reviews for: listing #48751 - Masthope, Pennsylvania House rental

Mountain Top,2 Theaters,Ski-in/Ski-Out, Limo Golf Cart,Hot-T
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $425 - $1,750 /nt
    $3,000 - $10,500 /wk

sort by:

wonderful place for getting together

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 22, 2008

THis is such a beatutiful house with everything you need to live in and have fun with your friends. Perfect place to stay away from the city and enjoy the peaceful life. It is so nicely renovated and have full equipment for entertainment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 20

 

Luxurious Camping

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

My friends and I look forward to backpacking and mountain biking around Dolly Sods every year. While we have stayed at great places before, this one is vastly superior. We did enjoy our usual outdoor fun, it was lack luster compared to the features inside. The game room was amazing, the bedrooms unbelievable, and the outside deck with hot tub and grill was remarkable. What out did all of this was the main floor. I had no problems cooking for everyone on the huge hibachi grill while everyone entertained themselves with the projection screen TV. Some of us were even bold enough to get behind the dance screen, with the surround sound; it felt like our own personal dance studio.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Secret Ski Spot

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

We come to Himmlischer every year because we love it here. It’s is the only thing that we look forward to during winter. The house is beautiful. Everyone knows which room they get so the first thing we do when we get there is head right out on the mountain. This is so simple since the house was built right on the mountain. We put our skis on and head right out the back door. When we are finished, we ski right back in. The best thing we found to do after skiing all day is to head right to the sauna and right out to the hot tub. The features inside the house do not disappoint. A full movie screen in the living room and in the basement with full surround puts you right into the movie. We already ready booked our trip for next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for every Mood

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

We stayed here for a guys' weekend, playing poker, golf, and grilling. Home has all the modern conveniences, but still remains cozy and comfortable to provide that log cabin feel. Some of us wanted to take it easy and watch movies, others wanted to read on the porch, and others wanted to be a little more adventurous and take a hike in the woods in the back. Just arrive and let everyone do what they want. The home is truly perfect for every mood. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Enjoy the stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This house is RIDICULOUS!!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

I have stayed in a lot of beautiful homes for events like this, but this house definately takes the cake. All I will say is that the pictures are really nice, but they dont even do it justice.

We stayed for a 3 day bachelor party weekend and this house had everything we could have asked for and then some. With 14 guys, I was originally worried that there wasnt going to be a space large enough for eveyone to just hang out, but the top floor and the basement level both were big enough for the entire group.

Between the outdoor seating area, the hot tub, the sauna, the pool table, the bubble hockey game, the video games (3 different systems), the audio linkages for constant music options, and the two projector screens for tv, you cant possible get bored.

Additionally, we chose to cook all of our meals. The commercial kitchen appliances, huge outdoor grill, and tempanyaki grill inside, plus two fridges made feeding 14 men a breeze.

The sleeping arrangements were also an original concern of mine, but that also proved to be no issue what so ever. Every bedroom is sizable (especially the 2 masters which are the size of an entire NYC apartment). Additionally there is a 15 foot couch that coul have easily slept two people, but that was unnecessary as there was enough additional rooms/ blow up mattresses for the group.

Finally I would say that you would be hard pressed to find another house that is as well maintained as this one. Everything was spotless when we arrived, and everything fuctioned perfectly. Scott was hands on during the booking process and made everything very easy on us, and when we ran into one small issue he was all over it.

Also to get the full enjoyment of the house I would recommend that you take the 20-30 mins to watch the instructional videos and read the welcome packet. This house has so much to offer, which can be easily missed if you are unaware of the fuctionality.

All in all I would say that if you considering this house, stop your searching now and just book it. You will be glad you did.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to spend the weekend next time to ski

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Next time we plan to stay for a weekend during the winter season to take advantage of the slops right outside the back door.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great retreat.

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

We had pretty big hopes for our weekend here and boy did this place deliver.

The property was well-maintained and as-advertised. TVs were perfect for a weekend of sports and movies. Plus, the resort staff were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't ski, but the mountain was right out back and made for some good scenery.

