reviews for: listing #49044 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

VILLITA LunaTica - charming Oceanfront Getaway - AC + WiFi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $250 /nt
    $700 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

LUNATICA

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Hi Ralf -- Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for our amazing trip. Lunatica was beautiful… everything we hoped for and more. I loved laying in a hammock and watching the sunrise and sunset over the ocean. What a beautiful view. I love to cook and the kitchen had everything I needed. We bought fresh fish at the local market in Quepos and grilled out almost every night. Thomas and Hazel were so helpful and knowledgeable which made the whole vacation completely stress free. Loved seeing the Capuchin monkeys and hearing the Howler Monkey every morning. We didn't want to leave…

Thanks again and we're already planning our vacation for next year!

Curran and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful home. Sitting out and watching the animals. Watching the beautiful sunsets or just following their advice and enjoying the Zip Tour, Rafting, Nature Walk.

What ever we did we were treated like royalty. Thanks for a great time. Dont miss this section of Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Visited from Kentucky for an 18 Day trip

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived we very impressed with the home. It's a fantastic open floor plan with beautiful hardwood floors and ceilings. The balcony with both hammocks facing the ocean was fabulous. We spent a great deal of time out there enjoying the view/nature and relaxing. In the mornings we often woke to the sounds of birds, lizards on the roof or monkeys. This house must be on a monkey trail because on a number of occasions large group of different types of monkeys passed through. Some even climbed across the deck and down the hammocks to hang out. It was truly amazing and fun.

The important things you need are stocked in the home so feel free to grocery shop and cook in. You will even find a selection of books to read. The cleaning lady did a great job as well as the other staff who were courteous and friendly.

The location is also excellent and there are numerous things within walking distance. There are plenty of hotels you can walk to and visit the pools. Short taxi to the beach. Have dinner at Victoria's and breakfast at Cafe Milagro. Go horse back riding in Quepos. The grocery is expensive but you can hit the farmers market in Quepos. Do beach rentals at Mary's Chairs (sweet and honest).

We had a wonderful time - 18 days and still hated to leave! For us the house was perfect and we would highly recommend staying.

Ryan and Miranda from Kentucky

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Manuel Antonio Location and Experience

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Ralf, thank you so much for allowing us to rent your place, our time there was amazing. Very sunny, beautiful days with some awesome evening thunder and lighting. The location of Luna Tica is just outstanding, the surrounding restraunts and stores were very easy to get to and offered everything we needed and more. Plus, the visiting monkeys were a huge hit, its pretty easy to just day dream on your deck, I think I spent 80% of the time out there. Also, Hazel is a very good resource for everything in the area and was essential in coordinating some activities and arrivals/departures for us. Please take comfort that your place is in good hands, we really appreciated her help. Also, the view from the deck far exceeds the pictures above...

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect spot to see it all.

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

The view, the fauna, the monkeys, and birds all combine to make you feel like you are in a jungle retreat with all the amenities. Spacious and comfortable with enormous glass makes you feel like you are outside. Friendly, helpfull, and completely unobtrusive staff made our stay a real joy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing view - quaint, wonderful, comfortable

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Thomas - was amazing, and very accommodating. Not sure if I would return to this area, as there are so many amazing parts of Costa Rica to explore. But, if my wife and I did, we wouldn't look at staying anywhere else.

FYI - yes we were visited by ants, and a couple different adorable lizards, they were not intrusive nor a problem. My wife is a super clean freak - and does not care for critters inside the house - and she had an amazing time and was not bothered by them.

The drive way is a challenge...but our Jimny made it fine as long as I got a headstart going up. Walking up it was tiring, and I go to the gym, so if you are in TERRIBLE shape you should take it into consideration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

B l i s s amidst "rainy-season" . . .

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

This first visit to Costa Rica was entirely enhanced by Villita being my home-base. Daily, as I returned from Quepos or Manuel Antonio adventures, riding the bus 'home' was always a comfort and joy. Knowing there was a spacious place for me on a garden hillside overlooking the wonders of the Pacific Ocean. Sanctuary at the foot of easy access to Manuel Antonios' bus system, taxis, and most delightfully---walking distance to its National Park and Beaches.

Swayed in hammock of choice, depending on which spectacular view most suited the moment. Embraced ease of living. Thomas' quiet and reliable management allowed me to do little thinking or figuring out the 'how-to' of adventures I wanted to experience. Allow him to set up your tours---it's the way to 'go with the magnificent flow' of Costa Rica's pura vida.

