reviews for: listing #49567 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Charming saltbox adjacent to Denning Brook area, near Acadia
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $700 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Enjoyable stay in nature-filled area

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We had a great time staying in Beechwood which is bright and comfortable. The house is fully equipped with more than plenty of towels, cooking utensils and supplies. Cooking, relaxing, and eating in common spaces was cozy and hassle-free.

Our kids enjoyed the deck and the outdoor furniture, which allowed them to enjoy the beautiful marshlands and forest that surround the house and its wildlife, including hummingbirds and many types of warblers.

I will definite recommend Beechwood to friends coming to Acadia

Owners response: Yuanqian,
Aren't the birds just wonderful at Beechwood! And the double french doors do make this home bright just as you've mentioned. Good to hear the kids had such a good time and be sure to mention to your friends that we always offer a discount to referrals. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Jen Wales
Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unforgettable vacation rental property we ever had

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We have been to many vacation rental properties before. But we all screamed when all of our 10 guests arrived. It had everything you would need staying in a roomy and we call a comfortable home. The week went by so quickly and everyone of us from 3 families and 5 kids and 5 grownups had a wonderful time both sightseeing and staying indoors. The kids enjoyed Wifi with computers and ipads tremendously. They even called out bird songs using iPad to attract birds outside on the deck. Each of the kids presented their cooking dish to the dinner table and made a lot of cookies.

The scenes of natural beauties of Acadia at the end of August were gorgeous and breathtaking. We saw the spectacular sun setting twice both from the top of the Cadillac mountain and from the ocean. Yes, we saw whales, one is called Victim and one is called Sword.

We like to thank the property owner and manager for making our vacation so memorable and unforgettable. We appreciate all she has done to make the vacation homes a true home to us vacationers far from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beechwood stay was excellent

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Our party of eight adults had a good time at Beechwood and appreciated the manager's availability and responsiveness. Everyone was quite happy with the house, and the parking area was very good. The bedrooms were comfortable, the master bedroom being especially nice in spite of the pocket door separation from the great room having a small gap where the door halves meet. The deck was wonderful. Between the deck and the large amount of glass in the wall, we had excellent views of the meadow. It was wonderful to spend the week with no ground floor views of other houses. The upstairs rooms did have traffic noise from SH 102 when windows were open. The kitchen is well equipped, with ample supplies of cutlery and dishes. Our boats were safe on the back lawn, and our bikes were safe in the garage. I would definitely stay at Beechwood again. Thanks, Jen!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

relaxing and comfortable

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Eight of our walking Women Outdoors group shared Beechwood for a VERY enjoyable week, happy to arrive to find air conditioning! The description was accurate, and everything we needed was there - lots of kitchen equipment and plates, plenty of towels, blankets and pillows, even shampoo and conditioner in each bathroom. The house is quiet, yet quite easily accessible to all the Acadia attractions. The deck was a popular gathering place mornings and evenings, with its vista of field and wildflowers. We found no shortage of books, games, maps and guidebooks for our week, and Jen visited to make sure we had what we needed. Another true benefit: free phone service! We all enjoyed visiting the Granite Museum just up the road.
I would recommend Beechwood for any family or group.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house for spending time on Mount Desert

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This house was perfect for our two families. We had 4 young teen agers and 4 adults and enough room for all of us. Great location to be able to experience all that there is to see and do. The house is very well maintained and comfortable. Jen is wonderful to deal with. All the local books/brochures on hikes and history of the area were a welcome addition and well used by us. We loved every moment there.

