reviews for: listing #4914 - Scottsdale, Arizona House rental

totally private mccormick ranch location
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  McCormick Ranch
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $325 /nt
    $945 - $1,995 /wk
    $1,995 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Hummingbirds Galore!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I flew in from Boston and my sister and her boyfriend drove from San Diego for a family wedding in Scottsdale. My boyfriend and I arrived at 9:30 pm Friday night and Mike was there waiting to welcome us. My sister arrived early the next morning. After our long travel hours, we relaxed by the pool and watched the hummingbirds flutter above our heads. It was awesome!
The pictures on the website are beautiful. But in person, the home is jaw-dropping. I consider myself to be VERY neat and my boyfriend is a contractor. We inspected the home and could not stop commenting to each other about the beauty and cleanliness. The home was more than spaciousness enough for our group.
The experience was of total tranquility. When I am back in the area there will be one phone call I will make for my reservations (to Mike).

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

September vacation from England

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

After a late arrival we were met by Mike even though it was late in the evening ,everything in the property was as expected and more with lots of room & lovely furnishings. We found the rental to be in a great area with lots of local restaurants close by ,the house has very private grounds & a great pool which was very welcome in the summer sun .We would recommend this vacation rental to anyone wishing to visit Phoenix & we would definitely return for another stay in the future ,Chris & Jeni ,England

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great house; Great location

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

This house is on target in terms of comfort, convenience, value and four of us had plenty of room during our 4 day stay. The descriptions and photos of the house are accurate. Mike the owner has thought of everything you will need. The kitchen is fully stocked, more than enough towels and pool towels and refrigerator was stocked with cold water. The décor of the house is comfortable along with WiFi and Cable. The neighborhood is very quiet and all the houses in it were built in such a way that there is complete and total privacy in all of the yards. Its central location is easily accesible to North and South Scottsdale. There are many places to eat and shop within a 5 minute drive. Check in and out was very easy. It was fun to have grapefruit and lime trees in the yard. Our favorite part of the house was the covered patio by the pool with our daily visits from the hummingbirds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We can only reiterate what most of the previous reviewers have said.. Mike was so easy to deal with, always available, but fully respected our privacy, although he lives nearby. The home was very clean, peace, quiet and and privacy excellent.. pool was a little chilly at first, but after a couple of days in the 100's, was fine. Kitchen was more than well-equipped - grill clean and ready-to-go.. we'll be back, and have recommended the property to a few friends! Thanks for everything, Mike..

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Adult Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

We loved this vacation home property...it was perfect for our family with 2 young adult children. The house though older is lovely with a wonderful southwest decor theme and beautiful local artwork. The large living room and dining room were perfect for entertaining our extended family in the area over the holiday season. Though Az was cooler this year than last the hot tub was great....and the yard shelter and sunny so comfortable for sun bathing even in low 70 degree weather. All linens, cookware, dishware were provided and some nice geatures like new toothbrushes, shampoo, laundry detergent, coffee available. We especially enjoyed the citrus trees with wonderful fresh grapefruit each morning. In all...a wonderful location in the desert...close to all Scottsdale ammentities...truly as advertised.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful location

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

As regular visitors to Scottsdale from the UK we found Mike's house to be the best we have rented. The location was perfect! Quiet and secluded but so close to Scottsdale Road and wonderful restaurants and shops. My husband and I loved the South western furnishings and the outside pool, patio and hot tub were where we spent most of the day just watching the humming birds. Mike was always on hand when we had questions and the house was very well stocked with toiletries and cleaning products. It was so wonderful that next time we are in Scottsdale we will definitely be contacting Mike.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Property

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We were lucky to rent this house for a week in April 2012 at the last minute. We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it as a place for a nice relaxing vacation. The property has everything you could possibly need and Mike is on hand to help and ensure your stay is perfect.

The house is large and very nicely decorated but do not expect acres of granite and massive plasma TV's . Everything is more traditional Scottsdale style but it feels like your own home rather than a rental. The Master and second bedroom are very nice and the 3rd bedroom has a large pull out/sofa bed in a room adjacent to the kitchen /family area. There is plenty of storage in all the bedrooms.

The garden was large and very private and we enjoyed the Hot Tub but the pool was not heated and too cold for us. There is a grill and plenty of outside seating for dining and lounging. There is also a resident Humming Bird and it was a pleasure to watch him on the feeders.

