reviews for: listing #49251 - Branson, Missouri House rental

Black Bear Lodge - Pool Table/Air Hockey/Fooseball
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $700 /nt
    $1,500 - $5,200 /wk

sort by:

Couples Retreat

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

I booked the Black Bear and the Royal Moose next door for our annual "Couples Retreat". We were blown away with these two cabins!! Everything was very clean and comfortable. It is very evident that the owner takes pride in making sure the guests have everything needed to enjoy their stay. We grilled steaks one night and everything that we required was available. Everyone in our group absolutely loved the accommodations!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation lodge house

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

This house is a comfortable combination of rustic and modern. We had everything we needed for a great time. The amenities are plentiful: 3 game tables, TV's in all the bedrooms plus in the living room and game room, a HUGE grill on the deck, modern spacious bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and lots of conversation space. We all agreed that the beds and pillows were some of the best any of us had ever slept on. The lodge was clean and well decorated. The photos here truly represent the property. The location was perfect. Silver Dollar City is less than a mile from this house. We rented boats one day at the marina nearby and hired a fishing guide with boat another day. Getting to downtown Branson was easy and straight forward. I will definitely be booking this lodge again for my immediate family. The owner was helpful and quick with his responses to my inquiries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a family reunion or groups gathering!

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

My family just celebrated my parents' anniversary with a trip to Branson and needed a home that could hold 13 people with plenty of space for kids. Black Bear Lodge was the perfect place! The location couldn't be more beautiful nestled amongst the rolling hills of Branson with Table Rock Lake just minutes down the road. Silver Dollar City was also less than a 5 minute drive away. The lodge is great for large families. There are 7 master bedrooms each with it own full bathroom. There are two balconies and the bottom floor (basement) has a second living room with air hockey/pool/foosball tables for kids and adults alike. My family enjoyed staying on the top floor where the rooms had their own individual air conditioners. The home is beautifully decorated in a mountain lodge theme with nice wood floors and flatscreen TVs in every room and throughout the home.There is a community center within walking distance that has an outdoor adult and kids pool along with a hot tub. There is also a playground for the kids and workout center. The owner, Dave, is great to work with. He answered all my questions before booking the lodge and provided detailed information on the check-in process. If you are looking for a home that can hold your group, then look no further and book the Black Bear Lodge!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Youth Trip to the Ozarks!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Thanks to Dave for letting our Youth Group rent the lodge for a couple of nights!! We had a great time with the kids, we had 7 kids and 6 adults stay and we all had plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy ourselves. The lodge was beautifully furnished and decorated and everyone including the adults loved the downstairs game room! The beds were very comfortable and we had plenty of linens! The kitchen is well stocked for eating in and I have never seen such a large dining room table. We would definetly love to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Couples Vacation

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We had a great time, 7 married couples we stayed 3 nights, the house was beautiful, everything was as described, had only 1 issue which was handled in a timely manner, the bedrooms were far enough from the next for privacy, we were very pleased with the room sizes also. We had a blast, definitely booking again! One last thing.. the directions mention a steep hill when arriving at Black Bear, that hill is no joke!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Lodge, perfect weather, perfect weekend

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This past weekend we met in Branson, at the Black Bear Lodge to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. There were 23 of us and this house could not have been a better fit. The seven bedrooms each with their own bathroom was so convenient. The kitchen was well stocked and the dining room table was perfect for all the family to eat at the same time. The place was exactly as described in the listing, and it helped make our weekend one that we enjoyed and will remember for a long time. We appreciate the fact that the owner worked with our group so that we could enjoy this beautiful home. We would definitely recommend this property to any family or group, a home like this is so much more conducive to a family reunion or special event than an motel. Another plus to the Black bear lodge is its proximity to Silver Dollar City. Several in our group had season passes and it was nice to be able to pop back and forth to the park as needed. Thank you again for the great place and we will not hesitate to stay here in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be back!!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Our youth group was vey comfortable at the Bear Creek Lodge as we enjoyed Young Christian's Weekend at Silver Dollar City. It was just a short 3 minute drive down the road. The comfortable beds, luxurious bathrooms, and convenient kitchen made our stay more like a vacation than an exhausting youth weekend! We especially enjoyed the HUGE dining room table where all 21 of us could gather and eat together. Thank you so much for making our trip so comfortable and relaxing! We intend to make this our annual YCW accommodations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great!

