reviews for: listing #4948 - Kailua, Hawaii House rental

"Hale Nalu Palekaiko" Surf Paradise Hale
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $585 /nt
    $700 - $3,900 /wk
    $11,500 - $11,500 /mth

sort by:

Family Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

The house was exactly as the description and pictures show. My multigenerational family of 11 had an amazing time at this rental property and in Kailua. The house was beautiful and comfortable. It was nice knowing there was a washer and dryer in the house for lighter packing. Also there is a clothes line to dry your bathing suit which came in handy. The pool and outdoor seating were perfect and a great way to come home and relax after a day sightseeing or at the beach. The walk to the beach is less than 10 minutes. On the way back we loved stopping at Island Snow for shave ice. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of Kailua town. Easy to get to groceries and a cute little downtown area. We tried poke at Hibachi (a short walk from the house) and they even had tofu poke for my vegan boyfriend. I also recommend Agnes' Portuguese Bakery for the malasadas, you can call ahead and pick them up hot.

Kittie was helpful and available from the time I called with questions up to the day we left. There was nobody coming in the day we left and she let my family use the house late to accomodate thier late flight.

We went to many beaches on Oahu and Maui during our trip and none compared to Kailua, definitely our favorite!

Not only would I recommend this house to friends or relatives, I can't wait to come back wth friends or relatives!

Thank you again Kittie, for sharing your home with my family. The house really made the vacation awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your ohana as our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kailua House w/pool was just right for our family of 7

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Had a great time in Kailua...the house was exactly as depicted and just right for out party of 7 with lots of space left over. Our 4 kids loved the pool and the yard was just like we imagined from the photos-very nicely landscaped and private!

Kittie took care of us and answered any questions we had quickly. Mahalo!

We would definitely go back next time we go to Oahu.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your friends as our guests. Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We spent Christmas and New Years in this house and we have decided there is no other way to go. We had the house and Ohana cottage with my retired parents and all seven of our children. The house, location and town were even better than expected. We all enjoyed the pool, the short walk to the beach and the ambience of Kailua Town, we will definitely be back very soon. It felt just like being home, the house had plenty room for all of us and the baby loved being able to move around the house.
Kitty was a wonderful host and extremely responsive to anything we needed or had questions about, even on our last day she helped us put a good time frame to make sure we knew what to expect at the airport and travel time. Thank you Kitty for sharing your wonderful home. It was a sad day when we left but we already are making plans to go back! We loved our morning strolls to the beach to watch the sun come up, grabbing a cup of coffee from the local market and every night we had to have our shave ice (both of them a very short 5 minute walk). The people in Kailua are so welcoming and friendly.
This was our first time using VRBO and it will definitely not be our last.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Family Holiday!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful family holiday at Kailua Beach. The house was a great way to enjoy a relaxing holiday with our family of 3 kids as well as another family. The kids loved playing in the pool, as well as enjoying the boogy boards at the beach. We enjoyed relaxing while the kids swam and we BBQ'd supper. Thanks so much for the great time and we would love to return again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Holiday for 11!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous holiday at Hale Nalu Palekaiko. For a group of 5 adults, 3 children and 2 infants this house was perfect. We enjoyed the stroll to the beach (and shaved ice!) and to the local Kalapawai market. Kailua was a fabulous place to enjoy a family holiday as it has everything that you need (we loved the whole foods market!) but was away from the busy world of Waikiki (but close enough to visit regularly, especially when hiring a car).
The house was wonderful, we enjoyed spending many hours by the pool and the children loved spending time together in the garden. Kittie was especially helpful with any concerns and the house ammenitites made us feel very much at home.
We had felt so at home in Kailua that Australia just didn't feel the same upon return! We will keep many wonderful memories of 'Hale Nalu Palekaiko' and Kailua and would love to return .... one day!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure having you and your ohana as our guests.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Family Vacation 2013

