reviews for: listing #48825 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

Fall In Love with San Francisco in this Nob Hill Flat!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $279 /nt

sort by:

Great place.

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

We stayed a week in the apartment in May. The description on the website is accurate. It deserves the superlatives from the previous reviews. The apartment has all you need (plus extras; we appreciated the good design, the laundry, the W-LAN and the flat-screen TV). The apartment is newly decorated and well-maintained. The location is also perfect, in the middle of it all. Don't worry about the proximity to the cable cars, the glazing is good and they don't run in the middle of the night anyhow. Look out the window and enjoy them. We attended a conference for parts of our stay, and our colleagues were really envious...this is better than a hotel room ( the 30 bus or the cable cars take you to less than five minutes walk from the Moscone Centre, so it is really convenient if you are attending a conference there). The hosts (Nick and Melissa) were very nice and attentive through the whole renting process. Melissa's note on shopping for groceries in the area came in very handy, the hills are steep and you loose your orientation quickly if you don't know where you are heading so remember to print it out. The suggestions for restaurants were also good. For families (with kids with tired feet who just want to rest in the sofa after a long day of sightseeing) a suggestion for some good take-away places would be a nice addition! We will recommend this place to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Indeed, the flat is much more comfortable than a hotel room! I love to give recommendations and I know many of the restaurants around town, so please ask me! Great suggestion for the take-away menu....I am creating one right now:) Cheers, Melissa

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Wonderful place to explore the city

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We just returned from staying a week at this wonderful property on Nob Hill. We traveled with our teenage daughters, 14 and 16, and used the condo as a terrific home base to explore the entire city.

The location at the intersection of two street car lines made public transportation extremely fun and accessible. We rarely used taxis, but instead explored by jumping from street car to bus to F line trollers, and this really gave the kids a chance to experience all of the sights and sounds and smells of the city.

I can't tell you how many times we walked out of the condo and literally hopped aboard a passing street car, the waits were very short, and the cars connect you to places that are either final destinations, (the wharf, the ferry building, union square) or bus or F line connections to everywhere else. We took public transport to these places, plus the Haight, Golden Gate Park and the Presedio.

The condo itself is very well appointed, and big enough to accommodate four adults comfortably. The kitchen has everything necessary to prepare whatever meal you want to enjoy. We ventured to local vegetable markets and bakeries and delis to eat "at home" on several occasions. It is very well sound-proofed, no complaints about the noise, plus you're staying in the city, we wanted to hear the sounds!

Some tips: You must get a weekly pass to ride the MUNI buses, trollers and street cars. You can purchase them at the airport at the SFMTA information booth near the baggage claim area for $29 for seven days. They saved us a ton of money, and made jumping on and off the various transportation modes very easy.

Safeway will delivery groceries for free (first time) and nominal charge. We used them to stock up for the week, and then visited the Nob Hill Grocery at Clay and Taylor to pick up odds and ends. This little market is really nice, the folks there were friendly and helpful.

Melissa the owner/operator couldn't have been more helpful or lovely as she worked with us prior to the trip, and answered a couple of questions during the stay. We followed several of her restaurant suggestions that she provides, and they were all great. Especially the Nob Hill Cafe, this place is just up the street and really great.

Highly recommend this place for families or adults traveling on their own.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful apartment

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

The apartment was lovely as per the pictures. The beds were wonderful to sleep in and the kitchen island made it so conducive to cook a nice meal. The location is just door steps away from 2 cable car lines and you cannot get any nearer than that. My kids simply loved to take the cable cars everyday. I would recommend that you buy a 3 or 7 day pass so that you can take unlimited rides on the cable car during your stay, which otherwise would cost you $6 a ride. 4-5 rides on the cable car would already made your pass a worthwhile investment.

Melissa and Nick were such great people to deal with and they made the entire check-in and check-out processes so easy. During my stay, my kids messed up the settings on the television cable box and Nick was so helpful to run me through the settings despite being late at night. They they would also recommend places to buy groceries and also good restaurants. Without them, I would not have tasted my best breakfast experience at Mama's at Washington!

