reviews for: listing #4929 - Carolina Beach, North Carolina Condo rental

Sun Skipper Ocean Front Top Floor Pink Coral Buidling
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sun Skipper
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Great Condo

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We decided on a last minute beach trip and Bill helped us work out all of the details. This condo is in a great location with a wonderful view, right on the beach, near the pier and the undeveloped north end beach area. We enjoyed long walks on the beach. Property description was as advertised and very clean and well-maintained. We would choose this condo for future trips, and would highly recommend this condo to friends. Bill provided great customer service and wanted to make sure we had a wonderful trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

absolutely fabulous

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the Sun Skipper after our long drive from Toronto (Ontario, Canada) and waded into the welcoming surf, we knew we had found the ideal holiday spot on Carolina Beach! Our cousins who live in nearby Wilmington agreed. Bill and Sandi provided everything we could need or want. We had fun at the aquarium, Fort Fisher and boardwalk amusement rides; but mostly, jumping in the waves. On our last day, we were treated to the magical display of about 12 dolphins leaping in the water behind a fishing boat. Who could ask for anything more?!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation spot

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

First and foremost the owner, Bill, was absolutely terrific. He was helpful and wanted to ensure that our stay in his condo was perfect. He assisted us with planning and renting linens for the beds. The linens were beautiful and clean. The place is comfortable, clean, and very nicely decorated. The view from the livingroom and the balcony was gorgeous! Even though is was not warm enough for swimming in March, we saw dolphins and surfers, and walked on the beach and pier. Our teenage boys enjoyed the comforts of the condo, and the opportunities in the area. It was a wonderful family vacation.
The battleship USS Carolina in Wilmimgton was well worth seeing. We can highly recommend this place and look forward to returning in the summertime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sun Skipper Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

This was a wonderful condo for our family of 5. There was more than enough room for us all. The unit was clean, quiet, and nicely decorated. It felt very much like home! It is beach front with a wonderful view from the family room and the deck. The fishing pier, boardwalk, grocery store, and many wonderful restaurants were all within minutes of our location. The condo owners, Bill and Sandy, were easy to work with and were genuinely concerned that we arrived safely, all was in order, and that we enjoyed our stay!

I have no reservations about recommending this as a great place to vacation for a family! The beach was not crowded and there were plenty of things to do nearby that kept us entertained for the one day when we had rain.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely condo

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

We had a wonderful week's vacation at this condo. It was our first time at Carolina Beach and we loved it. Just the right amount of people, not crowded. The condo was very clean and nicely decorated to feel very light, airy and beachy. As the other reviews say, the view from the living room is gorgeous--nothing but the big, blue ocean and sky. Having an oceanfront view and being able to get right out on the beach were great advantages. While it would've been nice to have a shower/spigot to rinse the sand off at this building, it was no big deal to walk a little further across the street to the pool and rinse off there. And while there are lots of stairs to climb, it was not a problem...with those and walking on the beach every morning, I gained no weight, even with eating the delicious Britt's donuts on the boardwalk and eating out every night. Bill was very nice to deal with, even when we had to change the dates of our stay. Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sun Skipper Condo Review

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

This was a wonderful condo for our family of 5. There was more than enough room for us all. The unit was clean, quiet, and nicely decorated. It felt very much like home! It is beach front with a wonderful view from the family room and the deck. The fishing pier, boardwalk, grocery store, and many wonderful restaurants were all within minutes of our location. The condo owners, Bill and Sandy, were easy to work with and were genuinely concerned that we arrived safely, all was in order, and that we enjoyed our stay!

