reviews for: listing #49284 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Panoramic Ocean, Island, and City Views- Prestigious Riviera
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $650 - $850 /nt
    $3,600 - $4,750 /wk

sort by:

Great house, Great views, GREAT VALUE!

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We chose this terrific home in the Santa Barbara "Riviera" for our summer family get-together. 7 adults and 2 dogs couldn't have been happier.

Here's what we found: Plenty of space for everyone, comfortable beds, ample parking, a knock-out view of the city below and the Pacific beyond, a quiet neighborhood perfect for early morning walks in the picturesque hills above the town, a lush, fully-enclosed backyard with basketball court and hot tub, bikes and helmets for our use, two flat-screen high-def TVs, wi-fi, and games galore. Add to this a personable, gregarious and accomodating owner all too willing to provide us with tips on things to do and see (which only locals would know), and you've got a winner!

Some other rentals might be closer to the beach or to the action of State Street, but none can offer the panoramic views, the spaciousness, the seclusion, or the absolute value of this gem. If you have a large group and need plenty of room, this is your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Excellent home, seamless rental process, and great location

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Some friends and I rented this home for a wedding. As the other reviews indicate, this is a wonderful place to stay in Santa Barbara. Clean, accurate listing, excellent owner: all of the procedural stuff is in order and works great. The home is close enough to everything, but still 4 minutes outside of the main downtown area which makes it feel tranquil. We were BLOWN AWAY by the view... it was a great surprise, as the view is probably 10x wider (literally) and 100x prettier than the photo suggests. The backyard is secluded, neighbors are quiet (keep your late night parties inside, and Frank will very kindly ask you to do so, which you should respect)........... In short, this home enhanced our trip in many ways, and we would stay there again if the opportunity arose. Thanks, Frank!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent Vacation Home!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

I planned a girls getaway with 14 of my close friends to celebrate my birthday. The house was GORGEOUS. Everyone couldn't stop raving about how amazing the panoramic view was from the upstairs balcony. All five bedrooms were super cozy and well-kept. The hot tub, trampoline, and foosball were icing on the cake. The space was big enough to comfortably accommodate my large group.

Frank, the vacation homeowner, was extremely helpful throughout the entire process. He took the time to answer all of my questions and was able to show me his beautiful home before I booked the reservation. He also provided lots of recommendations for things to do in Santa Barbara. When my group was nearing the home, Frank was very responsive with any last minute questions.

I would definitely consider staying here again in the future, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for an enjoyable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect house for 80th birthday party celebration and many family reunions to come!!!!!

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

I just wanted to let everyone know we absolutely loved this vacation house and our entire family had such a good time!!!!! The views from the main rooms and the deck are incredible. All the rooms are very roomy and comfortable and the house is very spacious.

We moved the table from the kitchen to the dining room to make room for all for my Mom's 80th birthday dinner and it was perfect. The new bathrooms are beautiful and I loved the colors in the bathrooms and throughout the house! We also really appreciated all the bathroom space. Thank you very much!!!! The owner was extremly helpful.

We will remember this great house for our next family reunion.

Also, the neighborhood is beautiful and great for walking around in.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much!!! I have put a lot of time and effort to make improvements to the house and it is so rewarding to hear the positive response to the new bathroom remodels and paint throughout the interior of the house. So many guests come to celebrate memorable once in a lifetime family occasions and I am so happy to provide a home to gather and enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a blast at the house! For a majority of us, it was our first time in Santa Barbara. So the house was in a perfect location and it was really lovely and spacious!! The house was close to the Mission, downtown, and the beach, so there were plenty of things to do with easy access. During Memorial Day Weekend, they had a chalk festival at the mission! We even had someone pick us up on Saturday for a wine and cupcake tour.

Unfortunately before this trip I hurt my leg and was bound to a walker all weekend. But I must say because the front door, kitchen, dining room, a couple of bedrooms, and a bath on the main floor, I had no problems! I just didn't have access to downstairs but there's pretty much just more bedrooms and another family room area (which is perfect for kids on family trips!).


Throughout the whole process Frank was very easy to reach and was very accommodating!