Some minor points to take note though. First, the parking garage was rather small. I rented a full sized sedan and already I felt that the parking space was tight. If you have anything bigger, you may want to explore street parking or another option. Secondly, while the apartment is really nicely located in between the main attractions such as the fisherman's wharf and union square and suggest that you can walk, the area around Nob Hill has many steep slopes. So you need to factor that in. A transport pass that costs around $22 or $28 for a 3-day or 7-day pass would resolve this issue though. These are really all very minor and the attractiveness this apartment offers far outweigh the minor issues.

I would certainly stay there again if I were to go to San Francisco again. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location for Vacation

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

My parents and I enjoyed our stay at Melissa's & Nick's flat. The location was convenient and it seemed that everything was within walking distance (Fisherman's Wharf ~20 minutes, Chinatown less than 5 minutes, coffee shop down the block, Cable Car Museum at the end of the block, grocery store ~10-15 minute walk). Since the Cable Car Museum is nearby, the cable cars are accessible almost right outside of the flat. We really appreciated Melissa's availability in answering emails and phone calls (even on a Saturday while at her son's birthday party). It was a pleasure working with honest and sincere people (it also provided a peace of mind).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a way to stay....

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

The flat was just as advertised, immaculate and well stocked for a weary traveler. Having a fully stocked kitchen and washer dryer available was also nice and gave us a homebase to explore from. The flat's location was great. North Beach and Chinatown were an easy walk and Union Square just a bit longer. Both trolley lines were right outside the door which made the Peirs just a ride away. You will need a little stamina if you just like to stroll and wander, as the hills can be quite steep depending on your route. Within a day or two (of our 7 day stay) we had the routes down pat and preferred to walk. We found some great little local restaurants nestled in the neighborhoods, where we would least expect them. Melissa accomodated all of our needs staying in touch prior to our arrival, providing lots of little tidbits of interest, and during our stay she made herself available to answer any question or need. She has filled a drawer in the kitchen filled with all sorts of information about the city and events. She was a wonderful host and I hope to do stay again sometime in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home in a wonderful city: We'll be back!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

We, a small family of three (51 and 49 yo parents + 15 yo son) from Germany) will remember this place as a perfect holiday home. We have fallen in love with San Francisco, and no place to stay could have been a better base than Melissa's and Nick's flat.

Our reasons why we rate the property with five particularly bright and shining stars are:

* The location. There's so much in walking distance: Chinatown, the wharves, the financial district, ... And if you don't want to walk up the hill again on your way back to the flat, two Cable Car lines stop right in front of the house. For destinations in other parts of the city, many buses stop nearby.

* The flat: It's clean, it has all the amenities and equipment you would need on your vacations, it's safe, and what is more: it made us feel comortable from the moment we entered.

* The owners: Melissa deserves an extra star for her friendliness, her reliablity, her excellent service - before, during and after our stay. Travelling so far abroad has been an adventure for us. But from the first contact, we knew we could rely on Melissa. Every detail worked out exactly as we had arranged and agreed, incl. the payment and very generous little extras.

So if you now read thru Melissa's description of the flat and the vicinity, if you look at the pictures, and ask yourself if they give a realistic impression: yes, they do. We found everything exactly as represented here.

Aren't the Cable Cars directly in front of the door quite noisy until 1:00 am or so? Yes, the are - but the windows really are quadruple paned. We opened the outside windows every evening to let fresh air in and then kept them closed. And the only thing that disturbed our sleep was my own snoring (that's what my wife and my son say).

Finally, Melissa's recommendations are well worth following:
- Do book a trip to Alcatraz before your holidays - otherwise the ferries can be completely booked.
- Nob Hill Café is a wonderful place for lunch and dinner.
- Mama's offers a fantastic breakfast: Be there before 8:00 am to avoid queueing (we saw 100 people waiting outside at 10:00 am, no kidding).
- Don't miss the Cable Car museum and
- last but not least, do not attempt to catch the Cable Cars at their final stops (at least not the lines between downtown and the harbour): Try the second or third station.

