reviews for: listing #49033 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

Villa LunaTica - Award Winning Ocean view Luxury Villa
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $1,200 /nt

sort by:

Breath-taking, both inside and out

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from our stay in Costa Rica, and our stay at Lunatica absolutely defined the relaxation of our stay; we found that every detail throughout the villa had been addressed to ensure our comfort.

The villa is beautiful - an architecture lover's paradise - and photos absolutely do not do it justice. The villa itself is absolutely breath-taking and reflects an obvious dedication to design integrity, elemental innovation and environmental inspiration. I am awestruck by the villa's details, particularly the liberal use of almond and confident use of space. It's absolutely gorgeous. (When I asked the property manager, Thomas, for the name of the architect, I was further impressed to hear that the owner himself, Ralf, desgined it.)

Thomas, by the way, does a marvelous job; he's brilliant at choreographing all the little details of managing the property while maintaining an air of ease and charisma. He had answers to every question and obviously knew both the property and the area intimately. (My only constructive suggestion is that, for smaller groups, perhaps guests can have flexibility in the frequency of the maid.)

Other than that, everything was perfect. Villa Lunatica was exactly what we were looking for and served as the perfect location for relaxing and absorbing the environment. I could not hold a higher review of it.

All our best,
Krista and John

p.s. - we saw monkeys on the property every single day during your stay at Lunatica - close enough to touch and feed. I can almost assure you that you will too.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Wedding

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had the most incredible time, and we could not have had a better location for the wedding than LunaTica. The entire week was perfect!

Thank you so much for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic home base in Manuel Antonio Park

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about wiring the money in advance but our worries were unfounded. Ralf, the owner, reassured us that the house will be beyond our expectations and he was correct. The architecture is amazing. So many levels, reading nooks, balconies, open shower and hammock areas. We loved the pool in the jungle. Very private. Cannot see any neighbors. Thomas was an amazing and responsive house manager. Everything was clean and well maintained. We even had afternoon monkey feedings on the balcony. Great views to boot. Worth every penny and more. Perfect for couples or extended family. They only warning I would say is be careful if you have very young children because the architecture has of open stairs and a catwalk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Double Black Diamond

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

The house and the grounds are beautiful. The views from the house of the tropical forest and ocean are breathtaking. Overall this is a really nice property with the exception of the driveway. The driveway is as steep as the headwall of a double black ski slope. Driving up from the house to the main road is scary. You are on a extremely steep slope with a sharp curve when you are trying to turn left or right onto the main road in Manuel Antonio. Going down is not as bad unless the driveway is wet. We had a manual transmission SUV which was a mistake. You need an automatic SUV. Thomas the house manager told us when we arrived that the driveway is to steep for a van or a car. This would have been nice to know before we rented the house. There is a place to park your car above the driveway which we did for most of our stay, but the walk up and down the driveway is very strenuous. The house is great, but this is not a house for people that have difficulty with stairs. There are stairs galore on this property. The master bedroom was very nice except that the lighting near the bathroom mirror was poor. The first night we stayed here we kept the A/C on all night which was a terrible idea. The A/C blows directly on your head. You will be much better using the fan only at night while you are sleeping. The other bedroom that is near the living room had the same problem that the A/C blows directly on the bed.
The views make up for any shortcomings of the house and driveway and we would definitely consider staying here again in the future.
Thomas the house manager was very knowledgeable and helpful. He arranged tours, the car rental, and limo back to San Jose.
The location of the house was central to everything in Manuel Antonio. If you stay here, be sure to take plenty of pictures. While at the house we saw plenty of white faced monkeys, a large black lizard, and a sloth in a nearby tree.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, Jeffrey and dear future travelers! Used to the hills of San Francisco we never really had an issue zooming up and down our LunaTica driveway - and we do love the privacy it gives us in the middle of buzzing Manuel Antonio. Having said that, rather than providing our biased opinion, we always encourage inquiring guests to read the guests reviews as they do a great job describing the "LunaTica experience" including its location, setting and driveway. Here are condensed all driveway comments for you: "...Do not worry about the driveway - it is a minor issue compared to the incredible views / wildlife / amenities that Lunatica offers..." / "...FYI - we rented a tiny Hyundai and we had no problems getting it up and down the very steep driveway..." / "...If you have an elderly individual or someone with disability in your family- the steep hill to the home maybe hard to walk everday so you might want to rent a car..." / "...Although the walk-and-driveway leading up to the house is somewhat steep, this is the only shortfall I can think of and I would recommend this place and these people to anyone in a second..." / "...It's on the top of a large hill, so be prepared for some walking and climbing, but if you like to be active, it's great..." - END of quotes. People are unique - what seems "scary" to one person appears to be "no problem" to others and/or just part of adventure traveling. Only you know what's right for you! Pura Vida! ralf+nina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location for Extended Families

