reviews for: listing #48156 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Charming Cottage at Condo Rates with Private Hot Tub!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $350 /nt
    $900 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay.

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Great place to stay. My wife and I enjoyed 5 days here over the summer. The deck and hot tub were where we spent most of our time. It's at the top of the road so we liked to walk our dog in the morning and evenings and the views were great. Dawn also waived the pet fee since we booked short notice. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, it rained a good bit so we spent more time than anticipated at the house and it was great. The perfect size for me and my wife. Everything worked well and the view from the deck and hot tub is awesome. We will be back...

Owners response: So sorry you got the rainy period....glad you had a nice time anyhow. We would love to have you back again and will try to make sure it's sunny :-)

dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything I as hoping for!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

This was the perfect cottage for our vacation. I looked at the pictures so many times before we arrived and was thrilled to find the cottage to be everything I expected. The views were beautiful and the accommodation provided everything we needed. We ate our evening meals at home every night, taking advantage of the fabulously well-equipped kitchen, the gas grill, the fire bowl, the hot tub and the wrap-around deck with a killer view of the stars. Very peaceful and yet only a short drive to Breck and all Summit County has to offer. Thank you for sharing your little slice of heaven!

Owners response: You are soooo welcome! Thanks for sharing your experience :-)

dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend cottage!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

This cottage was a perfect place for the two of us to spend a short vacation in the mountains. The views were amazing! The home was cozy and inviting and clean. The owner was very responsive and accommodating to our rental request, even with very short notice. We absolutely love the town of Breckenridge and would highly recommend this rental home if you are planning a visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Hi Dawn,
Thank you for sharing your cabin!! As I said before we all grew up in the mountains (red feather lakes) and since we have grown up we all live in town now. This was a wonderful reminder of that life although we felt spoiled here because we never had cable and internet!!! My husband is not an outdoors person as I am so this was perfect for him. We had a relaxing time and my 2 and 4 year old really enjoyed sledding and your driveway and hills were perfect for it!! I have snowboarded in breckenridge before as a kid but this time we just shopped a little in town and that was fun too!! I just wanted to share our experience and say thank you.

Cory

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We so enjoyed Breckenridge...

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Your home is very comfortable and homey and well designed. We appreciate all the extras you supplied.

We can see the care you have taken in decorating and took very good care of it.

We loved the fire pit and the hot tub!

(Written in the guest book at La Barranca)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Trip of "1sts"!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay much and the trip was filled with firsts for the youngest in our group-Jake, 3, saw his first deer, first rodeo, went on his first trail ride and first fishing experience!

The house has been perfect and had everything we needed just at our fingertips. We are already talking about the NEXT time we will come to stay!

(Written in guest book at La Barranca)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time in Breckenridge!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us! The hot tub was perfect for relaxing in after a day of hiking or just looking at the stars. The views from the deck are amazing! We look forward to returning!

(Written in guest book at La Barranca)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SGT

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We enjoyed your Cabin very much. It has everything we could possible want and was very comfortable!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming cottage with brand new kitchen - it was perfect location, fun hot tub, well manitained

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

You can tell that the owners take alot of care of this home. Everything looks like what you would have in your own private home - not a rental. Its well laid out, very comfortable, and looks like the kitchen is brand new. We were surprised that there was still snow along the outside (were there in early June) but every day it melted a little more, so that we could see the adorable garden as you walk in. The master had a king bed, which was great, and we loved eating out on the deck every night. It was easy to make a fire in the fire-pit on the deck so we enjoyed looking at the stars every night.
We would highly recommend this cottage to 4 friends, 2 couples or family of 4.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderfully secluded cottage with amazing views!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

This home is the quintessential mountain cottage!! The newly remodeled kitchen and bathroom are fabulous, the fireplaces keep the rooms toasty at night, and the wrap-around porch lets visitors see the amazing views from all angles (our favorite spot to perch was in the warmth of the JACUZZI hot tub!). My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and we were met with a bottle of champagne from the owner in celebration! In addition, with all of the wedding planning, I made a slight error when booking, but the owner was an absolute dream to work with and everything ended up great!

We hope to make this a yearly escape and I would highly recommend this home to anyone in search of a quiet, romantic home, nestled in the beautiful mountains of Colorado!