Many thanks to Melissa! I hope more guests will enjoy their stay like we enjoyed ours. And even more do we hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good as expected

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

We are a family of 4. Kids enjoyed the round shape bed and we enjoyed all the ameneties. Renting process and checking in were easy. Street is a little bit noisy since at the junction of 2 cable car lines but you are downtown...

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect place to stay in the city!

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Location, location, location! On the cable car routes which was extremely convenient, but they tend to get very busy in the afternoons and weekends. When that happened we just walked everywhere which ended up being our preferred method by the end of the week. Centrally located within walking distance of the wharf, ferry building and financial district. It is San Francisco though and there is a lot of hills - made for great exercise. Close to many parks with playsets (our 3 year old found each of them). Condo had everything we needed and felt like home. Thank you, can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

My husband and I were meeting my brother and his wife in San Francisco for vacation. We were coming from Florida and they were coming from NY. We wanted to stay somewhere that we could all be together under one roof, as opposed to separate hotel rooms. I searched online and stumbled across this flat in Nob Hill. It was not only beautiful, but affordable. The perfect place, and it happened to be available the week we were going to be in San Francisco. The pictures do not do this place justice! It is beautiful and the owner really thought of everything! I, personally, loved the round bed! It was so comfortable and is a lot bigger than it appears in the pics! We loved the fact that we could make snacks and meals if we wanted to, as opposed to going out, and the laundry was right outside our door. We had access to everything we needed and the location was so central and perfect! It made us feel like we were truly part of the city, and not just visiting. I felt safe and at home during my stay and highly recommend! It was a great vacation and amazing experience and I look forward to my next stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect apartment in Nob Hill

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012, for a 3 night stay together with another couple during our California road trip. None of us had been to SF before but knew we wanted to stay around Nob Hill.
We were not disappointed! Nick and Melissa were so helpful and genuine, providing us with all sorts of advice and tips.
The location was perfect, the trams were on the doorstep allowing us to easily get to everywhere we wanted to visit during our stay.
Everything was clean and well maintained.
Nob Hill Cafe is just a short walk providing an excellent place for casual dining. And a general store is opposite the apt for OJ, Milk, etc.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this apt to anyone; and when we visit SF again we will definitely make sure we stay here!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This condo was the perfect accommodations for two couples traveling to San Francisco. The condo was clean, comfortable and is situated close to many amenities and attractions. We walked to Chinatown and the Wharf; caught public transit to AT&T Park; a short cab ride to Castro, Mission and Market Street; and cable cars are right outside the doors. Nick and Melissa are friendly and welcoming. Booking the condo was easy. We will definately stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent experience

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our one year old daughter. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. As soon as we stepped off the airport shuttle, Nick was there with his son to greet us and help us with our luggage. He showed us the apartment and gave us all the info we needed. We especially appreciated his and Melissa's help accommodating our baby's needs; they happily provided a pack-n-play and high chair at no additional charge. The flat was clean and comfortable, and had all of the amenities we needed. The location was great, and it was easy to get around the city without a car. The flat was quite roomy for the three of us. Nick and Melissa were very timely in refunding our damage deposit after our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic location, lots of space.

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

I highly recommend this apartment. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter and the location was perfect for us. We didn't have a car so used public transport including the cable car which stopped outside the apartment. The two bedrooms were large and beds extremely comfortable. We were able to cook at home on those nights when we too tired to head out again. Melissa and Nick were very friendly and made us feel at home, including leaving teabags, condiments, shampoo, conditioner, soap and washing powder for us. We loved San Francisco and our stay was made so much easier by being so central but in a very safe area. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place with a great location

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

I stayed in the unit with my 3 kids. There are two nice sized and comfortable beds that no one complained about. The unit is very well kept and very stylish. Two different cable car stops are right in front of the unit so it is easy access if you want to ride a cable car.

