reviews for: listing #49395 - Ocean Beach, California Cottage rental

Steps From the Beach - Fabulous Orca Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $295 /nt
    $1,155 - $2,170 /wk
    $4,620 - $8,680 /mth

sort by:

It was everything we were looking for and more

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We were originally looking at hotels for our trip to San Diego, but I randomly came across this property while checking other options....Our trip was so much better because of it! As soon as we walked in the door, we fell in love with the place. It was very clean and well kept, the kitchen was ready for all of our meal adventures (including some baking). Part of the fun of our trip was being able to make so many meals together...saved us a bunch of money, too. My wife really enjoyed the deck areas, great places to lounge around outside, and the neighborhood is quiet enough (except for the occasional plane overhead) that spending time outside isn't a problem.

The location is amazing! Not only is it close to a beautiful beach, but it's also really easy to get to the interstate. Easy access to everything else in San Diego. But no need to go too far because there's plenty to do just in the neighborhood. Be sure to eat at Hodad's (2 blocks away) during your stay.

The management is great, very easy to get a hold of and ready to answer any questions you might have. We highly recommend this place and hope it's available during our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything a Family needs

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location couldn't have been better-two blocks from the beach and two blocks from my sister- in- law's house. It's close enough that a young child can walk to the beach. It had all the amenities a family would need for a week. We cooked a few meals, and ate at some of the great resaurants Ocean Beach has to offer. We will be coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Worse than old Motel 6 cleanliness. :-(

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

What would otherwise have been a nice stay at a quaint beach cottage was very much spoiled by the cleanliness of the cottage. Other than maybe the changing of sheets and towels, it's unlikely any other cleaning has been done here for quite a long time. The bathroom floor was dirty. We swept up enough hair from the bathroom floor to make a good sized hair ball. There was hair (long and short) on the floor and furniture all over the cottage. Inside doorknobs and drawer handles weren't clean - they were sticky and had debris on them. Sorry, that's disgusting. The shower curtain is moldy. The owner makes a big deal about keeping the cottage clean to the point of asking guests to remove their shoes to protect the wood floors, but the floors are of questionable cleanliness, so I wouldn't walk inside barefoot, and walking in socks just gets them dirty. If the cottage was actually clean it would be a nice home base while staying in San Diego.

A few idiosyncrasies:

Although the owner makes a big deal about being "green" (for example with an "on demand" water heater) the water heater is in the laundry shed outside. The flow from just the kitchen or bathroom sink isn't enough to get the water heater to turn on, but turning on the water in the tub is. So to get hot water in the kitchen or bathroom sink, you have to turn on the hot water in the tub and wait about two minutes for hot water in the tub, and then turn on the water in the bathroom or kitchen sink to get hot water at the sinks. We probably wasted more water than we used because of this -- that's far from being green. It's a little inconvenient, but this is a tolerable oddity.

I suggest washing the dishes and utensils you use before using them. The inconvenience of getting hot water to the kitchen probably had prior guests washing the dishes with cold water, so they're of questionable cleanliness.

If you're not familiar with Ocean Beach, you might be surprised by the frequency and volume of airport traffic overhead. Having previously spent many years in OB and San Diego, this wasn't an issue for us.

We left the cottage in cleaner condition than when we arrived, but blew off a day's rent and left a day early because we'd had enough of it. A quaint old beach cottage can be clean. Unfortunately this one isn't.