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Girls Weekend in Santa Barbara, Excellent Views and Location

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

We booked this home for a girls bachelorette weekend. 13 ladies visiting Santa Barbara from Chicago, Boston, and London. We walked in and knew immediately we made a great choice. The view was fantastic over all of the city and down to the water. We spent a lot of time cozied up on the porch enjoying it. The back yard below was full of trees, a patio, and a small hot tub which was great after a long day of wine-tasting.
The home was much more spacious than it appears; there was a spot for everyone to sleep. The 4 bathrooms really made getting ready much easier.
The location was perfect in the Riviera. About a 20 minute walk to downtown, if you can manage the steep hills. You could make the drive in 5 if it appears to be too much.
Frank, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful from start to finish. He wanted to make sure we had a great weekend and that the home was up to what we are expecting. I would highly recommend renting this home!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dawn Morris

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We recently stayed here for over 12 days as we were bringing our son up to settle into college. The house served our family perfectly. The veiw is amazaing and the cool ocean breezes all throughout the day were great. All the bedrooms were very spacious and the mattresses were comfortable. There were ample towels and the kitchen was well stocked!

The two family rooms one upstairs and one down were perfect when the rest of our family turned up as we had 4 teenagers and two younger children under 4. The house never felt crowded. Outside the hot tub , trampoline, and swing set were all used.

My husband and i would like to now pruchase a second home with a equally stunning view. The thing we most appreciated about the location is the close proximity to downtown. There was a mini market just down the road that stayed open untill 8pm and it was very convienient.

This was a good location and nice house and i would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You so much!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunny Side of Santa Barbara!!!!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We stayed one week in this house and one week right on the beach. While you get a beautiful view on the water when you are right on the beach, it was amazing how much colder and damper it is there!! In contrast, at this house in the Riviera Hills it was warm, breezy, sunny and beautiful EVERY DAY. We loved sitting on the balcony in back watching the hummingbirds fly all over the palm trees right in front of us. Looking down at all the red tiled roofs below us in the main part of Santa Barbara was also wonderful. The house is incredibly spacious and beautifully decorated. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a living area and kitchen. Then, the downstairs is like a whole other house with 3 bedrooms, (can't remember how many baths), a whole other living area and another smaller kitchen!! Truly amazing. One interesting note is that all 5 people in our party continually remarked on how amazingly comfortable the beds were. The bathrooms upstairs are a bit older so you should not expect granite counters and soaking tubs but they were perfectly fine for us and the rest of the house more than makes up for that. Our kids stayed downstairs so I don't remember those bathrooms but I'm guessing they were newer.

The kitchen is also a bit older but very spacious. And it definitely has some brand new appliances like a nice big new fridge and what look like very new ovens. Plus the cabinets have oil, sugar, salt, pepper etc and it was SO nice not having to buy those things for a short stay. There is also plenty of very nice tableware, mugs, glasses etc. and a nice BIG dining room for family dinners.

The owner is wonderful to deal with and we couldn't believe how many surfboards were available for use. Our kids also used the trampoline every day and the hot tub which was lovely.

The house is in a very nice area and we took beautiful walks every day in every direction. You can just walk along the streets or go 2-3 mins to Orpet Park. Best of all, the mission is only about a 15 minute walk.

As for going to the beach, we did have to drive every day but it was only about 10 mins to the closest one and even when we stayed right on the beach the next week, we still drove every day to a separate surfing beach.

If you have a large party and want to be in a neighborhood with lovely homes, a beautiful view, and great places to walk, but don't want to be too close to the congestion of downtown, this home is wonderful!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your Great review!!!! I am happy to have just completed remodel of bathrooms upstairs with Jacuzzi tub and Spanish tile to accent the fun colors and charm of the house and updated the kitchen.. I would like to highlight what my guest has pointed out, often times I hear from travelers a desire to be on the Beach. In Santa Barbara we have a marine layer on the ocean which lasts until noon or later for many days of the year. My Riviera Vacation Home sits above the marine layer in the Sun and the Beautiful views of the ocean from the house allow guests to know when the Beach fog has cleared so you can plan your day correctly.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Family Reunion in Riviera Paradise!!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My family and I all meet at this incredible home for our family reunion. We couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations and amenities this dreamy Riviera home had to offer! We enjoyed a nice family dinner at the dinning room table while taking in the views of the city and ocean and listening to the sounds of birds chirping. My children loved the backyard area where they enjoyed the trampoline and swing sets. The Jacuzzi was quite a treat and we enjoyed taking in the stars and beautiful sky in the evening. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space for my large family of 12. The large plasma TVs and wii games were great too. The paintings and warm decorations were lovely and made us feel like we were living in paradise. We couldn’t have been more pleased with the owner and his helpfulness and assistance in getting around Santa Barbara. We will definitely return and stay at this beautiful Riviera home again! Thank you for making our family reunion so special and memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!!!! It is so rewarding to hear from these happy guests I look forward to continuing to provide beautiful vacations and memories to travelers spending their memorable occasions in Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Incredible Location