Farmer's Market Saturday morning was the cultural immersion I hope for. As well as fruit and veggie stock-up for my seven night stay.

Purposely chose rainy season, since SoCal has been in a drought this year. Pre-holiday I Imagined myself enjoying the rain. The wonderment of September storms is the miles of sky that explode with light as thunder crashes near-by. Bright sunshine....hot and intense arrives early the next morning. That was my experience of 'rainy season'.

Hard to say what I liked most. What is it that beckons my return? The Villita's location, amenities, highly cared for inside and out environment is a definite magnet. This region of Costa Rica, the small town, pleasant residents and ex-pat transplants, nature nature nature in all Her glory? All of it!! The Villita, doing business with Ralf & Nina, vacation support from Thomas and his support staff invite me to make plans for a return trip.

Many thanks and much appreciation to All.

Antoinette
Burbank, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing villita and can't wait to return!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last October and we truly could not be more happy & satisfied with our stay. Everything was simply amazing about the trip - even during the rainy season - Ralf was amazing throughout the entire process. We stayed from 10/14/11 - 10/19/11. While it did rain every day we were there, some days weren't as bad as others. Even so, the temperature was really nice & some days we just walked around Quepos in it & still loved it (and this is coming from someone who normally absolutely despises rain)! I'm not sure what it is about it down there, but it's just clean, warm, & tropical so it made it very nice. When the sun did come out, it was absolutely breathtaking. The sunsets are unbeatable in MA and from this Villita in particular. The camera simply couldn't do justice to the views we saw.

Regarding LunaTica Villita - it was perfect serenity for us on our honeymoon. The amazing breezes were perfect coming through the windows. The bed was very comfortable and overall layout was really great for the 2 of us. We did stock up on a few items in the market and some of the stores and cooked a couple of our own meals (as well as used the rice cooker that is equipped). We also went out to eat quite a bit since there are so many great restaurants very close on the same road. El Avion was one of our favorites and we ate there a few times. I LOVE all the good in Costa Rica and didn't have one bad meal. The maid came while we were out and about and we had fresh towels and a clean place. The washer worked fine when we were there and we used it a few times, and it was also nice having the safe there to lock up our cash and valuables. Thomas was great as well! We LOVED the animals we saw in the area - amazing! Bugs were not an issue at all.

As far as activities go, we did everything while there - surf lessons from MASS (MA Surf School) right down the road, Quepos farmer's market, white water rafting on the Naranjo - w/ H20 Adventures in Quepos, zip lining through the jungle - w/ Midworld in Quepos, & several great meals at restaurants w/ killer views all within walking distance to the villita. All the people there are incredibly friendly & helpful - we highly recommend all of the vendors we used for our activities - very professional + worth every penny. We just can't wait to go back for our next trip and would love to someday retire in Manuel Antonio. Can't say enough great things about the area and this villita in particular!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

What a wonderful little house. We loved it. There is lush foliage and a breathtaking view of the Pacific. The tropical sounds are so soothing, and the resident wildlife is really cool. We had a couple afternoon visits from the Capuchin monkeys, who come in groups of 15 or 20 or so, jumping from a palm tree, to the roof of the casita, to the other side of the casita. There are points when I was standing within a couple feet of them. AMAZING! The driveway to the house is pretty intense, which we determined was a method of calorie-burning so we could eat more of the delicious food at the wonderful restaurants in the area. El Avion, which is about a 30-second walk from the house, has a good menu, and a beautiful view of the ocean. Cafe Milagro, which is about a 10-minute walk from the house, was our favorite spot, great food, great people, and exceptional coffee. We did, in fact, cook at the house a couple times, and every utensil we needed for food preparation was available in the kitchen. If you like to sleep with a lot of covers, bring a thin down blanket. I used the blanket I brought for the beach, which was fine - this is a strande peculiarity of my own, so almost doesn't deserve to be mentioned. Thomas was so nice and helpful. The house staff were so thorough and very friendly. We can't wait to get there again some day in the not too distant future. Thank you to everyone, and especially Ralf and Nina for Making their beautiful villita available to others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect vacation property

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a spectacular time in your beautiful Villa LunaTica. It exceeded our expectations in every regard. The views are spectacular, the grounds are lush and the accommodations are perfectly appointed. We also loved being so close to so many fantastic restaurants.
We will surely want to return to Manuel Antonio and Villa LunaTica.
 

