reviews for: listing #48809 - Glacier National Park, Montana Cottage rental

Glacier View River Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $300 /nt
    $600 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Piece of Heaven by Glacier Park

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

What a beautiful piece of heaven we found at Glacier Vista River Cottage. It works so well for two couples, allowing privacy and yet great gathering room. Wonderful to sit on the porches, watch the deer play in the yard, or go down to the river to enjoy the gazebo and fire pit. Glacier Park being so close is an added bonus, such a beautiful area. We had a wonderful experience with the property manager, very easy to work with and the house is so well kept, well supplied. We will definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The Glacier Vista River Cottage was a wonderful respite from the road. We had been traveling awhile, staying in hotels and this was exactly what we needed. The cottage was inviting and the property manager Camille was very easy to work with. She responded quickly to our questions and was very accommodating when we asked to modify the dates of our stay. (We had checked the online calendar before asking) She also was very responsive when we had some difficulty with the internet. The cottage was private, clean and comfortable. It was an easy drive to Glacier and also had a grocery store nearby. We would highly recommend this rental to others who plan on visiting Glacier.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

We loved GRVC. Beautiful home and property in a great location. Camille took such good care of us and was delightful to do business with! Definitely recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and really enjoyed the location. The cabin was perfect for two couples, two queen beds and two bathrooms. If the weather would have been nicer we would have spent time out by the river, it was beautiful there. Nice central location for going to Whitefish or Kalispel. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for others.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing and Fun

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We have always used motels before but this was like home away from home.
We were treated like family and given the run of the place. Our grandkids had a blast and we built a fire and they filled up on marshmellows, graham crackers and hershey bars.This was such a perfect place for our family vacation to the Kalispell area. We were close to everything yet we were secluded in the woods. The gazebo by the river was a treat.. The cottage was clean, modern, roomy, and had everything we needed. We will recommend to our friends, and we hope to go back there on our next trip to the Kalispell area.

Recommended for: Anyone including 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway, you name it. We will be baaaack.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Bird Lover's Paradise

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 10 days at GVRC and really enjoyed our stay. The weather did not cooperate, rainy and cool for most of the time as well as the rivers running high, fast, and silty, but we still got out and saw the Park and some of the towns in the area. I really liked the green space behind the cottage and along the river. As a birder and wildlife photographer, I saw 48 bird species just on the property and got some great pics of the wildflowers that were open. As far as the weather being so poor, I've been told that early June is not a good time to visit and later in the summer would have been better, although this probably changes from year to year. I would not hesitate to visit again but living in north Florida and not flying makes traveling out West problematic. On this trip it took 2,768 miles to Avione's front door from ours. I must also say that Avione is an excellent host and took care of any problems that we had. You can't go wrong with staying at the GVRC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a place!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

When in Kalispell, Montana and one wants to secure a place to vacation we recommend this cottage. When you first open the door you feel welcomed and at home. It has all the comforts of home. Just walk in with your toothbrush, soap, and shampoo the rest is there. Don’t forget to get your groceries because the kitchen is ready to cook & be sure to get hot dogs & marshmallows because the fire pit & gazebo is amazing & has a secluded feel. Just sit back and swing and enjoy the solitude with the river flowing by. There is plenty of space for the kids to run around in the yard & out by the gazebo.

Our grandchildren had a blast here. Close to the West entrance to Glacier National Park. You have great views of the mountains.

Best place we have stayed at. The accommodations beat a resort hands down.
Rose and Gonzalo, Las Vegas NV.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a place!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

When in Kalispell, Montana and one wants to secure a place to vacation we recommend this cottage. When you first open the door you feel welcomed and at home. It has all the comforts of home. Just walk in with your toothbrush, soap, and shampoo the rest is there. Don’t forget to get your groceries because the kitchen is ready to cook & be sure to get hot dogs & marshmallows because the fire pit & gazebo is amazing & has a secluded feel. Just sit back and swing and enjoy the solitude with the river flowing by. There is plenty of space for the kids to run around in the yard & out by the gazebo.

Our grandchildren had a blast here. Close to the West entrance to Glacier National Park. You have great views of the mountains.

Best place we have stayed at. The accommodations beat a resort hands down.
Rose and Gonzalo, Las Vegas NV.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic rental home

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

This was such a perfect place for our family vacation to Glacier. We were close to everything yet we felt like we were secluded in the woods. The gazebo by the river was a magical setting...we even caught a couple fish off the shoreline. The cottage was clean, modern, roomy, and had everything we needed. We will recommend to our friends, and we hope to go back there on our next Montana trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Slice of heaven

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We loved staying here and would recommend to anyone (except people we don't like because they'd ruin it!)The cottage was spotless when we arrived with enough linens, towels, pillows, pots, pans... even pancake mix. The property was beautiful - a gazebo that overlooked the Columbia river, a fire pit, and the cottage itself was well decorated and warm.

What I loved most were all the little touches - soft fleece blankets draped on every couch, a handbook of all the attractions in the area, restaurants etc, the kitchen was stocked with all kinds of useful cooking utensils (and as a home baker that means a lot to me). One of the brochures at the cottage was for a swanky restaurant at the top of Big Mountain at Kandahar Lodge - we ended up celebrating my birthday there and it simply spectacular.

Oh AND for anyone who hates leaving their comfy bed at home - the master bedroom had a memory foam mattress. My husband and I napped for 3 hours EVERY day of our week long stay there because the cottage was so quiet and comfortable and the bed was divine.

