reviews for: listing #48891 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Waikiki Feng Shui Decorated condo 2 blocks to Waikiki beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Seaside Towers
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $2,450 /mth

sort by:

great location, courteous service

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

This condo has a great location, pretty much walking distances to shopping, food, and waikiki. When we went in April the weather was already getting hot so the AC unit came really handy. So did the in-condo washer and dryer. The condo manager needed to meet us up to give us access to the condo the day we arrived and we didn't arrive there until 11 PM! She was very nice and waited for us at the door; we wouldn't have had any clue what to do if we couldn't get into the condo so late at night with 2 young kids. I would very much want to stay there again next time we go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

I was a bit nervous after reading the most recent review, but my experience was quite satisfactory. I was met immediately upon my arrival (even at almost 10pm!). The location is excellent, the building is secure, and the condo is nicely decorated and well appointed. The photos are accurate. The kitchen had everything I needed, and the bathroom is updated. I had a question for the owner mid-week, and she responded promptly by email and then again by phone. I was even allowed to do a late check-out on the last day (there is a binder with helpful informtation including check-out instructions in the condo). Overall, I was very satisfied with my experience.

One small thing, though: the condo itself tends to be quite warm, even despite the trade winds (which were absent about half of the time I was there). The stand-alone, portable air conditioner did little to cool the place down. Even with it running on high, I needed fans as well. It was cooler with the blackout curtains drawn, but who wants to block that beautiful view? There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom, so that room was very comfortable and I slept well.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location, but...

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

I can only say there were 2 good things about this rental- the security of the building and the location. My lack of recommeding this place are for several reasons:
- We were told we would be met at the condo upon arrival but were not. It wasn't until after several long distance phone calls from my cell phone did we gain entry and find the garage for parking. I emailed the condo manager with my flight arrival time a few weeks before we arrived and was told to call her when we left the airport which I did and she was out and not able to meet us.
- The TV and internet were not working upon arrival. The condo manager got the internet working the following evening. The TV's signal kept going out throughout the week.
- The air conditioner that is stated to be new did not even cool off the living room. It is a window A/C and cannot cool down the condo.
- There was a stand up fan that worked well but was really loud.
- The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable!! Hard and you could feel the springs
- The sofa bed was not any better
- The oven hadn't been cleaned and we ended up having to deal with all the smoke throughout the evening/night
- The freezer had something spilt in it and had not been cleaned
- Traffic and people walking on sidewalk could be heard - Very noisy - even from the 9th floor
- We were not told what to do for check out and were not contacted by the condo manager. She had my cell phone number as well as the condo phone number. I did end up leaving one set of keys and the remote control for the garage in the condo and the other set in the lock box but would have left everything in the condo if I hadn't have asked about the cleaning lady and having her own keys which I was told that we had the only sets. When we got home there was a message from the condo manager to call her to let us know when we were checking out. Wrong number to call!!

My husband and I have travelled to several places/countries and have stayed at many different locations and I have to say I did not enjoy my stay at this condo.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

My family and I had the opportunity to stay here for 1 month. The condo is very spacious and furnished with everything you need. The full kitchen was great! And the washer/dryer, what a huge BONUS! The condo is exactly like the pictures, very relaxing and comfortable. Lots of closet space for suitcases and clothes. Roomy bathroom with a standing shower. We did use the A/C unit once but it is cool enough with the windows open. Having a parking stall in Waikiki is a bonus as well. And its covered and secured. A compact car is easier to park in this stall. The owner was always very prompt in returning my emails and very patient answering all my questions. She made everything very easy. The caretaker was very nice too and always very helpful. Check in/out very smooth. We highly recommend this condo! It is centrally located in Waikiki, comfortable, spacious and clean. Everything you would want for your perfect vacation in Hawaii.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: I'm happy to hear that you really felt at home staying at the "feng shui" decorated condo. The medium sized building with two elevators makes you feel like you are at your own home especially with the washing machine and dryer for your laundry. Parking is included with the price, so traveling to places with a rented car is very convenient. Hope you will come back in the future.
Gloria