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stunning view!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

My husband and I just loved this place!. There is a stunning view of the Pacific and you are surrounded by lush vegetation and beautiful flowers. The most exicting thing about staying here is the Capuchin monkeys which come and visit in the early morning. They come in droves, climbing over the roof and jumping on the trees nearby, some with baby monkeys holding on to their backs!. My husband's constant comment was "can we buy this place and just stay?" The outdoor sounds will stay with me for a long time. Although their is a full kitching there are also great places to eat just a walk away. Try El Avion, which has the fuselage of a C-134 which it uses as a bar (sister ship of the one which crashed during the Iran-Contra affair in the early 1980's, on its way to the CIA's clandestine air strip in Costa Rica with a CIA operative on board). Great view there as well! Listen to the howler monkeys in the early evening and early morning hours; really something to listen to. And, yes, it does rain this time of year, but mostly during the night (which sounds fabulous on the tin roof), and clears up to leave more than enough time for the beach and hiking. Everyone was so friendly and helpful -- from Ralf, the owner, Thomas and his wife Liliane, the manager, as well as the staff, Xinia and Ervin -- there wasn't a thing you needed they couldn't provide. We are back a day, and already missing Costa Rica. I promise, Ralf, we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

PERFECT!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Great location and fabulous ocean views! The friendly and knowledgeable staff showed us everything and helped us with our tours & activities - since we love to hike, the Park was our favorite! A complete kitchen, even a gas BBQ outside, a comfy king bed with a view (!) and two hammocks on the great balcony, perfect for reading - what more do you need? The little washing machine sure came in handy - and bring your iPod, there is a nice iPod stereo!
Most of the time the ocean breeze and the 2 fans kept us comfortable and we absolutely loved the scents and sounds coming in from the garden through the large screened windows, especially around dusk and dawn - unfortunately our new friends the monkeys swung by only twice...
Coming back soon!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BLISS

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Yo Ralf & Nina, what a place you have here, LOVED it - very comfortable and beautiful, hands down the absolute highlight of our trip!
Only disappointment was, that this week was over so quickly and we had to vacate for the next lucky guests - so, next time we bring 2 weeks, at least! Shouldn't have wasted our precious time in rainy-grey Monteverde and boring Tamarindo - oh well, now we know.

Thank you for sharing your gem with us!

jule + matthew

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property, helpful staff, not for everyon

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Villita Lunatica is unique - romantic, private, a stellar and expansive view of the ocean from the deck, villa (bed, dining/living room), beautiful grounds/wildlife, and a friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed the true jungle-like views, and saw monkeys, toucans and other wildlife from our deck. The villita itself is spacious and very pretty for two people. The kitchen and dining room were nice for home cooked meals/self-blended drinks, but you will need to shop for basics and food. Very helpful, friendly staff.

In my opinion, it is a wonderful place for more self sufficient couples who are looking for a romantic location, but are not afraid of a bit of physical exertion. I would recommend this for a few day stay, rather than 1-2 nights.

You should know what you are getting into:

- No air conditioning. Coming from Monteverde, it took a bit of getting used to, but open air design, mountain breezes, large shower helped.

- Steep steps to/from road, and long hill walk to beach. Great bus, though, and pleasant walk.

- We went in the "green" season. Rain in the mornings, major storms late afternoon/night. We enjoyed the lower crowds, had several hours of pleasant weather most days, and found the afternoon thundershowers sort of romantic in the villa, with the sound of rain on the roof, pleasant breezes, active wildlife during the storms, and well... a great excuse to stay indoors.

- At night, there is definitely a fair bit of noise on the weekend from the restaurants down this hill (loud music, tourists). I have the feeling that ANY open air accommodations on the hillside would experience the same. Fortunately, the music seemed to end at 10:30pm.

A few small items would improve the experience even more.

1) Some brighter deck lighting. The large deck with two chairs/hammocks are beautiful. Would like to hang out and read/eat at night.

2) Small conveniences:Extra sheets and towels given sand and humidity would have been nice. Two house umbrellas for the rainy season.

3) Kitchen staples for those who like to cook. Pepper, condiments, cooking oil to supplement the pineapple, coffee and orange juice that you provided.

4) Note: I understand that there is a new mattress. We found the king sized bed very comfortable.


