reviews for: listing #49150 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Romantic Views Over the Gulf of Mexico
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Continental
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $200 /nt
    $995 - $1,120 /wk
    $1,600 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation Rental - more than we imagined

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

We rented this condo based on the reviews of past users. And I must say we were happy we listened to the positive reviews, otherwise we might have missed out on this little gem.

The Continental is an older building, built with a purpose - great location for those that want to spend time on the beach, without breaking the bank. There aren't many ammenities to the grounds: BBQ is a rust bucket, the pool is small and can handle only one family at a time. If you want to use the pool, I would recommend the mornings. But what makes the Continental great is the location, it is a very short walking distance to the beach. And because the Continental is small, the beach in front is not as crowded as the larger complexes. All the other renters for the week we were there seemed to be families too which wa comforting (nothing worse than ending up at a party complex).

As for the unit, we were pleasently surprised,(the pictures do not do it justice). The unit is very clean, the bedrooms are good sized and the beds are very comfortable. This unit only has one full bathroom, but that was sufficient for our family of four. Everything we needed was in the unit, an added bonus was the beach chairs, tent and toys. Also, a good selection of VHS tapes for kids to watch in their bedroom.

The view from this condo is priceless. On the third floor you can see beautiful sunrises, and the moon and stars over the Gulf at night. If you walk out the front door you can see the fireworks down the island or the ones lit from Claytons. We spent most of our mornings drinking coffee on the balcony watching the early birds jog and walk on the beach.

We really had a great time on our vacation. The price of the unit allowed us to use our money on other things like snorkeling, dining and other activities.

This unit is great, however, I would not reccomend it to those with very small children or those that have difficulty walking stairs. The Continental does not have elevators and carrying stuff up three flights of stairs can be trying for even those without health problems.

Lastly, a big thank to the owner, Katherine. She was very easy to work with and answered all my questions prior to our trip. We look forward to staying at her place again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Spent this past weekend there, the condo was awesome!! Everything was very clean , great view of the beach. Will definitely be back soon. My family and I loved it.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you! I look forward to your return!
Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Non Smoking Unit" also means "No Smoking On Patio

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The only reason this review gets a "3 Average" is because the description on the website that says "non smoking unit" is VERY misleading. My boyfriend, Dad and myself are all smokers. We did smoke on the patio but never in the condo whatsoever. I received an email stating we would not be getting our deposit back because it was obvious that someone smoked in the condo & that that they were in the process of removing the smoke from the unit. I contacted the owner because I didn't feel this was right since we never did smoke inside only on patio. She said a non smoking unit means even on the patio that you cannot smoke. IF I would have known this I would have never rented it as we are smokers. We ended up getting $75 of the $100 back which is better than nothing but I still don't feel we were done right. As far as the condo itself it had everything you need and more. It was very nice and clean. It overlooks the beach and just a short walk to it. The only other downfall is the stairs (no elevator) but once you get everything upstairs it isn't too bad. I even recommended the condo to my Brother ( before I knew about our deposit & Non smoking Patio) in which he has already booked and will be going next month. I would love to rent this condo again but with what happened I don't see that we will be.

Owners response: I am sorry for the misunderstanding; too many people are extremely sensitive to smoke and when I state A Non-Smoking Unit that is exactly what I mean. My patio balcony is part of my unit and it's unavoidable to go anywhere except into the condo from the balcony. Had my housekeeper not been able to smell smoke in the unit, this whole situation could have been avoided.
Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

great place!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This condo is wonderful! It was VERY close to the beach and very very clean. If a problem arises, Catherine is very prompt and attentive to your concerns and needs. There is a large utility closet filled with wonderful beach supplies so theres no need to buy them or pack umbrellas, beach canopy or toys. We didnt want to leave and cant wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I look forward to your return! Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Get Away!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We had an awesome time! It was my husband, 2 teenaged sons, and myself. The arrangement was perfect. We had everything we needed for our trip. It was in a great location with easy access to the beach. We prepared breakfast and lunch at the condo and were able to eat dinner out every night. We usually get to spend our summer vacations at an all inclusive Mexican resort. This year we just couldn't afford it so this was a great second choice. Very affordable and were still able to have some fun on the island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you! I look forward to hearing from you again. Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time, Great Place

