reviews for: listing #49156 - Tybee Island, Georgia House rental

"Hideaway ON the Beach"
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Shipwatch
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $280 - $415 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful home, great location!

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

Hideaway on the Beach is a lovely home. My husband and our adult children stayed here for the first time June of 2013. We enjoyed it so much we decided to return this year. It really is in the perfect location. If you want big crowds, lots of noise and big waves, then go to the other side of the island. The waters here stay calm. We spent most of our time on the beach. My son brought two kayaks which provided some very memorable moments. We would paddle out when we saw dolphins and it was great fun being out there with them swimming all around us! We only saw manatees on two occasions. Last year we saw them almost daily. My husband was out on the beach very early every morning to fish. He loved it. He caught quite a number of fish and various other sea creatures as well! We enjoyed the new grill. As for restaurants, we can recommend the Crab Shack, Sting Ray's, MacElwee's, and Huck-A-Poo's (especially their pizza). A trip to Savannah is certainly a must. Such a lovely city!
Only used the jetted tub once. We prefer showers and used the outdoor shower which was "different" but fun! This home has plenty of towels. The beds are comfortable except for the lower bunk bed in the "kids" room. The mattress really does need to be replaced. The intercom radio is a nice feature and we used it every day.
The home owners are very nice. Debra was always quick to answer my emails. Prior to our trip, she mailed us a ton of brochures and information about Tybee and the Savannah area. It really was very useful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect hideaway.

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Hideaway on the Beach! The house was beautiful, clean and came with everything you could possibly think of. Toiletries, spices, welcome basket, etc. The location was perfect for us. We loved being on the other end of the island away from everything. It made for a perfect evening sitting on the porches. We enjoyed the quietness of the neighborhood. One evening I sat on the front porch at about 12:30 am and could not believe how quite it was. Perfect! My husband loved the outdoor shower and the jacuzzi tub was just what I needed after a 13 hr drive! The residents were friendly as were the cleaning people. Debra and Susan are wonderful people to deal with and handled all of my questions with grace! We can't wait to come back.

Owners response: Thank you so VERY much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay in our beachfront Tybee home.
Thank you for noticing many of the same things we love about the house and about Tybee! The North end is so peaceful and the beach, located near the Tybee Lighthouse, was tested for water quality 51 times last year and never violated a strict public health guideline for bacteria levels. It was among 35 popular beaches singled out for praise by the Natural Resources Defense Council for meeting national water quality benchmarks at least 98 percent of the time over the past five years. We also enjoy that out door shower and will even use it in the winter with a warm robe to wrap up in before heading back upstairs. We look forward to your return. Best, Steve and Debra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Family Vacation Spot!!!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

I will start off by saying that the owners were very responsive to my emails and questions prior to our stay. I received our welcome packet in the mail well in advance and it was more than enough information for us to plan our stay in Tybee. The house is located in a small subdivision on the private side of of the island. It has its own beach access which makes things very easy, especially with 2 small children (5yr old and 2 1/2 yr old). There were 5 adults and 2 kids and there was plenty of room for everyone. The house has everything you need for a week at the beach. We had such a great time. The outdoor shower and rinse off area was so helpful after a day at the beach. The house had chairs for the beach, toys for the kids, boogie boards and even games for the adults. Washer and dryer were so useful. I have to say, the master bath is nice but kind of wasted on us since it didn't have a shower. Not sure about the other beds, but the master bed was on the hard side, but it didn't damper our time. Loved this house and location. I mean the location is just perfect. We plan to return again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

What a GREAT long weekend in a comfortable home away from home!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

From the start (which began back in Oct of 2012) the homeowners were very responsive, prompt and helpful. Our group of 6 women, ages 32-52 stayed 3 nights & 4 days. Home was convenient, comfortable and a quite a joy. There were a few minor challenges upon arrival, which the home owners responded to VERY promptly.

It rained our entire trip but we did not care.The house was great, the area was great, it felt like being at home. Rain or not, it was lovely sitting out on the back decks just listening to the ocean and truly relaxing...which is why we go on vacation, right?!