Owners response: We are soooo glad you enjoyed the house! I just left there and saw your sweet note in the guest book. We would love to have you both back anytime :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Getaway with Friends

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Cute, cozy and comfortable! This cabin is beautifully decorated and fully stocked with everything you need for an amazing winter getaway. We are from Chicago and met friends from Kansas City there for a weekend of fun in the snow and it completely exceeded our expectations! It was so nice to escape the bustling town and ski resorts each evening to a wonderful cabin in the woods. We are already talking about our next trip!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We booked the cabin last minute with out any hassle and had a wonderful experience from the owners. The cabin was perfect for four people. We will deffinitely be returning to this cabin again in the future.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you had a great time and that you got some SNOW! dawn and terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymoon

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a week here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The cottage is cozy and well furnished. The location is quiet and feels very secluded even though there are several homes in the area. It's a very short drive into Breckenridge for entertainment and dining. There is a lot of great hiking in the area during summer including Quandary Peak just down the road if you're up to hiking a 14er. You can't beat the view from the deck including the jacuzzi. We can't wait to come back for another amazing visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Experience, which is what we needed

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the cottage. We love Breckenridge and were married there a few years ago. We just live down in Denver, but love to get away. Everything was cozy and the weather was beautiful. It had snowed the night before our arrival so when we go to the cottage, every view out a window was of sparkling white untouched snow. We visited Breck quite a bit and also went on a hike. We had our two pups with us, and they spent most of their time either running around in the snow or by the fire in the kitchen. We had a wonderful time and would recommend the cottage to anyone. Dawn was very helpful and was always available by phone or email to help with any questions I had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home in the woods

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

My wife, daughter(18 months) and I stayed here early fall and what a great place. The house is so inviting and nestled beautifully within the pine trees across from the North star. My wife and I travel and stay in cabins quite a bit and this one had great amenities. Nice shower, comfortable beds, wonderful outdoor hot tub and a cozy living room with a nice TV. The only negative(and this is minor) is you can tell they have done a great job updating the kitchen but the stove is really old and the electric burners took quite a while to heat up. Also, perhaps updating the BBQ to a gas grill would be nice rather than a charcoal. Overall this place is in a great location, far enough from town to feel secluded but close enough that a simple drive will get you to civilization(Breck). We had two great nights sitting in the hot tub and going for walks. Highly recommended if you are looking for a romantic getaway or just a weekend away from the grind. We will be back. Thanks Dawn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Gary and Family! Good news...we are installing a new natural gas (no propane tanks) grill this November. It will be a bit longer on the range. I have my sights set on a Wolf :-) Although old, we did put quite a bit of mainenance into our electric range. Funny enough, it was top-of-the-line when it was new. Could be the altitude that you experienced with the slow heating as we don't have any trouble with the elements heating up quickly. Food just cooks slower here. Either way, we appreciate the great review and hopefully will have that gas range installed by your next visit! dawn and terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely cottage nested in the pines!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this quite, lovely haven nestled in the pines. The cottage was clean and well-equipped.

The deck was my favorite place to enjoy morning tea and watch the sun come up on Quandary Peak. My dog also enjoyed long naps on the deck in the cool mountain air.

The cottage is a very peaceful getaway, and I hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed the cottage. The deck and views are wonderful. We would love to have you back sometime!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

What a great place to stay! My family and I were impressed by the cleanliness and coziness of La Barranca. We especially enjoyed the sound of a small stream from the back patio - what a great surprise! The owners are very helpful and responsive. We enjoyed the porch, did some hiking and took the drive to the top of Hoosier pass - beautiful. It is only a short drive to Breck to enjoy a meal on the town and do some shopping.

Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Cottage

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Darling house, georgeous view. Everything you could want.. I was so disappointed when we had to leave early because of Altitude sickness....I am afraid that we won't be able to go back because of that, but I would go in a New York Minute otherwise...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romance Abounds

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This was a very SPECIAL weekend to spend time away together as a couple, for the first time, with my long-distant girlfriend. Thanks in part to the very romantic and beautiful setting, we fell in love at your cabin! We hope to return each May as an anniversary celebration!

