reviews for: listing #48609 - Peninsula de Osa, Costa Rica House rental

Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse/Ocean View / Pool/4BR/2 Bath
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

This is a bucket list item!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

I researched tree houses because it has been my wife's childhood dream to live in a treehouse now completed in a grand style! I chose this because even though a 4 wheel drive is needed to access the property, once there it is an easy walk & the privacy is beyond private - only saw someone when I had a couple questions , otherwise one could live like Tarzan and Jane - which we did! It was awesome- just as the view of the jungle, monkeys, tropical birds & floria. Although living in the "open" canopy (no walls) may seem primitive, having electricity for a fridge, fans, wifi, hot running water makes this place seem like a paradise jungle canopy well work checking it off your bucket list even if it was never on ( but it should be)
Also visit the coco farm which Blondie's help we had an awesome informative tour. We are in our 60's and enjoyed every second / wishing we could have spend more time and discovered this sooner when put children were still home as this is a must do experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4+ stars EXCELLENT reviews

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

HomeAway asks all guests who leave a review, to sign up for an account in order to do so. Therefore, guests have told us they prefer not to leave a review on this site. However we have many more, up to date, reviews on FlipKey listing #195460.Feel free to see more up to date reviews on that site. Meanwhile I continue to send our guests a review request through both sites!

Come visit us! Cooler breezes, elevated views of the shimmering ocean where rainforest meets sea! Corcovado National Park is our neighbor and you can walk to it from our reserve.

PURA VIDA - a common greeting here which translates to "pure life".
That alone should make you want to come!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique chance to commune with nature

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lapa's Home in January with our two teenage sons, and I can say without doubt that I've never stayed in a house so interesting and creative, nor one that allows such close contact with nature. The living room, dining area, and kitchen are open air, and it was not uncommon for a giant butterfly to flutter through as we were hanging out on the couch. Each day, we watched monkeys swing through the canopy just feet away from us, and we spent a whole morning watching a mama sloth moving like molasses through a tree right beside the living room, her baby clamped like a starfish to her belly. Masses of macaws, toucans, and scores of other birds flew around (and occasionally through!) the house each day.

This open air living is not for everyone, but if you want to experience the wildlife of the Osa, this is the place. The experience is edgy in the very best way--you're not looking at the jungle through double-paned glass in a climate-controlled hotel room, you're living right in it. During cicada season (which is when we were there), that means dealing with the nearby racket of cicadas and occasionally having them dive bomb you at night when they're drawn to the house lights. For me, that kind of experience is a plus--making the tropical experience real and not some kind of Disney fabrication.

We loved the little swimming pool, accessed by its toad-proof stepping stones. We loved the many artistic touches throughout the house created by Michael and Blondie, who were helpful and friendly and gave wonderful tips on where to go and what to do. Our stay there was truly memorable!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seclusion in Paradise

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

My husband and teenage kids stayed at the Lapa's home for 3 nights. This was the first stop to starting our vacation. We were looking for a private place that gave us the opportunity to relax and be summerged with nature. This is absolutely the place to be.

The private secluded road to this place is an adventure by itself, which is about 1/2 mile from the main road. You enter the jungle in a narrow dirt road climbing up into the property. When we arrived there, the grounds, the home and the view were breathtaking. Manicured grounds surrounded the front of the property and a jungle bordered the rest. We were welcomed by Wilberg, the inn keeper who was very friendly. We arrived late in the afternoon, and to our surprise, it was the time that the monkeys came out to feed. We saw at least 10 monkey's on our first day there including a mama with her baby in her back.

The view of this home is outstanding! You can see the ocean from afar. I made a point to get up during sunrise at about 5 to 5:30 AM. Toucans, lapas, and many other birds, flew by and made their calling, the whole jungle seemed to be awakening...an amazing experience. Lots of butterflies (blue especially) and hummingbirds.

The house was as it is showed on the picture. I actually think that the pictures don't do justice to its beauty. It is an open plan, which means that you dont have walls keeping insects from visiting the premises and the heat and cool breezes surround you in the main gathering areas. There are fans and screened rooms to keep the bugs out, and 1 room with air conditioning. The pool was a great plus!

There are 3 bedrooms with plenty of beds. The carpentry, woodworking using local trees is amazing. The imagination that these owners used to make this home is outstanding. The art in the home is their own creation and very beautiful.

The proprerty is closed to Puerto Jimenez. We shopped for groceries, and cooked dinner and breakfast at the home. We also walked the trials that are in the property and it was like a miniature Corcovado. The beaches and rivers are closed by and there are plenty of restaurants and adventures for the whole family.