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Our mainland family (Maryland) decided to spend some time visiting our Kailua family during the winter. After alot of research, I found this house and thought it would serve us perfectly. I had my sisters, who are locals, go by and check it out for us, and they agreed, it would be just great for us all. The pictures that were posted were accurate.
So we rented it for the month of February, allowing for all family member to come over when they could during that time, and we invited some friends from Georgia to come also. They had never been to Hawaii and wanted to visit, but be with friends and family and see Hawaii not just as tourist. We loved the house, it was beautiful, the location was perfect. Both local sisters and their families lived less then 10 minutes away, actually walking distance. We walked to the market and the beach and down to Kailua Town probably daily; and up to get plate lunches all the time. One favorite spot was Buzz's Steak House. The house had everything we needed. Its in a real neighborhood, and there were a few barking dogs, and typical neighborhood sounds, but, we felt very comfortable. The yard turned out to be one of the best congregating areas for us, when not inside putting together big dinners for everyone! My sons loved the grill in the yard, and the pool was a big hit. My favorite!
Kitti was very accomodating and checked to make sure we were doing fine and to see if we needed anything. We rented a van for the month and went all over the island, some places many times. The futon was not so comfortable, but was replaced. And a fan was provided upon request, it was good to have.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful beach home so we could experience a wonder family reunion/vacation! I am sure we will return soon. The beach is calling! A beautiful local beach that we enjoyed all the time, even when it was not a great beach day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Fantasic! My family and I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing trip this past summer. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us! This home offered everything we were looking for and more in our multi-generational family get-away. Kailua is a great community. We enjoyed getting up to watch the sun rise over the breathtaking beach which is just a quick walk down the street (take a moment to look back at the morning sun beginning to touch the mountains - stunning!) then we would stop for a delicious coffee and breakfast burrito at Kalapawai Market which is also right down the street. We would enjoy spending the rest of the morning/ early afternoon on a little adventure - kayaking, snorkeling, hiking, sightseeing. We would always come back to relax on Kailua Beach (our favorite beach on the whole island) and do even more relaxing in this home's beautifully maintained backyard. In fact, my grandmother enjoyed staying in the backyard even more than the beach - she liked it that much!! There was plenty of room inside the house as well whether we were sitting down for a family dinner or if we needed some space to ourselves. The house is laid out in such as way that gives all family members plenty of space to themselves when desired. Overall it was just a wonderful stay and Kitty was so pleasant and helpful! We appreciated our special welcome treats, too! Many, many thanks for allowing our family to stay and make wonderful memories! We hope to make a return trip in a few years! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this home to anyone looking for a great stay in Kailua!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Amanda, It was a pleasure having you and your ohana as our guests. Mahalo nui loa,

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Pasadena,CA. M.G.

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation for 9 days. The house met our expectations. Having a kitchen, Bar-B-Que available helped with meals and the Washer/Dryer was convenient . The kids loved the pool and the beach was a short 5-7 minute walk and worth it. Residential area like almost anywhere you have typical neighbor noise which is too be expected but it didn't ruin our vacation. It almost felt like home. A great place to relax after a long day at the beach or site seeing. Kailua is a great place to stay and if you have a family trip to Oahu and if you want to stay away from the touristy area's (which is only a short 30 minute drive) and you are looking for a rental home in Kailua the Hale Nalu Palekaiko should be considered for your stay. Aloha

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Stay to Remember

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Just returned from our stay and it was everything we wanted. The houses was great for our family; went to the beach every day; pool was great. Kids loved it. Our family will always treasure this stay. It is very nice that we visited the Island Snow shop 2 times a day. Thank you so much for making our memories

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you as our guests...

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A Truly Awesome Beach house in a Truly Awesome Beach Town

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Dear Kittie,

I just wanted to write a quick little review about our stay at your Hale. We went for 5 days in April for a family/business trip. We were all really happy that we found your house as well as the lovely town of Kailua. The beach was possibly the best beach we have ever been to, and we have been to a lot of beautiful beaches. The house was so warm and inviting for us all, and had everything that you could ask for. We loved how the house was very private and you could have your own space if you wanted it. The beds and all the accommodations were very comfortable as well. We ended up having my in-laws 40th anniversary/vow renewal on the beach in Kailua, followed by a family dinner party back at the house. It was a wonderful experience for them and all of us. Kittie could not have been more accommodating with everything and was a great deal of help with our entire stay. Please make sure you hit the little market down the street for coffee on the way down to a sunrise that cannot be missed. We also had dinner and drinks at Buzz's, which was great. Formagio was a nice place for dinner as well. Thanks again to Kittie and her family for opening up your hale to our family. The kids really loved the bunk room and the pool and were very sad to leave this little paradise.