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Our family of 6 brought my mom to Costa Rica to satisfy a lifetime dream of hers to visit the area and see the wildlife. We all were absolutely thrilled and amazed at the animals we saw right at Lunatica! The second day of our stay we had no less than 25 squirrel monkeys on the back porch taking slices of bananas right out of our hands. We saw a baby sloth the very first day and he stayed in the same location outside the master bedroom all week. You will meet Eddie, the huge Spiny Back lizard that lays in the middle of the driveway all day long. Be wary of the capuchins -they look very friendly but when I saw one rip apart a coconut, I immediately gained a new level of respect. Do not worry about the driveway -it is a minor issue compared to the incredible views / wildlife / amenities that Lunatica offers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury Vacation with Family in Nature

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed our week in this beautiful luxury villa with another family of four. There are breathtaking views from every angle of this home and property and we immediately felt relaxed as soon as we set foot on the property. The home's open, airy feel, well thought out floor plan, amazing grounds & pool and special touches & services combined a luxury hotel feel with a relaxed, family friendly vacation. We enjoyed looking out onto and being part of the surrounding nature as we lingered on the terraces/lookouts and the pool, the walks to nearby restaurants and beaches. We also enjoyed the local flavor with bus rides around town.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful house!! Fantastic staff!! Best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My husband and I got married in Costa Rica and we were fortunate enough to have the LunaTica as our gorgeous backdrop! The home was more than large enough to accommodate both of our families and everyone had their own private spaces all with fabulous views. The views of the ocean, the rainforest, and the wildlife are sights you truly must see for yourself! The photos, as great as they are, still don't do this house justice. The architecture is like nothing you will ever find in the states.

The wonder of this house doesn't end with the architecture and views because the staff is out of this world! We LOVE Thomas! He was professional and so helpful from the very second Ralf put me in touch with him. And never grew tired of my incessant emails as I was trying to plan wedding thousands of miles away. From the moment we arrived, He was there to make sure we felt welcome and to see that we were settled in. He was there every time any issue arose! And la piece de resistance, sweet Thomas drove 30 miles outside of Quepos to retrieve tables for my wedding reception! What a guy!! Talk about going over and beyond the call of duty! Hazel, the maintenance man, and housekeeper were also fabulous, helpful, and accommodating! They are a fantastic staff!

Another jewel at this house is the chef! Marisol and her husband are incredible!! My husband and I usually enjoy trying out new restaurants when we travel but elected to have a chef with this trip because of the large number of people we had to accommodate. This was the best decision we've ever made! Having someone prepare your meals after you have had a fun day and not having to get all dolled up to go out and then they clean while you devour the gourmet delictibles, is priceless! The food was unbelievable!

I can not say enough wonderful things about this house! Ralf, the owner, was a pleasure to work with. Thomas and the staff are delightful. And the house is incredible! We will remember this trip forever!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great villa in the jungle!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Spectacular view, the master apartment on the top is stunning. A pool 30 meters down in the subterrain towards the sea is like an oasis amidst the jungle hosting humming birds, monkeys and sloths all around...awesome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Secret hideaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

I absolutely love Manuel Antonio, there is so much to do, so many interesting people, so many adventures to be had! But I also love feeling I have a private oasis to come home to - and that is nearly impossible to find in Manuel Antonio with all the hotels, hostels, villas, inns, restaurants, bars, and shops! Yet right there, right in the heart of Manuel Antonio, on top of the cliff but below the crowd, is a spectacular villa with every amenity, amazing service, and privacy beyond your dreams - the views are of jungle to the ocean and islands, the pool is yours and yours alone in a garden of unbelievable beauty, the home is nestled into a valley and is the last home on the road - you will not believe how close you are to all the action yet how far away it feels as you watch the sun set over what seems to be your private ocean. WOW. And then there is the house itself - it is so beautiful, it terraces down the hill and climbs above it, it has spectacular views from everywhere and yet is so beautiful itself it pulls you back in. It is so comfortable we never wanted to leave but so close to the action that we often did! The concierge is brilliant, the suggested tours beyond expectation, the overall quality of the experience absolutely top notch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ready to go back to Lunatica

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We spent four dreamy days at Lunatica. On the second day we realized Lunatica is an experience - way more than a great place to stay. We also saw all kinds of animals on the grounds - lots of monkeys, a baby sloth napping in a tree, weird iguana type creatures. Both house and pool were completely private. The house is very well located - you are on the side of a hill with only trees and animals between you and the ocean. Then you walk up the driveway and you are on the main road of Manuel Antonio - right near Cafe Milagro and Hotel Si Como No. Other restaurants are a 5-10 minute walk. FYI - we rented a tiny Hyundai and we had no problems getting it up and down the very steep driveway.