Bottom line: unique, beautiful place for those looking for a romantic, centrally-located spot away from crowds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great View and Location!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We stayed at Villa Lunatica the first week of June. Kathryn was very friendly and gave us a tour around the house and provided her and Thomas number incase we needed anything during our stay. The house was great and bigger than we expected. The view is unforgettable. There is two hammocks and two very comfortable lounge chairs to relax in the front porch. Really enjoyed the new stove, used it every day for home cooked meals. My husband did experience a problem with the coffee maker. The power button was stuck, but he managed to fix it. The other negative was that I specifically booked this place because of the washer, but when we got there Kathryn explained it was temporarily broken. I paid for laundry service, but because there was a note specifally stating that the cleaning lady would like a $15.00 dollar tip per load. Please note, that this house does not have AC, it has screen windows only. During the day and when you cook it gets pretty HOT inside. In the evenings it rains everyday and temperature cools down at night. So, if you plan to stay here make sure you bring extra t-shirts because you will be changing atleast two or three times a day.The bed is pretty stiff, you are probably better off sleeping in the hammocks. Another problem with the house was the infestation of ants in the kitchen counters, the dinning table, the bedroom! We experience some giant flying ants all over the bed one night. We really didn't know how to make them stop, there was probably more than 100. We finally gave up and turned the lights off and they dissappeared. At night, use the dim lights in the living room only; unless you want giant flying ants as guests. Other than these problems, the Villita has a great location. Walking distance from Hotel Si Como No, where they have a great restaurant to eat. A 20 minute walk to Josette's Grocery Store. Use the local bus for transportation only 50 cents a ride. Taxis charge 15.00 per ride or more. For adventure seekers, book your tours with Iguana Tours; great friendly staff. The best tour of our trip was with Amigos Del Rio. We booked a 10 in One, which included horse back riding, hiking, tarzan swinging, waterfalls, rappel, canopy zip line, and a delicious lunch; totally worth the money!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: - mattress is brand new, type "orthopedic medium firm" with a soft padding on top (replaced Apr 15)
- coffee maker is new
- washing machine is working

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A great find in paradise

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

We stayed in Villita Lunatica for 9 days in May. The house is nicely furnished. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen had what was needed to prepared meals. Unfortunately the washer was broken during our stay, I knew we were suppose to have a washer so I was a bit disappointed to find out I had to pay the housekeeper to wash my clothes.
The descent down to the house is a little steep but it is a great work out and you get use to it after a few trips up and down. We didn’t rent a car we got around just fine on foot and the local bus. The local grocery stores are ok, but more expensive than those in Quepos.
We did a couple of tours. I enjoyed the Mangrove but found that having a guide for the National Park was a waste of money. Not that the guide wasn’t good he was but we saw more animals just walking to the beach and sitting on our deck than we did in the National Park. I recommend the reserve across from Si Como No, we went on a night walk there lots of frogs.
We walked down to the beach but took the bus back to the house .The walk to the beach is nice and is a great way to spot monkeys and sloths. If you are looking to rent beach chairs I would recommend the end away from town. I did take a tip from a review I read and brought the cables so I could look at my photos on the TV.
My only complaint would be that the staff really let us down when it came to our transportation back to San Jose. I was told when I got my confirmation for the leg from La Fortuna that we didn’t need to worry about getting to San Jose that we had plenty of time and they would arrange that for us. I had to call to remind them that we need transport to San Jose the day after my phone call my husband went to talk to the staff about the trip back to San Jose, we found out that nothing had been done; my husband gave them the info again and was told they would take care of it. When we got back to the house the next day there was a piece of paper with a schedule on it and a note saying we needed to go to Quepos to schedule the trip. We rushed to Quepos, when we got there they didn’t have any room for us.The woman at Interbus got us on the 8 am van because of the late reservation our pickup info was never given to the driver, we were left in MA the next morning the staff at The Falls saved our day, they got on the phone and got the driver to turn around and come back to pick us up.
Other than the problems with the transportation our stay was just what we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Loretta,
we appreciate your comments.
I am glad that Kathrin and Thomas did a good job on the more complicated connection from La Fortuna to Manuel Antonio. Disappointing to hear that the easy connection from Manuel Antonio to San Jose was somewhat messed up.

You shouldn't have been charged for the laundry, that was a BIG faux pas and the refund is already in the mail.

Come back again!

ralf+nina
ps: happy to hear that you enjoyed our brand new mattress and stove!
pps: washing machine works!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming place to stay, lovely view

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

Great place to stay! There are two hammocks on the porch - perfect for relaxing away the entire day and taking in the ocean view. Excellent location - easy walk to restaurants. The owner, Ralf, was very easy to communicate with and accomodating of our schedule. The place is very clean.