You have choices as to where to stay and we stayed at some beautiful resorts with all the comforts that you can think off afterwards in Costa Rica, but this home tops it all as far as experiencing living with nature and having your own little solutide for at least a few days!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW WOW WOW

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

WOW was the word we said frequently on this trip! This place is AMAZING! We were thrilled each day to different birds, monkeys, a silky anteater too! We saw all this right form the tree house without even leaving! We sat each morning sipping coffee and waited to see who would come visit us. We used the hiking trails on the property often, walked up the river early mornings for some thrilling bird watching and had a nice salad from the garden right on site. It is total privacy. We also loved to river rock dipping pool. It was nice to know that it is private and we could skinny dip with no fear of anyone walking in on us! We thought the tree house was decorated & furnished with lots of love & thought to comfort and even though I have a fear of heights, I felt totally safe & conquered that fear! The tree house thrilled us every day & it was a great way to spend a vacation-totally different than any other we have had. We got to meet the owners who are artists & found them to be fun loving & caring people. Kudos go to the caretakers who were available for any questions we had. Since the owners were not there for most of our stay, it felt very comforting to know there was help very close. They are not kidding when they say that you get total privacy & 120 acres feels REALLY big when you are not from a huge farm! We had a blast & would love to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two Weeks in Paradise

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

My family, parents and nephew spent two weeks on the Osa and stayed at Lapa House. Blondie made renting the house and planning activities incredibly easy and I found all of the advice she gave to be right on the mark. When we arrived, there was a bunch of bananas from the property waiting for us. They were so good that I realized I'd been eating facsimilies all of my life. There were 7 of us and the house was spacious and comfortable. Having the pool there was perfect for our 4 year old twins who would wake up in the morning & jump right in. The only rooms that are enclosed are the bedrooms so one needs to be comfortable in the outdoors to enjoy the house. All of the common areas are shaded for most of the day, though, so it was very comfortable. Considering the heat and humidity, a condo or totally enclosed house would have been very unpleasant. The open design is the only way to go on the Osa. The house was very clean and we were extremely well cared for while we were there. Mike came by a few times to say hello and he proved himself to be an interesting and entertaining fellow. When not relaxing at the house, we enjoyed zip lining, kayaking, hiking and a boat tour. We also toured FincaKobo, a cocoa farm, which should not be missed. All of these activities were arranged by Blondie and her assistance made all the difference. We had two weeks in the paradise that is Lapa House and we look forward to returning one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Piece of Heaven on the Osa

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

My family, parents and nephew spent two weeks on the Osa and stayed at Lapa House. Blondie made renting the house and planning activities incredibly easy and I found all of the advice she gave to be right on the mark. When we arrived, there was a bunch of bananas from the property waiting for us. They were so good that I realized I'd been eating facsimilies all of my life.
There were 7 of us and the house was spacious and comfortable. Having the pool there was perfect for our 4 year old twins who would wake up in the morning & jump right in. The only rooms that are enclosed are the bedrooms so one needs to be comfortable in the outdoors to enjoy the house. All of the common areas are shaded for most of the day, though, so it was very comfortable. Considering the heat and humidity, a condo or totally enclosed house would have been very unpleasant. The open design is the only way to go on the Osa.
The house was very clean and we were extremely well cared for while we were there. Mike came by a few times to say hello and he proved himself to be an interesting and entertaining fellow. When not relaxing at the house, we enjoyed zip lining, kayaking, hiking and a boat tour. We also toured FincaKobo, a cocoa farm, which should not be missed. All of these activities were arranged by Blondie and her assistance made all the difference.
We had two weeks in the paradise that is Lapa House and we look forward to returning one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Visit- Won't be The Last!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