Owners response: We strive to provide all our valued guests with the best possible cleanliness, comfort and services. When you feel that we have failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know, right away! We have a team of housekeeping professionals that carry the VRHP seal (Vacation Rental Housekeeping Professionals). They all strive to offer quality services & professional standard of cleanliness as reflected in our many favorable reviews. We strive to take great care of you while you are in San Diego as our valued guest!
We regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you and do hope to welcome you back! Our guests are generally “WOW”ed by the entire experience of staying at any of our vacation rentals.
To ensure that we are meeting our guests needs, our housekeeping staff conducts themselves in a manner which reflects the high regard that we have for our Guests and properties; we've notified housekeeping management of your complaint and we are taking action!
We can only wish that you have at least taken the time to inform us that conditions were less than satisfactory. We would have had the chance to address this issue immediately! Unfortunately, you have opted not contacted us throughout your stay and have not given us the opportunity to correct the situation.
We do take pride in striving to be as green as possible. We do not, however, claim to have a LEED certification. At least, not yet. Becoming green is a work in progress and we are continuously making improvements to all our rentals. As one can see from the numerous excellent reviews we have received in the past from very satisfied guests, this instance is an exception. We have not received the Vacation Rental of the Year 2012 for not taking care of our guests.
As to having to washing dishes with cold water, we will be addressing amount of time hot water takes to reach the kitchen sink from the on-demand water heater by installing a recirculating pump. There is a fully functional dishwasher in the cottage.
This is a wonderful home and we want to make sure your vacation experience is uninhibited. If you have any questions or conditions are not to your full satisfaction, please contact us and we will be happy to address your questions. We cannot assist if we are kept in the dark! Give us the opportunity to make your stay the best ever!
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So close to beach! 2nd stay and we love it!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This is our second time to stay at this location. What a lovely view of the surf and sunsets from the front deck. our family of 6 comfortably enjoy this cottage get away. Its easy walking distance to all Ocean Beach amenities. Coffee shops, fun and unique restaurants, antique shopping and much more. We love the OB pier and the pier café.
The owners are very easy to work with and communication is clear and prompt. The place is clean and well outfitted for a family vacation. Easy access to all San Diego locations from the Ocean Beach area.
We hope to stay here again in the future. Would highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Walking to the Beach

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

I loved the location, walking distance to everywhere, block from the beach, supermarket, bars, and restaurants. 10 mins from downtown and pacific beach. the whole area is very chill and everyone there is friendly, and also the neighbors. The house itself is very cozy, very modern, with wood floors, stand alone bath tub, all the cooking utensils to cook everything and anything. the patio space in front is quite chill with a view of the beach. I would recommend this location for small group or family, and i would want to return again.

Owners response: Thomas, thank you so much for the great review and we are happy we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Please let us know by email if there is anything that we can improve or add to the Orca Cottage. Cheers, Yasmin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Place, Even Better Location

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

This was a great place to stay; very close to the beach and stores all within walking distance. The major complaint i have, which is beyond the control of the owner, is that we were directly under the flight path of a major airport! As such, generally from the hours of 6am to 8am, there was nearly constant air noise - and its quite loud. The good news is that having to wake up early to the blast of airplanes allowed us to enjoy early morning walks on the beach.
The house sleeps 4-6, but keep in mind if you bring 6, two of you will be sharing a rather small futon, so be sure you like your bunkmate..alot.
The only other minor complaint i have is the laundry fee. Since you are given only 1 towel/person for a week, if you need to do laundry, its going to cost you. It could be cheaper to purchase cheap towels and throw them away rather than wash them. Its not expensive at about $6/load (wash and dry) but it feels a little like i was being nickle and dimed after paying so much for rental and cleaning. It would also be nice if there was an outdoor BBQ, and maybe some other beach toys for use. Other rentals in the area have more 'extra' amenities which are included in the rental fee.
Other than that, the house is very nicely furnished, and in a great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Beach Retreat! Perfect Hideaway! Easy Access to Everything in San Diego!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

Orca Cottage is exactly why we always go through VRBO! If you are looking for a well kept cozy cottage in Ocean Beach that has off-street parking and great amenities, this is it!

The property is exactly as described, and Yasmin and Bill are great to work with! The pre-arrival package is thorough and detailed, and access to the property to check in was simple! Owners contact you after checkin to see if there are any additional needs and contact information was posted at the property for any need.

Orca is a cottage, so don't expect a house in the suburbs! It's tastefully decorated, and includes wireless and cable. The decks on the front of the house and in the courtyard are great to relax and enjoy one of the last great beach cities!

Make sure that you enjoy the beach a block away, as well as journey north on the coast to places like Del Mar for views of the coast! Hit up Coronado Island and the beach there for crowds as well as explore the Gas Lamp quarter and Balboa park!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do our best to ensure our guests have a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Things to be aware of before you rent this Cottage

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

This Cottage is directly under the flight plan of the Southwest Airlines planes that fly in every 15 minutes beginning at 6:45 am. The planes come very low to the house. They continuously frightened my 2 year old son.

The house is not well stocked. For example, no dishwasher-machine fluid to clean the dishes. The Owner advertises that dish cleaner is provided. I called and left the owner a message. She never bothered to call back. Also, we were alloted 2 rolls of toilet paper for 4 adults. This was enough for 3 days. I used the last square of paper before heading out.

