reviews for: listing #49024 - Deep Creek Lake, Maryland House rental

Log Home on ridge, big views, quiet and serene
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $325 /nt
    $950 - $1,570 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

I am very grateful to have discovered such a nice place. Perfectly located and very easy to relax. We did not want to leave! Nice sized bedrooms and bathrooms. I never got tired of sitting on the deck watching the view. The owners did a great job. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

This house is at the same time private and close to all the activities in McHenry. Worked very well for a guys' weekend...spent a whole day at nearby Wisp Resort. Very close to the grocery store and local restaurants. Lots of room inside, great deck outside, and the game room is a nice touch. Campfire was a nice way to unwind after the busy day.

If you want a peaceful stay close to the action of Deep Creek, this is a great choice. Owner was very good to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Huge House, Very Private

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Wonderful house, very large and spacious. Great game room in the lower level. Private location but close to everything. Living room very comfortable with large flat screen and every television station you can imagine. Kitchen was fully equipped and easy to find everything. Three nice bathrooms. All the rooms are very large. We stayed for only two nights, but next time, we will be there longer. Easy rental process and owner is very easy to work with. Can totally recommend this property for families, people traveling with dogs, just about anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Great Getaway!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We were looking for a house close to the Wisp Resort. This home is soooooo comfortable.Very clean and has nice size bedrooms with lots of closet space. The view is amazing!!!!They have skiing, snow tubing, snow mobile, even a roller coaster through the mountains!!!The pictures do not give this home justice. The owner was very nice and answered all our questions about the community.Great home for family vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Served Our Needs But Was Somewhat Disappointing

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We found this place late in the season when some family members decided to venture to Deep Creek for the first time. The cabin is in a great location. Very close to the grocery and Wisp, arcades, hiking trails, and so forth. That was very important to this crowd. The place is huge with plenty of bedrooms and a basement with foosball and air hockey. There is a great outdoor deck where we set up a telescope. The sky is beautiful from this vantage point.

My complaints? Well, there were no screens in any of the windows or on either one of the French doors. We were there over Memorial Day weekend and the weather was beautiful. But we could not even enjoy a breeze. We saw stacks of screens in the basement for the doors and windows but we did not feel it was our place to disturb them. We also had no access to the Internet or television. Admittedly, we did not go to Deep Creek to surf the Internet or watch TV. But we did want to use these things to check for directions to places and inquire about the weather forecast. While the owner assured me that he would get the Internet up and running, that never happened while we were there. I would also say that the kitchen utensils are rather sparse. We chose to eat in throughout our stay and often found ourselves improvising for missing kitchen items. It was also clear that previous occupants had damaged the couch in a major way. One section of the springs was completely destroyed. So we did not have full access to the living room furniture.

It was a long winter so maybe the owner simply did not get back to get the place ready for the spring. But we spent a significant sum of money on the place and expected it to live up to the description.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Yes, all screens were put in June. We took out during winter because of no need and extreme snows up against them. The French doors do not have screens. Kitchen pots were the only things lacking because of their slow disappearance and have been replaced. All other utensils etc are plenty, was packed but things gradually disappeared and have been replaced. Internet and TV should be working, but unfortunately there is no cable available up on the ridge so can be sporadic depending on weather.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful time...

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This is an awesome cabin. Everything you could need is supplied. We enjoyed the downstairs game room!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review