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

The condo was excellent and fit my family just right. The beach is only steps away and can be seen from the room, which made it convenient to set up camp and return to the room for a few hours while we could still see our things. The only advice is that you be ready to climb stairs (there is no elevator) and use the beach access to the South of the condo because the hotel's access is more difficult to traverse. Overall, very pleasurable and would recommend this room to anyone that asks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michael...Looking forward to hearing from you again! Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

!Birthday on the beach!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Me and my wife were really impressed, the condo was beautiful, really relaxing and great. I had one of the best birthdays thanks to Catherine, she was really nice and understandable, i stayed 1 day in a half and loved it im actually going to plan another vacation and hopefully i will stay in the same place if its available.. Loved it.. Thanks again Catherine...

Owners response: You are so welcome Erik! I hope you'll spend all your Birthdays at the condo! Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas on the beach

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We stayed in the condo seven days between Christmas and New Years. The accomodations were great. Very clean. Beds were comfy. Balcony was perfect. Wi-Fi was strong. Everything needed to cook/serve meals was included. Beach chairs, toys etc ... All included. Great condo for a lovely island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Rita! FYI...there is a "no pet" policy for renters unless they receive special permission. Thanks for your review! Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing condo!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

I am a traveling healthcare professional and I just completed a 3 and 1/2 month stay in this property. I cannot sum up how amazing this condo really is in such a short review, 2500 characters is not enough. All within a phone calls reach, Catherine is very friendly, understanding and hospitable. Her condo has everything you would ever need to make yourself right at home and enjoy one of the most amazing beach views this country has to offer. Thanks again, Catherine. I hope to make it back one day!

Owners response: Thanks Justin! I'll look forward to your return!
Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

The condo was great. Clean, nicely furnished, awesome view of the beach. Everything you could need for your stay.

Owners response: Thank you so much! I will look forward to your return.

Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a find!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

I just wanted to say that my family & I were SO pleased to find such a wonderful place! There was more than enough room for a family of 4. It was clean & well stocked with anything & everything we could want or need. I tend to overpack(which I did again), but there really was no need. We loved that it was on the top floor, so we never heard anyone else in the complex. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone & would love to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! Looking forward to hearing from you again.
Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costumer Service was horrible!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

First of all my low rating is due to the very poor costumer service we received. I do have email that were sent and saved text messages. That being said, before we began our vacation I had emailed the owner asking for information about the property. All she emailed me back, was that the info was on the homeaway website. Before arriving I called the owner to let her know that we were running behind schedule and I never received a call back. Upon arriving I called her again and the call went straight to voicemail. So we called the number on the sign infront of the building and they told me that they had no reservations for us! I then begin to freak out (10 hour drive with a small child) and keep calling the owner and had no luck! I freak out even more thinking we had been scammed! As we start to drive around town, we notice some rental places. So we stop and ask around and no one seemed to know what to tell us.We stopped at 4 different places until we came across a lady named Diane that saved our vacation! She made a few calls and after 5 hours of crying and worrying, she gave us the instructions as to how to get inside. God bless her for doing all she did! After being inside the condo is when I finally rcvd a text from the owner and she told me where to go. Well the number she gave me was the wrong number, I text her back to let her know the phone # was wrong and she never text back! This being my first vacation ever I learned tons! On the other hand the condo was great! It was clean, very close to beach, fully stocked, internet access, comfortable beds, great AC.....everything in the condo was wonderful!!!! In the shower there was a cracked shelf that looks like it had been glued, that did break again! I would recommend this condo, if the owner was a little more willing to answer all questions asked and not tell people that all the info is on the homeaway website! We do look forward to going to South Padre again next summer, but I will be more careful when doing reservations online!!!!

