reviews for: listing #48896 - Bradenton, Florida House rental

Casa Encantada
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,900 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Very disappointed. Will not return

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

First of all this house is not in Bradenton. It is in Palmetto, which is not the best area. The inside of the house was dirty. We found many cockroaches. After a complaint to the owner, an exterminator came out the next day. Cockroaches were still found. We even found one in the silverware drawer. We were afraid to open up drawers and cabinets in the kitchen. Anything we needed to use had to be rewashed. There were also small ants in both bathrooms and one of the bedroom closets. Two of the people staying in this house developed severe rashes. The outside tiki hut's tv did not work really well and don't even think about opening the fridge out there. It was dirty and smelly. Five of us developed swimmers ear or an ear infection after swimming in the pool. We decided to leave this house three days early due to these conditions and book hotel rooms. We were very disappointed.

Owners response: In the four years of having Casa Encantada in the vacation rental market we have never received less than 5 star reviews, and there are a lot of them. I know it can be disappointing when weather doesn’t cooperate with vacation plans. I wish I had the power to control that. It’s no reason to criticize an otherwise beautiful, well cared for home. Our home is always clean and treated for insects regularly, although we can’t guarantee that there will never be a mosquito bite. We do provide repellant but the breeze off the water usually does the trick. We regret that this family felt their experience was different than all of our guests before them and those who checked in 2 days after they left as well as the next 3 guests. As I mentioned, all of our reviews on 4 different websites are 5 star with the exception of Julie’s family. In addition, we have a 70% repeat guest history. This would be impossible if the conditions were as described in this review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Encantada

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Casa Encantada - a luxury rental with a great comfortable feel. Beautiful doesn't begin to describe it! We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back. The property has so many amenities that we found it hard to leave. The kids (and adults) loved the pool area. One of my favorite memories is floating on a raft with my 4 year old - her eyes were closed and she said "oh mommy, I love this place" We were able to kayak close to dolphins and saw so many other animals (rays, birds, fish, crabs, lizards...) Amazing! The property is beautiful with a large yard, a great swing, plenty of seating and gorgeous views. Captain Julie was a true pleasure to work with and the location is great. Many beautiful local beaches, small towns, and easy day trips to many of Florida's amusement parks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific vacation home

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

5/5Terrific Vacation Home with Excellent Outdoor Space
Guest: Encantada Fan (Wisconsin)
Date of Stay: April 3, 2010 Review Submitted: July 15, 2010

If you are looking for a terrific vacation home, you must consider Casa Encantada. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there. My wife and our 5 & 7 year old children had essentially no reason to ever leave the property. Right on the water with a huge backyard on the Manatee river. The activities are endless: Kayaking, Fishing, Hanging out on the deck, shell collecting, climbing and swinging from the big tree in back and of course the terrific pool make this the perfect spot to rest and relax. The property was very clean and very well maintained. If you like to cook, Publix is right around the corner with plenty of fresh seafood choices and then when you return the kitchen is gigantic with everything you need to whip up a great meal. I would recommend this property to anyone who asked.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific vacation home

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

5/5Terrific Vacation Home with Excellent Outdoor Space
Guest: Encantada Fan (Wisconsin)
Date of Stay: April 3, 2010 Review Submitted: July 15, 2010

If you are looking for a terrific vacation home, you must consider Casa Encantada. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there. My wife and our 5 & 7 year old children had essentially no reason to ever leave the property. Right on the water with a huge backyard on the Manatee river. The activities are endless: Kayaking, Fishing, Hanging out on the deck, shell collecting, climbing and swinging from the big tree in back and of course the terrific pool make this the perfect spot to rest and relax. The property was very clean and very well maintained. If you like to cook, Publix is right around the corner with plenty of fresh seafood choices and then when you return the kitchen is gigantic with everything you need to whip up a great meal. I would recommend this property to anyone who asked.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place for kids and pets

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

5/5Sharon & Stan Great place for fammily and pets!!!!
Guest: Harley (Urbana, IL)
Date of Stay: February 5, 2011 Review Submitted: April 8, 2011

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed here twice and have already booked another 2 weeks in this wonderfull home. We were here in Sept. of 2010 and Feb.of 2011 and are going back in Sept. 2011. It's a great place for kids and pets.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place for a peaceful vacation, pets also

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

5/5Wonderful Place for a Peaceful Vacation for Everyone, Pets, also.
Guest: Sherri & John (Canaveral, Florida, USA)
Date of Stay: June 26, 2010 Review Submitted: August 8, 2010

