reviews for: listing #49031 - Wintergreen, Virginia House rental

The Wintergreen Chalet
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Wintergreen Resort
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $299 - $699 /nt
    $1,999 - $2,999 /wk

sort by:

Very upscale rental property

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

A group of ladies have held a book club retreat at this house for the last three years. It is a beautiful property, with plenty of room to spread out. It is very clean and well equipped. In fact, it is hard to believe that such a well-maintained and decorated house is available for rent. I would definitely recommend this to a large group - it has everything that you would ever need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Smith Family Wine Weekend was a BLAST!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

A few years ago my husband and I started going to Nelson County, Virginia to enjoy the scenery, breweries and wineries. What started as a small family get together exploded this year and I was very concerned I would not find lodging for the whole group. Then my sis in law told be about VRBO an I found this PERFECT home. Everything was as described by the owner. It was such a great and stress free trip. All couples had their own room and there were plenty of bathrooms. I cannot wait for next year! And, as a bonus the owner sent us a list of attractions that included a limo company, so we even hired a designated driver :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FaT Frogs Racing

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We arrived to a very clean house, every thing was as stated on the web site. I will be staying again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous Experience

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Our stay at the Wintergreen Chalet was a truly exceptional experience. The owner is a communicative, detail-oriented professional who maintains a beautiful, spacious, and marvelously-appointed home. Our group enjoyed itself tremendously.

The property is precisely as described, both in terms of the physical property and its location. The photographs match the property identically. The home is perfectly manicured, beautifully kept, and clearly cleaned meticulously. The linens, towels, and bedding were of excellent quality! The owner was a consistent and clear communicator, and we would recommend the property without reservation.

We would recommend the Veritas winery and the Devil's Knob brewery as local attractions, in addition to the skiing!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

excellent

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

I had a great and unforgettable experience. I strongly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Fall Stay

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We had a group of 14 in the house for a weekend of local wine and brewery tours. It was spacious and peaceful. The owner was also very good about sharing details on where to go and how to make the most of your stay at Wintergreen. You can't go wrong staying here! We hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

I would definitely rent this home again

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We had a great time during our weekend stay at this home. The house was everything had we hoped for and more. There was plenty of room for everyone. The well stocked kitchen was appreciated. I don't think anything could have made the house or weekend better other than the weather which can’t be predicted. For any future ski trips to Wintergreen I would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Gathering Place for Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

We rented this home for a family Thanksgiving -- 8 adults and 6 children. It worked wonderfully and everyone had a good time. There was spaces for different groups to gather and space to get away when you wanted. The kitchen was well equipped; even a turkey rack for the turkey. We requested a kitchen inventory from the owner and it was very helpful. The owner answered all of our questions. The dining room table was large enough to seat all of us, which was important to us.
The hot tub worked well for the children. The photos accurately depict the home and it was clean and well organized. There are two bedrooms with private baths - the master suite and a bedroom with twin beds in the basement. Everyone was happy with their accommodations. This was a wonderful gathering place for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

We were very happy with the house and the location. As soon as we got there we knew it was going to be a great weekend. We loved all the little details down to the lights being on when we got there. It definitely felt like home away from home, and everyone wants to come back and do it again. Overall I have to say the experience was a 10!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Delightful Home!

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Our group loved all of the amenities, surroundings, and obvious care that have been undertaken to make this home a superb place to accommodate family gatherings. We had a total blast and hope to be able to come back again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House for a Group Retreat

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

As part of a group that recently stayed at The Wintergreen Chalet, I’d like to thank the owner for having such a clean and comfortable place to hold our Cornerstone staff retreat. It worked out perfectly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation home

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We were five adults and four children staying for a week in this spacious home with its well-stocked kitchen and wonderful, private sleeping accommodations on three levels, which allowed families some welcome private time. Bathrooms a wee bit small, but adequate. The owner was quick to respond to queries prior to our arrival and responded even more rapidly when we had an issue with the barbecue grill. Lots of outdoor activities and nearby attractions, and three large flat screens for doing our exercise DVDs, watching the Women's World Cup, and coping with rainy days.

I did not recommend the home for people with disabilities only because there are a few steps needed to get into the house, but once inside, one person or a couple could easily remain on the main floor since the it includes the kitchen/dining room/living room and master suite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will rent this home again

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Everyone in our group loved this home. It was so comfortable. We will be renting this home again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tranquil and Luxurious Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

The Wintergreen Chalet is a slice of paradise!! Our long weekend stay was relaxing and completely comfortable in this lovely house. And what a BONUS to not have to bring towels and linens - it's all provided for you. The kitchen has everything and more and it's a joy in which to cook. Loved seeing the deer right in the backyard in the late afternoon and the lights of the town at night. Wonderful property - took long walks to enjoy the foliage. It's a little tricky to get to because it's WAY up the mountain, recommend a daylight arrival if possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I want to thank this guest very much for her nice comments and to clarify one point. For those of you who haven’t been to Wintergreen, the entire resort is at the top of the mountain. Most of the driving up the mountain simply gets one to the resort. Once at the resort, it’s only an additional 5 minutes to arrive at The Wintergreen Chalet.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Very Nice Home

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Wintergreen Chalet. This is a beautiful, comfortable and very well organized house. We would love to rent the house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this home. It is spacious with plenty of beds for everyone, has a wonderful fireplace and the grandmothers had their own wing! The hot tub was wonderful after skiing and was used often. The views are beautiful from the long dining room table which is big enough for all to share a meal. The kitchen is large and made for easy meal preparation. The Copper Mine Restaurant was a great night out. We enjoyed the Wintergarden Spa and the kids loved the big pool. Wintergreen is a great vacation destination!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

There are so many good points about the house, I'm not sure where start! The kitchen was very spacious and well-stocked. (The granite countertops, wood floors, and excellent cabinetry invoked high praise.) The dining room table was the perfect size. The living room provided an excellent gathering spot for the family, while the loft area was a perfect getaway for those who wanted a quiet place to read. The master bedroom was terrific. We enjoyed the large deck and the many bedrooms worked very well for us. The overall spaciousness of the house and the tasteful decor make this house a winner.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great get away!!

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

This was a beautiful house and was VERY clean. The kitchen was well stocked. Great house for a large family or group.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review