reviews for: listing #49565 - Gloucester, Massachusetts House rental

Steps to Beautiful Long Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Long Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $520 /nt
    $2,275 - $3,650 /wk

sort by:

Great place for family get-together

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Our family of parents, two adult daughters, son-in-law, and two young grandchildren spent three days here during the Thanksgiving holiday. The house was more than large enough to accommodate all of us. We were able to cook a holiday dinner and other meals with ease. The kitchen(s) is well stocked with plenty of room for all of the groceries we brought with us. Also, if we wanted to go to a restaurant, there were many excellent choices nearby.
Even though it was late November, we spent a lot of time at the nearby beach. It is well-named Long Beach. We enjoyed long walks, bird watching, surfers, and kite flying. The grandchildren played in the sand and chased waves. Eventually, they were soaked and covered with sand, but the walk back was short, so it was easy to get them back to the house and into dry clothes quickly. The two washers and driers made short work of their wet things. If the weather had not been as nice as it was, there are two TVs with cable and video, WiFi, many movies, and lots of toys. The grandchildren did not even get out the toys they brought.
This house is very clean and scent free which we appreciated because some of us are sensitive. Shoes are off at the door. The bedding is comfortable, and the towels are plentiful and fluffy.
Throughout our stay we felt comfortable and at home in this house. When we arrived, we had a problem with the WiFi, so I emailed the owner. Even though it was Thanksgiving, she responded immediatley to resolve the problem. We appreciated the good service.
We would certainly welcome the chance to gather here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

A fantastic experience at our "home" in Gloucester

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

My husband and I, two sons and their wives and three small grandchildren enjoyed a wonderful week. The owner of the property was great to deal with -- provided all the information we needed and was reachable by phone and e-mail if we were to have questions. The home was beautiful and the perfect layout for our family. The property was very clean and the amenities were perfect. We would definitely recommend this property to our friends and we hope to spend more time there ourselves. The beach was beautiful and the city and area offered a lot of good restaurants and fun sightseeing places. The Fishermen's Memorial was impressive and we found beautiful shells and sea glass along the beach. We toured the Cape Pond Ice Company which was very interesting and fun! The location was ideal -- we could enjoy the city but also close to Salem, Ipswich and the train to Boston. We all highly recommend this property and hope to have a family vacation here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fabulous family fun

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

our family of 9 including old any young each had room to spread out and retreat to. The home was ideally suited to our family with young children. The children found toys to suit each of them neatly organized and ready to play while we adults were able to get all the set-up done. The beach was perfect for the children. The water was shallow for a long way out and the horseshoe shape allowed full eye contact from a comfortable lounge chair on the sand. There were many really good shopping and eating places. My favorite restaurant was Lat 43. The kids fav was the ice-cream, sub, pizza, candy store within every afternoon walking distance - even for the 3 year old. We had many family members visit during the week and the house made it comfortable to host large numbers of guests. We recommend this vacation for families who want to share memories for a lifetime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nice house, but no privacy

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

Any nice things about the house were overshadowed by the fact that the neighbors made us extremely uncomfortable. Luckily we're a very quiet family, but we still felt like a nuisance the entire time. There was no privacy at all. The neighbors made it perfectly clear from the moment we pulled up that they were watching us for the homeowner. We'd even see them looking in the windows, which completely freaked out my 89-year old grandmother. They never spoke to us, but they were always... around. It was unnerving. Because of the way the house is situated, there's a shared backyard with 3 other homes. We never cooked outside, let the children play outside, or even sat outside because neighbors would appear or just glare from the inside. It was just weird. I'm not sure what they would've done if were a big, fat, obnoxious drinking family!! We never heard from the homeowner during our stay or ever received any sort of check out requirements, so we took it upon ourselves to completely clean the house from top to bottom, wash linens, bring leftover food to a homeless shelter, take recyclables to a main center in a nearby town, and even clean out the in-house attached vacuum system (which looked like it had never been done before). Renter beware :(

Owners response: It is quite unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay, although I have to admit I am quite surprised to hear this since the 2 emails I received from you after your stay stated otherwise:

June 15, 2011 (the day after you left): ”Thank you. We certainly enjoyed our stay. There definitely was a lot of us--My immediate family was at your lovely beach house, we also had a couple hotel rooms across the street at the Cape Ann Motor Inn, and we even met up with Boston relatives. That's a lot of P's in one place!!"


July 18, 2011: “The family is working on putting dates for next year's summer beach house rental; however, we haven't received the security deposit yet. Do you need the address to send it to?”

I was also surprised that you felt there was no privacy, the pictures I sent you showed the inside, front and back of the house where you can clearly see all 3 homes share a backyard. I have never had a renter complain about our neighbors, it is usually just the opposite, they are glad to have such helpful people in close proximity. I think you misunderstand that they were watching you, they were watching the dogs that you let into our pet free home. They were actually shocked since they and you are aware of our daughter's allergies and of the fact that our home is pet free. I am quite sure the only reason you stayed in the house your entire visit was to hide the dogs from them.

As far as cleaning the house from top to bottom my cleaning lady said that the premises were left in no better condition than it has been left in before by other renters. As for cleaning out the central vacuum system I'm sure that was an attempt on your part to hide all the dog hair from us.

Landlords of pet free homes beware of this tenant:(

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

We had our adult family gather together for a wedding and rented this wonderful home on Long Beach. This home was more than comfortable for eight of us. The owners are helpful and accomodating. Nice eating area and living area with open floor plan. Lovely master bedroom. Lovely deck that overlooks the beach. Close to grocery stores, other beaches, Rockport and Dunkin Donuts. We feel fortunate we found this gem. I do believe staying in this lovely home helped make this gathering special for all of us - one we will never forget. We have been coming to Long Beach for years when we visit Massachusetts. This was the first time we rented here. Early morning sunrise walks were great fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Stayed at this lovely house with our adult children. We all had a wonderful time !
Perfect location and the house was very comfortable and absolutely beautiful.
Large living area and plenty of seating for family dinners.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Loved the house and the location. The owner was great, she went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for our vacation. If we go back to Long Beach again this is where we would want to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review