If you like Chinese food or exploring Chinatown in general then this is the place for you. Chinatown is 5 minute walk away from the unit. Try the food at Great Eastern on Jackson st. The roast duck is fabulous. Some people in previous posts complained about noise from cable cars. This is not an issue unless you are very sensitive to noise. You can hear the tenants above you walking at night, but this is to be expected in an urban environment. My kids and I loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat.

Rindge Leaphart

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We came to San Francisco for a wedding taking place at the South End Rowing Club, near the Fisherman's Wharf. With the bride and groom living near Union Square, we could not have asked for a better location! A short walk to about everywhere in town.

The apartment was very well maintained and had a number of nice modern touches--props for the option to use the water use reducing shower head.

Melissa and Nick were also very communicative in advance of our trip. We booked on short notice and they were helpful in advising us how to get to the property and provided a number of suggestions for activities to do while we were in town; they have an array of guidebooks and maps to get around.

I can't wait to get back to SF and to stay here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Friendly and great place to stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My family and I stayed at this apartment the last week of July 2011. Apprehensive as first time users of Homeaway rentals but really pleased with the property and the owners. Melissa and Nick are really friendly and eager to please and will help with any questions you may have. Nick offered to help us park the SUV in the garage but as we are both drivers we felt we were able to manage but it was very kind of him to offer the help. We hired a Chevrolet Jeep and that fitted in the garage. The apartment had everything you could ask for and had use of washing machine and drier, all detergents are supplied for your use. The apartment is in a great location with the tram stopping literally outside the door. The trams get very full and won't stop if there is no room and they do get full! The listing was very accurate and the property was very well looked after. We managed a trip to Yosemite whilst there, it was a fair drive but well worth it if you have the time. If you wish to visit Alcatraz book before you travel, we spoke to another family who were unable to get a trip. We had a fantastic time and would definitely use this property again. Thank you Melissa and Nick!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best in San Francisco

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

I've been visiting San Francisco regularly for many years but since discovering this location two years ago I will never stay anywhere else. Nick and Melissa are great hosts who will do everything possible to accomodate your needs. And the location can't be beat. You are right on the cable car lines and 2 blocks to Chinatown. Another 3 blocks and you're in the middle of North Beach. Two tips for first time visitors, buy a Muni Visitors Pass at the Airport Kiosks and enjoy unlimited Muni transit all over the city including cable cars. Also don't miss the Nob Hill Cafe just three blocks away on Taylor near the corner of Clay. It's a wonderful neighborhood restaurant with good food and reasonable prices that will make you feel like a local. And most important of all get in touch with Melissa and Nick before you make any reservations. If this unit isn't right for you they have additional options in the same location that provide the flexibility to meet the needs of almost group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We left our hearts...

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Our family of three (adults) had an amazing experience here. The unit is very comfortable with everything furnished you'll need for your stay. Melissa & Nick were fabulous hosts. Melissa provided us with list of all the hot spots for meals out & shopping, while Nick was there to familiarize us with the area. He was even kind enough to fit our SUV into the garage! Internet service made it easy to stay in touch with family & the office. This place is perfectly located for most every activities with cable cars running by the unit. The double pane windows in the bedrooms keep the noise out for a peaceful night sleep. It was truly a memorable trip.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Even better the second time around!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Just returned from our visit to SFO......felt like returning home! This was our second time at the Jackson apt..... TERRIFIC........looking forward to a third visit to this little jewel!. Melissa and Nick are fabulous hosts and take excellent care of their guests; they think of everything. Thanks!
Alek and Priscilla, Longmeadow, MA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent with family

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We recently stayed in the flat for a week during our spring vacation and we had a wonderful time. It is very modern and comfortable, great location and Melissa is fantastic. And the laundry, especially with kids, is a real bonus. Thank you Melissa for a providing a great venue for a hassle free vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Flat and Location

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We stayed at this flat in March 2011 and loved it- the location is terrific. Great location for walks to Union Square, Chinatown, waterfront. The ad is a true reflection of the amenities. We will recommend this place to our friends and relatives. Thank you Melissa and Nick

