reviews for: listing #49164 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

Hawthorn Cottage/Somesville
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Somesville
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $850 /wk

sort by:

slice of heaven

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This cottage is loaded with charm, close to everything you'd want to do on the Island, and is a real home-away-from-home. We've been coming to this beautiful slice of heaven for years and will continue to come back! A little advice- book early. They have lots of return visitors!

Owners response: We've found offering our cottages so rewarding over the years, in terms of friendships made and the pleasure of sharing this beautiful island. Some of our summer guests have even ended up buying property here and become our year-round neighbors! More than glad to share our "slice".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"You thought of everything..."

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

"...such a comfortable and welcoming place to stay...You thought of everything a guest would need. We also appreciated the many items in the kitchen as we ate here at the cottage often. Also, the wonderful artwork on the walls. The deer and chipmunk added joy to our visit. It was so relaxing to sit here at the table eating or reading and looking out at your lawn and trees..."

Joyce and Bryan
Queens, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...sweet little Hawthorn Cottage..."

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

"This is one of the nicest places we've stayed in the 9 years we've been vacationing on MDI...such a wonderful place to stay! Best of everything so far is the ocean swimming at the Somesville Residents' Landing. The water is MUCH warmer than at Sand Beach!"

ML
Harford, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...the perfect place to call 'home'"...

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

"When we arrived last weekend we had every intention of writing in the guest book daily to share our adventures. Alas...each night we fell into bed exhausted from a day full of activity.....It was a great week to end our two-week honeymoon. Hawthorn Cottage was the perfect place to call 'home' each evening, and I cannot think of a single item we wanted/needed that was not available."

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...someplace wonderful.."

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

"From the fresh flowers to the marvelously comfortable bed and dependable WiFi it was a great week. Hawthorn Cottage is the perfect place for two visitiors who want someplace wonderful to come home to after a day on the coast."

JM, Wauchula, FL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"One of the best vacation spots ever."

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

"The cottage is so comfortable, and we felt much at home...There is so much to do that one week just doesn't cover it, so I hope we can come back and stay right here. Your hospitality is so evident -- even to the fresh flowers and your smiling welcome..."

M.S.
Nashville, TN

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...beautiful, quiet, peaceful...

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Thank you for the beautiful, quiet, peaceful environment you have created for your guests. I am so delighted to have stayed in the Somesville cottage. The morning walks you suggested to the cove, the library, and the trail by Somes Pond were wonderful...

J.S.
Loveland, OH

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What a treat..."

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

"We did every wonderful thing we could think of...and then we came "home" each evening to a snug cottage, a deliciously comfortable bed, fresh flowers, and interesting art, and Chauncey Somes smiling at us. Thank you so much."

Bill and Joan
Wauchula FL

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A marvelous vacation spot!"

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

"My husband and I have been coming to Hawthorn Cottage on and off for more than 30 years. It has always been such a delightful experience! We find the cottage in beautiful order and immaculately clean. There are beautiful and thoughtful pictures on the walls... the books left around cater to a wide variety of tastes and interests. The bed is very comfortable and bathroom cozy and adequate. Looking out to Sargent Mountain is the final delight. We have traveled and stayed in fancier places, but nowhere have we ever encountered such attractiveness, comfort, and delight as in Hawthorn Cottage."

Georgette and Jack S.
Lexington, MA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved our stay in Hawthorn"

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

"Such a charming little cottage, with a restful, tasteful decor. It is a pleasure to sit out on the little deck in front and enjoy the vista of trees, flowers, and lawn, listening to the music of the birds. The proximity to Acadia Nat'l Park, the small professional theatre, and the short walk to the Somesville coastline all added to our enjoyment."

Grace S.
Doylestown, PA

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A marvelous vacation spot!"

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

"My husband and I have been coming to Hawthorn Cottage off and on for more than 30 years. It has always been such a delightful experience. We find the cottage in beautiful order, immaculately clean...beautiful and thoughtful pictures on the walls, pertaining to the sea...books catering to a wide variety of interests. We have traveled and stayed in fancier places, but nowhere have we ever encountered such attractiveness, comfort and delight as in Hawthorn Cottage."
J and G Sampson
Lexington, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved our stay..."

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

"We loved our stay in Hawthorn -- such a charming little cottage decorated in a restful, tasteful decor. It is a pleasure to sit out on the little deck in front and enjoy the vista of the trees, flowers, and lawn, and enjoy listening to the music of the birdsongs. Its proximity to Acadia Nat'l Park, the small semi-pro theater, and the short walk to the Somesville coastline added to our enjoyment."
GS, Doylestown, PA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review