Would hands down recommend a stay here and am already making plans to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is Awesome!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Seriously, this place is amazing. If you are looking for a place to entertain in the Poconos then look no further. Killer features and ski & ski out make this place unbeatable. Sound system is amazing and works perfectly with hi def theater. Grill is incredible. Everything is top notch. Entertainment room is lots of fun with bubble hockey and pool table. Hot tub and sauna worked great. Bonus is that ski lodge is a short walk which has a nice sports bar and there is a market deli with groceries and sandwiches made to order next door. We didn't have to driver anywhere all weekend. Our group of 10 had a blast and we already booked again for next year. Thank you Scott, what a great house. We are already looking forward to our return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Classy Getaway

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

The amenities of this house were high-end. The top floor was top-notch for entertainment and movie watching while the rooms allowed for enough space to sleep everyone and get away from the common rooms if needed. Believe it or not, we didn't fill up the house with 14 people! The bubble hockey table was a hit and the slippers for the house were a nice touch as well. Would rent again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for renting this beautiful Chateau to us. Our group had a great time and enjoyed every moment of our trip. Our best place to hang out was the open space from the kitchen to the living room. The surround speakers were a plus! We've stayed in several homes before but this Chateau is by far the best place we've stayed in. Thank you so much Scott!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Heavenly Chateau

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Where do I start!! I was looking for a home to have a couples getaway and stumbled upon this beautiful Chateau. Upon arrival we were delighted to see that everything was as the pictures showed, BUT BETTER! In all there were 8 people in our group, with each couple having their own bedroom and bathroom. The community is quiet and peaceful, which was a great change of pace from the city. I would like to thank Scott for answering all of my many questions and the owners for renting this magnificent home. If you're on the fence about going just take that leap of Faith! You most certainly won't be disappointed. Our only negative comment that the group had was that WE DIDN'T STAY LONG ENOUGH!!! No worries we shall return soon enough...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome house!!!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

This house was awesome nothing but good things to say about this house. We just recently stayed at this house in mar 2011 and it was great. The hd tvs screens upstairs and downstairs were awesome as was the living room area upstairs very spacious and great for movie night with the family or friends, the downstairs was on point also, the pool table, the bubble hockey, the movie theather seating, the hottub just everything about the house trust me you will not be disappointed. At first it looks fake until you turn up the driveway and it all becomes a reality. I. Would stay at this house a million times over without a doubt very very nice. I would reccomend this house to anyone and everyone!! Just awesome!!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fabulous Ski Weekend

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

We arrived and found the place to be exactly as we expected and more! The house is great. I've never seen so much audio/video equipment in one place. It must have been a wiring nightmare, but it is well worth it. I'm not sure how anyone could have a bad experience here. Even if you don't like the people you are with (we had a great group), the house is layed out so well that you could easily avoid them. It really has everything that you need.
Hint: Use the kitchen TV and computer for Karaoke. You can find most of your favorite karaoke versions of songs on youtube. We had a blast! Already thinking about a next trip. You can't go wrong with this one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great House!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We celebrated our son's 14th birthday at this home a couple weekends ago, and I can't say enough about the house. It was terrific! Very clean (I even check under the mattresses these days!), and roomy! It's a perfect set-up for families w/children because the kids stay downstairs and play their games while the adults have their own games upstairs, in the spacious living room. The kitchen's right there, so you never "want" for anything! It has a great layout, and the ski-in, ski-out part was a blast! We were lucky to get the house the way we did, as someone cancelled last minute, and are greatful for the wonderful memories!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Himmlischer Chateau – A Memory Maker

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Thank you for the GREAT vacation! The kids had a blast and we all really enjoy it.

The house is impeccable in every sense. The abundant sunlight entering the house in the morning revitalizes any tired body and mind. The mountain air blowing through the trees is refreshing. Even the morning coffee tastes better. The day is well-spent in the pool and the playground. As the day draws to an end, the kids play their video games on the wall-sized screen theater downstairs. Then they follow up with a movie playing in the downstairs theater room while dad and mom watch their favorite movie on the theater screen upstairs.

The girls put on their Hanna Montana helmets and we drove the golf cart to the community pool. Everybody enjoyed the slides and the swimming pool. On the way back from the pool, we stopped by the playground to climb the monkey bars. The ride is only 4 minutes yet at least one deer was spotted during each trip.

Back at the Chateau, we barbequed on the grill next to the hot tub (to be enjoyed later) and ate in the mountain air. As we finish lunch, a phone call from Philadelphia comes in to give us regards and to inform us that the weather there is 98 degrees with super sticky humidity. We finish the call with a coy smile.

We then went inside and enjoyed some interactive competitive play on the Wii. The screen is larger than life and adds intensity to the game. Both kids enjoyed beating mom and dad. We shot a game of pool and then it was time to relax with a family movie.