I have no reservations about recommending this as a great place to vacation for a family! The beach was not crowded and there were plenty of things to do nearby that kept us entertained for the one day when we had rain.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in Pink condo

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Loved the location and how clean the place was. The view of the ocean from the couch was awesome. Saw Dolphins every morning. Very quiet. Nice beach for sea shell hunting.
Hope to return again. Thanks Bill and Sandy.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a great time over Memorial Day Weekend. Lovely condo oceanfront. We could see the fireworks from the balcony.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbeatable Views!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

We stayed here for an extended weekend in September. I can not get this place out of my mind. The views are absolutely unbeatable. I have stayed on many beaches...but have never been this close to the ocean. It is literally a stone's throw to the water. The condo is very well decorated with the perfect coastal charm. Very very clean. The owners were so nice. The transactions were easy and enjoyable. We will be looking at this condo for future getaways. I would buy this gem in a heartbeat for myself! Absolutely perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing views

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

The condo was right on the ocean, with amazing views from not only the balcony, but the many windows too! The decor was very beachy and bright. The whole condo was very cozy, we felt right at home. Would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Re: beach shower

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Just to explain, I actually live in this fantastic building, and sorry, but we used to have an outdoor shower but it was used and abused by surfers every day year round and the association can't afford the water bill for people using it that don't live/stay here, there was a sign telling them not to use it, but alas, u know how that goes... anyway thus no outdoor shower, sorry! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The sun didn't skip this vacation!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My Mother, Sister, and I were looking for specific criteria in a rental. It had to be oceanfront with a pool, at least 2 bedrooms, family oriented, clean, affordable and accept partial week stays. Believe it or not, this is a tall order when it comes to vacation rentals!

The owners at Sun Skipper came through happily for us! Bill was wonderful to work with, very sweet and dedicated to making our stay memorable.

The condo is absolutely gorgeous. It looks professionally decorated and is so comfortable and roomy! The living room is twice the size of a normal condo, and the master bedroom is huge with a walk-in closet. There isn't a picture up here of the 2nd bedroom, but it is nicely sized with a wooden bunkbed featuring a full bed on bottom and twin on top. There are cubbies and storage galore and TV/DVDs in every room. The view from the balcony is beautiful. The North Pier is about 2 football fields to the left and you can literally see all the way down to Kure Beach Pier on the right. We saw dolphins on the horizon two mornings in a row and the roar of the ocean lured us to sleep each night. We were thoroughly impressed with just about everything this condo had to offer!

I don't want to be ungracious about our stay because we LOVED the condo, but there are 2 things to beware of before renting.

One... the stairs. This is a walk-up 3rd floor condo. This normally would not be an issue but we arrived with a baby and a car load of baby stuff in tow. It was cumbersome and tiring to make so many trips up those stairs, but this was completely our fault as we brought everything but the kitchen sink! Just a forewarning for those with small children, lots of luggage, or health issues.

Two... no shower or hose on the building. You do have to cross the road to the adjacent condo and use the hose at the pool when returning from the beach. My son seemed to catch 10 lbs of crushed shells in his swimsuit the first day, so it was a little uncomfortable for him to walk even that far. I've since remembered that it's a good idea to cut the netting out of swimsuits before playing in the ocean.

These very small grievances did not stop us from loving the condo and we would definitely recommend Sun Skipper to anyone looking for an unbelievable Carolina Beach vacation. We are so thankful to Bill and Sandi for sharing their lovely home with us. We could not have had a better time in a more perfect setting!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

I searched tirelessly for hours for the perfect rental and I don't think I could have found anything better. This place is clean, bright, cheerful and beautifully decorated. I think they found every possible beach-themed trinket they could find and it works beautifully. This is probably the most room we've had in a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo. It was perfect. You cannot get any closer to the ocean. The walk across the street to the pool is no big deal at all. I've walked further to pools that were on the property. The tv's in every room with dvd players were life savers for the kids when we were not at the ocean. The owners were wonderful and very helpful. Our favorite restaurant was Big Daddy's and we loved the fudge boat at the boardwalk. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The only thing I didn't like was that there is not a water hose or shower to wash the sand off before you come upstairs to your room. It looks like that would have been easy enough to have added when they built the building, but you can walk over to the pool shower to wash off or just hit the shower when you get to the room, which is what we did. Trust me, you will love this place enough that you won't care about the sand. I'm hoping we can return sometime. It was not crowded at all, which is what we were hoping for.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Spot!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

This condo is exactly what we wanted!! It is clean, great location on the beach. We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it to our friends. The owners were wonderful to work with and very helpful. A great home away from home!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This place was very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. I would highly recommend as the location, views ideal. Right on the beach and owner really nice and helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice thoughts. We strive for our guests to have a good experience and enjoyable time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review