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We stayed for the weekend. We enjoyed the house very much with some friends. The house was great, location was good and owners were great to work with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic reunion site

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful five days at Black Bear Lodge where my wife's family held a reunion. She is one of eight siblings (coming from California, Oregon, Arkansas, and Texas) and all but one was able to attend. We needed accomodations for 13 people and Black Bear Lodge met our needs wonderfully well. We could not have asked for anything better. Having separate bedrooms and bathrooms for each family unit was ideal. The facilities were clean and very well appointed with dining facilities that exceed our needs. The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating in arranging for our stay. The location was also ideal as we were able to take in Silver Dollar City as well as the attractions in Branson itself. We would definitely recommend these facilities, especially to others who may be in circumstances similar to our family's. Thanks, Dave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

We loved our stay at the Black Bear Lodge. All the adults in our family were there and it was SO nice to each have their own bedroom and private bath! The house is beautiful and nicely appointed. The beds are SO comfortable, we were trying to figure out what kind they were and had to refrain from loading them up and taking them home with us! Also, the kitchen table is HUGE!! Easily accomodated all of us for meals and a lot of game-playing. A very enjoyable family experience and we are already planning our next trip back! You won't be disappointed. Dave is wonderful and easy to communicate with. Thanks Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Stay!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay. Everything is well stocked and clean. They are really nice cabins and great for big gatherings. Everything is close by. Each bedroom has it's own personal space with a couch, king size bed, tv, and a bathroom with a whirlpool tub. If you are looking for a real treat for the whole family, this is it. There is something to do for everyone. The down stairs has a nice gameroom. Upstairs has a bbq grill & table on the deck. There is lots of seating for everyone around the dinning room table. Good times with family & friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience, beautiful home!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had the pleasure of attending a Love and Respect marriage retreat held at the Black Bear and Royal Moose lodges. We stayed in the Black Bear Lodge and it was amazing!!! Beautiful home and VERY cozy and clean!! We enjoyed playing pool and air hockey, using the jacuzzi and having such a comfortable bed to sleep in!! Excellent view and surroundings of the lodge as well! The owners, Dave and June were both so helpful, friendly and welcoming to us!! We would highly recommend this home to any family looking for a top notch place to stay!!! We had a wonderful experience!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

We loved our stay at the Black Bear Lodge. It was beautiful and we truly enjoyed our time there. Everything was as nice as the pictures indicate. The kitchen was well-equiped with every kind of little thing we needed. We took our children and grandchildren (14 in all), and we had plenty of room (plus room for a few more grandkids in the future). We also enjoyed swimming and the hot tubs at the resorts. Thanks for sharing your home! Janet and David

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Weekend

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

This is our third year returning to the Black Bear Lodge. Needless to say the accomodations more than meet our needs. The 7 bedrooms and bathrooms allow everyone to have their own personal space while the 2 family rooms and the large dining area accomadate a large family. We spend most of our 3 day weekend playing games and eating. The game room and bar in the kitchen are very family friendly. Our adult children ask us each year for Christmas to indulge them with this weekend getaway. Already looking forward to next years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad to have your family again, Rick. One of the reasons we built Black Bear and Royal Moose Lodges was so families could spend quality time together. So glad to see that you have made that a priority with your family, something they will always treasure for years to come. And I agree, as do so many of our other guests, that the master suites and the large dining area make large gatherings so much more pleasant.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Lodge for our family vacation!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Our entire family of 19, aged 3 to 70+ stayed at this lodge. The 7 master suites were perfect for our family to have their own personal space but allowed us all to have special times together eating dinner (it wasn't cramped at the table like it is at Christmas since there was room for everyone), spending time visiting on the two decks and playing a friendly game of pool, foosball or air hockey downstairs in the game room. The adults spent their time upstairs while the little ones and younger adults kept busy downstairs. My husband especially liked that he could retreat to our own room and watch whatever he wanted on tv since there was a flat screen in every bedroom. My favorite things were that we had close access to the lake, Silver Dollar City and the strip. But the best thing was there were two washers and dryers so when I came home, there was no dirty laundry piled up. Now that is definitely a vacation! :-) The new swimming pool was wonderful too! They had a band and refreshments Labor Day weekend. What an added bonus. You won't be sorry if you stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