As the night drew to a close, the girls watched their own movie with popcorn in the theater while our adventure film played upstairs. We all relaxed in the hot tub on the porch and then it was time for bed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

Simply amazing! we had a simply amazing time! The house is stunning and the mountain beautiful! John and Terri, thank you so much! We had a blast! To anyone considering this beautiful place please feel free to
e-mail me. Simply amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 17, 2009   Date of arrival: November 17, 2009

We stayed in the house for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hot tub/sauna combination was a big hit. The large screen TV's were perfect for watching movies and sporting events. The large kitchen suited all our needs and we had a large group staying there. Being so close to the lodge was a plus as well as we could run over to the store located there for any supplies. We plan on staying here again next year. I recommend this house for anyone planning a Poconos trip. Although it was not ski season, I could see this house would be incredible for a ski trip as well with such easy access to the slopes.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Thanks so much for creating such a fabulous place for a family vacation. With 15 of us, it's not always easy to please everyone. Our 7 grandchildren range in age from 4 to 16 and no one was disappointed. The eight adults had a ball gathering in the kitchen while the kids played all the games. Movies were the best on the big screens. The pool was easily accessible and the beach really clean.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 12, 2009

Our group had a wonderful time in your gorgeous home! It is truly one-of-a-kind and suited our needs perfectly. The location on the mountain is ideal, and the amenities are just amazing. A perfect rental for families and groups of friends for sure. We look forward to another stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Ed/John,

Our stay was just about perfect. I wanted to thank you for renting out your home to our family this past weekend and for being available to answer any questions we had. This is the 4th year I organized a winter retreat and this was, by far, the best place we've stayed at. One has to appreciate all the custom work and detail that went into the home, from the materials, down to the wiring. Playing games and watching movies were amazing on the 16' and 14' projection screens. The house was relatively quiet from floor-to-floor, especially considering how loud the elite sound systems were. The plasma TV in the kitchen was perfect for showing a slideshow of our pictures. We utilized almost every amenity in the house. The location was perfect...we got 2-day rentals for skiing and skiied in/out of the house, which was amazingly convenient considering we normally trek 90 minutes to the closest ski resort from Philly. Even the lodge was only a 2-minute walk from the house. I could really go on and on about how much we enjoyed our stay, but I'd just like you to know that all our guests thanked me for spotting such a great find. My only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough. Thanks and I hope to rent again soon!

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 3, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Just wanted to say we had the best time at this home. We rented it the weekend of 11/21/2008 for my birthday. We had a mixed group of people but this house had everything you could possibly need to have a great time. Hope to come back next year!!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

John,
Our experience at the Himmlisher Chateau was absolutely wonderful. The house was remarkably clean and the atmosphere, so relaxing. We were just there last week and look forward to returning next year. Truly felt like our home away from home, and no one wanted to leave!! 11/14/2008

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 7, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this property with 3 other couples the first week of Nov08. I was thrilled to find that the house was immaculately clean. The bedrooms were more spacious than the pictures portrayed. We were so comfortable in the house with all of its amenities that we ventured out only once. The community is very quiet. The house is very relaxing and definitely family-friendly - I hope to book again soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The house is beautiful. Very new and clean with great amenities such as the 14' TV screen, hot tub, game room which everyone enjoyed-adults and children alike. Masthope Mtn. has alot to do in the summer such as the beautiful lake with beach, pool and horse back riding. Beautiful, well-kept community!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Five-Star Home!

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 29, 2008

The house is everything it was described as and more! The location on the mountain side is perfect for skiers, the setting is beautiful, and the house itself is very family friendly. The state-of-the-art kitchen and electronics only enhanced our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The best mountain house I ever rented

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: January 24, 2008

I stayed at this house based on a recommendation from a friend, and they were right. The house is set up on three floors. The first floor has bedrooms, a movie theater and game room. The second floor has TWO master suites that look out on the ski slopes, and two other bedrooms. The top floor has a monstrous kitchen and dining room, a 15 foot tall fireplace, and a very large living room. It also has a 20 foot movie screen, with a great sound system. This house has a lot going for it. First off, it is located on the slope. I mean you walk out your door and put your skis on. The layout makes it great for staying and entertaining with large groups. We stayed with four families without anybody getting in each other's way. Because of the great layout, when we stayed, the kids pretty much entertained themselves on the first floor, playing video games on a 12 foot screen. The "adults" partied on the top floor with our own theater, as well as the huge hot tub out on the deck. This house is the only mountain house I will ever rent.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

4/25/08 - JOHN, We had the greatest time my husband rented the house for my 40th birthday for me and my girlfriends the age group was from 18 to 60 we had a blast. This is the 2nd time I had rented this house we previously rented it for superbowl sunday and it only gets better. We had fun just sitting around and hanging in the house to going to the lodge on Saturday playing bingo and going to the bar for kariokee. Well I am sure this won't be the last time we will be staying. Thanks Roseann