Your home couldn't have been more perfect, lovely, cozy, charming, comfortable, and clean. The views were inspiring and breathtaking. We enjoyed the fresh morning air on the deck, accompanied by the sounds of the babbling brook and birds chirping. After hiking a trail, which started basically right across the street, up past the old mining place and above the tree line, we returned to soak in the wonderful hottub on the deck. In the evenings, we cozied around the deck's fire pit, while pointing out
constellations among the abundance of visible stars above us in the sky. The fireplaces inside added to the romantic atmosphere at night. The music piped throughout on your quality speakers made the the mood all the more wonderful.

Thank you so very much for sharing your mountain home with us. La Barranca has now played a special role in our lives -- in bringing our hearts together on such a romantic vacation. We are in our late 40s, and now have a second chance at love. We hope to return every year (at least!) to relive the joy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I get chill bumps everytime I read this. I'm sitting here now looking at the mountains thru the clear mountain air wishing my guy were with me. I was granted a wish with a shooting star last night while sitting on the deck thinking of him and all the fabulous times we have here. We are so happy you had such a beautiful trip and are looking forward to many return visits :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect work/play getaway!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

My husband and I run our own business so we cannot both be gone for any length of time. Last fall we packed up our desktop computers and the dog and spent a wonderful week at the cottage. We would work until around 1:00 and then go into town for lunch. Evenings were wine and dinners on the deck by the firepit.. The place is immaculate and we appreciated the stockpile of firewood.
We just made arrangements to go back for our anniversary. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are really looking forward to having you back! Thanks for the very nice comments on our favorite getaway we love to share...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home!!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

My family (2 adults and 3 children) recently stayed 4 nights in this home and we had a wonderful time! The owner, Dawn, was very helpful in making the entire process easy because of her communication and availability for questions. The pictures don't do this property justice as it is actually much nicer and spacious enough to comfortably accommodate the 5 of us. It's obvious the owners care about renters' experience. We also really enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of skiing. The area is very quiet and views from the patio are worth it! We would return to this property. Thanks Dawn

Owners response: So glad all of you had fun! dawn and terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing condo with a great rate!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We stayed here in early January for our ski trip this year and had a wonderful time. The condo was further out from the resorts than we are used to but the drive was only about 10minutes to Breck which was is big deal. The condo itself was very well kept, stocked with all the amenities you could need. The sound system was great, which is wired in to the living room, kitchen, and the deck, allowing us to listen to music on our mp3 players via the provided aux cable while sitting in the hot tub. The kitchen is also well stocked with the tools needed to cook in. We cooked in half of the nights we stayed there and never felt we were missing anything we have at home, we even had access to a crock pot which we used to make chili. Very quiet area with amazing views out the living room windows or from the deck. There was plenty of space to relax without feeling cramped, we had four adults in our party and never felt we were on top of each other as you may in a condo closer to the mountain. The most important thing to us is usually a tidy bathroom, no one wants to have a bathroom with mold and mildew growing in this shower and this condo was immaculate. All around it is a very well kept property. We would definitely recommend this property and if we decide to head back to CO next year we will probably check the availability here again since it was such a pleasure staying!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

winter wonderland!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Beautifully appointed home just minutes away from all the action!! Best anniversary ever,thank you. Everything was taken care of.. all we need bring was our toothbrushes. Gourmet kitchen, lovely views from the hottub..!mazing, we will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you had fun and enjoyed your romantic get-away!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our cottage getaway...

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the cozy cottage hidden away in the woods. the cottage was wonderul!! it had all we needed for our Thanksgiving dinner especially a cozy kitchen fireplace and beautiful snow and scenery all around us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our cottage getaway...