PS. my brother in-law would love to see a hot tub in the back yard for our next stay, LOL

Love,
The Boccabella's, Fava's and Mejia's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you as our guests...

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"WIth many fond and happy memories of Hawaii"

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Hi Kittie & Tom,

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our vacation in Kailua and Oahu. Your house and little guest house was great for our family and we thoroughly enjoyed having this special place that fit our family perfectly. I got a little guest house in back all to myself and the rest of the family were in the main house. Having a place that we could all stay in together was what we were looking for when we started planning this vacation and finding your place just fit the bill.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All of us felt we were in paradise!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Aloha, Kittie & Tom,
All of us felt like we were in paradise! What a beautiful yard and pool. We spent a lot of time out there with our grandson. The house gave each family their own space. It was perfect!
Mahalo, MH

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Rejuvenating, relaxing and fun filled multi-generational family vacation!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

My husband and I were so excited when we arrived at the Hale Nalu Palekaiko with our four college age/teenage children and his parents. It was exactly what we were hoping for and more. There is an ohana house in the rear just off the pool that our parents loved and could escape to when they wanted. The master bedroom was off to one side of the house and the other bedrooms were perfect sizes for our children. To make it even better a two blk walk to the beach, best shave ice on island, and a market for quick necessities. The back yard was just the place to come and relax by the pool after a full day at the beach or a tourist attraction. We ate many meals out there too. The house had everything we needed and more. Don't go to the grocery store until you check what is left at the house! Mahalo to the owners of Hale Nalu!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa....

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Staycation!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

We are from Oahu, we live on the west side of the island but for our vacation this year we decided to save some money & have a STAYcation instead---it was a great idea! We didn't feel like staying in the hustle & bustle of a Waikiki hotel so we decided to relax at this vacation rental in Kailua. It worked out perfectly! Kailua is an excellent place for a family vacation: friendly people, beautiful beaches, fun things to do.
The kids enjoyed playing in the backyard pool almost as much as they enjoyed playing in the ocean down the road. Everyday we walked down to the beach for some fun in the sun then we stopped at the shave ice place on the way back! Yumm! There is a cute little store at the end of the road called Kalapawai Market where you can get snacks, coffee, & even breakfast sandwiches if you don't feel like waking up early to cook (we didn't!). There are also lots of cute shops & restaurants that are conveniently nearby. Don't miss the ONO (delicious) mac nut pancakes at Boots N Kimo's!
The house has everything you would ever need! the only thing we needed to bring was our stuff & food! they have a full kitchen stocked with tons of dishes, tupperware, spices etc, they have a gas grill outside, & a shed full of beach chairs, boogie boards, beach/pool toys etc(which was really handy so we didn't need to drive back to the westside to grab our beach stuff). There are even some board games & family friendly DVD's for some family down time.
Overall, we had a great time at this property--we will definitely be back again sometime & we have been telling all our friends, whether they are from here in Hawaii or in the mainland. Mahalo Kitty for the use of your awesome hale! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests...

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Good location but wya too noisy.

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Just home from 12 nights at this property. The house was as promised but was located on kailua road....which was super busy and quite noisy. Neighbors had barking dogs for first few nights and owners were quite reponsive to assit with this as best as they could. Still nieghbors were working on their car? and reving engine freqently ..and sometimes into the evening. i think all the small kids in our fmaily slept ok but us adults and teenagers had many nights interupted with traffic noise etc. we had to go to bed by 10 so as to wake up early with rest of kailua. Pool was nice. garden nice but doubt I would rent this place or recommend to anyone....Not a relaxing house at all to me....and I live in downtown San Francisco where i expect traffic noise etc...but not while vacationing in Hawaii.