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Property, great hospitality

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Nick & Melissa, thank you for all the personal touches that made our stay in the apartment and San Francisco such a great experience, advice on trams, where to eat, visit and how to get around was so helpful as was the of the travel cot for our 2 year old.
The apartment is in such a great location and really us a home away from home. You can walk to so many locations or hop on the tram. If we ever return to San Francisco we will stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Apartment

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

I recently stayed in this apartment and was very happy with the central location, close to Chinatown, Fishermans Wharf and a 5 min cable car ride to the city. The apartment was comfortable, spacious and felt like home quickly. Nick and Melissa are extremely gracious hosts and very mindful of you comfort and peace of mind. One of the other bonus' was there is a very nice internet cafe just across the road with a reliable computers, when you are traveling without a computer a reliable and friendly internet cafe is difficult to find. Do yourself a favour, you will not regret your choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely perfect - amenities, location, service!

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

This property is the best! The owners are meticulous about making sure the place is clean and even check in with you to make sure you have everything you need. The unit was so clean and stocked with good quality items - no cheap towels! They definately do no cut corners, and it shows. The location is excellent - you can get to everywhere in a short time and spend lots of time on the cable cars. Very easy to get around to all areas of the city. I would highly recommend this property to friends. We will be reserving our week for next year as soon as I have the exact dates. It truly was perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feel like a local in San Francisco

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a week in SF for my 50th birthday. This condo unit is just the perfect place and location for a stay in SF. Before we arrived, Nick and Melissa were completely helpful with every step. Even though she was due to deliver a baby at the end of our stay, she still took care of everything. The condo is beautiful and well organized. We couldn't ask for a better place. Everything is very up-to-date and well stocked. We felt like real locals stepping off the cable car at our front door and walking up the steps to the condo. While some reviews of this unit claim they never hear the cable cars, I will say there are times you DO hear them, but we really grew to love the sound and tuned it out at other times. They did a great job insulating the windows and walls. I would recommend renting any unit from Nick and Melissa. They know what they are doing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific stay!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

Just returned from spending10 days at Jackson 1005. The unit is as gorgeous as the pictures. Could not believe how well stocked the apartment is; everything you could possibly need is there! We have rented several times in SFO and must say this by far has been the best experience. Nick and Melissa are incredibly prompt, attentive and helpful......Could not ask for better landlords! Cable cars are at your doorstep......proximity to Union Sq. and shopping is only minutes away. There are a couple of good restaurants close by as well as convenience stores....In all terrific. Plan to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the space

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Great apartment, centrally located. Having access to the garage was a plus, since street parking in SF can be a challenge, to say the least (note that the garage is only large enough for a mid-size car or smaller, and it does not have an automatic opener). Melissa and Eric were great hosts, and the apartment had all of the things you would want for a extended stay in SF - WiFi, flat screen TV, easy access to laundry. Our only quibble was the proximity to the cable cars, which run continuously from about 6am until near midnight. We had the windows open for ventilation, and it was pretty hard to get to sleep with the noise from the cable cars - that was the only negative to the location for us. By the way, it's a short walk to some great neighborhood restaurants - we ate at the Nob Hill Cafe our last night. Great meal and a reasonable price.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments. One of the biggest benefits of this flat is that it is centrally located and within walking distance to all tourist attractions – as such it’s in close proximity to cable car lines. When we designed the unit we have taken in consideration the proximity of cable cars and hired a sound engineering firm to design the unit. We have incorporated the design (double walls, QuietRock sheetrock, quadruple soundproof windows…) that has achieved an STC 72 rating. In comparison, a regular house has an STC rating of 32 to 40. To achieve the soundproofing level of STC 72, all the windows have to be closed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

LOVED IT!!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

We stayed there for a few days in September, it was wonderful, nick & melissa are great and helpful, the apartment is very well located, it's very clean, well decorated so you can feel like home, we have a 3 year old and it was safe for her, next to the kitchen is conveniently the laundry room and that made me happy :), I recommend it for a family vacation, it was my first time in SF and I will go back and stay there again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great apartment - Beautiful AND affordable!!!!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

I have just returned from my stay in San Francisco and I am happy to say how much I enjoyed my trip!