My wife & I came here a year ago and loved it so much we decided to come back again this year. We had a good time enjoying the house & all the acres and privacy on this reserve both stays. We don’t get this atmosphere in an ecolodge no matter how nice. Since we wanted to come at a time the owners were going to be closed for some work, they gave us a great deal which fit our vacation time! The house is already fabulous but they are going to trick it out even more (I'm an architect). I just read the last review & can say that I was there from 14-21 January 2011 and we found no dissatisfaction with appliances or furniture. We actually love the bamboo furniture because it is great for our backs- we are a middle aged couple with backaches and after hiking it felt great to get back & lay down after getting out of the pool! Their caretaker Wilbur & his family are excellent and Wilbur is also a very good guide. We hiked from the reserve to Corcovado and never passed another human. We had an awesome reward when we got to the waterfall & found 2 river otters in the water. It is an adventurous hike which we enjoyed immensely. Last year we came with our teenage sons, this year we came with another couple. All enjoyed the Osa- zip line was especially fun but also very educational- it is not just a cattle call for tourists where we felt herded as we had in other areas of Costa Rica. The group was only the 4 of us (they keep groups small), It is a family run business with emphasis on safety first, but also education. Speaking of education, if you are interested in not only enjoying a wonderfully private location where the rainforest meets the sea, but also in leaving behind a positive impact, these owners of the vacation home, Mike & Blondie, are heavily involved in local conservation efforts & sponsor 2 local kids in the private school at their own expense. Blondie booked our flights, car & tours for us so we could relax immediately. We stay here because we like the house, location, service & people. You will too. PS We did notice that the downstairs rattan furniture has a little peeling on one arm- I believe they are replacing that. People need to understand this is a remote place where you cannot run to your local store & buy replacements easily - it is local & handmade. People come here because it is not commercial. We come here because it gets us back to pristine natural surroundings void of traffic, lights,distractions & back to nature. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location but house is rundown

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

If you want to experience the rain forest, this is it. You are right in the jungle. There is a wonderful caretaker on site who also is a great guide. But... the house and especially the kitchen is very rundown. Many appliances don't work, light fixtures are rotted out, chairs are broken, the couch is just a foam board, etc. So I would not come back at the price being charged. Look instead into the nearby ecolodges.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's too bad that this guest didn't mention that they were offered a less than weekly rental at a MUCH lower rate. Since we were closed & they asked for only 5 days, we agreed that they could stay for a far lower rate. The rate was IMPOSSIBLE to find in even a low cost eco lodge! Please don't let their review tarnish your consideration of our beautiful home which is, as they mentioned, a great location! And yes we do still have the same excellent caretakers for your comfort.The furniture they complained about has been replaced with new custom made, exotic & COMFORTABLE furniture! Wonderfully much cooler elevated above the Gulf with sweet views of the Golfo Dulce (sweet gulf). Your rental with us helps support local education projects at the private school in town (we sponsor 2 kids there and no they are not our own kids!). If you want to not only stay at a great place with new updates, but also be able to help us support local education, then come stay with us for the vacation of a lifetime! These guests didn't mention that we were closed during the time they insisted on staying & we given LARGE discounts . See our other reviews before you make a decision!

Oven, microwave, blender, refrigerator, freezer, and all the appliances we tell you we have- every single one was tested to find the "many appliances which do not work" and every one works perfectly. We have never had complaints such as this in 11 years of rentals and were disappointed that they chose to not mention that they were given VERY large discounts & insisted on staying during a time we were closed!. Shame, shame! You'll have to come see for yourselves how fun & beautiful a home & location we have here. You'll love it! We host weddings, family reunions, workshops & retreats for art, families & couples on vacation & have not had complaints. I guess every now & then someone needs to vent!

Pura Vida! & hope to see ya! See our video of the house & decide for yourself.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=La-qVMjTLiw

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Authentic Costa Rica Home Rental Rainforest Experience "

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

I don't even know where to begin in regards to the Lapas's Home Rental near Corcovado National Park! The rainforest surrounding their home canopy is just incredible. No detail has been left out of the house and it has everything you need, pool, ocean view and the best part - Going to bed at night, cushy linens, great fans, listening to the pleasant sounds of the rainforest is one of the greatest experiences ever. House has at least 2 levels with lots of places to explore. One awesome place! We stayed in Mike & Blondies house for 1 week With our 14 & 15 year old boys. Talk about a magical time! This is the eco experience of a lifetime. We were visited regularly by all sorts of wildlife (monkeys, birds, lizards) and even heard a loud roar one morning just a few yards away in the jungle (still a mystery as to what it was!) There are plenty of eco lodges and hotels that say they have privacy and seclusion but Mike & Blondies eco resort style rental home is private, secluded, and actually in the jungle in short, the REAL DEAL! This is their home and the love they have for it, and the community and country they have adopted, is present and felt through the lovely artistic touches (both are artists) that are found throughout the house. I was also impressed by the great respect they had for our own privacy. Although always accessible (they or their wonderful caretaker Wilbur), we felt like the cast-aways on Swiss Family Robinson Adventure Vacation. Lapa’s Nest Rental Near Rios, Playas, Great Birding and Birdwatching in Corcovado National Park. We’ve stayed at beach eco resorts and jungle eco lodges, but renting Mike n Blondies Lapas Home Rental was the real deal. If you are looking for the remote part of Costa Rica without feeling lost in the jungle & still close to town & tours- This is it ! We loved this place! Don’t waste your vacation bucks elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"AWESOME! RELAXING! Remote yet CLOSE to ALL. OCEAN VIEWS!"