Owners response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this review. This guest stayed with us over the 4th of July holiday which is a very busy one for Kailua. Kailua has a 60 year tradition of a huge parade and a fireworks display off of Flat island. People come from all over the island to watch fireworks and celebrate the 4th. There were fireworks, firecrackers and sirens going off at different times for a few days. Unfortunately these sounds made the dogs in our neighborhood bark. We did our best to help the situation by speaking with our neighbors, checking in with our guests daily. and a few other things. It is always our goal to make our guests stay in Kailua a happy one. We strive to have our guests experience everything Kailua and Oahu has to offer. We do let our guests know that they are making a choice to stay in a residential neighborhood with all of the sounds you would hear including dogs, sirens, trucks, cars etc. Not a resort. Our guests can google our location and our proximity to the beach. We've only received 5 star reviews from previous guests and have had hundreds of happy guests over the years. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you as our guest. as well...

Mahalo nui loa

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Everythin promised and more!

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

We returned last week from 4 nights at Kittie's Hale and we had a marvelous time. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The home is spacious and spotless, the back yard with pool, outdoor shower, barbecue, lounge chairs, shed full of beach equipment (boogie boards, snorkeling gear, beach umbrella and chairs, rattan mats, toys) all made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. We are a family of six (four kids ages 21 to 12), plus Grandpa and Grandma and we had plenty of room in the home without renting the cottage. We swam at several beaches during our stay, but always returned to Kailua as our favorite--a five minute walk from the home with incredible sand, amazing views, and surprisingly few people. We also enjoyed the Thursday Farmer's Market in Kailua (five minute drive). Kittie was great to work with. We would return in a heartbeat and will tell all of our friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Another Great Trip

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

Once again it was a complete privilege to use your Hale. Our two families spent a glorious two weeks on this property with 4 adults and 5 children ranging in age from 5-13. We absolutely loved the swimming pool and the private yard. To be able to just sit back and relax while the children are enjoying the pool is a wonderful experience. The beach is a mere 2-4 minute walk away, and what a beach, arguably the best beach on the island, beautiful sand, just enough waves for the kids to enjoy and the scenery is breathtaking. The home is centrally located and everything is accessible in a reasonable amount of time. The owners take immaculate care of the property and are always ready to assist. Thank you for the wonderful experience we were able to enjoy. The check in flowers and gifts were an added surprise Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always a pleasure having you and your family as our guests.

Mahalo nui loa....

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Relaxing, Quiet, and just perfect!!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Could not have asked for a better place!! Great location! The house was SO peaceful! The kids became little "humuhumunukunukuapuaa's" in the pool. (That's Hawaii's state fish...) This house was just perfect for 8 people! We never felt 'boxed' in, or 'on top' of one another! There's lots of space, and plenty for the kids to do. We never heard 'I'm BOOOOOORED" from the kids! This place was SO clean, and cool with the windows open, and the Hawaiian breeze blowing through! I can't wait to be back there again!
Kayaking was a BLAST! Anyone who visits here MUST try it at least once. Ride out to 'flat island', too & see the bird sanctuary, and watch the surfers. It will take your breath away with the views from the middle of the Pacific.
Coming home was hard, because of the incredible time we had at Kailua Beach. We certainly left a part of our souls in the sands. The waves are still calling out for us. Aloha Oe, Aloha Oe, until we meet again ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Hana Hou!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Our group of former island residents returned again this summer and had a great time. The house listing description and photos are accurate, the owner has once again proven to be helpful and flexible in addressing concerns, and we would recommend this property to relatives and friends. The house is well-equipped with kitchen, pool, bath and laundry necessities... no need to overpack. Markets and eateries are all so close. Grab a coffee one morning from the market and sit on the beach to watch the kite surfers. Thrilling!

This is a nice opportunity to vacation in a local beach neighborhood outside of the fray of Waikiki. Along with beach neighborhoods come beach foot traffic, salt spray on windows, sand and normal neighborhood activity (neighbors, cars, dogs, kids, etc.). Stay here for a true slice of Kailua living!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