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

~Marti Shaw, October 4, 2011
By Marti Harrigan Shaw (Herndon, VA)
This house was absolutely perfect for us! Our family traveled from VA to come to my mother-in-laws 90th birthday celebration last month (September, 2010) and had a fantastic time! We were a group of 12 with young children and teens. This wonderful house has a fun game room downstairs and a bright and comfortable living room to enjoy. We loved being together on the deck and at the large dining table for meals and games. The view is absolutely stunning and makes an amazing back drop for photos! The deck calls you to sit in the sunshine. It truly is the perfect place to relax and watch the sunrise with a cup of coffee and wind down with a glass of wine at sunset. This house is incredibly welcoming and laid back, which made our stay stress free. As others have stated, the owner is very accommodating and informative, which is a super bonus. I only wish we lived in CA so we could book this house a few times a year! As it is, when we visit Santa Barbara again we will definitely be staying here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Santa Barbara Getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

I booked this home for a weekend getaway with a few old friends, and it could not have been more perfect. The view from the patio balcony is simply breathtaking and is even better in person than the photos suggest. The location was great as well, as it allowed for easy access to downtown as well as to numerous trails and outdoor activities. The property was very well kept, and the owners were fantastic to deal with and added a real personal touch to our stay. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place, Tough to Please the Neighbors

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Nice place, with an amazing view and great entertainment amenities. Although the owner will warn you about keeping the noise to a minimum, creating more than a whisper will draw the neighbors to call the owner and/or the police. In our circumstance, the owner used this as a reason to keep our deposit. I would not rent from them again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: This home is in a beautiful location on the Riviera. This group of college students misrepresented their age and plans for the weekend, Some of the activities included partying in the streets at 2am bringing home groups of people from downtown bar to drink outside in the jaccuzzi at 3:30am . During the middle of the day one of the college "pranks" one guest urinated on another guests car in the middle of the street to the shock of others. To top of the visit they stole a hand carved extremly valuable mask which is the reason I kept the deposit. Suggestion if you want to party like Charlie Sheen please stay in Isla Vista the college town next to UCSB.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place for families!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

This place is perfect for large families. The house comfortably accommodated 7 adults and 4 kids very nicely. With a spacious family room downstairs, a backyard filled with so many fun things to do, and amazing views from the upstairs balcony, there was never a dull moment. I definitely recommend this house for families looking to stay entertained!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't be happier with this great place!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

My friends and I loved staying at this beautiful home during the week of our friend's wedding. The pictures don't lie! It's a generously sized home in a truly perfect location. We enjoyed the nearby hiking in the mornings--don't forget to check out the Mission and the Botanic Garden, too--and in the evenings we watched the sunsets from the back porch. The beds were also super-comfortable!

The owner, Frank, is very friendly and helpful, and he can answer any questions you may have about the area throughout the trip. We were very glad to stay in the Riviera, a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of State Street while being able to have it right there and accessible for us. Some nights we cooked out on the grill and could seat plenty of people for a nice meal both inside and out. With wi-fi, video games, an iPod stereo, and two great TVs, our technology needs were also more than met. Thanks again, Frank!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A hidden treasure in paradise!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for luxury get away at a reasonable rate. You can easily have 12-14 people for a sleepover. Very clean well kept property. An amazing view. Huge patio, hot tub, trampoline, bbq grill, fuse ball :) Very close to all the main attractions. Very accommodating owners. A pleasure to deal with. Will definitely be back for more. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Perfect!!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Simply Perfect, March 29, 2010
By Adam Fell (Los Angeles)
Last year, my brother Noah almost died due to a hemorrhagic stroke resulting from a cerebral AVM. Miraculously he survived -- and you can read his story at noahupdate Well, on March 27th, 2010 Noah had his first birthday since his near-death experience. We threw a surprise birthday for Noah and had about a dozen of his closest friends come to town from all over the country.