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

House rental

Review submitted: April 7, 2008   Date of arrival: April 4, 2008

This house was everything we hoped it would be. We went to celebrate my wife's 30 birthday for the weekend. We had 12 people in all and it was fabulous. WE stil had plenty of room. The game room was great. The theater was incredible and the golf cart was perfect to get around. We look forward to coming back to experience this house during the fall season. We Thank You for sucha memorable trip!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

John the house was great, the mountain was great and everyone we delt with from the lift attendents to the people in the front office are great. We had 18 people in our party including children starting with a 3year old and going up. Everyone had a blast and can't wait until next year. We fit everyone in the house and still had plenty of room. The kids enjoyed the downstairs while the adults enjoyed the upstairs. The skiing was excellent and although we had one night of rain the conditons were great. Looking forward to next year.

Rob and Natalie Morris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

1-18-08 to 1-22-08

What a beautiful retreat! The moment we pulled into the driveway and opened the door, we felt like we were home. Young and old ran about the place to check out every nook and were pleasantly surprised at every turn. A magnificent house with a cozy feel coupled with all the extra amenities made it so you did not ever have to leave the house! But those of us who ventured out where greeted with the gorgeous views during our hikes and the quiet stillness of nature all just out our front door. The mountain kept the kids going all day long skiing and snowboarding without ever getting too crowded or noisy. With quick access to the mountain, it was easy to take a break to warm up and jump right back out to the slopes! We were also able to visit the stables and take a ride on the horses and let the kids feed the sheep. At night, we soaked in the the hot tub and then enjoyed our personal movie theater as we all piled on the couch. We definitely plan on making this an annual trip! We would also like to come back during a different season to check out some other sports and try fishing, golfing and horseback riding.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This was a great super bowl weekend. The house was wonderful and we even had the please of our home team winning the super bowl. We were about nineteen people all familes with children. We go away a lot as a group and this trip is on the top of the list. We loved the house more than we ever expected. I was so impressed that I want to rent it for my 40th birthday weekend. The ski resort was perfet not too crowded and everyone at every age level from 5 to 45 had something to do. I know this will be a yearly thing as far as we are concerned.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Awsome! What a great way to start the New Year! That was just the get away our family needed. My husband and I own our own business and were looking forward to our vacation but were blown away when we saw the amazing "mountain house". It was far more than we had ever expected. Very spacious, tastefully designed with more comforts than home. We have vacationed in every state on the East Coast, numerous tropical islands, South American countries, and even took an extended cross country trip from New Jersey to Washington State and back again. But this was the quality time we needed to get back to the basic of life. My daughter and I really enjoyed the moring hikes thru the wooded trails. Handfeeding the deer just outside the back door was a one of her favorites.

Our boys loved having the "house at the top of the mountain",not to mention their own high-tech theatre/game room downstairs.Being located so close to the lodge, trails and lifts was a great conveience.

My husband and I enjoyed the hottub on the upper deck, very relaxing and what a view! We're looking forward to our return vacation retreat. Next time we'd like to try a change of season, maybe check out the lake for some water sports this Summer. Thank you for opening your dream home to us. It was a vacation that will always be truely appreciated by our whole family.

Thanks again, Helen and Tim Lenzsch

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

John, Great time!! Best last minute vacation! Everyone had a blast. We don't know where the time went, 4 days of fun flew by and we only left the house to ski! Opened the front door to say Hi to the deer every day, as they are always out front. Can't wait till November. Or sooner..Thanks for a great home! Cathy Rhoads

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We've stayed at Masthope before,but never with such beautiful accomidations. What a house! Our family had the best of our winter vacations this year. This house belongs in Colorado! The amenities are unbeliveable-we can't wait tocome back in other seasons. There isn't anything you can't do here. Depending on the season you can fish, enjoy water sports,golf, horseback riding,hiking and snow skiing/snow sports. Nature at it's finest. Spectacular views! We love it! It was a wonderful family getaway with other great friends and their families. The adults cooked and socialized in an awesome kitchen/living room theater. The kids could not have had more fun in the game roomw/actual theater seating w/12' screen to play their games on(PS3, XBOX, etc.) as well as watching movies!Thanks so much for offering such a beautiful family getaway! We couldn't ask for more. We will defiinitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

WOW ! Great location on mountain. If you want the best house available this is it. Ski in and out, walk to lodge, pro shop and convenience store. Great views and plenty of room in house for all to enjoy as a group or in private. Park your car and never move it for length of stay. This is living with the life of luxury.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review