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

We travelled with 2 families on vacation to Southern Costa Rica & was attracted by the versatility of the rental home description as well as the wonderful location and ocean views. It was perfect for us.We considered staying at all inclusive eco lodges but this was a nice alternative to eco lodges or resorts. We met others who were staying at eco lodges at the other side of the Osa Peninsula who had to drive on a rough unpaved road, crossing rivers with no bridges & it took them almost half a day just to go get to town (there is only one on the Osa for groceries, gas station, bank,etc). We had just as much, if not more, wildlife & more privacy than they did at lodges. We had monkeys almost every day, LOTS of beautiful birds- the Scarlet Macaw- the bright red, blue & yellow bird, were only a few feet away in the almond tree just an arms length from the living room. The caretakers took us for a wonderful hike to the waterfall (great for adults & kids older than 12 or so). And the guide fee was only $50 for the whole group for the day! The rental home on the Osa Peninsula is at the border of Corcovado. We all loved that the beach was so close. We were glad to be staying off the beach though- just a warning- it is MUCH hotter at the beach than you think- the cool ocean breezes are elevated so stay somewhere a bit off the beach or you won’t sleep- also the places at the beach & on the south side of Puerto Jimenez have only alternative energy- the people we met (mentioned above) said that they lost power after a few hours in the evening & they sweltered with no fans. We had no problems with insects at all. We really loved this place & have already reserved it for an upcoming family Costa Rica family reunion/wedding. For that we reserved the rest of the homes all located privately on about 120 acres. Our newlyweds will then stay on for their honeymoon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Fantastic Panoramas and Living Space in the Rain Forest"

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Wow! This place was amazing. It's all open air with an incredible panorama that cannot be captured in photos. My husband, myself, three kids and in-laws stayed here for a week and a half in July. We were treated to squirrel and capuchin monkeys crashing through the forest along side the house daily. My ten year old sun got up early to photograph the incredible sunrises and wild life. We had one incredible day where we had the toucan show, followed by the monkey show, followed by an incredible lightening show. After dark we put on our sunglasses and sat in the open air living room to watch the amazing show. Kids splashed in the pool all day and lazed in the hammocks. We took many hikes and came home to relax with drinks and gaze over the view of the Golfo Dulce. We were provided with fresh bananas, pineapples and papayas by the amazing care takers. The water running lizards would dart across the pool and my kids caught frogs and toads. There was plenty of room for the seven of us. It was quite relaxing. The location can't be beat. On our last days there we saw a sloth in the garden and some howler monkeys down the road. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Taken from our TripAdvisor Reviews- Go see all of them!
"Cloud 9"
My stay with Blondie and Michael was in the clouds and i would say was up there on cloud 9! What an amazing experience and unique accommodations.

Hearing about this amazing tree home and seeing photos can not describe an actually nights stay in this hard to believe structure.

The host and hostess are as interesting as this tree house its self. If you have the opportunity to experience this incredible place on the Osa, don't pass it up.

I hope to return one day soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

Taken from our Trip Advisor review- go see the rest!
"Wow, wow & wow. It´s magic!!!"
Wow, wow & wow!!! No words are enough to express the magical time we had while staying at Mike & Blondie´s tree house. After a short walk through the Osa forest, all of a sudden you get to the tree house. It is so tall and still perfectly hidden in the middle of the vegetation. I was speechless… I felt like I was entering a dream world and that characters from a Disney story or Pirates of the Caribbean were going to jump out to greet me. What a dream! The tree house is perfectly organized and equipped. We did not miss anything we needed, including cocktail glasses! There are a few cozy rooms located on different floors, a large fully equipped kitchen, a dining table, many resting areas and a comfortable TV area with a large sofa bed a flat screen TV. In this place even the bathrooms are a fun piece of art. Not to mention the amazing open decks where to sit, relax and enjoy the view of the jungle. There is even a private, little swimming pool for guests. I will not spoil the surprise, but do not miss the “SkyWalk” style shower. The temperature is mild and breezy there. I was surprised to wake up the following morning without one single new mosquito bite, considering that we slept in the middle of the forest enjoying the sounds of nature. There are no bugs there. At the tree house, everything is tidy and clean including sheets, mattresses and pillows. There is a little town a short drive away, hence it´s easy to go and buy things if needed. The road to get to the tree house is in very good conditions. Before we got to the house, Blondie sent us a great doc with all the info we needed. If you want to have something to really remember about Costa Rica, a once in a life time experience, do not miss staying at this tree house. Fabulous, gorgeous, fun and original are the words. Total relaxation guaranteed. This was the highlight of our holiday in Osa. Thanks a million Mike & Blondie for building this gem and for the delightful hospitality. Jessica & Oscar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