This beautiful, stunning home provided the absolute perfect setting for the surprise and the wonderful weekend that ensued. This was such a meaningful milestone for me and my family -- and I cannot tell you the joy that resulted from staying at this home and watching my brother spend time with his closest friends and family and truly enjoy himself.

The house is a playground -- it has EVERYTHING. The best view in all of Santa Barbara, proximity to downtown, a jacuzzi, a foos ball table, more Wii games that could ever be dreamed of -- and 5 beautiful bedrooms.

The setting couldn't have been better -- the landlord couldn't have been more wonderful to deal with and I couldn't recommend this experience any higher. If you're coming to Santa Barbara, and you want to have the time of your life, stay here. You won't regret it. Adam Fell

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Santa Barbara Family fun with Jaccuzzi

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

Peaceful, yet Fun! As we had breakfast on the deck, the view of the Pacific and the red clay roofs of this quaint town were calling us to explore. The wide sand beaches, (just down the hill) were delightful to sunbathe and fun for our kids to play in the gentle surf. Santa Barbara has held on to it’s quaint Spanish character, yet has upscale shopping. This large Mediterranean two story home is decorated nicely in Spanish motif. It accommodated both our families and gives privacy, too. Sipping wine in the Jacuzzi under the moonlight was a real plus! The owner was warm and so informative. He knew all the “in” places go and the "secret hide aways." We plan to make this a Family Tradition!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

I stayed at this house with a grouo of 10 girls and it was perfect for us. There was plenty of space for all of us and our things. The number of bathrooms was great. This house offers everything from games, other entertainment, 2 kitchen areas and the spa was icing on the cake. We found ourselves spending most of our time in the house because it was so accomidating. It is in a beautiful area and is close to every attraction desired. The view is breath taking and was a wonderful site to look at all day long. The owner was very nice and provided us with everything we needed. I would recommend this house to everyone I know and plan to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Campers on the Riviera

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

This house is the best value in Santa Barbara for a large group. We had BBQ and breakfast on the deck, which has a gorgeous view of the coast. It's within walking distance of State Street and The Mission. The owner is extremely helpful and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends for their trip to SB in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Vacation Home Guest

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

When we walked through the door we loved the house instantly. The house had plenty of room and we loved coming home after a long day and taking a dip in the hot tub. The deck had amazing views of the entire city and we enjoyed the family BBQ dinners. We watched movies on the TV and played on the Wii. My children loved jumping on the trampoline and playing foosball. We enjoyed our time so much and had a perfect family vacation we are definitely coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cafe and Vino on the Riviera

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

The view is amazing! There is no better way to start the day than sitting on the balcony, drinking coffee, looking out over beautiful Santa Barbara. I suggest doing the same with a glass of wine at sunset. The house was very comfortable and fit our group of 5 adult couples just fine. Close to town, the house was the perfect addition to a wonderful weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Picturesque Home

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

WOW what a view!!!!!!!!! Stunning in awe of a perfect wedding celebration, watching the sunrise over the bay,
steam rising from the soft tub and the melody of conversation mixed with the song of nightingales lifting my
all time moments up a notch, well to put it lightly your house captured that. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation Home for large family!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

This vacation home has an Amazing view of the Santa Barbara area from it's deck. When you walk through the front door you are not prepare for what a spacious home it is inside and nicely decorated. It is well equipped for relaxing, cooking and entertainment. The Wii system in the family room area kept my family quite entertained when we hanging out at the house.

The 5 bedrooms we're comfortable and the 4 bathrooms were a blessing for my crowd.. My whole extended family felt so comfortable in this house. The surrounding neighborhood is great to walk about and get a work out too, as it is on the beautiful hillside. The backyard of this home has a "soft ' tub, basketball hoop and some beautiful trees and flowers.

The downtown area has loads of shops and places to eat and the beach area is good especially going up the coast to the Four Seasons. We loved the location of this house because it gave you a feeling of living in Santa Barbara. The airport is only 15 minutes south from the house and the wine country is 45 minutes to the north. You can rent a bike to get around in the village and take in some of the lovely mission style buildings for sight seeing.

I would definitely recommend this vacation home, You will enjoy the Santa Barbara area better staying here rather than a hotel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Great location and has a great scenic view of the ocean. It was great just to sit out on the patio looking at the gorgeous view. The house was very spacious and definitely was more than adequate for our group. The owner has been very accommodating and was very pleasant. Overall, I highly recommend renting this place.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, Great views, GREAT VALUE!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

We chose this terrific home in the Santa Barbara "Riviera" for our summer family get-together. 7 adults and 2 dogs couldn't have been happier.

