reviews for: listing #49416 - St Louis, Missouri House rental

Frank Lloyd Wright Inspired Paradise on Lake and 55 Acres
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $750 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Cant wait to go back this Summer

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

All I can say , we loved it. I plan to bring my extended family out each year.
Plenty to do if you have kids. The fishing was so much fun.
Home is clean and well kept.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It absolutely warms my heart to hear how my guests love this property:-)
I am soooo happy to share this with everyone and it really makes me happy to hear that they want to return year after year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Weekend!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

This house reminded me of being in the Wisconsin Dells. It was so vintage yet modern at the same time. The owner was very accessible and accommodating. It's an amazing party house. My guests were so impressed. We stayed during a snowy, icy weekend, so that posed a challenge with the long country lane, but it worked out. Secluded and special. Very romantic and elegant. Clean and beautiful. The Buck stove fireplace was perfect! Would LOVE to rent this house in the summertime. An unforgettable weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am ALWAYS soooo Happy to hear that my Guests enjoy the accommodations here, even in the Winter months!!! It is definitely a beautiful relaxing place to be on a snowy wintery day:-) I'm soooo happy everyone enjoyed!!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Party at the Lake

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

The lake house was amazing. It was like we stumble across a spa retreat in the middle of the country, an oasis I should say .The property was well maintained.With all the amenities needed. We had a BLAST !!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Donna

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Our family of 8, six adults and 2 young children enjoyed your very homey, peaceful and beautiful home and surroundings. You are a wonderful hostess and I would recommend your home to anyone wanting a peaceful get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I truly enjoy sharing my properties with families from all over the World! It makes me happy that my guests enjoy the Vacation Rentals that myself and my staff work sooo hard to make nice and comfortable for our guests:-) I am VERY Grateful for all the Guests that continue to come back year after year and to see our additions and improvements:-)
Thank You Very Much to All of you that stay at my Vacation Rentals and to you, The future Guests that want to experience the accommodations that I provide:-) Have a Fabulous Summer:-)
Thank you VERY MUCH for your Response! It Truly was my Pleasure meeting you and your Beautiful Family:-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Owner and Great House

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We loved working with Donna. She met us at the house and showed us around. What I love is you can tell she does her best to take great care of her properties, and her guests. She told us everything from where to buy the best groceries to how to start the fire.

The house is not a generic house for sure. It has unique character and lots of room to spread out. There is one HUGE king master bedroom upstairs with amazing views of the lake. The pictures do not do it justice. It also has 2 queen size bedrooms upstairs that share a 3/4 bath with a skylight in it. Downstairs there is another king size bed with a view over the lake and a little water feature that is very pretty, along with a queen size bedroom that share a bath.

The dining room is huge with plenty of room for 10 people to sit around the table. This is a party house for sure, since it was winter we were not able to fully enjoy the outside pool etc, but we did enjoy walking around the lake and all of the scenery. This is a place you could come and never have to leave, there is plenty to do right at the house. You will not be sorry you came. The kitchen is not huge, pretty much 1 or 2 people cooking at a time, but we loved the L shaped counter and bar stools, so you always had company when you were cooking and cleaning up.

One thing that was an issue is there is not shower downstairs, just the sunk in tub which does have a hand sprayer, but if you want a full stand up shower you will have to go upstairs, but it worked out just fine for us.

You are only about 20 minutes from Six Flags and about 45 minutes from the zoo...which we did not mind at all. Also the town of Union is only about 6 miles away, so you can easily run to Wal-Mart, or a local grocery store if you need anything.

We loved our stay and enjoyed every minute of it. I think anyone who stays here will say the same thing...it is a great place to get away to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Youth Staff Retreat

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Donna,

It has been many months since we were there but thank you so much for the use of this fabulous home! We had a great time even in the middle of winter the house was more than sufficient! May God bless you as you blessed us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Besides Families, Reunions, Small Weddings, I also have Youth Staff Retreats:-) I hear often that this Vacation Rental inspires guests and gives them a sense of calmness plus a sense of inspiration!!! It truly
is a Vacation Rental you must experience:-) Thanks soooo Very much for your Response, it truly gives Vacationers a feeling of what other Vacationers experience at this Vacation Rental:-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Get away from it all and relax. Something for everyone to do...or not. This beautiful home is comfortable, beautiful and in a perfect setting. We did not want to leave. Seems remote, but is close to amenities and shopping. A very happy time was had be all in our large family.


Bobbie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Words can not begin to express the wonderful time my family had being together in your amazing home! Everything was perfect and the surroundings, breath taking! I don't believe I could have found anything more enjoyable and relaxing. We take with us so many great memories and pictures. Everyone is already hoping we do this again next year and make it a family tradition! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Well what can we say, but Ahhhhh. Even with 4 kids, Inlaws visiting another 4 kids, business associates, and all packed into one nice, relaxing and of course memorable stay; for the second year in a row. Everyone that came out was in awe. The only thing that would have made it better, yes you guessed it, a nanny. Just so we could have spent even more time relaxing. Love to you and your family Donna.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hello Donna

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Well what can we say, but Ahhhhhh. Even with four kids, in-laws visiting, another four kids, business associates and all packed into one nice relaxing and of course memorable stay; for the second year in a row! Everyone that came out was just in awe. The only thing that would have made it better, yes you guessed it, a nanny. Just so we could have spent more time relaxing. Love to you and your family Donna.

