reviews for: listing #49453 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $285 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,995 /wk
    $2,950 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

nice view

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We had a great stay here at Ocean Isle. The view was amazing, the owner's were nice, everything was easy and simple, and I would stay here again.

Owners response: Thanks for your review Anna. The ocean and inlet views are second to none and make for lasting vacation memories. We are pleased that you and your family would consider coming back to Islands End again. Please watch for our IContact emails in January (when you are up to your eyeballs in snow and ice) for great 2015 Spring and Peak Summer Season rental deals. Returning guests that book early get the best rates and dates! Safe travels, Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House ! Great Location !

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

This was our first time visiting OIB. For the past 22 years we have been going to OBX but it;s just getting too darn crowded. We found this little gem using the HomeAway web sight. The owner was wonderful to work with and answered my countless questions. The payment plan it a nice option. Islands End is located almost on the end of the north end.of OIB It's a very quiet area. The front of the house has a wonderful porch that faces the ocean. We sat on the porch every morning and night. Every night we drank our beer and wine and smoked a few cigars while listening to the ocean and watching the fisherman. The view and ocean sound is wonderful. There are plenty of rocking chairs for everyone, Beach access is exactly 1 min and 45 seconds, I know, I timed it. LOL There is a new entrance practically right across from the front porch. The house has lots of extras. Beach chairs, umbrellas, gas grill, steam pot, and lots more. The only thing missing is an umbrella for the porch table. We had 9 people and had plenty of room to spread out. Great kitchen. Overall the house and location are 5 stars. We would and will go back next year. We loved the area and the quiet. You go for nice walks down the street and not worry about being run over. We rented bikes and took rides the coffee shop in the morning. So,,,,,,,,Hello OIB goodbye OBX !!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Our satisfied guests are our best sale force. We try to insure that our August guests find the house in the same tip top shape as our spring guests. Unfortunately, the porch umbrella was a wind casualty (probably blown into the next county). We will be sure to replace it. We appreciate being able to share our little piece of paradise with you and your family. Safe travels! See you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall at the beach

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

If there were anytime to visit the Atlantic, fall is it! The water is warm, the air is crisp and the beach is uncrowned. We had a ball. The views from the front deck of this house were second to none. The house was so easy to be comfortable in with family and friends. It felt like a second home. The walk to the beach was a breeze. Great biking and running. Great cooking and eating accommodations. Fresh local seafood was easy to cook in the giant steam pot and outdoor grill. If we come back to North Carolina, we will come back. Islands End and it's owner gets 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

This house and owner keeps us coming back

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We vacation at Ocean Isle Beach on our own, with friends, with family, visiting in the spring, summer and fall. This owner and house is the best. Clean, comfortable, great location, easy beach access, accommodating with many extras...like beach chairs and beach umbrella and gas grill and steam pot and free high speed Wi-Fi, an extra (beer) fridge, functional kitchen (saves money eating out) and great front deck with ocean and inlet views that are unobstructed, outdoor shower and cloths line. Really, every need was anticipated and thought out. Even making it easy to pay. We really like that we can pay with a credit card or bank routing number on line over several weeks or months leading up to our stay! That is helpful with our budget. If we ever had problems getting online, locking ourselves out or stopping up the plumbing, the owner was Johnny on the spot with a quick fix. We have stayed in many OIB homes and condos over the years but this one keeps us coming back. We recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your review. Fall is a great time to vacation at Ocean Isle. The water is still warm, the air is dry and crisp, the beach is not crowded, the seafood is thousands of miles fresher and best of all... great value season rental rates! Thanks for coming back this fall. Our satisfied guests are our best sales force...please tell your friends.
Next year will be our forth summer renting our beach house. Renting directly to folks like you (and not through a faceless rental company), has created a great group returning families that treat our house like it was their home. It has also allowed us to respond faster and better to our guests needs. Something that is very important and always gets shortchanged when a third party handles rentals. We appreciate your return visit and kind remarks. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Ocean Front?

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Never could get the internet to work. I do feel I was misled with the almost water front. I ask about this and as I recall I ask for more pictures of the ocean front. Until I got down there I did not know what almost ocean front meant. I was disappointed in this. I ask the owner could I sit on the deck and watch my child at the beach and he said yes. That is NOT TRUE. We always get a ocean front house every year, true ocean front. This is VERY IMPORTANT to us.Other than that the house is nice.
Elizabeth Brown

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I am very sorry that you could not log onto the internet. I am sure that it was very frustrating. Being accessible our guests and responding in a timely manner is something that we pride ourselves on. Please be understanding. We could not help you without knowing that a problem existed.
We call our house "Almost Oceanfront" because there is a street in front, then a dune, the beach and ocean. If this was an oceanfront home, I would proudly say "oceanfront home" for rent! But we don't. We are "Almost Oceanfront". I feel we are pretty spot on with our description of the house and its "Almost Oceanfront" location, but at your urging, we will review our description again. We do not want to confuse anyone.

Helpful votes: 20 / 22

 

2012 Vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Ahhhhh just looking at the picture brings a melancholy feeling. What a great week! I loved the house and the view was all that you said it was and more. I would love to come back. Not one thing comes to mind that I can complain about except your other renters didnt wash the bedspreads. We did. Everything we needed was there and we couldn't have asked for more. Well, we did being our cornhole. :) THANK YOU!!!!

Owners response: In late January/early February, when you are up to your eyeballs in snow and ice and you can't feel your toes, we will send you a photo of the ocean from the front deck. While some would consider this crewel, it has proven to be very effective in getting you to come back again! Next year we will be sure to have cornhole. Thanks for that suggestion and for letting us know about the bedspreads. Hope you can come back again next summer and enjoy another week at Islands End.