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the cozy cottage hidden away in the woods. the cottage was wonderul!! it had all we needed for our Thanksgiving dinner especially a cozy kitchen fireplace and beautiful snow and scenery all around us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

My husband and I and our dog wanted a quick get away from Colorado Springs. The home was cozy and had all the amenities we would want. Loved the views and the hot tub. The weather was perfect for sitting out on the deck and grilling in the evening. The drive into Breckenridge was easy. We definitely plan to return during the ski season !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer get away to paradise!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

This house offered everything we needed for a girls weekend getaway. It was remote and beautiful yet easy to access both amazing hiking trails and downtown Breckenridge. Although Breckenridge offered many tempting restaurants we preferred to spend our evenings cooking at the house and enjoying wine on the wrap around deck and hot tub. The kitchen was well equipped. House amenities included an ipod plug in with outdoor speakers and wireless internet that kept up with three computers uploading photos all weekend. We’d come back in a second!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Colorado is my new Favourite State!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

My friends and I took a trip to this beautiful cottage in Breckenridge in July 2011. It was my first trip to this beautiful state and I am hooked. But the trip wouldn't have been close to being as fantastic without our stay at La Barranca.

To start with, the house is on a whole bunch of land, which I persistently explored in search of moose or elk or bears. The views of Quandry mountain from the house, deck and hot tub are gorgeous, and one late night in the hot tub, we saw a shooting star.

The accommodations are really cosy while also being functional and spacious. The decor was perfect - it's not your run-of-the-mill log cabin like so many in the area. It has its own unique personality that draws you in. Inside, the house is warm and welcoming and the views are ace.

We did 2 fantastic hikes - both were a short drive from the house and just amazing. I can't believe how beautiful this state is and how much there was to do just in Breckenridge and the small towns close by. I can't wait to bring my husband next time and do it again really soon.

Thanks Dawn!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place, feels like home

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I can't say enough about this beautiful place. The wrap around deck is reason enough to rent it. We sat out there everyday on our recent visit to Breckenridge, from the deck you have a beautiful view of Mt. Quandry. There is able room with wonderful Adirondack chairs to relax & enjoy the view. There's also a wonderful hot tub that is easy to get into & out of so you can soak your sore muscles from all the hiking & biking you do while in Breckenridge.

The house is only about 8 miles from town so it's an easy drive to enjoy everything Breckenridge & Summit count has to offer.

The house itself is warm & cozy with a large kitchen & dining room & a wonderful "family room" with everything you need for comfort & entertainment.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful place.

Hugs,

Bill & Heidi

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

No work, only play! What is not to love? We love this mountain home. It is so cozy and as comfortable as home. Just as great the second time around. Loved the upgrades. Snowed the first four days for great skiing! Thank you for sharing your house with us.

The McIntyre's

Written in guest book at La Barranca by repeat guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

I had an absolutely great stay this past week! Close enough to Breck if you want to go into town and ski/snowboard, but far enough away for some peace and tranquility! Everything was as promised and I would love to come back again someday! Thank you so much Dawn and Terry for a great home away from home! Truly fabulous :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you had a nice time! We've had a great winter his year. Summer is fantastic too. Come back any time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Thanks Dawn. It is so beautiful out there! We really enjoyed staying at the cabin vs a ski in / ski out. It's so much more peaceful and such a nice way to vacation. I've never been in the summer but would love to go to hike, bike and raft. We'll definitely let you know. Thanks again, we really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Cottage!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

I loved the cottage!
Clean, well equiped with everything we needed.
Cozy perfect place to get away and relax and yet close to the Main Street in Breckenridge.
Can't wait to come back!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Our stay at La Barranca was exceptional. The cottage was exactly as descibed; clean, comfortable, and cozy. It is in a great location outside of town but close enough to get anywhere you want with a short drive. I would recommend this property to my friends for the location, amenities, and value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Stay

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

We had a great time at this wonderful Cabin in the woods. It is the perfect distance from Breckenridge yet it is near the end of the road so it is fairly quite. The snow was amazing and the home was clean and well apportioned. We hope to make a trip during the summer time so we can enjoy the outdoors more. The short drive from Breckenridge to the Cabin is easy to make even in bad weather and is very beautiful in good weather.

