reviews for: listing #48739 - Ocean City, Maryland Condo rental

Luxury Condo Sunset Bay 409 on 54th St.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunset Bay
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

noisey from neighbors and dirty unit that needs facelift

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

carpet needs cleaned, the whole unit needed cleaned in a bad way. closet doors for washer/dryer need repaired, screen for slider falling off, ceiling fan in 2nd room doesn't work, needs painted so room paint matches and not touched up, couch need replaced (worn out) ect...

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I cant paint the whole unit until the end of the season. I just covered the scuffs from the prervious tenants. My cleaning women became sick and Yes I agree the unit needed a special cleaning. I saw it when I painted. I own another unit and offered it to the Villers but they declined. I am upset that they now complain. I'll try to make it up to the Villers. They are regular renters. I cant control the neighbors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First and Last Time...Disappointed

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Upon our arrival we noticed that the cleaning company did not do a thorough job of cleaning the unit as the floors and carpets were still dirty/sticky and there was dust everywhere (especially on the vents). The carpet in the master bedroom had a mouldy scent, the microwave handle was broken and the screen from the living room to the balcony was either broken or did not properly fit. The couches were old and dirty and as someone mentioned previously slanted inward.The second bedroom (with two double beds) had one bedframe broken and missing a wheel. Both bathroom toilet seats were either broken or half off the hinge. The master bathroom toilet would continously overflow and there was no mop in the unit to clean it up. It was disappointing as the condo unit has the potential to be very nice if it were updated a little (fresh paint job, newer carpets, newer tv etc.). Unfortunately, this will be the last time we rent from this owner.

Owners response: I cant believe this review. I was there two weeks ago and replaced both toilet seats. Of all the times I checked on the cleaning service the tile floors and the carpets were never a problem. I will check again this Saturday. I want my condos clean. I dont know about the broken furniture. It was not a problem two weeks ago.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Expected a much cleaner/nicer place than advertised.

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Check in was at 3pm. As my family and I arrived the cleaning lady was still cleaning and we had to wait. This was very inconvenient, especially when you are traveling for 4 hours with a 6 month old and younger children. I had to ask the cleaning lady to sweep again because there were particles of stuff all over the floor. The pictures online show a very nice, new, clean condo. The condo has a nice location and potential. However, it has not been up kept. The carpets and sofa are stained and very dirty and it looks ran down and dingy. The review says ocean view/bay view...yes you can seen them but barely. Some of the lights in the unit did not work and the screen door to the balcony was all out of place. For the amount of money that we spent it was not up to part with the description listed online. The area rugs are old and dirty, the walls need new paint and there was hair all over the bathroom floors. The condo needs some tender loving care. It seems like no one has done much to maintain the place. I should have known when no security deposit was asked for. Renters are not going to take care of a place when they know that they do not have a deposit coming back. Location and being able to go the pool was nice other than that I would not spend the money again to stay in a rundown condo. I did call the owner when we arrived and he said he would talk to the cleaning crew and "sorry". I do not recommend this place for the amount being charged.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wouldn't Recommend it!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

Pictures show a great place but in reality just average. The first thing you saw on entering was dirty area rugs in the hall, kitchen and in front of the laundry area. We were told to bring our own sheets and towels which didn't impress me and then we found wet towels in the washer and damp sheets in the dryer. The master bath shower grout is moldy and the couch has a permanent sink hole in the middle of it.
Pool was great, and location central to all. Workout room had only 1 machine that worked and gardeners started blowing leafs and sand across the parking lot 2 differnet days at 8:30 in the morning.
When I emailed the owner about the poor housekeeping he didn't apologize but blamed a new cleaning service.

Owners response: I received a call from this renter and assumed it was a problem with my new cleaning service. The cleaner went to the unit and completed the laundry, towels and sheets. It is a service which she does not normally do. She just gets it into the washer and dryer. I was told by the cleaner that the area rugs needed to be cleaned and took care of the problem. So it is my opinion that we did everything possible to resolve her unit cleanliness problems.

I have also notified the property manager about the exercise equipment and the gardener's leaf blowing problems.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Condo, good location.

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Spent the week with my wife and two young daughters (4 and 2). Great pool, easy walk to beach. Short drive to boardwalk and attractions. Condo was clean and had plenty of room for us all. Owner is easy to access and very reliable. Have spent many trips down here, by far one of the best places to stay. We will be back!

Owners response: Why is this review just a four 4???

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place for the Family

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This place was excellent. Met all of our vacations needs with quick access to the beach as well as a beautiful pool available as well. However, I do wish there was a children's pool. The room itself was fully stocked and clean. Perfect place for a family stay and within walking distance of many popular night spots as well as within walking distance of shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Condo Unit #409 Sunset Beach

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

we enjoyed the condo so much, it was very clean and spacious. the location was what we needed because of having to be at Convention Center for most of the time with our daughters contest for Miss Fire Prevention. we will probably be back in the future and will tell the rest of our family what a great place it was and that they should consider staying there also when visiting Ocean City. The condo was very clean and well stocked and organized.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 16, 2008

This was a fantastic place to stay. It had tons of room, was very clean, and very affordable. My family thoroughly enjoyed everything about this place!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 8, 2007

This unit was at a great location. It was a comfortable place to stay for a whole week. We also liked how the owner kept things such as toilet paper, paper towels, and napkins stocked. Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 16, 2006   Date of arrival: October 16, 2006

This condo was wonderful and the owner is very speedy, reliable and friendly. We stayed during the summer and have already re-booked for this Fall.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2006   Date of arrival: July 10, 2006

Great condo. Clean, modern & comfortable. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2006   Date of arrival: March 10, 2006

My family amd I had a great time. What a beautiful unit. We have 3 children ages 11,9,6. Plenty of space and very clean. Room is very close to the pool. just a short walk to the beach. I cant say enough about the room. If you have children and you want a very nice place to stay,this is it. trust me we have stayed at O.C the last 10 or more years at different places every year. This year we are going back to this place. THE SEARCH FOR THE NICEST PLACE AT THE BEACH IS OVER !!!!!!!! HAVE FUN !!!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review