Here's what we found: Plenty of space for everyone, comfortable beds, ample parking, a knock-out view of the city below and the Pacific beyond, a quiet neighborhood perfect for early morning walks in the picturesque hills above the town, a lush, fully-enclosed backyard with basketball court and hot tub, bikes and helmets for our use, two flat-screen high-def TVs, wi-fi, and games galore. Add to this a personable, gregarious and accomodating owner all too willing to provide us with tips on things to do and see (which only locals would know), and you've got a winner!

Some other rentals might be closer to the beach or to the action of State Street, but none can offer the panoramic views, the spaciousness, the seclusion, or the absolute value of this gem. If you have a large group and need plenty of room, this is your place.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: November 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

Great location and has a great scenic view of the ocean. It was great just to sit out on the patio looking at the gorgeous view. The house was very spacious and definitely was more than adequate for our group. The owner has been very accommodating and was very pleasant. Overall, I highly recommend renting this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home for large family!

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

This vacation home has an Amazing view of the Santa Barbara area from it's deck. When you walk through the front door you are not prepare for what a spacious home it is inside and nicely decorated. It is well equipped for relaxing, cooking and entertainment. The Wii system in the family room area kept my family quite entertained when we hanging out at the house. The 5 bedrooms we're comfortable and the 4 bathrooms were a blessing for my crowd.. It's not luxurious, but lived in and homey. The surrounding neighborhood is great to walk about and get a work out too, as it is up in the hills. The backyard of this home has a "soft ' tub, basketball hoop and some beautiful trees and flowers. The downtown area has loads of shops and places to eat and the beach area is good especially going up the coast to the Four Seasons. We loved the location of this house because it wasn't right in town and gave you a feeling of living in Santa Barbara. The airport is only 15 minutes south from the house and the wine country is 45 minutes to the north. You can rent a bike to get around in the village and take in some of the lovely mission style buildings for sight seeing. But don't try riding up California St. to this house! It's a mountain! We rented a car at the airport to get us around.
I would definitely recommend this vacation home, but bring your own iron if you have a special occasion to attend because that is one thing it doesn't have:) You will enjoy the Santa Barbara area better staying here rather than a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

WOW what a view!!!!!!!!! Stunning in awe of a perfect wedding celebration, watching the sunrise over the bay,
steam rising from the soft tub and the melody of conversation mixed with the song of nightingales lifting my
all time moments up a notch, well to put it lightly your house captured that. Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

GREAT HOUSE, GREAT VIEWS, GREAT VALUE!

We chose this terrific home in the Santa Barbara "Riviera" for our summer family get-together. 7 adults and 2 dogs couldn't have been happier.

Here's what we found: Plenty of space for everyone, comfortable beds, ample parking, a knock-out view of the city below and the Pacific beyond, a quiet neighborhood perfect for early morning walks in the picturesque hills above the town, a lush, fully-enclosed backyard with basketball court and hot tub, bikes and helmets for our use, two flat-screen high-def TVs, wi-fi, and games galore. Add to this a personable, gregarious and accomodating owner all too willing to provide us with tips on things to do and see (which only locals would know), and you've got a winner!

Some other rentals might be closer to the beach or to the action of State Street, but none can offer the panoramic views, the spaciousness, the seclusion, or the absolute value of this gem. If you have a large group and need plenty of room, this is your place.

Cal Bears Napa, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

The view is amazing! There is no better way to start the day than sitting on the balcony, drinking coffee, looking out over beautiful Santa Barbara. I suggest doing the same with a glass of wine at sunset. The house was very comfortable and fit our group of 5 adult couples just fine. Close to town, the house was the perfect addition to a wonderful weekend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home, Great views, GREAT VALUE!!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We chose this terrific home in the Santa Barbara "Riviera" for our summer family get-together. 7 adults and 2 dogs couldn't have been happier.

Here's what we found: Plenty of space for everyone, comfortable beds, ample parking, a knock-out view of the city below and the Pacific beyond, a quiet neighborhood perfect for early morning walks in the picturesque hiils above town, a lush/fully-enclosed backyard with basketball court and hot tub, bikes and helmets for our use, two flat-screen high-def TVs, wi-fi and games galore. Add to this a personable, gregarious and accomodating owner eager to provide us with tips on things to do and see (which only locals would know), and you've got a winner.