Michael

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Islands End

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The beach house was absolutely wonderful in all aspects. The description was very accurate with the beach view available for plenty of porch time breezes. The amenities were great, in that it felt just like home. With re. to cleanliness, that also was top notch. The owner was available via email for any questions we had prior to our trip.
We came with teens/young adult children. There wasn't much night life, but we enjoyed sitting on the porch/talking/playing cards etc. Most days were spent visiting/setting up our beach site, back to the house for late lunches and games and then back to the beach for late afternoon sun. The stores nearby were very helpful and gracious to out of town visitors.
We didn't eat out too much as we enjoyed the fresh seafood most days for late dinners!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review and for renting our beach house. We are pleased that you found the house to your liking. It was built in the early 70's before beach McMansions. It is what traditional summer beach cottages were built to be... week and weekend getaways. We tell folks that if they are looking for modern or the chaos of Myrtle Beach, this isn't it. It is close enough to the chaos without having to live in it. It is nice enough to be comfortable but not too nice that you can't feel at home. The east end of OIB is a great escape from typical overcrowded tourist destinations. I am glad you got to experience our slice of heaven.
At Ocean Isle Beach, you don't have to worry about your seafood traveling further than you did on vacation. It is thousands of miles fresher! Much of it comes straight off the boat at Holden Brothers Seafood on Holden Beach (your view to the left over Shallotte Inlet, from the front deck). I am glad you got to sample it. Hope you can come back again next summer and sample it again.

Helpful votes: 42 / 42

 

We Love Your House!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

The Alexander family rarely agrees but this time it is unanimous... You have a great house! The ocean views from the front deck are fabulous (at a fraction of the price of an ocean front houses). The shotgun floor plan and loft is a throwback to the 70’s, and it works. The extra fridge downstairs and outdoor shower helped keep the sandy kid traffic out of the house. The steam pot and gas grill was a hungry crowd pleaser. The beach chairs, beach umbrella and sand toys were plenty. It even has bottle openers strategically placed on the decks and downstairs (who thought of that?). And getting to the beach is a cinch. All the creature comforts for a great family beach vacation were thought of. This house has got it going on.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: A house that has it "going on". We might use that. Thanks for your note. We are pleased that your family had a great time at Ocean Isle Beach. The bottle openers installed on the decks were a must. The time spent looking for the last person that used the opener (and didn't put it back) was beer drinking time lost. We learned quickly that a fridge downstairs (besides being a good place to park a watermelon) helped keep the kids sticky frozen treats and sandy feet out of the house. And cooking for a mob was best done outside in the steam pots and grill. It is a beach way of life that makes for great family fun. We hope to have you and your family back again next summer. Or as they say in the south...Yall come back now!

Helpful votes: 41 / 41

 

My favorite beach house

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We have stayed in homes at both Sunset Beach and Ocean Isle Beach and Islands End on the east end of OIB is by far our favorite. It is not technically ocean front because of Third Street but it might as well be. The unobstructed views of the ocean, inlet and Holden Beach across Shallotte Inlet are fabulous. Just fantastic! Ocean front views for a fraction of the price. We found the diamond in the rough. The short walk out the back door and down 4 houses to the ocean path is worth it for the view from the front deck. At the end of the path, you can walk to the end of the island because there are no more houses. It is not crowded, even in July. It is our little paradise. My 96 year old grandmother could feel like she was on the beach with us just sitting on the front deck. We never have liked a place enough to go back again...until this year. See you next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind remarks. This has been our famlies paradise since our children were very young. Now grown, they still love it. We are happy to share it with you and your family. We look forward to having you back again this summer. Please keep in touch.

Helpful votes: 58 / 59

 

See you next summer! We love the OIB east end.

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We love OIB and vacation here or at Sunset every year. This was our first time on the East End of OIB (the realtors and property mgt companies always dissuaded us and said the West End was best-NOT). We never stay in the same house. Next year we will be back to the East End. Your cottage is great! What a great value...what a great location! The view from the front deck is magnificent. You can see both the ocean and inlet without obstructions (we are on 3rd St. what happened to 1st and 2nd street?) We love walking to the end of the island and Shallotte Inlet at low tide. Good shell collecting (best after a storm). We loved walking to the new fishing pier on the Intra Coastal Waterway at the end of Shallotte Blvd. It is a great place to fish, crab, swim and boat watch. We also dug for mussels in the mud with our feet (they were delicious although the big ones were rubbery). Great place to walk and ride bikes/not much traffic. We used the gas grill and steam pot to steam local shrimp fresh mussels. The beer fridge downstairs was very handy (we don't drink but it kept the watermelons and soft drinks cold). The Wi-Fi made sending photos and staying in touch with friends, family and work from the beach fun. We also downloaded movies from Netflix...WOW fast connection! The cottage is old, very well kept and clean with nice bathrooms and modern well stocked kitchen. We appreciate your attention to our enjoyment and comfort. We appreciate the use of the beach chairs and umbrella and gas grill. We will come back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your note. Our family loves OIB. We are very pleased that you and your family had such a great time. We try to keep our house in tip top shape and to anticipate our guests needs. We are aware that the property management companies tell folks that the west end of OIB is more desirable. If overbuilt is desirable, they can have it! The east end is less crowded and developed and we hope it stays that way. Thanks in part to beach erosion and inlet dredging, we have great ocean and inlet views (that answers what happened to First & Second St.). We look forward to having you back again next year. Michael, Diane, Lewis and Emalee

Helpful votes: 76 / 77

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review