Our vacation was wonderful at Casa Encantada! We stayed at this beautiful paradise (both me and my husband), for our birthdays. My husband had just lost his mother, and mine was very ill following a stroke. It was a perfect getaway for us to rest. Even our dogs had a pretty play yard to enjoy. The owners were fabuluous, and everything was clean and well-maintained. The amenities were even better than we could have imagined. Both, the tropical lagoon, heated pool, and Tiki bar were a much added feature to enjoy. The wild life, and beautiful "Hooker Bay" were enchanting. It has a very private setting, but close to everything, including restaurants, and grocery stores. The photos and descriptions were very accurate, but you would have to visit there yourself to enjoy the wonderful amenities that are offered. I would highly recommend this lovely place for anyone to enjoy a peaceable and fun filled vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place for a peaceful vacation, pets also

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

5/5Wonderful Place for a Peaceful Vacation for Everyone, Pets, also.
Guest: Sherri & John (Canaveral, Florida, USA)
Date of Stay: June 26, 2010 Review Submitted: August 8, 2010

Our vacation was wonderful at Casa Encantada! We stayed at this beautiful paradise (both me and my husband), for our birthdays. My husband had just lost his mother, and mine was very ill following a stroke. It was a perfect getaway for us to rest. Even our dogs had a pretty play yard to enjoy. The owners were fabuluous, and everything was clean and well-maintained. The amenities were even better than we could have imagined. Both, the tropical lagoon, heated pool, and Tiki bar were a much added feature to enjoy. The wild life, and beautiful "Hooker Bay" were enchanting. It has a very private setting, but close to everything, including restaurants, and grocery stores. The photos and descriptions were very accurate, but you would have to visit there yourself to enjoy the wonderful amenities that are offered. I would highly recommend this lovely place for anyone to enjoy a peaceable and fun filled vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place for a peaceful vacation, pets also

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

5/5Wonderful Place for a Peaceful Vacation for Everyone, Pets, also.
Guest: Sherri & John (Canaveral, Florida, USA)
Date of Stay: June 26, 2010 Review Submitted: August 8, 2010

Our vacation was wonderful at Casa Encantada! We stayed at this beautiful paradise (both me and my husband), for our birthdays. My husband had just lost his mother, and mine was very ill following a stroke. It was a perfect getaway for us to rest. Even our dogs had a pretty play yard to enjoy. The owners were fabuluous, and everything was clean and well-maintained. The amenities were even better than we could have imagined. Both, the tropical lagoon, heated pool, and Tiki bar were a much added feature to enjoy. The wild life, and beautiful "Hooker Bay" were enchanting. It has a very private setting, but close to everything, including restaurants, and grocery stores. The photos and descriptions were very accurate, but you would have to visit there yourself to enjoy the wonderful amenities that are offered. I would highly recommend this lovely place for anyone to enjoy a peaceable and fun filled vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach loving family

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

5/5Beach loving family!
Guest: Jhump (Erlanger Ky)
Date of Stay: March 12, 2011 Review Submitted: April 15, 2011

We stayed here during mid-March of 2011 and I will tell you it was the best vacation we have had in a long time! This setting is perfect if you want to relax, have a great time with your family and enjoy some awesome scenery. The house and pool are perfect. The only thing nicer is the beutiful sunsets! We kayaked every morning before

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect vacation spot

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

5/5Perfect Vacation Spot!
Guest: Kristin (North Carolina )
Date of Stay: May 21, 2011 Review Submitted: June 5, 2011

My husband and I along with another couple just stayed at Casa Encantada for a week at the end of May. The house was great. We spent the majority of our time out by the pool (the best one I've seen in a vacation rental by far) and tiki hut. We really enjoyed the spectacular sunsets sitting under the Banyan tree. We saw manatees pretty much every day we were there. It was great that Julie leaves the kayaks for visitors to use. We took them out a few times in the early morning and saw all kinds of wildlife. When we did manage to drag ourselves away from the pool and outdoor activities we enjoyed the beautiful kitchen and squeezed in a few games of Ping Pong in the garage. Thursday of our trip Captain Julie took us out on her boat Beach Music and we had a spectacular time. She showed us the sites including Tampa Bay, The Gulf of Mexico and a great little beach bar. While we were out on the boat dolphins would swim right up to us! It was a great vacation and we will definitely be returning in the future!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review