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

The apartment was very pretty and spacious (there were 4 of us) and its location was great! The beach and all of the main attractions are so close, you don't have to have a car to get around. You can ride the bus if you need yo get somewhere like Ala Moana shopping mall, the bus stops are everywhere and it was pretty cheap. Our landlord Gloria was also very nice and we got our deposit back very fast. So highly recommended for anyone wanting to have an amazing vacation!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Merey,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you girls all had a great time. Please come back to Hawaii in the future.
Gloria

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

The apartment was very pretty and spacious (there were 4 of us) and its location was great! The beach and all of the main attractions are so close, you don't have to have a car to get around. You can ride the bus if you need yo get somewhere like Ala Moana shopping mall, the bus stops are everywhere and it was pretty cheap. Our landlord Gloria was also very nice and we got our deposit back very fast. So highly recommended for anyone wanting to have an amazing vacation!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waikiki condo

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

We rented this condo for the month of January, 2011, and enjoyed our stay so much that we have reserved it for January, 2012. We thought we might miss having air conditioning and a lanai, but it was not a problem. The ceiling fan kept the bedroom quite cool at night and we did not hear any street noises. We found the unit to be very spacious for a 1 bedroom unit in Waikiki - lots of storage space. It was very nicely decorated; exactly as shown. A real bonus was having the in-suite washer and dryer. We also found the people in the building to be very friendly. The owner provided very good customer service, returning our e-mails promptly in every instance. We would definitely recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Many customers agree that this one bedroom condo is very spacious. That is why there is no need for a lanai. If you want to feel like you are living in Hawaii not as a tourist, then this is the place for you and your family. This is mid size building with only 16 floors and there are many who live here full time as well as long term vacationers. For renters, convenience, I have a washer and dryer and an in door garaged parking space if you have a car.
I tell people that this place is like a 3.5 star hotel.
Furthermore, the condo is 2 blocks to the pink hotel and the beach and the bus stop is one block away. Talk about convenience.
Finally, the price is right.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place, great price

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

The place was great. The condo looks just like the pictures. It’s in a convenient location about 1 ½ blocks to the beach and ½ block to the international market place. Even though it’s in the heart of Waikiki it’s surprisingly quite and we didn’t hear a lot of street noise. We were worried that the place might get hot without AC but it stayed really cool. There’s a nice cross breeze and the ceiling fan kept the bedroom cool at night. We rented a car for the week and it was really nice having a parking place. It’s really difficult to find street parking in Waikiki and hotel parking is pretty pricey. The stall is pretty small so I’d recommend a compact car. The caretaker of the condo lives in the same complex so checkin and checkout was really easy. It did take a while to get the deposit back ~3weeks and I got charged a small fee by the owner for paying electronically but I’d recommend staying here. Great price for what you get. We’d definitely stay again. Thanks Gloria!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place, Great price

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

The place was great. The condo looks just like the pictures. It’s in a convenient location about 1 ½ blocks to the beach and ½ block to the international market place. Even though it’s in the heart of Waikiki it’s surprisingly quite and we didn’t hear a lot of street noise. We were worried that the place might get hot without AC but it stayed really cool. There’s a nice cross breeze and the ceiling fan kept the bedroom cool at night. There's no picture of the bathroom posted, there's only a shower no bathtub. We rented a car for the week and it was really nice having a parking place. It’s really difficult to find street parking in Waikiki and hotel parking is pretty pricey. The stall is pretty small so I’d recommend a compact car. The caretaker of the condo lives in the same complex so checkin and checkout was easy. It did take a while to get the deposit back ~3weeks and I got charged a small fee by the owner for paying electronically but I’d recommend staying here. Great price for what you get. We’d definitely stay again. Thanks Gloria!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review