Perfect place for a small family to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

bad luck thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

i would recommend this cottage to anyone. in the winter maybe a 4 wheel drive would work best. we used chains on our old pick up...and that was ok...altho we still felt like we were sliding around after the turn in off the hwy. and in the driveway. the owners are so nice. i had a family member die right before our trip and was able to adjust our reservations with no penalty. we rented this mountain cottage because we love to be with our "family" our dogs. during the first 20 minutes our 10 yr old dog ran up the driveway, winced....and our life hasn't been the same since. it was poor luck. increadibly he blew out his ACL. surgery fell into play when we got back to boulder. but the vets at breckenridge animal hospital are outstanding.
the slopes were great. not too crowded. lots of snow. and L...O....V....E... the hot tub. ( the tv beside the gas fireplace doesn't suck either)
we had thanksgiving dinner with a fire beside the kitchen table...which was pretty sweet...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well at least you had a great time at the house! Hope the pooch is better and we see you again sometime...

dawn and terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breckendridge

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

It is a wonderful cabin. Very cozy. The kitchen had everything to make nice meals.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

(Written in La Barranca Guest Book) Thank you so much for letting us stay at your cozy cabin. We had a great time! We went hiking, went to plenty of restaurants, went horseback riding and to the Country Boy Gold Mine. Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

(Written in Guest Book at La Barranca)

I can't beleive we are leaving tomorow. 10 days is not enough. We want to stay another week but we need to go back to hot weather in Chicago. We LOVE this home! After walking, shopping, siteseeing, we felt like we are blessed having such a secluded place. We love the the large HD TV, the fireplaces, the hot tub and the movie (library). Jim had a bit of trouble with the altitude but was able to handle it. Thank you and Dowidzenia-it's Polish for for "goodbye".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a truly charming cottage in the forest

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

We were looking for a getaway from the Calif desert heat -- we found this cottage to be everything that we had anticipated. Beautiful views, warm and cozy. The large deck and hot tub afforded many evenings of quiet star gazzing. A short drive to Breck for shopping and people watching.
The golden aspens were more beautiful every day we were here

We also enjoyed the proximity to Vail, Beaver Creek, Hoosier Pass and so many great drives in the beautiful forests

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic honeymoon getaway!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at La Barranca! It had everything we wanted. The house is beautifully clean, cozy, and charming. The views of Lincoln, Quandary, and the eastern ridge of Northstar are breathtaking. Because we are avid hikers, we really loved the easy access the cabin has to a large number of very accessible high-peak trailheads. And Breck' is only 10 minutes drive. Overall a wonderful experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Charming, Quiet and Comfortable Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This was a delightful place to stay, most of all because of its peacefulness. It had all the comforts of home and then some, including a wonderful hot tub on the deck, and for those who need to watch movies in the midst of the glorious mountains, a fabulous large screen TV in the living room. As promised, a small stream trickles right past the house!! The fact that pets are allowed (though they are careful to insist on the things that prevent that from ruining it for everyone else) is a big bonus for me. I loved staying here, and hope to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled you enjoyed the house and hope to have you and your pooch back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stayed over Memorial Weekend 2010

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My husband and I and our two dogs stayed at this home. It is very charming and had everything we needed to have a great weekend. We enjoyed the indoor fireplace and the outdoor fire pit. The hot tub on the huge deck is great! We really felt at home and would definitely stay again. One other note, this home is nestled in the pine trees and is very secluded - great for sitting on the deck with a cocktail and enjoying the scenery.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice little place...

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

The guest asked us to post as he had lost his login and didn't want to sign up again so here it is.

Very nice little place...not too far from town and nestled in a pine forest. The hot tub was wonderful! My wife had never seen snow before, and this place was perfect for her first experience. The 2 fireplaces + baseboard heat kept the house warm and cozy, and the hot tub was 6 steps from the door. She enjoyed sitting beside the fireplace and gazing out at the wonderful views of the mountains, trees and the wildlife that visited. Fox, magpie, crow and squirrels all came to see who was at the cabin and what they might have dropped. She got to experience sitting in the hot tub while it snowed, and enjoyed it immensely. Being from a tropical climate, I was surprised at how well she adapted to the cold...and chalk it up to the house being so cozy.

I feared that allowing pets would create a problem with allergies, but that was not the case. The place is well maintained and clean, if a bit dated.

