reviews for: listing #48408 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

My Home In New Orleans
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gentilly Terrace
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,925 - $2,625 /wk

sort by:

Great choice

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We were all 7 of us very pleased with the home. My 94 year old Mom could do the few stairs to the master suite on the lower level. We cooked every day and the kitchen was great to work in and very well implemented. Spices and all condiments were greatly appreciated. Location was just 3 miles staring line to down town. Plantations were fabulous. The WW2 Museum was a don't miss! French Quarter was beautiful fun and exciting. Loved the spotted Cat Jazz. Nola's was fantastic for dinner! Did some gator bites too. SWAMP TOUR AND AIR BOAT RIDES. WE TRULY HAD A WONDERFUL WEEK AND LOVED THE HOUSE. The grocery store right down the street was convenient and quaint. Cafe du Monde Bignets' were wonderful too. Oh I am
Lost forgot our Ghost and Vampire tour. And a bus tour of the City. Both great. Enjoy your stay.. We rented a van and came from California and Oregon for a girl family time. Airport was 20 minuites away. Easy commute to everything we did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

This house had everything we needed and more. It was quiet and relaxing yet a short drive to all the action. I highly recommend staying here

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sugarbowl Boomer Sooner!!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

The pictures and description on this property were accurate. Great location to everything we wanted to do. Property was clean and well equipped. Feels like your staying in a 4 star hotel with the comforts of home. The owners were easy to work with and left great suggestions for where to eat and what to see. We will definitely keep this as an option for our family's next visit to New Orleans and recommend this to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

This was my first VRBO experience, and I found it to be delightful. Judy, the owner, thought of absolutely everything. I was wondering if I'd have to pack soap, kleenex, towels, coffee filters, etc, but it was all provided. The beds and pillows were super comfy. The home is spacious and nicely decorated. The free internet was speedy. Information on local attractions and restaurants was provided. All-in-all a great introduction to the world of VRBOs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Travelers

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Excellent accomodations, good amenities, great amount of space for a large group and a great location. The house was well stocked with the essentials needed for a vacation away from home. The kitchen has anything you could want to make a meal. 2 bathrooms were helpful with a group of 9 so there was no fighting over the shower. The location was convient for everything we did while in NOLA. I would stay at this place again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

A group of six female cousins stayed here for our yearly getaway. This place was amazing. It was totally updated and had everything we could possibly have needed. There were plenty of beds, extra hair dryers in the bathrooms and bedrooms, tons of towels, washcloths, etc. The kitchen is outfitted with everything you could need. Unfortunately we did not use it except for coffee and snacks--there was too much we wanted to see and do so we were gone all day, every day. The neighborhood is very quiet and felt safe. Be warned--there is a traffic camera at Franklin and Wisteria, along with a TWO HOUR school zone in the evening. It got me at 4:39pm :( Other than that it was a wonderful stay and we would not hesitate to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

40th B-day party

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

This house was in a great location and the neighborhood was quiet with friendly neighbors who came over to introduce themselves. Upon arrival the yard was neatly groomed and the house was so clean with all the amenities we needed. If there was anything that we had forgotten it was definitely already there. Judy had everything covered. It was not a bad drive to downtown from this location. I will most definitely rent here again when we have to come back to New Orleans as a group. We really appreciate the kindness shown by Judy and the neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Owners response: We strive to make your stay comfortable and welcoming! We are downtown; the drive to The French Quarter is four miles from the house.
Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Trip

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

We had the best time in NOLA and this fab house. It was perfect for 8 of us with room to spare. Lots of personal touches and only a few minutes from the square. We loved it!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

PERFECT Girls Weekend

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

This home was the perfect place for our party of 8 Sister/Daughter weekend. Lot's of space for all. We loved the home which was even lovelier than the pics. I loved that we were only 10 minutes from all that New Orleans has to offer and that it was a very quiet area. We felt very safe and at home. I will book here again if I have the chance. Highly recommend if you want to be a little bit off the path of the constant crowds of the square.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect location for family vacation

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

COmfortable house with full furniture and instructions from owners.
Location is close to many popular sightseeings must-to-see in New Orleans (French Quarter, Cathedral, Cajun Swamp, Bourbon street, ....)
Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Hurricane Isaac

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

My Home in New Orleans was Great. We had the opportunity to visit during the threat of Hurricane Isaac for my Son's wedding. We were determined to stay. The house was Beautiful and accomodating. If there was something that was needed , Judy had already thought of it. The house was located close to all of the attractions, however if you wanted to "hang out" and enjoy family and friends the house and yard was great. During the Hurricane the neighbors were awesome as well as Judy being caring to our needs. When we visit again, this is definately where we will stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

The 5 of us spent a week at this beautiful house and explored New Orleans. The house was in great condition in a safe, friendly area. Great air conditioning. Lots of room. 3 bicycles for the kids. A large kitchen. Very well kept up. I highly recommend this property.
Tim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dricka's B-Day Getaway (Austin, Texas)

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Oh My God this house was wonderful. I really enjoyed the stay when we arrived there February 9, 2012 it was just 4 of us and we were running around like children in a new home picking out our bedroom. It was very nice I will tell anyone that are looking for a vacation spot to choose My Home In New Orleans because the owners are amazing people I will tell everyone to stay here. I love you Judy thank you for letting us stay in your fabulous home and you will hear from me again when I come back to stay in New Orleans. Had a marvelous time...

