reviews for: listing #4885 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Oceanfront, Private, Lushly Landscaped, Sombrero Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sombrero Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,900 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect home for relaxing vacation

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

The house is very nice and well equipped - we felt very comfortable immediately after arrival. The location is very quiet - perfect for relaxing and good sleep. The patio in the backyard provided a beautiful look over the sea - we had wonderful sunset barbecues at this place.?Facilities for daily shopping are available in short driving distance (supermarkets and shops at the highway in < 1 mile distances).? For swimmers the access to the open water is not easy directly from the house but there is the beautiful Sombrero Beach within walking distance (10 minutes) - very nice and clean beach with all facilities and only a few visitors during our stay.? The kayaks which are provided for free gave us a lot of fun - we really enjoyed kayaking around Boot Key and in the channels visiting birds. ?The house owner Anne Wilson was very friendly and thoughtful - she provided us with so many details about the house and the local amenities/attractions and called to assure that everything was OK - a small repair of a leaking sink was immediately fixed on the same day by a plumbing company.? Overall we felt very comfortable with this place and stay and would absolutely recommend this house for vacation. When we come back to Florida Keys in future this house will be our first option.

Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words can't describe it

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

We rented Treasure Island as a part of an annual get-a-way/reunion. This rental is ideally located near Sombrero Beach in Marathon, 2 miles from Rt 1. Beautiful spacious home. Nicely furnished and much more than adequately equipped. Beautiful sunsets right off the back patio. Excellent value!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible vacation home

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It's right on the water and secluded. My Husband and I came with my niece and truly enjoyed our stay. The house is clean and well kept and very comfortable, especially the beds. If you truly want a home away from home, this is the place to stay. They were happy to answer any questions and had great recommendations on places to eat and things to do. The kayaks are a great bonus as there are places to explore and aren't hard to get to. Wonderful!!!

RT, Albuquerque, NM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A place to do nothing

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

I read a few years back that the Keys are the best place in which to do absolutely nothing. And it could not be more apt when staying at this Treasure Road vacation home rental, overseen by an owner who pays attention to small detail. A lovely, ocean-front home at the end of a cul-de-sac, situated about twenty-five feet from a seawall, amid lush green landscaping, the place is immaculate and comfortable. (Stress immaculate. We have never stayed in a more clean rental property.) When I stand behind the kitchen counter making coffee in the morning and look out at the wildlife gliding by over the stunning azure ocean backdrop, I find myself wondering why we don’t live in the Keys.??But back to anne Wilson's Treasure Road. My wife and I have stayed here several times in recent years and each time we leave thinking about the next visit. Comfortable bed, a master bath, plenty of other sleeping space, a spacious kitchen with anything you could ever need if you choose to cook, secure wireless internet that is about the speediest I’ve encountered, a couch and living room setup that would accommodate at least ten to twelve in front of the LCD flat screen, the place in which to do absolutely nothing.??Within view lies Sombrero Beach, a neat town-owned sandy little paradise with plenty of parking if you care to swim. No pool here, but two kayaks parked beside the garage beckon if you have a mind to cruise the waters, in the peace and quiet of being removed from the world. ??Probably the smoothest rental transaction we've encountered. Never a problem. Expectations clearly enumerated in a rental document and an owner who is easy to stay in touch with.??Again, a great place to do nothing!??We’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home with exceptional views and great ...

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

Lovely home with exceptional views and great vacation.
This is our third stay at this home. The view is beautiful!!! The home has an open floor plan and is very clean and comfortable. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The patio is a great place to relax. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare your meals or there are many great restaurants in the area if you prefer to not cook. The home is nestled at the end of a quiet street... very private....no traffic and beautiful landscaping. The Sombrero Beach area is a nice area to walk, run or ride bikes in. Grocery stores are just 2 miles away. A perfect place to enjoy the beautiful Florida Keys!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic! Loved it!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

I met with my family from Germany to spend a week of quality time together. We all had a fantastic time on the Keys and the house was absolutely perfect for us. We very much enjoyed the ocean and the beach, and sat a lot on the patio and the ocean wall. The house has a great size, we enjoyed the time together but also having space. The location is perfect, very private, but close to everything (shopping, restaurants, activities). Everything in and around the house was nice and clean, and the rooms were very comfortable, we appreciated the private bathrooms and the kitchen was big and well equipped. We cooked or grilled out every night. We used the kayaks a lot to paddle over to the beach and also explored into the mangroves and on a little island which is well withing sight from the house. The owner was very nice and helpful. I can absolutely recommend this house and we all would love to come back :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream vacation home.

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

My family spent our April 2009 vacation at Anne’s home, and we have already booked our 2010 trip there as well. The oceanfront house is immaculate, beautifully furnished and located in a setting that will create memories to be cherished forever. My daughters enjoyed waking up early to watch the dolphins and tropical fish that would swim off the seawall in the back yard. The home is conveniently located adjacent to arguably the best public beach in the Florida Keys, and about 14 miles from the beautiful Bahia Honda State Park. We recommend this home to all, and can’t wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect week in a perfect house in a perfect ...