Some other rentals might be closer to the beach or to the action on State Street, but none can offer the views, the spaciousness, the seclusion or the absolute value of this gem. If you have a large group, need plenty of room, and want lots of bang for your buck, this is your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

When we walked through the door we loved the house instantly. The house had plenty of room and we loved coming home after a long day and taking a dip in the hot tub. The deck had amazing views of the entire city and we enjoyed the family BBQ dinners. We watched movies on the TV and played on the Wii. My children loved jumping on the trampoline and playing foosball. We enjoyed our time so much and had a perfect family vacation we are definitely coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great 4th of July Location

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

We held our annual 4th of July family reunion at this great house. The house had so many 'zones' that we didn't feel crowded at all! It was also nice to have the linens provided ... less to pack! Great ammenities and location!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

This house is the best value in Santa Barbara for a large group. We had BBQ and breakfast on the deck, which has a gorgeous view of the coast. It's within walking distance of State Street and The Mission. The owner is extremely helpful and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends for their trip to SB in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best value in SB

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

This house is the best value in Santa Barbara for a large group. We had BBQ and breakfast on the deck, which has a gorgeous view of the coast. It's within walking distance of State Street and The Mission. The owner is extremely helpful and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends for their trip to SB in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

Peaceful, yet Fun! As we had breakfast on the deck, the view of the Pacific and the red clay roofs of this 19th Century Spanish town were calling us to explore. The wide sand beaches, (just down the hill) were delightful to sunbathe and fun for our kids to play in the gentle surf. Santa Barbara has held on to it’s quaint Spanish character, yet has upscale shopping. This large Mediterranean two story home nicely accommodated both our families and gives privacy, too. Sipping wine in the Jacuzzi under the moonlight was a real plus.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

I stayed at this house with a grouo of 10 girls and it was perfect for us. There was plenty of space for all of us and our things. The number of bathrooms was great. This house offers everything from games, other entertainment, 2 kitchen areas and the spa was icing on the cake. We found ourselves spending most of our time in the house because it was so accomidating. It is in a beautiful area and is close to every attraction desired. The view is breath taking and was a wonderful site to look at all day long. The owner was very nice and provided us with everything we needed. I would recommend this house to everyone I know and plan to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just started renting the house as a vacation rental and every guest has given overwhelming praises which provides me great satisfaction. I look forward to more positive feedback and providing memorable vacations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SANTA BARBARA FAMILY FUN WITH JACUZZI

Review submitted: May 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

Peaceful, yet Fun! As we had breakfast on the deck, the view of the Pacific and the red clay roofs of this quaint town were calling us to explore. The wide sand beaches, (just down the hill) were delightful to sunbathe and fun for our kids to play in the gentle surf. Santa Barbara has held on to it’s quaint Spanish character, yet has upscale shopping. This large Mediterranean two story home is decorated nicely in Spanish motif. It accommodated both our families and gives privacy, too. Sipping wine in the Jacuzzi under the moonlight was a real plus! The owner was warm and so informative. He knew all the “in” places go and the "secret hide aways." We plan to make this a Family Tradition!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfy home with great view

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

Our large family loved staying in this comfortable house with fantastic views and a hot tub. Walking distance (a pleasant hike down the hill) to State Street. Great location for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Soo happy to have this Anniversary/Family reunion at our vacation rental!!!! Extremly rewarding to hear of all the positive feedback.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I had a wonderful time at this beautiful home

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

If you seek having a great vacation, I recommend you stay here. I have been to many other vacation rentals, but this home is by far the best! My family and I all had a great time. There is so many activities nearby. We went to Stearn's Wharf and visited museums, went to beaches and surfed great waves, and went on a grand boat ride. When we were at home, we had an equally great time. My kids loved the big screen T.V. and the Wii. Even I had a fun time playing 'Rock Band'. It was the most enjoyable thing to take a nice dip in the hot tub after a long day and look up at the stars. I wouldn't have changed one thing about this house and I am definitely coming back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so proud and honored to provide a home which has already generated such positive feedback and cherished memories for visitors on such important occasions as;
Family Reunions, Weddings, Anniversaries, Family Vacations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review