The cottage is close to everything - seemingly equidistant from Kalispell and Whitefish. Columbia Falls was the closest town but we traveled to all three regularly - enjoying 'to-die-for' Irish fare at The Craggy Range Bar & Grill and the best bagels I've ever had at Sandy's - both in Whitefish. Another must eat is at Wheat Montana in Kalispell. Seriously yummy bread, croissants and cinnamon rolls. I even bought bags of flour there to enjoy baking with back home.

Finally, Avione (the owner) was a pleasure to work with. He was flexible when necessary and always thoughtful and polite. Montana mums teach their boys well it seems (that's why I married one!)

Thanks Avione - we'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

Best of the best for sure, We visit this area at least once a year and hope this will be our getaway for that visit from now on. Thank you for going out of your way to make sure the cottage was accessible for my family. Hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a wonderful delight

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

My wife and i decided to take a winter CHRISTMAS AND NEW-YEARS vacation. I have never has a white Christmas....What a delight this was.
To begin with, We were overwhelmed with how clean and well kept this cottage was.
As a former banker, I have stayed in many five star hotels, and this little cottage on the river can compete with all of them.
It.s located in a relatively secluded area. The Flatlake river that runs across the back of the property is a real hard charging river,with all kinds of fish and some geese quietly sitting on the riverbank.
When we arrived ,we noticed that the driveway and the road to the river had just been plowed by the owner.There was fresh cut firewood readily available.
At the back of the property where the river is, There is a cozy Gazebo, and from that Gazebo You can see the mountains of Glacier National park,what a delight!
The cabin was totatly furnished, from furniture to kitchen equipment[even had a cork screw]. Not all five star hotels will have that!!!
All the appliances worked well, and we were able to keep warm and cozy....I would do this all over again in a New York minute.
We reccomend the cottage to all type of visitors and guests.
Clyde and Shirley,
Tampa, Fl

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

We rented this cottage for a week and it was a great value.Very clean and well maintained,We have a child with special needs and Avion went out of his way and had ramps built to access the cottage with a wheelchair.The rest of the cottage was already wheelchair accessable and worked awsome for our needs.10 out of 10 for sure

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spectacular Montana Rental Cabin by the River!

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

This was the dream vacation we always wanted and it was because of the beauty and serenity this cabin provided. It was clean, had everything we needed, and friendly owner who took great care in everything he did. It is easy to access both the river and stream during Summer. It has large outside living spaces with grass, trees (including an apple tree), and cozy chairs. The inside was very clean, organized, well-maintaned, and easy to make our new home away from home. The location couldn't be better. Close to city amenities, but still private and wooded. It gave easy access to Glacier Park, Kalispell, and White Fish. The description of the cottage is accurate and we felt even more pleased with it when we arrived. It is truly that wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Hidden Gem

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Glacier View River Cottage exceeded our expectations. We had never stayed in a vacation rental before and we were afraid that the place wouldn't be as represented. Boy did we get a surprise... it was AWESOME! We had absolutely everything we needed and the cottage was very up to date and decorated nicely. It was also nice to have a lot of land to call your own for a week. We went fishing, took walks, had camp fires, and enjoyed the amazing view from the gazebo. We will definitely stay here again if and when we return to Montana. For any skeptics out there, this is a great safe bet for an awesome vacation!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Last year my husband and I stayed here and loved it. This year we brought our friends. The cottage is perfect for two couples, well equiped, convenient to everything. We loved the easy access to Glacier National Park, and how close it was to Whitefish where we loved the ziplines!! You can't go wrong with this cottage as the living area is great and having your own private park in the back is an added bonus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

CONVENIENT - VALUE - COMFORT - FAVORITE RETREAT

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

My wife and I like to stay 2 weeks at a time. We have found the location to be one of the best in the Flathead Valley. Being north of Kalispell, placed us closer to Glacier Park and the Whitefish area. We love going to these two areas to sight see and shop. The location is only 2 miles to the Columbia Falls grocery stores and restaurants. The Cottage was very clean with 2 up to date bathrooms. It also had cable TV and Internet hook ups if you need them. The washer and dryer was very convenient for us because of our extend stay. The Cottage is also on a hard surface road that turns into a dead end. This kept the location quiet. One of the best things my wife and I liked was the private walks we could take on the property through the trees and end up sitting along the bank of the Flathead River. We could just enjoy the mountains at sunrise or sunset, look at Glacier Park and even watch the bears swimming across the Flathead River. I like to fish and you could actually see the fish in the water before you cast your line. I would have to say it doesn't get any better than this. If you want a great experience make sure you book this one early. Once the word gets out, this one will go fast.
Thanks Avione for providing a place where Montana's beauty is shown so well and at the same time so convenient. The only thing I disliked was having to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

We loved our stay in Montana!

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We absolutely love our stay in Montana and the cottage was great! It had everything we need and then some. It was very comfortable and the location worked out perfect; close to Glacier National Park and yet felt like we had our own private oasis. The hike to Hidden Lake in GNP is a must a long with The Backroom BBQ, yummy! The fire pit and fishing was a lot of fun at the cottage and we feel in love with the place as we had the wonderful view into Glacier from the river. This place is a must visit and we will definitely stay at the cottage again when we return to Montana!!! Thanks for sharing your cottage with us!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review