reviews for: listing #48421 - Washington, DC House rental

DC/Northern VA - Luxury 8,000 Sq Ft Home W/Pool On 2 Acres
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,995 - $5,995 /wk
    $19,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Just what we needed

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

My family gathered to bury my husband at Arlington National Cemetary. It was a sad time for us but this house was a wonderful refuge. It was exactly what we needed to feel at home. The grandchildren enjoyed the toys and movies, the adults enjoyed the music room, large screen tv's and pool table. I personally enjoyed the spacious & well equipped kitchen, and the beautiful & comfortable master bedroom. It is a beautifully decorated home with wonderful and thoughtful owners. We also rented 2 other homes in the area for friends and family to stay in, but they were not comparable to this house. I highly recommend this rental, you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Gorgeous

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We booked this home for my daughters law school graduation and it was absolutely beautiful from the entrance to the pool every space is decorated beautifully. The owners were also a pleasure to deal with, extremely accomodating and thoughtful. I would definetely recommend a stay here!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recommendation without reservation!

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a large family gathering at the Oakton house during July 2012. Despite a rough start to the week due to weather issues, everyone left with great memories of the time spent there. The owners, Susan and John, are excellent to deal with; very responsive, cooperative and accommodating.

The house itself is VERY comfortable and the upkeep is exceptional. The location is great, quiet area, but, close enough to the train station to get into Washington DC. Lots of activities in the area and when you tire of them, hanging out by the pool is an excellent way to recover.

We would definitely return, in fact, considering it for 2013.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Reunion Rental

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful home with 15 members of our family while in town to attend a funeral service at Arlington National Cemetery. There was plenty of room for all of us. Lots of extra bedding, games and videos for the kids, fully stocked kitchen and a pool, too! The neighborhood where this house is located is just gorgeous, wooded and hilly, with huge lots so there is lots of privacy. The only problem we encountered was that there is no bedroom and just a half bath on the main floor so if you have a person who can't climb stairs it is a problem. Our family member was perfectly comfortable in a parlor where she had privacy and a comfy sofa (and her own TV!). There was still a huge family room, a sunporch and another living room on the main floor for the rest of us. We just had to help her upstairs to shower.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Outstanding House and pool

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

16 members of my family got together in July,2012, a week after the big storm. The house was fabulous, clean and roomy enough for all to enjoy. The location was convenient to the metro,and it was equally easy to drive into DC. The owners were on the spot to take care of the pool, which had suffered some backup because of the storm. The adults were able to sit on the screened-in porch and watch the kids in the pool (all good swimmers). There are lots of games, movies and pool table for days of rain, which we fortunately didn't have. The owners were very generous with their supplies. We all loved being there. I recommend it highly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Would rent again if I had another reason to go back to Virginia with the family

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

I've never written a review for anything on the internet before, but this home is certainly worthy of 10 stars if that was available. We stayed in this home in April for 1 week. We had four couples and one 5 year old. It could not have been more perfect for our needs. We all had to fly in from various cities on the West Coast and we made multiple trips to Dulles, which is not too far away. My father had passed away and renting this home was less expensive and much more luxurious than getting 4 hotel rooms. We ended up having the reception after the funeral in the house. We had a total of 32 guests in the house at one time and it never felt crowded. Everyone kept exclaiming how beautiful the house is and they couldn't believe I found it online. The owners are incredibly nice people and were there when we arrived on Monday morning about 9am. They gave us a full tour and gave us a few tips about things in the house. I wish I had more time in the house to just enjoy it, but I had to plan a funeral, etc. I would love to have just sat in the sunroom for a full day and another full day in the screened in porch....not to mention hanging out by the pool. You will not regret renting this home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Luxury 7500 sq ft home(VAWashington,DCArea)w/pool