The owner was very accommodating and a joy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just What We Wanted

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Dawn - Thanks for extending your home to us! The cabin was exactly what we were hoping for! It snowed two of the four days that we were in Breck and we greatly enjoyed sitting in the hot tub with the snow falling through the pine trees. The skiing was great and your cabin was extremely easy to access from Breckenridge. I will be recommending your place to family and friends. We hope to be returning very soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just What We Wanted

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Dawn - Thanks for extending your home to us! The cabin was exactly what we were hoping for! It snowed two of the four days that we were in Breck and we greatly enjoyed sitting in the hot tub with the snow falling through the pine trees. The skiing was great and your cabin was extremely easy to access from Breckenridge. I will be recommending your place to family and friends. We hope to be returning very soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a perfect vacation!

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

This location was so perfect for my families needs. It is out of town, in the mojntains, peaceful, serene with beautiful views. This house is warm, cozy and charming and we loved everything about it. The snow was fabulous, the skiing was fabulous, the accommodations were also fabulous. This mountain cabin is just far enough out of town that you feel like you're in a mountain get-away but close enough to town to be skiing in 15 - 20 minutes. We loved it and would book this great place again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come again anytime...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Dawn- I wanted to say thank you so much for letting us stay in your cabin. The place was exactly what I had pictured when I was putting this trip together. The view, the location, the amenities, etc.- all were perfect. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our first valentine's day as a married couple! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

We are now back in El Paso after a super holiday at the cottage in Breckenridge. The snow was perfect and we could not have been in a more delightful and comfortable location.
In addition, the cottage provided us with a perfect base and offered excellent amenities. Our thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Dawn,

The house was wonderful. The hot tub was amazing. We loved sitting on the deck, listening to music and watching the fire burn. We got to watch some movies and play monopoly. This house made us feel at home. Thanks so much for all your help with this.

Cheers,

The Losada Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

With the modern conveniences of Wi-Fi and HDTV, La Barranca was like a home away from home. Combine that with the peaceful sound of a babbling brook next to the bedroom window and it was actually better than home. From hiking and fishing by Mt Quandary and Mt Lincoln, to enjoying the fire on the deck, we couldn’t have asked for a better time. Thanks for making this such an enjoyable place - we plan to visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

What a great place to stay, whether you are skiing or hiking 14ers, this is the perfect place. I felt like we were camping in the woods with all the commodities of home. A beautiful home away from home. Climbed 4 14ers while we were here and also did some shopping in Breckinridge. I cannot wait to come back and visit again. Thank you dawn for letting us stay in your home.
Jarrod

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

We had a wonderful time and your home was so beautiful. I wanted to see snow and sure got to see a lot. We got there a day early so stayed in the Ski Lodge down the road. It snowed so hard the first day we could hardly see. Of course being from East Texas it was amazing to us.

Thank you for allowing us to stay, the view was breath taking from the deck and we loved the water flowing behind the house. Couldn't have ask for any more.

Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 2, 2009

Hi Dawn, we had a wonderful time despite the bad weather. Your home was just perfect. The setting was spectacular and we would be interested in staying there again, perhaps as soon as Labor Day if it is available. Thank you so much.



Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This house was just perfect. We really loved the location up in the mountains and found the home very cozy and accomodating to all of our needs. Our labrador loved playing in the snow everyday and then cuddling up by the fire in the evenings. I cannot wait to stay in the home again next year!!
Thanks for everything...we had such a lovely stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

It was great, we loved it. Everything was well done. Good Job!
----- Original Message -----
From: Dawn Landau
To: 'JP McIntyre'
Sent: Monday, July 28, 2008 6:29 AM
Subject: RE: HomeAway inquiry about Breckenridge 174401 from Jim McIntyre


Hi Tammy and Jim,

How was your stay in Breckenridge?

dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We loved the cabin! The view is spectacular. We enjoyed listening to the stream and couldn't wait to walk down and explore around it. We had a great time in Breckenridge and the surrounding area. Our day spent fly fishing with a guide from Breckenridge Outfitters was a blast. I know that we would like to come back someday and stay in your place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views and tons to do

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 9, 2008

My wife, son and I stayed here in July and had a wonderful time. Great location, close enough to Breckenridge, but far enough away that we felt like we were secluded. The house has a nice cozy and clean feel. Amazing views from the deck.

Tons of things to do in the summer in Breckenridge, especially with a young child. Wonderful hikes nearby, explored Alma, and South Park area, rented a bike and rode to copper mountain and back.

My son especially loved going out to the stream and playing with rocks.