The Gathering Place

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Oahu is the "Gathering Place" and the same description applies to this house. Our group included friends and family from Boston, New Hampshire, California, and Tokyo. We gathered here for an amazing 2 weeks that we will never forget. The house has everything anyone could possibly need and is in an ideal location. The ohana cottage was perfect for our multigenerational group. A typical day for us involved getting up early, taking a leisurely stroll to see the sun come up over Kailua or LaniKai beach, coffee at Kalapawai Market, and breakfast by the pool or at Boots and Kimo's for Banana Macadamia Nut pancakes. Later we would split up, with some opting to go back to Kailua (arguably the most beautiful beach in the world) or to get in the car and head out to one of the many other beaches or attractions that Oahu has to offer. Kailua is only about 20 minutes from Waikiki by car so several trips there for dinner, sunsets, and fireworks were made. Being from the Boston area, we were thrilled to find a "Boston Style" pizza place just down the street, and a wonderful shave ice shop as well. The house itself is spacious, beautifully decorated and well-appointed. The full size washer and dryer meant we didn't need to overpack, and any beach toys you might need are in the shed. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The owners are very nice and accomodating and called to check in a few times to make sure we didn't need anything. Aloha and Mahalo, we can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Vacation 2010

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

This is a great property and a great value. The owners are extremely pleasant and helpful, I would like to thank them for all their help, it really made a difference.
Our two families thoroughly enjoyed themselves, the kids especially had a great time in the pool and using the private back yard. The beach is only minutes away walking distance, and it is a beautiful beach, one of the best in Honolulu, especially for kids. The adults really looked forward to coming back from the beach and being able to just sit around and enjoy the down time while the kids enjoyed the swimming pool and backyard. The house amenities were just great, nothing lavish but everything you needed in a beach house was there and then some.
If we had anything to complain about, just the early morning barking of the neighbours dogs. This was both a good thing and a bad thing, good that it got us up and early to enjoy the benefits of a full day, but on the down side, some days it was just too early. Part of this was the fact, this is a true beach house, so insulation of the home was not great. But the beach house atmosphere certainly added to our holiday experience., and I would not trade that for the high-rises in Waikiki.
I would highly recommend this property and these owners, they are very accommodating and a pleasure to do business with. We would definitely return with our families to this rental unit and will be recommending it our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Aloha Kittie,
Back in Alberta after a wonderful Christmas at your
hale. It was just perfect for our multi generational
family of nine;welcoming,casual and charming,and
so close to fabulous Kailua Beach.Only a short walk
to 'downtown' Kailua (lots of shops, all the
necessities, but still with a small town feel and
friendliness),and the bonus of a pool and spacious
back yard. Special memories of a special time and
place. Mahalo! The Myers clan

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

November 2009 trip

Review submitted: November 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

My family rented this home for a wedding trip. Eight of us stayed in the house and two in the cottage. We had a terrific stay. The house had everything we needed - very well stocked. Kitty the owner was very accommodating and called several times to see if we needed anything or had any questions. We had 32 people for a rehearsal dinner and 28 for a Blazer game. Even though we weren't able to eat outside because of rain showers we didn't feel cramped inside. We were the envy of everyone who came to visit because we had the best place. Our group ranged from 4 to 79 years and the house suited us all well. 3 blocks to Kailua Beach Park is an easy walk and the store/deli 2 blocks away is great. The people were very nice and friendly in Kailua. We played in the sand and surf, visited several beaches, snorkeled and boogieboarded, shopped at the Stadium flea market, visited Waikiki, Pearl Harbor and the Memorial and even though the weather was cloudy we had a wonderful time. I am on kidney dialysis and went to Kaneohe to dialysis and the staff and facilities were nice. We have and will continue to suggest this home to our friends and family. Mahalo Kitty

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Perfect for Extended Family Groups

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

I rented this house for my family to stay in while they were in town for my wedding. It became the gathering place for all the visitors to get together. We had 25 guests for a rehearsal dinner and it didn't feel one bit crowded. Kitty, the owner, is wonderfully accommodating and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. There is ample common area, the house is decorated beautifully, and the yard is spacious and well-maintained. Many places on Oahu lack parking areas, but we were able to park 7 vehicles (including two mini vans) on the property. If you plan to stay here I recommend renting a car.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Best time my family had in Hawaii!