I would like to respond to the challenges others had with the lack of towels, the walk to the beach front & even the fact that there are only 2 showers inside the house w/the third being outside...The outside shower is huge & nothing like I've seen or expected but definitely not appropriate for winter months (such as Feb). However, that being said, if six young & middle aged women can make 2 inside showers work, then ANYONE can make them work.

With regards to the boardwalk out to the beach etc. I feel the owners are/were not being deceptive as the photos show perfectly well that it's a hike down the boardwalk, attached to the back of the house, to the beach front. And it's a nice walk! On Sunday morning, our departure day, it FINALLY stopped raining. I walked down to the beach at 530 in the morning, stayed two hours in the sitting area (they have chairs & a table) & listened to the birds wake up , watched the sun come up, & watched passing barges go by. LOVELY morning.
A note on the sunrise; the sun comes up to the right side of the house, while facing the beach, as the rear of the house does not face east so don't expect to see a great sunrise from there.

There were enough for us plus extras located under the sinks. I always pack my own towel & wash cloth anyway. It's a "better to have it and not need it than to need it & not have it" I always say.

Check out Stingray's on Tybee Island. The food, vibe and service was OUTSTANDING! Be patient as everything is cooked to order. And I mean everything. But YUM YUM.
Also, Lighthouse Pizza was good.
We did go to Tybee Island Social Club and I reviewed them on Yelp & Trip Advisory. It was a less than stellar experience for us.
The Tree House in Savannah was a lot of fun, check out LuLu's Chocolate Bar in Savannah too. It was fun & trendy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Ladies,



We are so happy that you had a good time and in the rain yet! The back decks of the house are very relaxing! We love watching all of the sea life from the ships to the kayaking, wind surfers and the dancing dolphins in the late afternoons. Glad you were able to manage with the shower situation! As you know, there is a hand held shower in the Jacuzzi in the master bedroom but you would have to want to take a more leisurely shower with that one in order to really have three indoor showers. You are right about the outdoor shower and it is the one that we always use in warmer weather BUT have used on occasion in the winter with lots of hot water and a warm bathrobe waiting!

We hope you will return again and thanks for your helpful thoughts!

Best wishes to you and your friends,

Steve and Debra

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

50th Anniversary Celebration with Family

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

This is an excellent house & location for a large family gathering. We also rented Latitude Adjustment to accomodiate all of us and having the houses right across the street from each other is perfect for large gatherings plus gives you a little "space" when needed. The owners were so nice and gave us so much information prior to our arrival. Plenty of sleeping space, linens, etc., plus you have a washer & dryer if needed. We did quite a bit of cooking & could have used a little more storage containers for "left overs" as we did not throw food away with all of the teenagers we had!!! We kept ourselves furnished with plastic plates, silverware & cups due to the number of people we had...just easier for us. The only downside was we were there during a very cold spell & tried to use the fire place which we found out is really not usable and needs to be noted on the information for the house. The house could use a little "facelife" such as paint..... especially on the back decks as it is looking pretty tired but overall it is an excellent place to stay and we would definitely recommend it. It does need to be noted that there is no stand alone shower in the Master Bath.....While the jacuzi tub is huge and beautiful we did miss a stand up shower but not bad enough to keep us from returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your comments and the great rating for our home on Tybee, Hideaway at the Beach. Decking weathers VERY quickly seaside with all the salt air. It requires water treatment often which is done about every 3 years and is due this year. We try to keep the house as clean and up dated as we can and appreciate your suggestions. We know you were there during cooler weather but there is another enclosed hot shower under the deck that many of us and guests use when the weather is warmer...that helps with the shower situation a little if an extra shower is needed. We were so glad that you were able to have so many of your family with you to celebrate such a milestone. We hope will return! thank you for visiting and taking the time to give us the review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Memories

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family, which consisted of four adults and three children had a most remarkable vacation on our first trip to Tybee Island. This immaculately clean home more than fit our needs. We especially enjoyed coffee on the side porch in the evening. The short walk to the water provided us with daily entertainment by a pod of dolphins. The children were thrilled with the dolphins, but our grandson loved finding live "hermit crabs" The girls decided their bedroom was haunted as clothing and items were moved around when "no one" was home! Hee Hee..... But most of all we have wonderful family memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The wonders of the "beach critters" are wonderful we agree! We've not seen or had other reports of "ghosts" :), so I expect the girls didn't put the clothes away or forgot where they left them since it was a new place to them. What a fun story though.
We look forward to hosting you next time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Cleaning Lady Could Use a Helping Hand