We spent a few days at this Villeta Lunatica and then moved to the fancy Villa Lunatica. Stay at the villa if you can afford it - its quite an experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great stay

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica and loved, loved, loved Manuel Antonio. We were here the middle of March (2011). This condo was a great, affordable place to stay in the perfect location at Manuel Antonio. It is near lots of great spots to eat, walking distance to the beach (though I'd recommend taking the bus right at the top of the driveway to save a major hike home!), and has a beautiful view of the ocean and jungle. The front porch is the best place to hang out. The setting really is surreal. The Condo was beautifully decorated, very simple, yet classy. There was even a small washing machine, which we were surprised to find and everything else we needed in the kitchen. It was very clean and the screened windows just gave it the perfect touch to hear the wildlife and really soak everything in. Kathrin was very energetic and friendly and helped us plan some great excursions, though our favorite day was the one we spent touring through the national park with Henry just down the road and enjoying the beach. We wished we had taken more beach days in the national park. The only reason I gave this place 4 stars instead of 5 was because the bed was on the stiff side and not too comfy. A luxury bed would have made this place heaven! We also had trouble connecting with the internet, it seemed like the router was down the driveway at the "big house" and was kind of hit and miss for us. It was a bit frustrating when we tried to skype home and chat with our kids. Otherwise, I am in full agreement with all you naturalists that we didn't come to Costa Rica to surf the web. All in all, it was a beautiful place and after walking around the area and seeing other condos and hotels, we felt really lucky to have found such a quaint, clean place to enjoy a few days together. And you really can't beat the price. It was definitely our best trip yet! We hope to be back some day. We wish we were still there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: - Thank you for your kind words, Michael, and sorry for your internet inconvenience - I wish you would have brought it to the attention of Thomas, so he could have assisted you right away with this. We actually do have 2 WiFi routers, one is for the distant large Villa and another one for our VILLITA. You probably had unknowingly connected to the weaker (= far away) Villa signal, instead of choosing the dedicated VILLITA network.
'Skype' though, can be a little spotty in Costa Rica, especially at times of high net-traffic.

- Wow, you are our first "mattress" feedback! One thing is true about mattresses, some like it hard, some like it soft - since we had no mattress comments until now we had assumed that the firm mattress was a good one. So, in an effort to archive the highest number of happy sleepers, the mattress will be replaced with one in the middle of the firmness-scale with a soft layer on it for added luxury.

- for the record: The VILLITA is not a Condo - it is a free-standing private house in its own private setting.


Thanks again for your feedback and come back soon!

ralf+nina

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stylish Privacy

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

We stayed at Lunitica last week and it was a wonderful experienece. The house was very clean and nicely appointed. About 1 1/2 hours after our arrival, we were welcomed by a parade of monkeys - certainly more than 2 dozen - thru the trees and over the roof.

Thomas was very helpful in arranging a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park and a zip line adventure. Henry was our park guide and, as others have mentioned, did a great job. We needed to have a minor repair made while we were there. The hot water faucet handle broke in the shower. We called Thomas and it was taken care of right away. We pestered Thomas and Kathrin with several questions by email before our arrival and they were always quickly answered. The gardener (Nicholas) brought us some cuttings from the trimming he had done on the grounds that made the house smell like a floral shop.

We went to the park on our own a couple of times. Snorkeling was pretty good one day but not the other. The beaches were great however and not crowed at all.

Our best meal out was at Aqua Azul just a few minutes walk up the hill. We bought some food at the store about 15 minutes away but took the bus and bought most of our food at Super Mas across from the bus station in Quepos. We either walked or took the bus everywhere we went. The taxis are plentiful and looked safe, clean and friendly. We just choose to use the bus. At Super Mas we got red snapper and chicken breasts. Both were great cooked on the grill. The good news/bad news was that we got meals for a third and fourth night from the leftovers so we didn't sample as many restaurants as we anticipated. But, breakfast at Cafe Milargo was also very good.

If you like to look at your pictures and movies along the way, be sure and bring an HDMI cable. We have stayed at many places with flat screen TV's but have found the inputs to be pretty basic most of the time. Not so with the TV here. It has HDMI and component inputs but not USB.

Finally, a tip we got prior to our first Costa Rica vacation - if you're going to buy wine, the best prices are at the duty free shop at the airport in San Jose. We found this to be the case on both of our trips.