13 of us spent a wonderful week-end cooking, pairing wines, shopping, and generally relaxing. The cabin suited us perfectly - comfortable, stylishly furnished, and well appointed. "THE HILL" was intimidating, but we were encouraged to know that there are arrangements for plowing and cindering - so the forecasts of snow weren't quite so threatening - and even with snow the day we left, the trek out was uneventful. Dave was excellent to work with and checked in with us to see that we made it in OK. We definitely have voted to come back for our yearly retreat. The winter visit was nice and cozy, but I imagine, with the amenities offered at several resorts, that summer is equally enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

The Engelhardt family had a great time staying here. The kids loved all the games and the adults loved the kitchen and the wide open space. The accomodations were perfect and the location unbeatable. Will be back again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We love Black Bear Lodge! It is one of our favorite places to spend the weekend with friends and their families. It's a fabulous use of space as all areas of the house branch out of the center living room area so there is plenty of room for everyone to have their own space yet still be connected. Lots to do, every ammenity you could think of. Great design!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Black Bear Lodge. It was great to be able to have our family all together in one place.The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. It was everything you could ask for and more. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

We spent the weekend of May 8th at the Black Bear Lodge. 14 of us and we loved it. Everyone had their own bedroom and bath! It was awesome. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

The Black Bear Lodge is a beautiful home with great
accomodations. It's a great place for a quiet get
away especially for large groups. The bedrooms and
bathrooms have plenty of room and are very nice for
large groups. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

The house was roomy and clean with new/current design style from the fixtures and appliances right down to the flat screen TV's in the living room, game room and every bedroom suite. We were there with 11 other couples (5 couples stayed in the Royal Moose Lodge next door) for a seminar however, we had plenty of time to play games and relax. Both houses are perfect for a large group/family getaway! The suites are set up with full bath (including whirlpool tub) for each bedroom suite - so there's plenty of privacy too. I would love to visit again and again with family and friends! Dave is helpful, kind and accomodating! I highly recommend (even urge!) that you try it. Marianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

A wonderfull place to stay with friends or family.The kids loved the indoor games plus the steep road:)
Not very far from most of the attractions,a plus when you have young kids.Would highly recommend it for large groups.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

It was a great house, very neat & clean with many indoor games. We were four families with eight kids however there were enough rooms for all of us. While adults enjoyed the pool table, kids loved air hockey. Every room had its own flat screen TV plus two big screen TVs. If I am not wrong (please double check!), 5-6 rooms had a whirlpool tub.

Location of the lodge was great, little away from main Branson City (which was good) but very close to Silver Dollar City and Indian Point attraction. We stayed there for three nights and enjoyed every moment. We all wished we had 4th night but unfortunately it was reserved. Dave was very helpful in finding us another lodge for a night but we decided it was not worth packing and unpacking for a day. Perhaps next time we will stay more nights!

It was an excellent house, and we all had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The house was very cozy and spacious. We enjoyed our time there. The kids loved the games in the gameroom. I will recommend it highly to big families/groups.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The house was just awesome.
There was pleanty of room for a big group of kids to run around and have fun.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 11, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Our group of 15 rented Black Bear Lodge for the Thanksgiving weekend and also to celebrate my mother's birthday. We had a wonderful time and the accommodations were spectacular! The pool table in the basement was a real hit! And within a few minutes you could go from a beautiful mountain setting to Branson and all the attractions. I would rate it a "10"! Jana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Great Lodge! We rented this lodge for my parents 60th anniversary. Everything was very nice and just as advertised. It was very nice to have a bathroom for each bedroom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review