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Our three families stayed at this property for one week - 7 adults with two 7 month old twins. The location is actually facing what I would call the bay - not the ocean but that worked out okay because of the twins. The lack of "open water" greatly reduces the chance of any waves except when the occasional shrimp boat or rec boat goes by. GREAT views of dolphin playing!! This side of the beach is quiet and secluded, another good point for this property. The owners and point-of-contact for this property are EXTREMELY nice and polite. The only challenging thing we noted for this property was that there are not enough towels for 7 adults to shower with nor is there enough silverware to accommodate meals. LOTS of laundry and running of the dishwasher was done during our stay. There are really only 2 showers inside the property as well. I don't think it is right to assume that the outside shower that exists could be a practical alternative to do anything other than rinse the sand off of you. While the master bath has a jaccuzi tub, no stand-up shower exists and the only option you have is to kneel if you use this hand-held shower head. As we emailed the owners, one final challenge was the cleanliness of the house. It was by no means dirty, however, it did seem as though the cleaning lady could use a couple more helping hands. On our first day as we entered the master bedroom, a "dirty washrag" smell emanated and we had to wash all the pillow cases and linens and trade out the pillows from the master bedroom. As it was explained to me, such a short window between check-outs and check-ins doesn't leave enough time to clean absolutely everything one would expect to have clean when renting a beach house. While the location of this house is a great one and the convenience and solitude of the beach was relaxing, we will not be returning to this property next year when we vacation on Tybee Island.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you; we appreciate your visit! Georgia has no mainland coast; it's a series of islands. Some people who perhaps aren't experienced with islands don't realize that having other land in distant view doesn't mean you aren't in the ocean. Tybee juts out into the Ocean like Hilton Head does. (The lights from Hilton Head can be lovely on clear nights.) This (if one checks with NOAA) is an area of the Atlantic Ocean specified as "Tybee Roads." It's not a bay.
Yes, there are 2 indoor showers and nothing else is indicated to anyone for the house. The huge master features a marvelous waterview Jacuzzi. During warm enough weather, the huge outdoor shower and dressing room adds another shower. The men in the "owner family" always prefer using that area to clean up and dress after the beach.:) If anyone feels there is a cleaning issue on arrival, there will be owner response certainly! If no one tells us of a problem they perceive when they arrive, we cannot have our cleaners investigate and assist if needed.
Plenty of towels are provided per the vast majority of our guests (many rentals provide only 3 or 4 no matter what size the party is) AND a washer and dryer are there for guests' use should they need to launder some during their stay.

There are many extras provided with the house that are unusual we are told and we hope all our guests enjoy!

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

mb168austin

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We had our son's wedding on the lovely beach behind the house... it was a perfect sunset location! The house was great with the separate den/living room areas since we had 11 people staying. Really enjoyed the views from the decks. What a great beach house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for letting us know that your party enjoyed "Hideaway on the Beach." We're delighted that your son's sunset wedding right behind the house was enjoyable for all of you! We hope you were able to see lots of passing ship traffic; that's always such a delight.
We appreciate your visit and hope to see you another time soon.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

What a "Hideaway"!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

This is the most fantastic place to stay! It is roomy (Yes, we made a point to sleep or relax on all of the sofas, chairs and rockers!), beautiful (the decor is modern and cozy) and clean. Huge kitchen for the many cooks on our trip. The two decks are perfect to watch the boats while having dinner on the lower level or watching the dolphins on the upper level. Nothing like waking up and seeing the beach. Even the "outdoor" shower was invigorating! The "private" deck by the beach is nice to sit and relax. This Hideaway has so much to offer and the owners are a great group too. Bring your bikes and enjoy this wonderful Beach Front property!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your visit and your kind words. With a beachfront location being almost impossible to find the way Tybee Streets are laid out, we're delighted that we can offer this choice for those who want to be beachfront with their own private beachwalk.
Proper hospitality is very important to us, and we so appreciate knowing that you felt you received that and enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review