Taken from our TripAdvisor Review!
"Unforgetfull"
We were very impressed and delighted with our experience in the Tree House. Mike and Blondie have done a wonderful job in building and maintaining this wonderful property in the heart of the Costa Rica rainforest.

We have traveled all throughout the world and have stayed in many exotic locations, however, by far this Tree House location was the best. Seeing the monkeys swing and climb through the trees every morning was a great delight. We enjoyed just relaxing and listening to the sounds of the forest and birds throughout the day while enjoying homecooked lunch or snacks made in the fully furnished kitchen. The sunsets from the Tree House location were just absoulety fabulous.

Our excursions ( Zipline- Osa Palmas Canopy tours , Waterfall Rapelling- Andy and Terry in Matapalo at Suena Verde and Kayaking ) were all arranged by Blondie and were conducted in a very pleasant and professional manner. My family and I had the thrills of a lifetime.

Overall, we would recommend this property very highly and would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to Costa Rica ( hopefully it will not be booked at the time we return ).

Bharat, Kumud, Priya and Shriya Patel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Kid In The Woods

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2008

Being in the comfort of a clean, spacious living room, and at the same time being outdoors, in the jungle no less. What a wonderful feeling. No windows to peer through, no walls! The second floor living room let me feel above the world and yet immersed in the beauty of the rain forest, with all the comforts of home (kitchen, bathroom, etc.) The fresh air, the birds, it was all so peaceful. I sat there for hours, content and comfortable. A very relaxing vacation. And when I needed some activity, there was the trek through the rain forest, right outside the door. No fear of being in the "middle of the jungle" as home was so nearby, and yet the thrill of exploring. I was a kid again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Luxury Home Plus Rainforest Tree House Ocean Views / Pool / Min. to Beach/for 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137356
508-714-0622 Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Rating
5 out of 5
5
TREEHOUSE FANTASIA
san francisco/CA, USA
Review Submitted: March 30, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010

our week in the treehouse was spectacular...scarlet macaws, toucans, a troupe of squirrel monkeys in the trees and butterflies flitting in and out of the open air kitchen...humming birds humming us with curiosity in the study...we were living just under the canopy of a living breathing rainforest and we were entranced...the four level living area is heart stoppingly beautifully...the house is an architectural sculpture sinuously spiraling around but never touching the trunk of an absoulutely magnificent tree...plenty of space for four adults...and every room beautifully appointed and decorated with grace and whimsy...full refrigerator and a six-burner stove (how did they manage that?)...double sink...comfortable beds...two bathrooms...a wonderful glass bottom shower...and a housekeeper who comes to freshen the place up once a week...and will even do a load of your laundry if you want...and even with all that luxury...you can still feel good about living absolutely green...

my husband and i spent most days wandering the forest trails which began only a few feet from our door...blue morpho butterflies and leafcutter ants...incredible birds...our friends often took the car to explore farther afield...we did get out to kayak the mangrove forest...wonderful tour...excellent guide...and the zip line...amazing and not scary at all after the first ride...(and i am 63)

blondie was wonderfully responsive to all my questions while we were setting up the vacation by e-mail...always up beat and efficient...when we arrived blondie and michael met us with warmth and welcome...their hospitality morphed into friendship effortlessly...our last night we all cooked dinner together in the treehouse kitchen...imagine dinner for six under the canopy...lightning bugs flashing...and howler monkeys calling in the distance...

