reviews for: listing #49367 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Enjoy Quiet Sunny Casa del Sol with 10-minute Walk to Jardin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $80 - $85 /nt
    $525 - $575 /wk
    $1,400 - $1,700 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home.

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

This was my first Vacation Rental. I could not have been happier. I traveled alone and felt completely safe at Casa del Sol. I slept with the windows open at night and had not a worry.

I have been to San Miguel before and stayed at a Bed & Breakfast and felt that this was a much more inexpensive route as well as private. The house had everything I needed. Even extra blankets for my siesta’s. I stayed downstairs because it was a bit cooler than the upstairs. The maid was lovely and greeted me with a hug. I felt welcomed immediately.

A true pleasure!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Warmth, Comfort, Beauty, Cheerful appointments

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

My friend and I had a wonderful experience with our Casa del Sol rental house. It is colorful, cheerful, workable and cozy. There are three different outside sitting areas--a patio surrounded by beautiful vegetation and flowers, a second floor verandah and a rooftop patio with 180 degree views and relaxing deck furniture.
The walk down to the Jardin is about 10 minutes downhill, and the walk back takes about double the time due to the steepness of the cobbled streets. The first couple of days we took a cab back for 30 pesos, but after that we walked it and really got in terrific shape in only one week. We ate as much as we wanted.
The housekeeping service is prompt and thorough--the housekeeper even does laundry, altho she doesn't cook.
The town is beautiful and magical and everything is within walking distance except the out-of-town venues. People are kind and gracious. I hope to return to this magical city and cozy house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa del Sol an Excellent Choice

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

We think Casa del Sol, perched on the hill above town, surrounded by big trees and with its wonderful little, well tended gardens, was like a happy bird's nest. Because we have a five year history of renting homes in SMA for varying length of time, we know how difficult it can be to find a sunny house, close to the center of town but one that is also quiet when you are ready to rest from all there is to do in town. Casa del Sol met the test beautifully! The couple who help to keep the garden beautiful and to keep the house clean and pretty were hospitable and respected our privacy...and they were always available to help out when we needed it. We loved the cheerful colors in the house and waking in the upstairs bedroom with the green vines adding to the leafiness just outside the window which overlooked the garden. The outdoor spaces were inviting and shady. We enjoyed fully the enchantments of this location and the charms of the house. We could walk to the center of town in about eight minutes ( downhill) and usually walked uphill to go home unless we were hauling groceries from the market and then the low priced cabs were handy on the hill. Our only hesitancy in writing this review of the house is that we would love to keep it as a secret for ourselves!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Casa Del Sol

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Casa del sol is located higher up on a pedestrian only street. It’s quiet, and has a number of beautiful patios for enjoying the view or just reading. The gardener, who comes several times a week, keeps the garden and patios looking neat. Although it is a bit of a steep walk from the town centre, the serenity makes it worth while. Inside the casa the kitchen is a bit small and the furnishings rustic, but that seems to be the norm in Mexico. We had a wonderful time visiting San Miguel de Allende.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2007   Date of arrival: January 8, 2007

Deb,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Casa del Sole! The set-up of the house (sort of two individual suites) is perfect for a couple traveling with a single person. I stayed in the bedroom upstairs and was very comfortable.

San Miguel, Guanajuato and Dolores Hidalgo were fascinating to visit and Casa del Sole was a great home base!

Thanks for sharing your casa with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2006   Date of arrival: November 7, 2006

Deb,
Thank you so much and we had the time of our lives and have such great memories--looking forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2005   Date of arrival: January 23, 2005

We had a GREAT time.  Rosanna really loved her "Casita".  We lost a couple of pounds due to the location I guess, but we got to be cabbers more and more by the end.  We saved the Azafran restaurant until the end -- had we gone sooner, we'd of gone more often -- great place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2004   Date of arrival: October 8, 2004

We enjoyed the house, though we spent little time there! Iexpected
to be on the roof deck more often, but it turns out we enjoyed the
patio more frequently for breakfast.
A wonderful experience. Thank you. And if we do go back to San
Miguel again, you'll be hearing from me. We're now thinking about
renting for several months at a time -- but that will have to wait until
retirement.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2004   Date of arrival: August 11, 2004

We had a good time and also a good work out, I need to move
down there to be physically fit. Thanks for everything and definitely
will keep you in mind for future trips, or friend recommendations

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2004   Date of arrival: February 25, 2004

Hi Debra,

I wanted to send you a note to say how much we enjoyed our stay!
Best regards,
Catherine

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2004   Date of arrival: January 8, 2004

Hello Deb,
We had a great time in San Miguel and really enjoyed the house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 2, 2003   Date of arrival: September 2, 2003

Deb,

The casa was gorgeous. You have real sytle. The climate is so perfect
and the "livin' is so easy."

I enjoyed SMA. I was so grateful to you for making it so easy for me to
be there, thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2002   Date of arrival: November 27, 2002

Dear Deb,
we had a wonderful time in your house in SMA and I for one didn't
want to come home. That is of course another story but suffice to say
we loved San Miguel and we appreciated the house. We shopped in the
Ramirez market and the Tuesday market and had fun studying
your Mexican cookbook. We even made Huitelecoche and veggies being
wild mushroom fanatics.

Be in touch if you decide you need to sell cheaply(hah) and thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review