Owners response: I apologize for your inconvenience. I was out of the country and had limited or no phone usage. Each contract that goes out has explicit instructions on entering the property and locating the key and parking permit. I sincerely apologize for the stress you incurred.

Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing getaway

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Two mothers and their teen daughters had a wonderful weekend here. The property was clean and well equipped. Nice bedding and comfortable surroundings. Close to the beach and small complex was delightful. Will recommend to friends and neighbors. We will definitely go back!

Owners response: Thanks! I look forward to hearing from you again!
Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fabulous!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

This place is just as described and MORE!! The view is so awesome we spent hours just sitting and watching the surf and people from the balcony as well as just sitting under the beach tent on the beach.
This condo is on the 3rd floor, of a 3 story building - so no one above you!
Full oven/stove, fridge, and microwave a BIG plus!
Owner was very quick and nice when we needed to contact her (local management had changed the gate code and didn't tell her).
Everything was well maintained and very clean - nothing was run down.
The beach closet was so awesome! Lots of chairs and a beach tent as well as all the supplies you need (and then some) to build a sand castle! (saved us money - we didn't have to buy anything!)
Great location between public access points such that there was always room on the beach right in front of the condo for us, no matter what time we got out there.
I will be back!
If you are there June/July make sure you check out Sea Turtle Inc. If the eggs hatch you can see them release sea turtles that are hours old - you must not miss this!
We ate at so many restaurants, I can't list them all, but get the Urbanspoon app, it won't steer you wrong!

Owners response: Thank you so much. I look forward to seeing you next year!
Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo, beautiful view.

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This condo has a beautiful view of the beach/gulf. The building is gated and has it's own beach entrance. It is a great condo for a family of 4 or 5 including kids, it had plenty of room. It has parking in front of the building and in designated parking lot. The condo was nicely decorated and I liked that the bathroom had a separate sink/mirror area. The owner was very nice and helpful during our stay. Hope to be back soon.

Owners response: Thank you! Looking forward to your return! Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Loved the condo. It was spacious, really nice and clean. The view is amazing! The beach is so close and very easily accessible. Overall an awesome experience. It is on the 3rd floor but the view and beach access makes up for it. Loved the closet with the beach goodies, makes it that much less of a hassle to pack your own. Very family friendly.
Will definitely rent again.

Owners response: Thank you! I will look forward to hearing from you next year! Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Value on the Beach!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

I flew in from Georgia and stayed here for 2 nights during my high school reunion and it was fantastic! This condo had everything to make the stay comfortable, and the price was unbeatable. Cheapest beachfront per night cost by at least $75. Doesn't matter that it's not on the ground floor. Just means you won't have sand all over the patio! Catherine the landlord worked to get us all the parking passes and access we needed, and was always a phone-call away. Super-helpful. I definitely plan on staying here next time I'm down, and if you're looking for a great beachfront condo to stay at, you should, too.

Owners response: Thank you and I definitely will look forward to making every stay as special as I can for you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic Views Over the Gulf of Mexico

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Everything was just as it was described. My husband and I especially enjoyed the sunrises. The family enjoyed walks on the beach, beach volleyball and tether ball. We walked to the Cinema (cash only) one night. We traveled to Port Isabel for supplies. We enjoyed each ride because it was like sightseeing each time. This was a great week for out family. My husband just returned from a year in Iraq, and we needed this getaway, it was perfect. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coming back for the 2nd time

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here last year and we are coming back again for a 2nd time. The condo is right on the beach, has a gorgeous view, and is incredibly clean. The owner is also so friendly and answers questions or concerns immediately. My children especially loved her closet full of beach "goodies" to use in the sand. We can't wait to go back in a few weeks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review