i would and have recommended michael & blondie's treehouse to friends and relatives alike...the only caveat i would mention...it was pretty hot and mostly dry the week we were there (mid february) and heat can be draining...if you are heat sensitive don't go at the hottest time of the year...and don't forget your hat (like i did)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Luxury Home Plus Rainforest Tree House Ocean Views / Pool / Min. to Beach/for 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137356
508-714-0622 Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Rating
5 out of 5
5
TREEHOUSE FANTASIA
san francisco/CA, USA
Review Submitted: March 30, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010

our week in the treehouse was spectacular...scarlet macaws, toucans, a troupe of squirrel monkeys in the trees and butterflies flitting in and out of the open air kitchen...humming birds humming us with curiosity in the study...we were living just under the canopy of a living breathing rainforest and we were entranced...the four level living area is heart stoppingly beautifully...the house is an architectural sculpture sinuously spiraling around but never touching the trunk of an absoulutely magnificent tree...plenty of space for four adults...and every room beautifully appointed and decorated with grace and whimsy...full refrigerator and a six-burner stove (how did they manage that?)...double sink...comfortable beds...two bathrooms...a wonderful glass bottom shower...and a housekeeper who comes to freshen the place up once a week...and will even do a load of your laundry if you want...and even with all that luxury...you can still feel good about living absolutely green...

my husband and i spent most days wandering the forest trails which began only a few feet from our door...blue morpho butterflies and leafcutter ants...incredible birds...our friends often took the car to explore farther afield...we did get out to kayak the mangrove forest...wonderful tour...excellent guide...and the zip line...amazing and not scary at all after the first ride...(and i am 63)

blondie was wonderfully responsive to all my questions while we were setting up the vacation by e-mail...always up beat and efficient...when we arrived blondie and michael met us with warmth and welcome...their hospitality morphed into friendship effortlessly...our last night we all cooked dinner together in the treehouse kitchen...imagine dinner for six under the canopy...lightning bugs flashing...and howler monkeys calling in the distance...

i would and have recommended michael & blondie's treehouse to friends and relatives alike...the only caveat i would mention...it was pretty hot and mostly dry the week we were there (mid february) and heat can be draining...if you are heat sensitive don't go at the hottest time of the year...and don't forget your hat (like i did)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

TREEHOUSE FANTASIA

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

our week in the treehouse was spectacular...scarlet macaws, toucans, a troupe of squirrel monkeys in the trees and butterflies flitting in and out of the open air kitchen...humming birds humming us with curiosity in the study...we were living just under the canopy of a living breathing rainforest and we were entranced...the four level living area is heart stoppingly beautifully...the house is an architectural sculpture sinuously spiraling around but never touching the trunk of an absoulutely magnificent tree...plenty of space for four adults...and every room beautifully appointed and decorated with grace and whimsy...full refrigerator and a six-burner stove (how did they manage that?)...double sink...comfortable beds...two bathrooms...a wonderful glass bottom shower...and a housekeeper who comes to freshen the place up once a week...and will even do a load of your laundry if you want...and even with all that luxury...you can still feel good about living absolutely green...

my husband and i spent most days wandering the forest trails which began only a few feet from our door...blue morpho butterflies and leafcutter ants...incredible birds...our friends often took the car to explore farther afield...we did get out to kayak the mangrove forest...wonderful tour...excellent guide...and the zip line...amazing and not scary at all after the first ride...(and i am 63)

blondie was wonderfully responsive to all my questions while we were setting up the vacation by e-mail...always up beat and efficient...when we arrived blondie and michael met us with warmth and welcome...their hospitality morphed into friendship effortlessly...our last night we all cooked dinner together in the treehouse kitchen...imagine dinner for six under the canopy...lightning bugs flashing...and howler monkeys calling in the distance...

i would and have recommended michael's treehouse to friends and relatives alike...the only caveat i would mention...it was pretty hot and mostly dry the week we were there (mid february) and heat can be draining...if you are heat sensitive don't go at the hottest time of the year...and don't forget your hat (like i did)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida at Sombra de la Lapa, Lapa's House

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

When my sister and I decided to go on vacation together with our families, we had to find a place that would accommodate our varying vacation styles as well as our common desire to stay together as a group. We found Sombra de la Lapa. It had 3 bedrooms, the third one had four single beds, perfect for all the cousins to stay together. for those who wanted to take it easy and not seek adventure every moment, there was a dipping pool (the got a lot of use), wonderful rainforest walks surrounding the property (don't forget your map!), and a band of 50+ titi monkies that would pass by the house on their way through the canopy each morning and evening. We also spotted toucans and howler monkies. And my niece climbed up the inside of an amazing strangler fig Michael had shown us on an impromtu tour, during which the kids also got to taste fresh sugar cane. The best decision we made was hiring Blondie to cook evening meals for us - vegan! She scoured the shops for groceries in Puerto Jimenez and San Jose to stock for us before our arrival and then came up a with a week's worth of wonderful evenings of vegan comfort food. Highlights included homemade soy fahitas, pico de gallo, lemongrass coconut soup, and some wonderful desserts - plantains with raisins and homemade sorbets. And let's not forget a homemade load of bread daily. There was such an abundance of food that we often had enough for breakfast or lunch, for the price of just the dinner. This was the best choice we made since I wouldn't have wanted to venture out on that windy, narrow dirt road at night, and it was so relaxing to come home and not have to worry about cooking and cleaning, or even making a decision about what to order! Blondie and Michael are friendly hosts, who make a great effort to make you happy and comfortable. One caution: this is not a great choice for toddlers. There is no outside wall on the second floor living room and the stone floors and stairs can get slippery with wet feet coming from the pool if you are not careful. Come back in a couple of years though for a highly enjoyable and memorable experience. Thank you Blondie and Michael!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pura Vida at La Sombra de la Lapa