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

We came to Oahu for Pro Bowl 30, we picked this house in Kailua because it is close to everything in Waikiki and Honolulu ( 30 minutes by car) but it is a world a part from all the tourist traps. We ( my wife our 3 boy's and my sister in law with husband) enjoyed this house with pool so much, that we are already making plans to go back.
The Beach Park down the road is everything I remember when I moved off the Island some 15 years ago! Thank you Kittie for the warm Aloha feeling, we will be back!
Richard, Christina and Family from Washington

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

Best time my family had in Hawaii! We came to Oahu for Pro Bowl 30, we picked this house in Kailua because it is close to everything in Waikiki and Honolulu (30 minutes by car)but it was a world a part from all the tourist traps. We
enjoyed this house with the pool so much, that we are already making plans to go back. The beach Park down the road is everything I remember when I moved off the island some 15 years ago! Thank you Kittie for the warm Aloha feeling, we will be back!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

Throughout the past few years our family has
traveled throughout the islands and stayed in
hotels, condos and KITTY'S HOME...it is her home
that wins hands down! We stayed there during Feb.
of '07 and could not have been more delighted with
the home and its location as well as Kitty herself, as
she truly was a pleasure. Of all the places we have
stayed and of all the islands- this is the one place
that our entire family LONGS to go back
to...hopefully, someday! If you are looking for a
inviting home for your family stay with WONDERFUL
beaches within walking distance located in a small
upscale community that is only 30 minutes from
Honolulu's attractions...this is the place!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Kitty, We can't thank you enough for sharing your
home with our family. Everything was perfect! We felt
like your own Ohana! (Family) It was wonderful to be
back in Kailua, our home of so many years ago.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

My family and I loved this residence. Enough wasn't
mentioned about the attention to detail, having
everything we needed, and the comfort of the
house. We really just needed to pack our clothes!
The neighborhood is beautiful, the beach soooo
close, the neighborhood markets and small
restaurants (1 block away) had everything we
needed as well. I had 6 teenage boys and one 8-
yr-old who didn't want to leave and were never
bored. We had a kayak, bikes, boogie boards, etc.
The kitchen had every appliance you could think
of. Paradise describes this place perfectly. I've
been all over the islands, this is the best beach for
families I've ever seen. The owner was an absolute
pleasure to deal with, very clear, thorough, and
genuinely interested in making this a great
experience. There are maps in the house, books on
Hawaii, and board games of all types. My video
game-addicted kids didn't even miss their PS2,
PSP's, etc. Imagine that??? There is high speed
internet and great TV's as well. The beds were very,
very comfortable. The pool looks bigger in the
picture but who cares? It is more than adequate,
lots of outdoor seating for entertaining, everything
is of great quality. Outdoor BBQ is great too. Tiki
lights at pool...I can't get back quick enough!

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

Thank you for letting us stay at Nalu Palekaiko Hale! What a wonderful place to relax. It was way too short, but we plan to come back to kayak to the Moku'lua Islands. We hope you enjoy having Tigers artwork in your fabulous beach house.
Aloha

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

Mahalo mui no Kiia noho! Thank you very much for this stay. Our family found your home to be exquisite. We enjoyed our stay immensely and found time to bond. We hope we left the home as beautiful as we found it. God Bless you, from our family to yours A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

Thank you very much Nalu Palekaiko Hale was very, very comfortable!!!!! Mahalo

Thank you very much for everything we were very satisfied. Someday I will be back. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

What a wonderful time we had while staying in your lovely home. Wondeful pool, backyard, and GREAT KITCHEN!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

We feel honored to haved stayed at you lovely Kailua Hale.Our week has been fun filled with : boogie boarding, walks on gorgeous Kailua Beach, and some sightseeing. Your home is lovely, nicely decorated, and the pool was refreshing all day long. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

We all had a wonderful time at your house. We love the kitchen and the swimming pool. We all enjoyed the lanai room-everyones favorite room. We were impressed by your attention to details. The home is very livable and kid friendly. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

Had a great stay-all the little touches around the house really made us feel at home. And the kitchen soooo well equipped, perfect for cooking frenzies!! I would recommend this house to anyone. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 6, 2006   Date of arrival: January 6, 2006

Hi Kittie,
Thanks again for sharing your vacation home with us. We really enjoyed it. Thank you as well for all the personal attention. I really appreciated your personal touch.

Thank you,

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review