In short, we had a great time and Lunatica would be our first choice when we return to this part of Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful local home

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We spent the 2011 New Year at Villita Lunatica and enjoyed every moment. It is a charming small home, perfect for a couple like us. We were surrounded by tropical plants, birds and monkeys and with a wonderful sunset view over the Pacific. Villita Lunatica has no windows (only screens), so we were in synch with the world around us (sans air conditioning), which is what I would recommend for anyone who wants to seriously experience this area. I loved the sounds at night and early morning.

At the same time, we were a short walk or drive away from many nice restaurants and shops, so I could not imagine a better location.

This house is profesionally managed and a great choice if you wish to stay in this part of Cost Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Time of Our Lives

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this villa and couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. It's in such a prime location so you can walk everywhere. You don't need a car...the beach and the supermarket are about 10 minute walks and restaurants and shops are just steps away. For all of the excursions, a van will pick you up and drop you off at the top of the driveway. There is also a bus that goes up and down the street every hour that will take you to the beach for 50 cents.

The view of the water is spectacular and those hammocks are so relaxing! You could hear howler monkeys around 5am every morning. The house is down a steep driveway, so it's a short little cardio workout going up it, but not bad at all. The property is very clean and the decorations are beautiful.
The property owner was so helpful and the man who manages the property lives close by and was fabulous! He helped us book all of our excursions which were all authentic and unforgettable with the best guides around. We can't wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

most perfect place to stay in Manuel Antonio!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

We-folks from Russia(loooong way to go)-?????? stayed in Luna Tica villita 2 weeks and really enjoyed!Location-so perfect,specially at sunset-look and understand-in god we trust!!!No problem to go to the main beach-public bus every 15 min for about 50 cents.A lot restaurants around in walking distance.also-all kinds of food you can buy in closest supermarket,or take a bus to downtown Quepos and very fresh fruits and vegetables and-!!!!-incredably fresh tuna,marlin,langosto...for amazing low price!!!!
Villita-nice,clean and comfortable,good managed property(personal thx to Thomas!!).No problen at all!
Highly recommend for evrybody!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Villita Luna Tica

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

We stayed in Manuel Antonio on September 30-October 6. Half of those nights we stayed at the Villita Luna Tica. Ralf, the property owner, was very helpful at getting everything set up for us. Thomas, the property manager, picked us up from the Quepos airport and took us to the house. He gave us the scoop on Quepos and Manuel Antonio and was available whenever we had questions.

The house was perfect for us and we enjoyed every minute of it. The landscaping was beautiful and there wasn’t anyone else around us (low season). The inside was always comfortable (temperature) and there are great views from a great front porch, and a great porch. Howler monkeys woke us up each morning (which we enjoyed) and there was plenty of wildlife viewing from the porch including monkeys, lizards, aracaris, toucans, hummingbirds, and many other birds.

As it says on the Luna Tica website, the house is located on a steep hill. However, it’s a quick walk (<5 minutes) from the house to the top of the hill to meet cabs/buses/tour outfitters and it is close (walking distance) to many restaurants. We will definitely look up the Luna Tica again when we go back to Manuel Antonio. We highly recommend the Luna Tica.

PURA VIDA!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Romantic Getawaw!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

Wife and I spent 1 week at Lunatica and we didn't want to come home. This was our delayed honeymoon and the setting was perfect for a romantic getaway in Costa Rica. The grounds are private and scenery is spectacular. Landscaping is maintained meticulously, buildings are kept clean, and the location is absolutely perfect. There is so much beautiful wildlife to watch, and amazing beaches less than 5 minutes away. I highly recommend Lunatica for a romantic couple's retreat, or family vacation. You will love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful, Peaceful Villa!

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Very peaceful, well maintained villa overlooking the beautiful Pacific! Conveniently located within walking distance or a short 35 cent bus ride to Manual Antonio Park or Quepos. Beautiful flowers adorn the grounds...we particularly relished lying in the hammocks on the back deck after a long day of hiking or being at the beach. Great restaurants are all along the main road at the top of the driveway hill, and they're good! You don't need a car....the manager at the property can arrange a variety of day excursions. Monkeys show up, occasionally. Beautiful sounds at night. Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stylish decor & great location