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

When my sister and I decided to go on vacation together with our families, we had to find a place that would accommodate our varying vacation styles as well as our common desire to stay together as a group. We found Sombra de la Lapa. It had 3 bedrooms, the third one had four single beds, perfect for all the cousins to stay together. for those who wanted to take it easy and not seek adventure every moment, there was a dipping pool (the got a lot of use), wonderful rainforest walks surrounding the property (don't forget your map!), and a band of 50+ titi monkies that would pass by the house on their way through the canopy each morning and evening. We also spotted toucans and howler monkies. And my niece climbed up the inside of an amazing strangler fig Michael had shown us on an impromtu tour, during which the kids also got to taste fresh sugar cane. The best decision we made was hiring Blondie to cook evening meals for us - vegan! She scoured the shops for groceries in Puerto Jimenez and San Jose to stock for us before our arrival and then came up a with a week's worth of wonderful evenings of vegan comfort food. Highlights included homemade soy fahitas, pico de gallo, lemongrass coconut soup, and some wonderful desserts - plantains with raisins and homemade sorbets. And let's not forget a homemade load of bread daily. There was such an abundance of food that we often had enough for breakfast or lunch, for the price of just the dinner. This was the best choice we made since I wouldn't have wanted to venture out on that windy, narrow dirt road at night, and it was so relaxing to come home and not have to worry about cooking and cleaning, or even making a decision about what to order! Blondie and Michael are friendly hosts, who make a great effort to make you happy and comfortable. One caution: this is not a great choice for toddlers. There is no outside wall on the second floor living room and the stone floors and stairs can get slippery with wet feet coming from the pool if you are not careful. Come back in a couple of years though for a highly enjoyable and memorable experience. Thank you Blondie and Michael!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AMAZING TREE HOUSE

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

This was an amazing experience. As i walked into the treehouse i was shocked by how it surpassed my expectations. It really felt like i was living in a childrens story book. It was in the middle of the rainforest by no one. I loved that i was surronded by nature and the sounds of birds and monkeys. It is an experience you will never forget.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely Romantic/Private/Close to EVERYTHING!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

I am an architect so I like to spend my time off in architecturally different places. My wife & I wanted to be somewhere close enough not to spend all day driving to do things, yet have privacy & seclusion. What we liked about this place is that we got it all.We had read some Osa rentals reviews where rental homes are out there with bad solar systems where you have no fans at night, no ice, warm refrigerators, and cannot leave anything plugged in to charge. What we loved about this house & the tree house is that we had to deal with none of that. It is elevated off the beach & is MUCH cooler than the places we visited at the beach, has full grid reliable electricity. Yet still has a wonderful view of water & nice breezes (we have stayed at other beach places where we ROASTED & got bitten by sand fleas on the beach) .We found total peace & tranquility, we had no amenities shared which we LOVED. We could dunk naked in the pools without risking others walking in on us. We spent a week in each house & we never knew if there were other guests on the property or not- there are 2 homes on opposite sides of the property. We did explore other rental homes before we rented this one. I am GLAD we did. Almost all the others (esp those located on beaches near Puerto Jimenez & towards Matapalo & Carate) ONLY had solar power. We like to be responsible travellers too but considering we heard these people were driving all the way back to Puerto Jimenez for simple things like ice & food because they had warm refrigerators, we think we came out ahead of the game in that department. We also enjoyed that we were totally alone when we went back to our home after being out & about. We liked being able to have meals whenever we wanted, we even cooked a few ourselves since we could. We also ate at some nice places in town & found prices to be really good (try Sarpe's- means nightcap, and they had EXCELLENT food). We had a fun "Spaghetti night" at Pearl of the Osa (also a lodge) but were glad we were not staying there since it also has a LOUD band on Fri night. All in all, we would recommend this place for the privacy, it is quite luxurious, nice hiking trails, nice linens,wonderful views, AMAZING WILDLIFE onsite! The owners are artists & wait til you see how nicely decorated & designed these homes are- regardless of which you choose to stay in or choose both! The treehouse is an architects dream & I can imagine either home would be good for families or groups also. We LOVED it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW! We LOVED it here