The pictures are very accurate. We were surprised to learn that the property has been around a while because it felt modern, super clean and new. Customer service was great - we were picked up from the Quepos airport.
I am recommending Lunatica to all my friends (and making them jealous!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply Gorgeous Property

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We just returned from Villa LunaTica and had an amazing time. The property is absolutely gorgeous --house and also the garden leading down to the pool which was like our own private butterfly garden. We also especially enjoyed the scenic hammock area, which in addition to the unbelievably beautiful view was the afternoon destination for reading and nap! Loved every minute of our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easy Yet Exotic

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

Villa Lunatica is glamorous and luxurous with just enough adventure to make it an incredibly exciting experience. The trip there is easy, especially with Thomas, the manager, meeting guests on the tarmac at the Quepos airport, and delivering them to Lunatica's doorstep. The first morning I woke up there, before the sun rose, eager to hear the sounds of the hillside jungle stirring. First, there was a loud squawk, and an answering squawk, then a huge ROAR, then an equally loud ROAR. What was in there besides birds, sloths and monkeys? Lions? Tigers? T Rexes? Nope, none of those, I learned later that morning. Howler monkeys are the ones making all the scary noises. We were able to check them out with our National Park tour guide Henry, who showed us their worried faces through his telescope. Who knows what they worry and roar about! The place is truly paradise. The blooming gardens around the house are beautifully maintainted by the friendly gardener, who can point out amazing wildlife as well. The maid keeps the house immaculate, and if you should engage the cook, you will eat not only an awesome meal that night, but awesome leftovers for days to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House, Great Time

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

A group of my friends and I rented this house for our 30th birthday celebration. I am always nervous renting something like this online, never sure what you are going to get when you arrive. This house is fantastic! Ralph, the owner and Thomas the house manager are easy to deal with, and fair. I would definitely not only stay at this house again, but recommend it to anyone who is looking for a cool place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luna Tica

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Our family stayed 10 days in Luna Tica Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. We have three teenagers and they were well entertained and did not want to leave. We are a surfing family and the waves were incredible. The home is beautiful and comfortable. The home was in a great location. If you have an elderly individual or someone with disability in your family- the steep hill to the home maybe hard to walk everday so you might want to rent a car.
The service from the staff was excellent. Thomas the house manager was readily available and assist with your stay.
You do not need to rent a car; the restaurants are within walking distance. You can walk to the beaches or take a bus. The people in Costa Rica are warm and friendly. Definately returning to Luna Tica for another vacation in Costa Rica

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

699433 - "Villa LunaTica, Manuel Antonio"

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

From our Guest-Book:
The house is stunning. It has a good vibe to it. We were only two people but it's so nice to be able to spread out a bit. It's special. So much so that we didn't see much of the surrounding area.
Georges / London

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

As other reviewers have noted - the pictures are wonderful but you have to see Lunitica to appreciate it. Our entire experience was wonderful. We loved the house and the private pool and the variety of terraces available for relaxing. The property is very well maintained (there is daily maid service). If you need help with side trips and restaurant suggestions, Thomas (the property manager) is a fantastic resource. He made it very easy to enjoy our stay by giving us great recommendations for places to dine and outings. A HUGE thank you to Ralph for making such an exceptional rental property available! Our friends are all asking was it as good as the pictures and our response is no - it's so much more! We hope to return soon and bring some friends down to enjoy this unbelievable experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning views and architecture

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

Just returned last week from Villa Lunatica and I can't say enough good things about the place. First of all, the house is more impressive than the pictures, it is absolutely huge and so interesting in design.

The location for us was perfect. Central to everything in Manuel Antonio. We didn't rent a car, and were able to buy groceries, visit restaurants and go to the National Park and beaches all on foot. It's on the top of a large hill, so be prepared for some walking and climbing, but if you like to be active, it's great. The El Avion restaurant is good, but its sister restaurant a little further down the hill with the wood-burning stove has better food. (Across from Costa Verde)

Everything was very clean when we arrived and the housekeeper did a great job during the week, we just had her come twice since there were only two of us.