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

We stayed at the villita in late April 2010, the decor was very chic with good quality finishings and lots of wood. The villa stays cool as the windows are mesh and there are big ceiling fans. there is a lovely deck with hammocks and a table and chairs to sit and look at the view of the ocean. It's walking distance to Manuel Antonio national park (took us about 20 mins to walk down the hill but we got a taxi back up!) We saw hummingbirds on the flowers outside the villa and monkeys on the palm trees next to it. We heard the howler monkeys at around 4am in the mornings, they sounded very close! The kitchen was well equipped with all we needed including coffee maker. The path down to the villa is very steep so if you are very unfit you might be better off with a car, I'm quite unfit and I managed ok!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Splendid!!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

We stayed in lovely Villita Lunatica for a week. Our week at Villita Lunatica was an absolutely wonderful experience. We arrived and it was already dark. Thomas met us in Quepos and showed us the way to the villa and it was only in the morning that we discovered the breathtaking view of the ocean, the exotic smells of the flowers and our neighbors the capuchin monkeys. We had our breakfasts on the balcony overlooking the sea and our nightly libations in our hammocks. The villa was spotless and well equipped. This is an ideal place for a couple.

Many good restaurants are within walking distance and we particularly liked for dinner the Hacienda (you need a car to get there or take a taxi) and for lunch El Avion (great view of the ocean).

We particularly liked Manuel Antonio National Park and its superb beaches.

We look forward going back as soon as we can.

Marc & Mireille

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment posted originally in VRBO

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2010

Each winter, although skiers, we try to get away from the snow and cold for a few weeks. This year's vacation at Villita was a much appreciated stay with the superb greenery, varied animal life, plenty of sun and warm waters. The villa was up to our expectation. Well equipped, clean, comfortable and with a breezy terrace offering a stunning view of the sea. We have also much appreciated Thomas help and recommendations. Here are a few tips for upcoming guests: 1. If you rent a car, be sure it is a 4x4; 2.the drive between San Jose Airport and Quepos has been shortened with the opening of the autopista in the vicinity of Atenas; 3.the road south of Quepos has been completely redone with new bridges. The beaches in the area of Ojochal are wild but not as clean as those in Manuel Antonio; avoid paying 6 $ per person to enter Marino Balena Park where the beach is a total mess ! 4. among good restaurants around Manuel Antonio: El Avion; Si Como No; and the Luna restaurant of the five star Gaia hotel where you are driven up by golf cart and lifted by an elevator to the dining room for the most breathtaking views of sunset and super service; 5. follow instructions from Thomas to access the end of Playa Espadilla through the small shops where you can park free close to the beach and rent chairs and a beach umbrella; 6. go to bed early because you might be awakened early by the howler monkeys; 7. watch the white faced mono titis at the beach in Parque Manuel Antonio; they are fast at stealing any of your food if not your camera or, may be, your I Pod ! What funny creatures ! We were in Costa Rica in 2000 and returned in 2010 and found it as nice and attractive as the first time. Pura vida they say, rightly so. Jean et Johanne / Montreal Qc Canada

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We just got back from Manuel Antonio, where we stayed in charming Villita Lunatica. This is just ideal place for a couple (+child), and we had such wonderful time visiting Costa Rica first time and staying in this place. The Villita is cozy and very clean place surrounded by beautiful gardens. The view from the deck is absolutely gorgeous, but sound of the birds, howling monkeys, and the ocean, smell of the flowers and trees - all this is unforgettable. The location is great; we decided not to rent a car - the smartest decision! (unless you travel from place to place). We used taxi to go everywhere, and it's very reasonable and convenient. We had 2 tours - Rainmaker and Manuel Antonio Park, both with the same guide - Henry, and he is the best! Henry was recommended by Thomas, Lunatica's manager, and we're very pleased with all his recommendations. Thomas speaks several languages and was very helpful. The rest of the staff, the gardener and the maid are just perfect. We're very impressed with the people's willingness to help and how proud they are of their beautiful land. The beaches are very beautiful, nice and clean. The restaurants and cafe are very good. We went to Kapi-Kapi for a special dinner, and the food was very good, our favorite place was El Avion - the bar and restaurant in the airplane, we watched beautiful sunset on our last evening there. WE also liked Marlin - the restaurant by the beach, very fresh seafood. Our favorite breakfast place was Cafe Milagro, very good coffee and food. We got to see the big house - main villa LUNATICA, and it's stunning! It's just wonderful place for a special event - wedding, anniversary, etc., or just for a big family vacation. We would love to come back. Thank you very much for everything.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Can't wait to go back

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

We just returned from our week at Villita Lunatica and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We miss our sunset cocktails on our balcony - every night the view became more beautiful. We did have a car so it was quite an exciting each time we drove up the very steep driveway, but added more to the adventure. We also miss all the amazing sights and sounds like the howler monkey alarm clock every morning. Thomas and Enrique were great and quickly took care of a little bee problem we had. Enrique stopped by several times and although we had a language barrier, we were still able to have some great chats. Working with Ralf and Thomas was also very easy and they both responded quickly to all our questions. If we are lucky enough to make it back to Manuel Antonio, we will stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place.