Owners response: Thanks so much! Hope your travels back home were easy and look forward to seeing you again. Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Home/Excellent Location/Excellent Value

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Beechwood is without a doubt the best home we have rented in our various trips to the Acadia National Park area. As noted in our title, this home represents the best of items most often deemed essential when 'shopping' for a house rental. The home location on the quiet side of the island (close to the park and excellent resturants but away from the tourist traffic) of the home met all expectations for ourselves and our 4 guests. The home was quite clean and furnishings comfortable. Setting the table (and cooking utensils) for 6 was no problem, be it breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Also of note, consummable products such as soap,dishwasher and washing machine detergent ,shampoo, paper towels and toilet paper were in excellent supply. Linen supplies were quite good and all beds had flannel sheets/pillow cases. We believe you will not be disappointed in renting this property. Ray & Eileen S.

Owners response: Ray and Eileen,
"Without a doubt the best home we have rented" goodness me, I'm not sure I can do any better than that! Delighted to hear that we can met a bar set so high. My goal for any of our rental properties is that our guests should feel like they never left any of the comforts of home. They should be able to walk into any of our properties with nothing more than their personal belongings and not want for a thing during their vacation. Time should be spend with family and friends, enjoying each other and the most beautiful island on earth. I can't always meet that goal 100% of the time but I certainly do my best. I clearly did for you and your friends and am delighted to hear that I was successful. It was a pleasure to met everyone and certainly hope to be able to assist you on your next trip up to Bar Harbor. Jen Wales- Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beechwood truly is a home away from home

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We stayed at Beechwood early this April to visit our son who worked at Jackson Labs in Bar Harbor. We LOVED the house! It was warm, welcoming, clean and so well stocked. The internet access and satellite TV were an added bonus (we have neither cable or satellite TV where we live so that alone was a novelty for our daughters!). Having a washer and dryer is a vacationing mom's dream. We loved the area - Acadia National Park is beyond beautiful. Although the Park was closed for the season, that did not stop us from hiking, biking and exploring to our hearts content...to have such a beautiful park completely devoid of people was for us a very special experience. There were plenty of restaurants/businesses open in Bar Harbor to make the trip off season worthwhile.

Jen Wales went out of her way to accommodate us - she was a pleasure to deal with.

I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a "home away from home." I will confess, I cried when we left. We love Maine, we love Acadia. Our son is heading on to graduate school and it may be a while before we visit Maine again, but we will be back!

On a funny note, we drove 10 hours to discover a Colgate flag on the Beechwood garage! Colgate is only 40 minutes from our house in Central New York. Go figure.

5 stars, highly recommend. Don't be afraid to visit OFF SEASON! It's truly a wonderful time to be in Maine.

Owners response: Robin,
Thank you for all your kind words! It seems that Acadia has touched you in a way that it does for so many, myself included. Mount Desert Island is truly a diamond, no matter what the season. It is stunning in its beauty whether it be in warm summer sunlight or blanketed with pure white winter snow. There really is so much to do here year round which is one reason that we have made this home, Beechwood, available for rentals in all seasons, not just the summer. We would certainly love to have you visit again and we would be delighted to offer a "referral" discount to anyone whom you send our way. I wish your son all the best, Jackson Lab will certainly be a gold star on his resume (maybe he'll move back here one day and then you can come visit all the time! Hey, a mom can hope, right?)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The place is great. My experience was better than my expectations.
It is very well located. Bar Harbor is not far and you have many options around. you have at least 2 lakes very close.
We were very satisfied. For someone like me who loves to explore the region by bike it was perfect.
Gustavo Campos

Owners response: Gustavo,
We alway aim to exceed people's expectations! The location of Beechwood is really fantastic. Many people coming to the island, particularly for the first time, want to be in Bar Harbor without realizing that Bar Harbor is actually tucked way up in the eastern corner of Mount Desert Island and a solid 20 min from any villages, hiking, swimming or areas of the Park that are located over on the west side of the island. As you pointed out, Beechwood is centrally located on the island in the village of Somesville so you are never more than 10 min away from any where you would want to go on Mount Desert Island. On top of that, within 2 miles of Beechwood are the two best freshwater swimming spots (Long Pond and Echo Lake), the Beech Mountain hiking area, our only organic farm and farm stand, several great places to eat, and the stunning Somes Harbor. Beechwood really is located in the heart of it all and I'm glad that you were able to fully enjoy the property. We certainly hope to host you again when you find yourself heading this way again! Jen and Adam Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Joyful Time for the Joy Family