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

My family & I have been to visit Costa Rica twice now & we LOVED staying here. The Osa Peninsula was by FAR the best area in the country we visited. We stayed in the main house, Sombra de la Lapa, the first time & the tree house, The Lapa's Nest, on the second visit. We like very much that they are on opposite sides of the property- we honestly did not know if either time we were there, they had any other guests! It is so close to town -less than 10 minutes & we could get to everywhere easily. We heard some stories from others we met who were renting houses south of Puerto Jimenez (like Matapalo, Carate) where they had only solar power. We had lots of ice in the freezer, we could leave our battery powered items plugged in & the refrigerator was cold. We met people renting other homes who could do none of that. We had none of those issues because here they have full electricity at both houses. But we still felt that we were contributing to sustainable travel because we did not have to run to town like others we met had to, they have full recycling, are involved with conservation projects, support the local school & hire only locals. We JUST LOVED IT HERE!

A little about the houses- the tree house is a fantasy! Our kids loved it, my husband & I found it very romantic too. We even had a movie night which we never expected we'd do here! But we spent most of our time either watching monkeys, birds etc. We had a sloth come right down the tree in front of the tree house. We heard cats in the jungle at night- the tree house overloooks COrcovado National Park. We loved the river fresh water dipping pool. The kitchen in HUGE- the glass bottom shower is a TRIP.

The main house was where we stayed the first visit. We loved the spaciousness- I can see why they get both family reunions here & also honeymooners. Or just families like us! The house is really large & open. The owners had pre reserved some tours for us- zip line, chocolate farm, kayak & a boat trip. The house is awesome- pool is great, loved all the extra touches. We LOVED the stereo- bring your IPOD- you'll love this stereo. The house is totally furnished- it is FAR better than staying in a lodge or motel. It IS a HOME!

If you are looking for romance or family vacation time- or a group of friends-you will love staying here. We loved the privacy- we did not have to share anything with other guests. We also hired Blondie for the private chef service she offers- DELICIOUS. A vacation dream

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Great Place- Offers Everything

Review submitted: November 17, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

My daughters & I came here a few years ago for vacation & this last April we came back with the whole family! Our first time we rented the Main House but when we returnedf we took both Main House & Tree House. WOW! We have stayed at other places in Costa Rica & were roasted on the beach so we found this place really refreshing & MUCH cooler. It was so close to the beach but without the no see ums & the heat which that dark cholcolate sand holds in at night! We also apprecaited that we had full refrigerator & freezer, fans, one room in Main House has A/C & we could charge our laptop, cameras & IPOD's, which we could not do when we stayed at the beach because all those homes were run by solar power. We ran out of fans middle of the night- but here we were thrilled to have ICE & POWER! We loved the pool at the main house but the kids preferred the Treehouse pool at the river. We only rented a car a few days because they are right on the bus route to town & groceries, restaurants- only 10-15 min away (but it is ! We also used the local taxi they recommended & he was a RIOT! The houses were MORE than we expected & we would recommend it. Make sure you know that all the other homes we checked into which were not right in Puerto Jimenez (where we were def not interested in staying) have only solar power, so if the batteries are low, or there are not enough of them, or the sun is not shining, or you leave an IPOD plugged in, you will not have cold food or fans. We had this happen a few years ago & we were not happy at all. We loved that we did not have to worry about that here They have built the treehouse of all recycled materials & they practice recycling of all the materials you use whiel there so we felt that we were participating in sustainable living. You will love the monkeys which visited very closetwice most days . We had a sloth drop out of the tree right in front of us in the yard. Scarlet macaws were in the almond trees a few feet from the living room. We loved being able to see into the canopy through the clear panels in the treehouse. We REALLY loved that we had a whole resort style home with NO other guests. Great stereo for music too. We loved that the chocloate farm, zip lines, boat tours were only a few minutes away. And of COURSE we LOVED the beaches just a few minutes away. We are already planning a return trip & we are also going to send our employees who win the year end trip to this home. You will love this place & we highly recommend

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review