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Spent my 40th b-day in this wonderful house. It was awesome. Walking distance to many restrauants, stores and and a great view. don't stay in a hotel when you can relax on the deck, watch the monkeys and enjoy the sunset.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villita LunaTica

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

I spent days searching for the perfect place to stay for our 3+ weeks in Costa Rica. My time was well spent as I discovered the Villita LunaTica and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Particularly, when we checked out a couple of the places we considered, we knew how very lucky we were to find the Villita. Upon arriving, the fragrance of the ylang ylang tree greeted us. Thomas, the very personable and capable manager who had guided us there, explained the scent is the very one used in Chanel No. 5. The Villita is surrounded by a beautiful hibiscus hedge with coconut palms interspersed. Don't miss the calabash tree located outside the kitchen window! The hummingbirds visit constantly and many other beautiful birds. Our alarm clock was a howler monkey and during the day we often saw white-faced capuchin monkeys as near as our roof and the surrounding palm trees. It is very private and lovely. The kitchen is fully equipped, the bathroom has a nice, warm shower, the bedroom is large and the open concept in the living-dining area lends to an overall feeling of spaciousness. We chose to cook most of our meals at "home", buying fresh mahi mahi from the Martec Fish Market by the bus station in Quepos. However, there are several very popular restaurants a few steps away, if you choose to eat out. Manuel Antonio National Park with its animals, beautiful beaches and hiking trails is a short drive away as are a number of other beaches. We took day trips to Mt. Chirripo, Ballena National Park and Puntarenas. The Villita is very well situated for these adventures away from Manuel Antonio due to the much improved highways. Property owner, Ralf Huck, is excellent to work with, Thomas, the manager, is very knowledgeable about the area and does an excellent job of responding to any need or question. Erwin, the gardner has created an Eden and Xenia, the housekeeper is like a good fairy visiting often with fresh linens. We highly recomment the Villita LunaTica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We loved Luna Tica

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

We stayed at the Villita for a week with our two young children and had a fabulous time! The property was very pretty, clean and well maintained. We woke up early with the sounds of the birds and waves and drank coffee on the balcony. Luna Tica is close to everything (walking distance to restaurants, short drive to the reserve and a hotel with a pool that we used daily) yet we still felt very secluded. We saw plenty of monkeys on our walks and were even visited by one in the trees next to the balcony. The professional and friendly customer service from Ralf and Thomas was excellent. If you are traveling with children - the open balcony railings were the only thing we were a little cautious of.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Rental!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed at this Villita for 3 weeks and just had an amazing time. It was a perfect little place for us. The view was amazing and it was close enough to the beach for us to walk and very close to the bus stop. A great location. The Villita is perfect and if we were to come back, I guarantee we would stay there again. In the midst of the jungles, we had monkeys swinging from the trees while we were laying out in the hammocks and geckos were regular visitors, which made the charm of this place wonderful.Not to mention the help we received when we were there, Thomas, our contact in Costa Rica was full of advice and insight and gave us all of the information we needed while in Costa Rica. We highly recommend this to anyone!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a vacation!

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

This was the first time I'd been to Costa Rica. We found Luna Tica on the internet and booked the house for a week in July of 2009.

We certainly didn't go wrong by any stretch of the imagination. The house was beautiful and everything that we expected to be there was there. The accommodations were excellent.

But I think more importantly, the staff were supperb. Ralf was very accommodating with our reservation and provided answers to every question we had.

Thomas, the property manager, met us in town and drove us to the villa providing information about the area and attractions. He made reservations for us when asked and extended every hospitality.

And lastly, Enrique the grounds keeper, provided fresh flowers for the room and while we had a major language barrier, were able to learn about each other and the grounds, which by the way were like a garden of Eden.

I can't say enough about our stay and would highly recommend Villita Luna Tica to anyone wanting to spend some time in paradise.

Gratefully,

Peter Adams
Charlotte, NC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review