The location is good and if you are so inclined it is easy to walk to Scottsdale Road and catch the no 72 bus North or South. We did this to go for dinner and it was easy and cheaper than a Cab.

In summary a great vacation home and we would return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My wife and myself plus another couple, wanted to attend the Barret Jackson Sale in Scottsdale. We searched for a house close to the sale and we found this one.
Mike was great to work with from start to finish. Everything we needed was provided.The house was as discribed and more. The yard was well kept and the pool was clean. The hot tub was a nice extra.There is grapefruit,orange, and lemon trees in the back yard that we used.(sweet)
There is lots of shopping close and restaurants were plentiful.
I would definately recommend this house to friends if wanting to stay in the area.
Thanks again Mike for everything.
Ron
RON

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Paradise

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

If you want a nice quiet, relaxing paradise, this is your place. We rented this over the Thanksgiving holiday while visiting family. We had 2 adults and 3 teenagers staying there and there was plenty of room. It was so nice to come home at night and be welcomed by the warm bubbling jacuzzi. The beds were big and comfortable and the kitchen was equipped with anything you would ever need. Shower water pressure was wonderful, which you usually don't find in rentals. When you drive up to the house you are a little unsure, but once you open the gate, the welcoming of the beautiful surroundings makes you never want to leave. I would recommend this to anyone with swimmable age children/adults. It was perfect and Mike was great to deal with. Thank Mike, we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice, quiet property

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

This was sort of a "staycation" for us as we live in Northern Arizona. We just wanted to relax and not have to travel too far. This was the perfect place. The pool/yard layout made it feel like we were completely secluded. I loved the light and airy decor of the house. The property is located in a lovely neighborhood, close to everything we needed. We went to a ballgame, did some shopping and went to the movies. The kids hooked up the Xbox and laptop (free wi-fi) which was perfect. We had breakfast one morning at Butterfields which was excellent! The rest of the time we cooked on the outdoor grill and hung out poolside. Yummy grapefruit right off the tree for breakfast! I would definitely recommend this place to my family and friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Will Be Back

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We rented this home off the internet when the resort we stayed at last year was booked up. Were we ever glad!!
It's hard to know by pictures exactly what you're getting and we were a little apprehensive but hopeful as the pictures and reviews were good. We were not disappointed in the least. The home is very comfortable and clean. The yard is so private and the fresh grapefruit and oranges we had off the trees every morning are already calling us back! If you are ready for peace and quiet like we need when we get away, I would highly recommend this lovely get away.
Mike is very laid back and helpful. We would be glad to rent this home from him again.
Thanks Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Scottsdale Location

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The pictures do not say it all. For instance, there is grapefruit on one of the several citrus trees in the side yard. This is a lovely home in a quiet neighborhood with all the privacy one could desire. It is close to great restaurants, good shopping, and all that Scottsdale has to offer. Mike, the owner, is a great host. When you arrive, the hot tub is ready for use. He is friendly and gracious and provided valuable recommendations on local eating and shopping opportunities. He has stocked the house with everything you will need to have an enjoyable stay at his property - there were even extra toothbrushes in case we had forgotten to bring our own. He is nearby when there is a problem (like the day we inadvertently locked ourselves out), but he gives you all the space you need.

Scottsdale is one of our favorite vacation destinations, and we hope Mike's place will be available the next time we are able to get away. We were here for the first two weeks of April, but it was much too soon to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

A very pleasant vacation home

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

We rented the house for a month in Oct/Nov 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The location is wonderful, quiet and central to shopping, airport. The owner is very friendly and helpful and took care of any requests promptly. The garden is very private and we used the pool for the first two weeks until it got too cold. We used the hot tub daily as well. I would not hesitate to rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We rented this property for the whole month of July. It was fabulous; the pool and hottub were in perfect working order, the house was comfortable and in a great location in Scottsdale. Owner was easy to contact and very responsive to any questions we had. It was totally worth a little more than most condo rentals to have the house with privacy and a garage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a note from the owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

when i bought this home it was with the intention of creating a furnished vacation rental that would allow its guests to relax and entertain from a place that is just plain fun!
we hope this very private setting meets your expectations.
it will make you feel like you are on vacation;
not staying at someone else's house
either way, i hope you enjoy your stay in scottsdale
mike richter, owner

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review