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The extended Joy family(7 adults,a 3-year-old and 18-month-old) had a fantastic stay at Beechwood Aug. 6-13. Clean,comfortable,roomy,well-equipped,great location,everything the listed description said it would be.We have rented homes all across the country,and although never experiencing a disaster,have been disappointed that home did not live up to description and/or was very poorly stocked.Beechwood excels in both categories.
Also,Jen Wales sent via email invaluable info about restaurants,activities for both adults and kids,attractions,etc. Don't miss the Mt. Desert Oceanarium,biking and/or walking the carriage roads,the Shore Path in Bar Harbor,and the popovers at Jordan Pond House. We had fabulous breakfasts at Cafe This Way in Bar Harbor and Sea Biscuits Cafe in Southwest Harbor. Best lobster was at Captain's Galley at Beal's Lobster Pier and best dinner was at Testa's(delicious Lobster Newburg).
I recommend Beechwood highly! The Joy family spent a joyful week there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the vote of confidence Henry! Very glad to hear our description of the house is true to it's word. The owner has completed a number of improvements this past winter and has more planned for this upcoming winter so we'll be updating our photos soon. Hope to have you stay with us again soon and glad to hear how much your family had a "joyous" vacation on Mount Desert Island.

Jen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beechwood with 6 adults

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

It was our first experience renting a vacation home. We were three couples, and Beechwood was an excellent choice - plenty of room, large kitchen, comfortable common space, well located (15 min to Bar Harbour, even less to parts of the park) - overall, great for a week exploring Acadia and Bar Harbour. The house was clean,well stocked with everything you would want or need, including internet access, cable and unlimited use of the phone for long distance and local (important as cell service on Mt Desert is very spotty.) Jen was easy to deal with and everything was in order. I would recommend the house to anyone - comfortable for even 4 couples. The only drawback was that you could hear the road at night.

Owners response: W D.- Glad to hear that we were able to provide a positive first experience renting a vacation home. It really is so much more comfortable and economical than a hotel/motel. Cell phone coverage is tricky on the island because of the mountains so it's good that you found the unlimited long distance calling on the house phone helpful. As for the road noise, if I had it my way the island would go back to horse and carriage! Look forward to serving you again in the future- Jen Wales

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The property was beautiful, The pictures don't do it justice. It had everything that we needed. Quiet but convenient location. Highly Recommended!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Matmas for your recommendation! We have completed several recent renovations including two new bathrooms, new paint on much of the downstairs as well as the exterior of the home. Oh, lots of new linens and towels as well! It really is a lovely and very accessible home so close to all points of interest on Mount Desert Island. We certainly hope you choose to stay with us again-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

We have stayed in places all over the country and this was easily the nicest. It had every thing that we needed. Jen is an incredable host. Eight adults and two babys stayed and we were very comfortable. If I every go make to Maine, I would stay here again. It is very clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well stocked and in good condition

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We rented this house over the Memorial Day long weekend, with another family; four adults, two kids and a baby fit very comfortably. Everything was clean and in good condition, and the place was well stocked - even the kitchen and bathrooms. There was a huge grill on the patio in great shape, and even the knives in the kitchen were sharp. Communication with Jen was easy and she was very helpful with info. You should have no reservations about renting this place.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beechwood is a great house

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

We had such a glorious time at your house, the weather was just gorgeous! The feel of this house just made me feel like I was home. The sheets were so comfy, we loved how they felt. The towels were amazingly soft. Your house is just amazing, thank you so much for allowing us to stay here.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So beautiful

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

What a beautiful home and island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice house

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time in the cottage. We hiked and enjoyed the beautiful view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review