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We would recommend this beautiful home again and again and again! I just wish we didn't have to tour every single day. It would have Been nice to just lay by the pool and enjoy the quiet serenity around us! The Metro being so close made it very easy to get back and forth into DC especially with all the traffic!
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your gorgeous family home. It made our family vacation one we will never forget. For that I am so grateful to you. Our very best to you and your family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We gathered here in this home for our son's graduation. The property was exactly as stated in the description and the pictures do not do justice to seeing the immaculate home in person. The home owners were friendly as ever. We are looking forward to using the location again when our daughter graduates & before then if we can think of another occassion. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just let us know when you want to come back. Thanks, Susan and John Hardy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Memories!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Our son was married in McLean in September. We rented this home for three families to live in during the occasion. We also hosted the rehearsal dinner here. Our whole experience was marvelous! We were 16 people who found the home spacious and wonderful. We could be together when we wanted and there was always a place to go when you needed space. The cousins will have life long memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home for A Celebration!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Our son was married in McLean in September. We rented this home for three families to live in during the occasion. We also hosted the rehearsal dinner here. Our whole experience was marvelous! We were 16 people who found the home spacious and wonderful. We could be together when we wanted and there was always a place to go when you needed space. The cousins will have life long memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The house is all that the pictures reflect and more. It is spacious, immaculately clean, large and decorated to be relaxing and comfortable. There is enough space for a large group to stay with many areas to relax in. We loved it and hope to stay again. Reston Town Center and grocery stores aren't too far away by car and Dulles is convenient as well. The owners are very very nice and accomodating. It was great to have so many different options to keep people entertained. There were toys for toddlers and children, the pool of course (heated as much as you like!), the pool table, tvs in different rooms, Wii etc. Everyone loved the screened in porch and we drank our morning coffee on the patio and watch a deer wander by. Can't fault it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our DC summer vacation

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

My family rented this house during the summer for our annual vacation. We rented it because of how close it was to DC. The house is absolutely beautiful and we easily fit all 15 of us with room to spare. The neighborhood is very upscale and the metro station is fairly close by so there is easy access to Washington DC. The outdoor space has a pool and a dinig area which we used every day. The indoor kitchen is a cooks dream and with so many people to cook for we made good use of it. The weather was very hot but right around dusk we would gather outside and watch the deer and the fireflies in the backyard. The owners were so nice and made themselves available for questions. They provided maps and pamplets for points of interest and made us feel welcomed. I highly recommend this house for families who want to visit the DC area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review. Susan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

My amazing family trip to DC

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

My entire family stayed in this house this past summer. We had young kids as well as my elderly mother with us. The house was absolutely beautiful with plenty of room for all 15 of us and we probably could have fit a few more. Some of us commuted to DC each day on the metro and some of us stayed at the house all day and enjoyed the pool. In the evening the deer and the fireflies came out to play and it was magical. The house offers every aminity we could possibly need and the neighborhood was very upscale. The owners could not have been nicer and provided us with maps and other information that was very helpful. I highly recommend this location to everyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks and glad you enjoyed the house. Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home!!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

This home was absolutely beautiful! We had family flying in from all over (Kenya, Australia, Chicago, NYC) and needed a place to host a family reunion. The owners were very accommodating and very responsive to our needs.

We had a wonderful gathering and made use of the outdoor patio and pool. This house has everything you could ask for - plenty of flatware and cookware in the kitchen, another bar and refrigerator in the basement to keep drinks cool with easy access to the pool. The house is equipped with plenty of TVs, a pool table, a piano and a beautiful screened patio.

The house is so large that one could lose track of where people are! I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend this home to others. Our stay was comfortable and relaxing.

Another thing to add is that I left some personal items after our stay, and the owner was so kind to send them back to me! The security deposit was also promptly returned. We could not have asked for a better place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved our stay in Oakton

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

Rented house while visiting DC to see a family member at college there. Had an amazing time including a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner prepared in the gourmet kitchen. There were 11 of us, including 3 children, and our stay could not have been better. Enjoyed the pool table, piano and mulitiple televisions for football games. Close proximity to DC and Arlington. Will definitely stay again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome home

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

My family and I stayed in this beautiful home and absolutely loved it. Wonderful property in a gorgeous and upscale neighborhood. The owners were great and helped us with suggestions and some directions to get to the Metro station, Restaurants and Market. I highly recommend this property for a family that is just looking to have a wonderful time in DC and at the end of a busy come home and just relax and enjoy the home. We got in the pool and grilled just about every afternoon and the kids loved the downstairs area with the Pool table.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

We rented this house to host a large family that was traveling to DC from New Hampshire. They were amazed and impressed with all that the house had to offer. It was perfect for a large family with lots of children. In addition, we ended their three day stay with a reunion of their family and ours. It was the perfect venue. Truly. The children ran around the yard and played in the pool and the grown-ups had a number of comfortable areas to relax and talk. The owner was amazingly accommodating and gracious with all of our requests. I highly recommend renting this house. Should similar circumstances arise, we would do it again for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review