The Austin, Texas Ladies Dricka, Kim, Raquel and Juanita thank you....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!!!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This property was very clean and in a nice neighborhood. It had ALL the comforts of home. Ex: Toiletries, cookware, condiments, washer & dryer, charcoal and gas grill, a nice radio, two tv's in the living room, home security alarm, and much more.This was our first time staying in a vacation home and this property made the experience wonderful.
Mrs. Judy made the the rental process very easy, and she has great customer service.She made us really feel at home and answered every question we had swiftly.
Every visit I take to New Orleans from now on, I will be staying at this property, YES it's that nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful little home!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

The house was honestly more than I expected! Beautiful, clean, and very well equipped. I rent homes for a few vacations a year, in different places, and this is the nicest one I've ever stayed in! The neighborhood is friendly, and the beds are comfortable. The house is conveniently located, not too far/not too close to all the fun New Orleans has to offer. The best part was finding out they have a friendly yard hen in the back yard. I called her Sweety. Thanks Judy! We will be in touch to reserve again for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

New Orleans Vacation

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We had never been to New Orleans but for a brief moment 35 years ago. We had no problem finding the house and it was more than we expected. Plenty of room and very well equipped, couldn't have asked for more. We found the house to be close to every thing that we had planned to do. Easy to get to the French Quarter and down town. We really had a great time in New Orleans and if we get a chance to go back we would diffently stay at the house again..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Friendly and Honest Owner/Property Manager

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

The property was just wonderful! The four bedrooms were very spacious and could have accommodated 10 plus. It was only a few miles from downtown and Lake Pontchartrain, and a beautiful city park. The kitchen was beautiful and we loved the large dining room and nice living room. Great private back yard with grill, and a great front porch where we could sit and enjoy the quiet neighborhood and the visiting chicken!
The best part was the property manager/owner who was very friendly and helpful to us throughout. Then, not only did she and her husband search for my daughter-in-law's lost diamond wedding band, but they found it and sent it to her.
I would recommend this place to anyone!! wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Mardi Gras

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

I, along with 3 other guests rented the above property for Mardi Gras from Thursday, March 3 through Thursday, March 10, 2011. We were very very pleased with the house. It was very clean and spacious. Any and all of the amenities that were needed were available. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The first night of arriving was challenging, due to travel, hunger, etc. Once we relaxed and laid our heads down, all of us slept like babies. The following morning, we all commented on how we felt very comfortable and safe.

The neighborhood was very peaceful and the neighbors were very very neighborly. We really enjoyed ourselves and plan on using the property in the near future for other New Orleans events.

The owner was very pleasant and provided requested information for touring, directions, good local eateries, etc. She was awesome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls Week Away

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

The house was a dream. We had 7 ladies in total and there was plenty enough room for all of us.
The house was clean, well supplied for water, spices, coffee, TP etc.
I came back raving to my friends about the house.
Taxi service was not the best for sending vans so order 2 cabs for a large party.
This was the 1st time to rent a house and the experience was easy and stress free.
I would definitely come back here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

From the very beginning working with the property manager she was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived on mid day Friday, and were overwhelmed with how clean the neighborhood was, and even more impressed when I unlocked the door. As the ad states, it is a very very beautiful home. It is not only well taken care of, it has a very wonderful ambiance inside. The Home is very spacious and easily fit the number of guests we brought. It could easily fit 10 adults. The property included state of the art kitchen equipment, a very large table, and a great living room area. The fenced in backyard was wonderful for our private cookout. Grill was provided and clean. The bathrooms were in tip top shape when we entered, and clean linens awaited us. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to go to New Orleans. Although a few miles away from the downtown area, the cab ride there was very inexpensive. And, honestly it was nice to party all day and have a private sanction to relax at in the evenings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice Stay

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

The home exceeded my expectations. Knowing that Katrina did allot of damage in New Orleans, I wasn't sure what to expect. Home nicely located for all activities in New Orleans. A very quite neighborhood. The home came with more than enough amenities. Very roomy and sure beats hotel living. If you visit New Orleans, this is the place to stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mardi Gras trip made better!!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

This beautiful home added to the wonderful time my friends and I had at Mardi Gras. The pictures do this home no justice. Upon entering my friends and I were overjoyed with the stylish decor and cleanliness of the property. Judy provided best in class customer service and was ever so accomodating to our needs. We never would have been this comfortable in a hotel. I would recommend this home to anyone looking to be close to all of the New Orleans attractions without being bothered with crowds. I came home talking about the house so much, my family and I will be renting the home for our upcoming Family Reunion :-). Thanks again for everything Judy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Fabulous Time

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

This house was rented as part of a birthday celebration and as an added bonus we were able to enjoy the victory of The Saints in the Superbowl. The house was more spectacular than we ever suspected. And I must admit we did have our apprehensions about renting a home that we had not seen in person. Our guests were impressed with the home as well, to the point that they wanted to know how they could rent it for themselves. The photos on this site did not do the house any justice. Basicly all we had to do was bring ourselves, that was great. I would recommend this home to others and will definitely be back. Thanks Judy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review