We would recommend this to friends and would love to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

Dawn,
We had a great time! Your home was perfect for our stay. We were quite impressed with Breckenridge. This was the first time we'd spend much time there, and we found it to be charming. We had 2 great dinners at Relish--terrific food and service, and outstanding outdoor dining. Everyone was friendly, low key, and cheerful--exactly what a mountain town should be.
Thought you might like to see the smiles the mountains bring to our dogs' faces. We hiked each day, and the dogs found a place to swim on nearly every hike. That's heaven in a Golden's world.
Your plants were all doing well. I watered them a couple of times because we didn't get any significant rain during our stay. Weather was great--mid to low 70's and sunshine.
Thanks again for sharing your home and especially for letting us enjoy the mountains with our dogs.
Jacki

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We can't say enough nice things about the house. It was just my husband and I and our moms, so it was the perfect size, great location and amazing scenery! We got a cute little tree from the local boy scouts group, and just had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Both our parents are from East Tennessee, so they were very happy to be surrounded by such great views for an entire week.

We look forward to coming back in the spring so we can enjoy the grounds a lot more!

Thanks again, and we hope you have a happy new year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Dawn - Everything with the house was great! It is very easy to get to even with a lot of snow, they sure keep those roads cleared better than Denver. The wrap around porch is probably great in the summer. Having wi-fi was a nice added bonus too. Thanks again for everything and hopefully we can stay there again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Dawn,

We wanted to let you know how enjoyable it was to stay at your home. Like those before we too were captivated by the views. The multiple floor to ceiling windows allow for a complete view of the mountains and area from almost anywhere in the home. Nothing beats sitting on the couch, hearing the crackle of a fire while getting lost in the snow capped mountains. The location is amazing, far enough from town to feel out of the way, yet close enough that a quick car ride can put you in the center of main street.

It is the best of both worlds...something for everyone. T.V., internet, books, naps, cooking, and any outdoor activity you can imagine. We took advantage of them all.

Thanks again for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 3, 2007   Date of arrival: October 3, 2007

Hi Dawn,

We had a great time. Did some great fishing in the Middle fork of the South Platte and saw som e snow on Saturday. We really enjoyed the house, especially the fireplaces, and look forward to renting it again.

Thanks again,
Stephen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This is a warm, comfortable home in a very private setting next to a stream with beautiful views of the mountains. The location is in a quiet area yet very convenient to Breckenridge. We will definitely try to book it again our next trip out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We could not have asked for more with this cottage. It's about five to seven miles south of Breck, and a perfect location for a very peaceful, relaxing vacation. Everything was wonderful and if we can find the time next year, we'll probably come right back to this cottage. It was simply that good!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2007   Date of arrival: August 23, 2007

Hi, Dawn!
Your quaint, wonderful cabin was perfect for a get-away. We definetly needed it. I wrote some things in the journals you provided. Thanks again. What a great place to have! Good job on the decorating :) Hopefully, we will be able to come back soon.
Fondly,
Tara & Jeremy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

What a wonderful mountain getaway! We loved
listening to the stream outside our bedroom window
and the views were amazing! We would definitely stay
here again. Close to town but private and quiet! The
outdoor firepit added a nice wind-down to our days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2007   Date of arrival: July 24, 2007

Hi Dawn,

Just got back into town and we had a fantastic time at the house! Everyone commented on how great it was and how spectacular the view was surrounding the house.
You guys have a fantastic place and I'm sure you must greatly enjoy it.

Thanks for following up -- and we might just follow up on our own sometime and rent it again.

Best,

John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2007   Date of arrival: July 5, 2007

Hi Steve and Jennie, We hope you had a wonderful anniversary and enjoyed the house. Please let us know how you liked it and if there is any additional info we should include in our Guest Notes for future visitors. Hope the pooches had fun as well! Dawn and TerryIt was WONDERFUL! And you were SO SWEET to leave the bottle of champagne for us!!! Thank you! We wanted to get you a “guest book” so we could write in it what nice hosts you were, but we never got around to it. We and the dogs most enjoyed the visit. The location of your house with that river running thru the woods and the large porch were fabulous. Thank you very much and best of luck to you with future rentals!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review