The place was not cleaned well. The floors were dirty when we checked in. The cleaning crew at a problem gaining access to clean before we arrived, so they did a quick job. The Owner did not offer any break in the price. My sons feet were dirty from walking around the place. Bring house slippers.

There are no beach toys provided other than a frisbee. There are no games. Wifi was not working. Many essential kitchen utensils were missing. Only 6 dishes / bowls are provided and some were chipped and broken.

The low rate obviously reflects the above. I would not stay here again.

Owners response: We are very sorry to hear about the bad experience our guests had. Most of Ocean Beach is under the flight path as in San Diego, unlike other cities, the airport is located downtown.
Dishwasher detergent powder is located under the kitchen sink and that was confirmed after the guests departed. Their phone call was not returned due to office phone problems. They had all our contact numbers, including cell phones, which they could have called as well, had it been a pressing issue.
We make sure to inform all guests of the amenities provided, both in our ads and in an email sent to the guests: as in most vacation rentals, we provide a stater supply of paper products and toiletries (as opposed to a hotel, which is most likely what will work better for these guests). As to cleanliness, we were not informed of the poor job our cleaning crew has done. The guests knowingly arrived earlier than check-in time, which most likely put the cleaning crew under pressure. If we were made aware of the condition we would have definitely offered a discount. Neither were we aware that Internet was not working. A quick reset of the Internet equipment (which is located in the bedroom) would have most likely resolved the problem. As can be seen from other reviews left regarding the Orca Cottage the bad experience these guests had was due to a combination of circumstances beyond our control. We do strive to ensure all guests have the best experience possible.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Charming and a great fit for us

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My wife and 7-year-old daughter spent out spring break at the Orca cottage and had an incredible time in no small part due to the following:

1. This is a fantastic location to get anywhere in the city easily.
2. It has very necessary, off-street parking in back.
3. You can see the ocean from the deck. :-)
4. It is nicely appointed, very charming and immaculate.
5. Ocean Beach is a kooky and original San Diego place.

Thanks you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECTION!

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Everything was perfect! Clean, quaint, and close to everything. Had a wonderful time and couldnt be more satisfied! Thank you for making our stay something to remember!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Seaside Cottage!

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

My 2 sisters and I had the perfect seashore holiday in the little yellow cottage by the ocean! It was exactly what we were looking for, to spend some fun, relaxing time together. Very close to the beach, shops, and restaurants, yet quiet and peaceful on the deck in the mornings and evenings. I would come back again, and would recommend it to friends and family. Loved the decor and landscape!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Leon, Linda and Family

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL is the only way to tell you about this super clean and very well remodeled cottage. The front deck was a favorite place morning ,noon and night for our 2 year old grandson. We could have not ask for better service from Bill & Jasmin, everything was there that was needed to make our stay very comfortable. We cooked all of our meals there and enjoyed the 2 minute walk to the beautiful beach and fantastic sunsets. I would recommend this cottage for anyone who would love the be close to everything. We are planning and looking forward to return trips to this cottage. Thanks again to Bill & Jasmin for making our stay so nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The pictures don't do it justice

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

This is a super cute and cozy cottage, remodeled and up to date yet keeping the right atmosphere. The landscape is beautifully done, it has a new kitchen and bathroom with a great claw foot tub. The queen bed was super comfortable. A new flat screen TV and a DVD player are there. It is blocks from the main drag in OB and a block from a quiet stretch of the beach. The neighborhood was quiet and the parking in back was awesome! We bought fresh fish at Point Loma Seafoods and fresh produce from the Wednesday farmers market and had some delicious meals at home. It is not handicapped accessible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Privacy and Quiet close to Everything

Review submitted: January 16, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

We had a wonderful holiday week here. Yasmin and Bill are excellent hosts and went out of their way to accomodate us and make our stay fantastic. Even though there was still some landscaping going on during our stay (which we had been told about), the set back of the cottage from the street lent itself to a quiet, relaxing time. That being said, we were a quick 2 block walk to the OB main drag and 1 block from the awesome beach. The off-street parking is also a huge deal that added to our enjoyment. The house is all new and we lacked nothing. We will definately be going back

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review