Angie S.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The Horizon view was breath taking and piercing to the eye. Step out to the edge of the pond, ponder a thought, make a huge decision? In the pantry the collection of seasonings shows you are the type of flavor that has passed through each door here. Breakfast, lunch, dinner is a perfect time to regather with your company. This place is true, a peaceful worship, quite uplifting too!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We want to thank you for your hospitality and the use of your home. It met all our needs and more. The view was beautiful and the paddle boats were a big hit for the youth and the adults! We pray the Lord blesses you and your family in the days, months, and years to come.
John 14:1 – Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me.
John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you, I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.
You can always find peace in Jesus!!!
God Bless,
Exciting Southeast Baptist Youth Group

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Spending the weekend at your Frank Lloyd Wright inspired home was amazing. Not only was the architecture of the home breath taking, the interior was warm and inviting. Our guest enjoyed all of the pleasure of the vacation home during our stay. We hope to stay here many more times!
Thanks again, Drew

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The horizon view was breath taking and piercing to the eye. Step out to the edge of the pond, ponder a thought, make a huge decision? In the pantry collection of seasonings shows you the type of flavors that has passed between each door here. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner is a perfect time to regather with your company. This place is truly a peaceful worship quiet uplifting too!
Thanks, Inkster, MI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Happy New Year, and many thanks for providing us a wonderful spot for our holidays. The house is extraordinary and comfortable for a vacation spot & lovely, of course. We hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Thank you so much for the lovely retreat! We appreciate it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna & Rick

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Thank you again for a wonderful time at your house! We had a blast together & they can’t wait to come back. Talk to you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna & Rick

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We wish we didn’t have to leave! Although the house is large enough for our family, we are glad it was just the two of us! Most romantic place we’ve ever stayed and we’ve stayed a lot of places in Europe, Hawaii, South America, and the US. Very beautiful, peaceful, and private [home]. Thanks for letting us come last minute.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

To Donna & Rick

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Wow! What a great place. We celebrated my 75th and the 10th annual “Morgner Men’s Retreat” (9 men this year). If we are lucky, we might be back. Thank you.
Don, Chris, Steve, Rick, Mike, Mark, Jacob, Josh, Blake

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna & Rick

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We had an absolutely fabulous time! The pool was a great hit with all the grandchildren and our kids. We had established wonderful memories! Everything was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rick & Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Thank you for allowing us to use your beautiful home. Our children and grandchildren thoughly enjoyed the pool , paddle boats, kayaks & fishing. Your home is a peaceful, serene haven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Donna and Rick

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We Spent a fabulous weekend with friends and family. The weather cooperated for his 60th Anniversary celebration. The pool and lake were very popular with the kids!
Thank you so much,
-Alita

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dear Longs

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

The house was amazing. We got great pictures, and great memories. The lake was great. We found a lot of fish and animals. The party that we had was a great success! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rick and Donna

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Thanks so much for the use of your absolutely fabulous house! The pool, the pond, the views . . . we thoroughly enjoyed them all. This was the most amazing vaction we will never forget. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dear Longs

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

Dear Longs,

Thank you for providing such beautiful surroundings for my 80th birthday celebration! And many thanks for the thoughtful b-day card and the local culinary gifts! We had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Donna,
We want to thank you for your hospitality and the use of your home. It met all our needs and more. The view was beautiful and the paddle boats were a big hit for the youth and the adults! We pray the Lord blesses you and your family in the days, months, and years to come.
John 14:1 – Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me.
John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you, I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.
You can always find peace in Jesus!!!
God Bless.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Donna,
Spending the weekend at your Frank Lloyd Wright inspired home was amazing. Not only was the architecture of the home breath taking, the interior was warm and inviting. Our guest enjoyed all of the pleasure of the vacation home during our stay. We hope to stay here many more times!
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The horizon view was breath taking and piercing to the eye. Step out to the edge of the pond, ponder a thought, make a huge decision? In the pantry collection of seasonings shows you the type of flavors that has passed between each door here. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner is a perfect time to regather with your company. This place is truly a peaceful worship quiet uplifting too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Happy New Year, and many thanks for providing us a wonderful spot for our holidays. The house is extraordinary and comfortable for a vacation spot & lovely, of course. We hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

Thank you so much for the lovely retreat! We appreciate it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

Donna & Rick,
Thank you again for a wonderful time at your house! We had a blast together & they can’t wait to come back. Talk to you soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Donna & Rick,
We wish we didn’t have to leave! Although the house is large enough for our family, we are glad it was just the two of us! Most romantic place we’ve ever stayed and we’ve stayed a lot of places in Europe, Hawaii, South America, and the US. Very beautiful, peaceful, and private [home]. Thanks for letting us come last minute.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

To Donna & Rick,
Wow! What a great place. We celebrated my 75th and the 10th annual “Morgner Men’s Retreat” (9 men this year). If we are lucky, we might be back. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

Donna & Rick
We had an absolutely fabulous time! The pool was a great hit with all the grandchildren and our kids. We had established wonderful memories! Everything was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Rick & Donna
Thank you for allowing us to use your beautiful home. Our children and grandchildren thoughly enjoyed the pool , paddle boats, kayaks & fishing. Your home is a peaceful, serene haven.
-Rich Kozikowsk (Indianapolis)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Donna and Rick,
We Spent a fabulous weekend with friends and family. The weather cooperated for his 60th Anniversary celebration. The pool and lake were very popular with the kids!
Thank you so much,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Dear Longs,
The house was amazing. We got great pictures, and great memories. The lake was great. We found a lot of fish and animals. The party that we had was a great success! Thank you so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Thanks so much for the use of your absolutely fabulous house! The pool, the pond, the views . . . we thoroughly enjoyed them all. This was the most amazing vacation we will never forget. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Thanks so much for the use of your absolutely fabulous house! The pool, the pond, the views . . . we thoroughly enjoyed them all. This was the most amazing vacation we will never forget. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Dear Longs,
Thank you for providing such beautiful surroundings for my 80th birthday celebration! And many thanks for the thoughtful b-day card and the local culinary gifts! We had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review