reviews for: listing #49398 - Okaloosa Island, Florida Condo rental

Pelican Isle Gulf Front Condo!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pelican Isle
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $165 /nt
    $500 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

Spring Break Vacation!

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We had the most amazing condo! The pictures were exactly what we got. The condo was clean, spacious and the view from the balcony is nothing short of amazing. Every morning, waking up to that view, and the sound of the waves......we will be back, soon! The proximity to everything is great. The neighbors were the best. We were very lucky to have found such a great place, at a great price, with a great owner to deal with!! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

from Minnesota on family sping break

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

The condo was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was exactly what we needed and expected. The only issue we has was the wifi not working the first three days. The owner was able to meet with the cable company and get it working. We would definitely consider renting from this owner again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Local

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the years. We have always had excellent communication with Terri, the manager. She is just a phone call away - and local. The unit has always been very clean. The fantastic view is ever changing with the weather. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Just got home yesterday from our honeymoon in this wonderful condo. The view is amazing! The condo was very clean and had more than we needed. We hope to return soon and bring the kids. Although the weather wasn't all that great we had a great time. The owner was very easy to deal with and we had no issues at all. Thanks for a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful few days at Pelican Isle 417. The condo was great – very clean, spacious and well maintained. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and more! The location is so convenient. Had a great time! Already looking forward to another visit – hopefully soon!! Thanks, Terri!

Owners response: So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Pelican Isle 417. Hope to have you back on your next visit to the Gulf of Mexico. Thanks for taking the time to give a review.

Terri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful condo!!!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I visited condo #417 last week and i cant wait to go back.the condo was so clean.so spacious.it was exactly what i was hoping for.the view off the balcony is phenomenal!!!!i looked forward to having breakfast out there every morning.listening to the waves were so relaxing.i dont believe i could have chosen a better condo.the owner responded rapidly to everything i got in contact with her about.this condo fulfilled my expectations.i will be returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

I just got back and it was a great condo. We had 6 people in our group and it fit everyone so nicely. I was a great experience and I would HIGHLY recommend this unit to anyone that wants to visit this area. The beach was very nice and not crowded at all. We got to relax and the view from the unit is unbelievable. The Condo was very well equipped and everything was in good condition. You should definitely stay here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Beach Getaway

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

I just wanted to leave a review to let all know how much we enjoyed your place on Okaloosa Island. Everything was wonderful, and the owner was so helpful and we had the greatest time. We come to Okaloosa Island every year, and just stayed in this lovely condo. Pelican Isle is a fantastic location and this was the perfect getaway. The condo had everything we needed, was very clean, well maintained and we loved the new furniture. The ocean view was fantastic. The unit has a beautiful view of the Gulf that is pure heaven! It had everything you could need. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended! We are definitely planning another visit ---- and we can't wait!!! The Balcony overlooking the ocean was our favorite spot. Thanks Terri for your great hospitality!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Needs some work

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Ditto on the condition of the condo. We were contacted by the owner while staying there and did advise her that the dryer worked ok mechanically but a small dryer such as this does take longer to dry clothes and a large load should be split up into smaller ones and they will dry fine. This is the only thing we responded to as we did not want to speak of all of the other problems while enjoying our vacation.
The carpet should be cleaned along with the chair and ottoman. They were filthy and we had to cover with a towel to feel comfortable using them. The couch slip covers smelled so we washed them along with the throw pillow slip covers and bath and kitchen rugs. The rugs should be washed after each guest leaves.
The sliding door lock was broken along with the the front door safety chain. The knobs on the bedroom furniture need repairing as they come off in your hands. The bathroom floors need scrubbing with a brush. The closet and nightstand drawers should be cleared of personal items.
On the bright side, the unit was decorated very tastefully, the bed was comfortable and the deck had a great view of the ocean with really nice deck furniture. The condo grounds were very neat and clean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Mar 1, 2013, we installed new carpet, new sleeper sofa and chair and recovered the bar stools and dining chairs too! Looks Beautiful!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Disappointingly Dirty

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

I have to agree with Fun Time on the condition of this condo. This unit is in need of tender loving care. The furniture was very cheap, dirty, and uncomfortable to sit in. The carpeting was dirty as was the cushions on the bar stools. The light fixture in the kitchen is full of bugs and the dryer takes forever to dry your clothes. I could mention other thing but I think you get the picture. I will stay at Pelican Isle again but I will not stay at this unit again.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: After I received this review, I called the current guests and they were very happy, just happy to be in paradise with such a beautiful view and great weather. No complaints about the unit. We are installing new carpet and ordered a new couch. We really try to make this a nice unit for our guest.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week of relaxation at Pelican Isle. The condo was very nice, the view was breathtaking. We would definitely book from Terri again. (Jon and Judy, Ft Smith, Ar)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pelican Isle Unit 417