Firstly, Melissa and Nick are incredibly responsive when it comes to questions and booking.

Secondly, the apartment is exactly as promised AND reviewed. I was skeptical about the comments that mentioned not really hearing the cable cars. But you don't!!!

You can hear the cable cars during the day, the bells and such. But at night, it's surprisingly easy to sleep through. There were three of us staying in the apartment and none of us were bothered by the cable cars.

And speaking of the cable cars - the location was perfect! It was so easy to step on and off the cable cars. Plus, Chinatown is just a short jaunt away.

This is a great apartment and very affordable! I would recommend this for a romantic trip, a family trip...any trip! The location make just about everything convenient.

~M

PS - the round bed is gigantic! It slept 2 people with no problem - and one is 6'2"!!!

TIPS:
- If you want to purchase beer or wine after hours, you have to travel down towards Powell or near Broadway. If you know you want something to drink, make sure to pick that stuff up during the day. Easier than trekking around late at night.
- This place is quiet but it is not impervious to noise. For those of you [me included] who are not used to noise, remember that this is a city and will never be devoid of noise.
- Take advantage of the full stocked kitchen! It's so easy to grab some food at the market for a dinner at home OR better yet, order more food when you go out and bring home the leftovers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

We had a marvellous time in San
Francisco mainly due to the position &
comfort of this apt. Our granddaughter
loved the round bed We also had
wonderful weather which helped. The
flat was lovely to return to after each
hectic day, thank you for letting us
rent it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

We could not recommend this lovely, cheer-filled
home with greater enthusiasm. We felt like we had
a perfect abode for our adventures in SF. I
attended a conference at the Fairmount just up the
hill, a lovely steep but short distance away. Our
kids were in heaven, with playgrounds all around,
and we loved the proximity to the water,
Chinatown, and towards other more ritzy areas.
The home was spotless and full of amenities. We
mostly loved the round bed, which my kids fought
us for, and mostly won, each night! Enjoy! On top
of it all, Nick and Melissa could not have been more
welcoming and helpful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

This was our home for over 2 weeks. It is a wonderful place to experience the San Francisco life! The owners have tastefully decorated. We entertained in the modern but cozy kitchen more than we went out to dinner.We had everything we needed and everyone loved it! I cried when we left!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to stay to see the city!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

We had an amazing time staying in this condo and seeing the city! It is just as nice as the photos and with extra bonuses such as movie channels after a long day of walking all around the city.

The furniture is comfortable and the condo is neat and clean with all the amenities you need. The round bed is huge and so luxurious after a long day!

It is also in a perfect location to walk all over the city. As well with the cable cars right outside you never have to wait for a ride! Nick and Melissa made the perfect stay complete with their availability with information and warm hospitality! We fell in love with this city and will stay in a condo from Nick and Melissa again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

We had a great few nights at this apartment - best of all, we didn't need to get the car out of the garage as it was so close to all the attractions and great spots to eat.
Nick and Melissa have thought of everything from the tourist booklets and maps, right down to an umbrella should the weather turn rough.
Highly recommend for those wanting to sample the best of what San Fran has to offer.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Trolley stop Flat

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

Melissa and Nick are the people that make travel and lodging in San Francisco a real pleasure. The flat and its location were ideal.We travel very often and would rate this stay a 10+.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

This 2 bedroom apartment was a great place to stay during our vacation. The location was excellent, easy to get everywhere! Nick and Melissa were very welcoming and provided us with lots of useful information. The apartment is furnished to a high standard with everything that you could need during your stay. We would love to stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cable Car heaven

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed for 6 days during August. This apartment is on a corner where two cable cars routes meet. You are therefore in a great position for easy access to all parts of the city. The apartment is double glazed so the clang clang ding ding of the cable cars is a comforting background noise.
It is also modern and very well equipped - and we appreciated the central heating (those chilly San Francisco evenings !)
The owners are friendly, pleased to see you and always on hand for advice and help.
We had a great stay and would come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nob Hill Gem

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

This property was exactly as portrayed and was very nice. The location is convenient for public transportation and getting to most city attractions. The apartment is attractive and well maintained and I enjoyed my time there. I would definitely recommend this property to others and intend to rent it again on my next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wish We Stayed Longer!

