa Buena Vista surpassed all my expectations! Snorkeling right from your own private beach, peace, relaxation and excellent hosts! Nelson we love you and hope you have a great trip to California! Anyone staying here will not be disappointed! Wolfgang thanks for being the best host ever! We will look forward to seeing you next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review