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Experience was fair as best. The sliding doors would not lock, the front door had a chain lock but the brass plate was pulled out of the door (leaving the chain dangling on the door jam), washer was loud and squeaky, dryer made a rumbling roar when it dried. The drier took 2 hours to dry one beach towel. Dishes in the cabinets were chipped and cracked. When I called the owner/manager to see how long it had been since she checked the unit and to tell her some of the problems, she said she knew about the sliding doors but just hadn't gotten a broom handle over there to put in the doors. She was not aware of the other problems. Which means she did not check on her unit periodically for cleanliness and maintenance. Glad I called her so she wouldn't think we did the damage. The unit has not been properly cleaned or maintained. The mirrors in the bathrooms had some of the "mirror" edges coming off, which left them being just black and rough looking around the edges. It needs some tender loving care and for someone to be responsible for checking on the unit for maintenance. The chairs on the balcony was in poor condition. Two of them did not have a seat (it had rotted out), and the other two were getting very close to being unusable. The tile and grout throughout the hallway, bathrooms,and kitchen were nasty. I understand it is hard to keep grout clean, but the tile itself had spots of stain and dirt on them. Pelican Isle is a good place to stay. We've stayed in other units, but this one has been forsaken with love.

Owners response: I am just shocked at the comments in this review because 99% of it are exaggerations and/or lies. I'm amazed that someone could have such an outstanding view of the Gulf of Mexico with perfect weather and the natural beauty of the beach with seagulls, pelicans and herons all around and then be bothered by the noise a washer and dryer makes. Both the washer & dryer are in normal working order & sound normal. I am local and do check the unit frequently. The kitchen is very well stocked with 2 sets of high quality, attractive dishes. I found a chip on only 1 cup saucer and 1 bowl, which I threw out. But it was nothing I would have complained about. The tile and grout, was just cleaned and sealed less than 2 months ago along with the carpet and furniture by Nature’s Clean-Dry and they did a beautiful job. Looks like new grout. The tile is a tan color with spots to look like travertine tile, but it is not stained in any way, that's just the color of it. The mirrors have a couple places at the very bottom where the silver has flaked off, but not terribly unsightly. This isn't a brand new unit. If she had told me the chairs on the balcony had damage, I would have replaced them immediately. I found one mesh sling had ripped & I think it must have happened while they were there. Not their fault, because things wear out. Those are being replaced. The chain lock, which is a secondary lock, on the front door is being replaced. I thought a broom handle cut to fit in the track is the best solution to the lock on the sliding glass door. It seems, people try to jerk open the doors while the lock is latched and accidently pull the lock catch out of the door frame. The unit being on the 4th floor, 50 feet up, I didn't feel their security was at risk. Pelican Isle is not a brand new unit and there maybe a few scraps and dents but we take a lot of pride in keeping our unit clean and maintained for our guests and feel that these comments were totally unwarranted.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful condo and excellent price

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We second all the other 5 stars. This unit is immaculate and has a beautiful view of the Gulf and easy access to the beach. We have rented from Terri before (another unit) and she always delivers what she promises. The photos of the unit are accurate. There are many restaurants in the area and Destin is only 6 miles away via the Gulf Islands National Seashore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Place :)

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and it's great! Love the views and the owner is so easy to deal with! I am pretty sure we will be back in the Fall for a few days. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Pelican Isle 417! We had a fantastic time! The condo is beautifully decorated, clean, and well-maintained. The view from the condo and balcony is breathtaking! We needed a quiet, relaxing vacation and that is truly what we found staying here. When we did want to venture out it wasn't difficult to get where we wanted to go from the condo. We even walked to some of the restaurants in the area. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the dolphins. We loved our vacation and will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always a good day when you see the dolphins! Thanks for the review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best R&R in a long time!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

My husband and I visited during the last week of September. So relaxing - great condo, very spacious, clean, cozy. The beaches were not crowded. Perfect time for a 50+ couple to reconnect! Thanks for a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

VAC TURN HONEYMOON

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We just got back to Indiana late last night we stayed fri to the next sat and had a GREAT time!! the condo was great had everything we needed, we come to the beach every year for the last 8 yrs but this one was GREAT since we got married two days before we came icing on the cake we will be back for sure!!! THANKS LOVED THE CONDO VERY CLEAN CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

We had a great time while there. Will come again over and over and over. Good family location. Beach wonderful. What more can I say!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Stay- wonderful view!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

My sister and I took the kids and stay for 5 nights and had a blast. The beach is perfectly cleand and water beautiful! The views could not have been better from our room. We watched dolphins from our balcony! We will be back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend! The place was so nice and the view was incredible! We will definitely be back. Thank you :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

The moment we walked in it felt like home, it's a great
condo. We stayed there for one week and were very
satisfied. It has everything you need and the view is
just breathtaking.
Thank you Terri for making our vacation so perfect.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

What a great family vacation! Wonderful view, great beach, clean living area. Memories to last a lifetime! We would definitely come back to this location!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review