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

A perfect week in a perfect house in a perfect location.
Our family of six spent a week in February in this beautiful home, and have nothing but praise for the house, its location and all its amenities. We were three generations with different age-related desires such as quiet days spent reading, active hours on the water in kayaks, daily walks, sunning on the beach, cooking in the superbly appointed kitchen...and all desires were more than met. The views of the ocean from the patio were enhanced by the landscaping in the surrounding gardens, and the occasional sight of birds and wildlife (even a manatee floating next to the seawall) kept us entertained. A perfect house for us all, immaculate and beautiful !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

We chose this home for our first trip to the Keys, and with all that we experienced, it will be our "home away from home" for our future trips to this fascinating area. Everything you see in the photos, read in the description and testimonials are exact. The location, design of the house, appointments, accessibility to explore the uniqueness of the Florida Keys, created a perfect home base. Anne was an extremely gracious and informative hostess and was always either an e-mail or phone call away. Wonderful vacation, location, and home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You'll be happy waking to gulls, pelicans, and ...

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

You'll Be Happy Waking To Gulls, Pelicans, and the Ocean View.
This is a nice, absolutely immaculate home situated on the Atlantic side of Marathon, beside a newly constructed seawall that you’ll soon fine yourself sitting on to watch the pelicans dive-bomb for breakfast. Lush, sub-tropic landscaping with palm trees rustling in the breeze surround the entire home, making it one secluded and peaceful hideaway at the end of a cul-de-sac. The hour drive to Key West keeps one well removed from the chaos and tourist kitsch of Margaritaville but still able to get there easily for visits. The three bedrooms with self-contained full bathrooms are comfortable, pleasant, and, again, absolutely spotless. We stayed just in the master bedroom with beautiful ocean views and breezes. The kitchen and bathrooms are thoroughly stocked with anything you could possibly imagine needing. Also, one drawer in the kitchen is loaded with menus for restaurants and takeout, so meals out or in are never a problem. In addition, Anne Wilson provides all kinds of restaurant recommendations and info about attractions and the general area, so the learning curve is not bad if you’re unfamiliar with Marathon. We used many of Anne’s suggestions for meals out and enjoyed each experience till my wife (she gets the blame) steered us into the wrong restaurant on the Overseas Highway. (We were trying to find the Seven Mile Grille near the Seven Mile Bridge, but we ended up in a bar nearby with a similar name. We won’t badmouth the place by naming it but two chefs had quit in the past week and then they lost their dishwasher. Let me just say we would not go back, believe me.) Because Treasure Road is only about a mile and a half from the center of Marathon, the supermarkets and other stores are just minutes away. You would be hard pressed to find a similarly well situated vacation rental managed by an owner who looks to such detail. She even called after arrival to be sure we found everything as we expected. Problem? We need to live there

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Interaction with owner made a good experience...

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Interaction with owner made a good experience extra special.
I concur with all the positive things that have already been said about staying at Treasure Island by previous reviewers and would like to add that our personal interactions with the owner (Anne) made it feel like we were staying at a friend's house. As soon as you enter the house you know that you are not in a "rental" but anne's "home away from home"...every last detail has been looked after and you feel like someone is spoiling you. Anne called the morning after we arrived to make sure we were comfortable and we had a great chat about the local history. We didn't hesitate to contact her during the week when we had questons. We broke the blender while we were there and replaced it; when our security deposit was returned to us anne had reimbursed us. I've stayed at many great places but I've never experienced that amount of personal interest in our well being... it was a great experience !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A beautiful place and great location

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

I traveled with my husband (in our 60s) and met our son and his family there (includes two children, ages 17 and 10). Having three full bathrooms is a real plus. This was an ideal location near Mile Marker 50 in the center of the Florida Keys. We easily drove to Key West for a day and to Islamorada another day. Bahia Honda State Park is nearby (go snorkeling on the Coral Reef!), as well as the Turtle Hospital and Crane Point Museum and Nature Center. There is a K-Mart, Publix, Winn-Dixie and liquor store nearby, as well as souveneir shopping. Bait, fishing equipment and snorkeling gear are readily available. The house itself is fabulous, with its full wall of windows facing the ocean. We spent a lot of time on the patio watching the water, crabs, Carolina anoles and the occasional iguana. Sunset views were spectacular. We walked over to Sombrero Beach, one of the few sandy beaches around. Our needs were perfectly met with respect to linens, towels, kitchen supplies, dishes and glassware, appliances, pots and pans, cleaning supplies...nothing was missing. One thing I would caution older visitors about: it is a little challenging for someone my age (over 60) to climb down the ladder into the water. The younger folks had no problems. Also, water socks might make you more comfortable, as the sea floor can be a bit mushy. We enjoyed the kayaks, fishing off the seawall, relaxing on the patio, taking photos of the crabs and lizards and birds. The view is awesome, the sunsets spectacular. Anne did call to ensure we didn't need anything. We had a lovely chat and I feel I have a new friend. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review