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We stayed in this flat 4 nights as a kickoff point for a trip down the coast to Los Angeles. Melissa and Nick made us feel quite welcomed and were very helpful. The flat was clean and modern and lived up to our expectations and our teenagers standards! The location couldn't have been any better and within walking distance to many places even though we had fun taking the cable cars back up the hills a few times. We rented a car and visited Magnificent Muir Woods and Saulsilito (go early to both places, it gets really crowed later on.) A trip to San Jose (50 mins.) to visit the Winchester Mystery House was interesting but not really worth the trip unless it is on the way to somewhere.
We had outstanding meals in a few restaurants in North Beach and even in touristy Fisherman's Wharf. Union Square was great for shopping (especially for a 14 year old girl.) The Giant's game was great for my 15 year old son. Coit tower was a hit for both as was Alcatraz. (Make sure you make reservations online for Alcatraz early, as much as 2 wks. ahead or more for the night tour.)
The only regret we had is that we didn't stay longer!
I would recomend this flat to anyone and hope to be back someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A terrific alternative to overpriced hotels in SF

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

I decided to make my convention trip to SF also a family vacation. So my husband found this terrific affordable place for a family with two kids (ages 2 and 4). Having a full kitchen and a washer and a dryer made our stay with kids completely manageable. The kids LOVED the red round bed and the cable car rides. The older one still calls it our home in SF, and we hope to be back soon. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating, and patient with us, especially when we were having problems with using the on-line paypal system to make payments.

One note of advice/caution to other parents considering this place: The garage is very tight and our minivan barely fit in it. If either of you are a skilled driver, you will be fine. However, if not, then you may want to bring a smaller family car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

This a remarkable location for any SF visit. It is right on the cable car lines and an easy walk to Chinatown, North Beach, and Fisherman's Wharf. The place was immaculate and you couldn't ask for better hosts than Nick and Melissa. The washer and dryer access made it easy to travel light. Be sure to buy Visitor Passports at the Airport for unlimited Cable Car and MUNI use. They are available for 1, 3, or 7 days and pay for themselves in no time if you are using the cable cars to get around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Why stay in a box when there are places like this

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

We have just returned after nine wonderful days at this condo. Centrally situated, wonderfully equipped and very very comfortable. I cannot understand why anyone would opt for a small expensive homogenised box of a hotel room when for less money you can stay on Nob Hill, at the junction of two cable car lines, so getting anywhere is simple. I suppose I should acknowledge that for our first two hours I wondered whether such close proximity to the cable cars would be a mixed blessing, but the triple glazing works and very soon they become a reassuring rhythm of city life.
Don't spend your money on budget hotels, invest it in a condo, Live like a native for a while, a block from the heart of Chinatown, minutes from Little Italy, a leisurely stroll to the top of Nob Hill, even on my old legs, and seconds from the Gallery Cafe, where nice people serve great coffee, better Oatmeal and you can use the Internet if you haven't brought the technology with you, whilst listening to lovely music.
Stay here, you owe it to yourself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed in this very beautifully designed and lovely condo for several days. The condo was very clean and "new" looking and had everything we needed. We loved the round bed and the great kitchen. There was a great view of the Bay and it was surprisingly quiet. The owners were very nice and helpful and made our stay pleasurable!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Flat, Great Value, and Perfect Location!

Review submitted: December 9, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

I stayed in this beautiful flat for a weekend getaway with my wife and 2 young children. The flat itself was perfect for us....very nice, comfortable, and the location was perfect! The owners were extremely friendly and helpful too. I would highly reccommend you rent this flat for your vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review