Thomas was an excellent property manager: attentive, helpful, but never intrusive. He also made sure the housekeeper only came when he knew we were out on tours so that was great. Make sure to book your tours through him, he makes sure everything goes smoothly. Highly recommend the Waterfall Horseback riding full day tour (ask for Jimmy) and the canopy tour. He also picked us up and dropped us off from Quepos airport which was so appreciated.

Our favourite feature of the house was the large pool. This pool was in the middle of the jungle, and was COMPLETELY private. We were amazed at how we always felt like we were in the middle of nowhere, and yet so central to everything. The views from everywhere on the property, including in the pool, were stunning.

The only caution I would say is that the house is not suitable for younger children or people with mobility difficulties. There are few railings and the stairs are steep especially to the master bedroom. I only say this because I have 5 year old twins but for most (sober) adults it should be no problem.

All of the financials, including the security deposit return went smoothly and Ralf was great to deal with throughout. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and hope to go back again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

My husband and I decided to rent this property for our wedding over New Year's of 08/09 and could not have been happier with this amazing villa. Ralf and our property manager Thomas were nothing but professional and courteous throughout the entire process and the house itself is simply stunning. Beautifully designed, the villa has perfect views of the ocean from the infinity pool and is as close to nature as you can get without putting up a tent in the middle of the forest. Amenities such as a foot-soaking pool and rain-shower showerheads are the icing on the cake and it's obvious that quite a bit of planning went into the construction of this amazing building. Although the walk-and-driveway leading up to the house is somewhat steep, this is the only shortfall I can think of and I would recommend this place and these people to anyone in a second.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

Believe it or not, the pictures don't do this wonderful home justice. It's absolutely stunning. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time staying here and can't wait to come back with friends.

Many restaurants close by, as well as a convenience store. You can get a great workout walking around, but cabs are extremely easy to find. The pool is amazing—secluded and surrounded by lush jungle. In the late afternoon, almost every day we were there, dozens of monkeys would pass by.

The beach is a nice half hour walk or a quick cab ride away. We had a great cheap meal on the beach, as well as at a little place next to the convenience store (which we went to multiple times). A lot of the other restaurants nearby are needlessly expensive for food that is not that exceptional—an exception would be Mar Luna, on the pricier side but worth it.

But more about the house... It's beautifully maintained, the showers are amazing, the kitchen is well-equipped... I truly have nothing bad to say. If you are debating between staying in a hotel or a house while in Quepos, trust me, stay in this house. You get all the service of a hotel from the attentive staff, but all the privacy of a home—and it's more stunning and luxurious than any hotel in the area, which is saying a lot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Lunatica....is absolute paradise!

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

Every year my best friends and I get together for a week of reminicing and fun. When we were younger, accommodations didn't matter...a blow up mattress on the floor or a beach towel on the sand were both perfect. Things have definately changed since then! With it's modern architecture and well appointed spaces we felt like we were staying at a boutique hotel, and with it's privacy and amentities it felt like we were coming home to our own compound each day. Lunatica exceeded all of our expectations.

We enjoyed many a morning watching the monkeys play in the trees next to the deck, and welcomed many a sunset drinking Sangria by the pool...it was truly an amazing experience.

Thank you Ralph for opening up your home to us, we will defintely be back to visit soon!

Best,

Mason
Manhattan, NYC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING house in a beautiful setting

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

Costa Rica is a beautiful place, and this house not only exists in perfect harmony with its setting, it celebrates and enhances all that Costa Rica has to offer. I highly recommend Villa Lunatica to anyone thinking of visiting. The house, the grounds, and the staff are one-of-a-kind. You will love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

We were at Lunatica for a destinatin wedding and loved the setting and everything else that was available.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

We stayed at Lunatica in October 2009 & had an amazing time. The house is stunning, the views magnificent, & the staff are beyond helpful. Enjoying the wildlife(monkeys,iguanas, butterflies) from the balcony with my morning cup of coffee the best part!! I highly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We had the privilege of staying at LUNATICA in
August 2009. We had a wonderful vacation. The
home is amazing. It is even more beautiful than it
appears in the pictures. The views from every
deck are spectacular. We really appreciated all the
natural elements in the design of Lunatica. Even
though the home is very large it has a very
comforting and relaxed feeling. Great location,
close enough to many restaurants, but still
secluded. We enjoyed the pool and all the wildlife(
monkeys, sleuths, iguanas ) that visited us daily.
The manager of Lunatica was very helpful in
making arrangements for us . Costa Rica is
beautiful. We enjoyed all the beaches and MA
National Park. We originally thought we would
schedule a few tours such as zip line or rafting but
choose to hang out at Lunatica because the house
and surroundings are so amazing. Can't wait to
go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review