reviews for: listing #49579 - Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania Cabin rental

The Bear Paw Cabin
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $165 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved Bear Paw Cabin

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

We planned a 2-night getaway to see FLW's Fallingwater and get out into nature for some hiking. There were beautiful mountains and cascading rivers in the area. There was nothing annoying about the adorable house/cabin that we stayed in. It was tastefully decorated and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. We wish we had at least another night to take advantage of some things...the fire pit, taking a look at the creek that ran behind the house, eating in the enclosed porch in the back of the house surrounded by the forest. We cooked our own meals and enjoyed them by the fireplace. We had cocktails sitting at the two-seat bar between the kitchen and the livingroom. We sat outside and relaxed in the two-seated rocking chair...had morning coffee sitting on the adirondack chairs as well. The shower was also good...even had exhaust and heat fans. It was a pleasure staying there and it made our trip special...it was for a birthday; and certainly a good vlaue for a house that size in a beautiful nature setting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bear paw cabin in confluence and it was amazing! The cabin was perfect! The bedrooms are nicely sized and the living room and kitchen were very spacious! The kitchen was fully supplied with all pots and pans for cooking. The living had a very "homey" feel to it and there was cable tv! The view in the back was so pretty with the little stream and the front yard had a nice playground. We were able to drive just a little down the road to go hiking, fishing, and just sightseeing! Also Nemacolin is right there! Our weather was perfect because it was nice and cool and fireplace in the cabin was wonderful for at night! I would recommend this cabin to everyone I know!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Five of us stayed at Bear Paw and loved it. Close to ohiopyle. Well equipped for us to cook. Comfy sleeping. Felt clean. We'll be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful 20th Anniversary get away cabin!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

Wife and I just spent a great 4 nights/5 days at the Bear Paw! Area had significant rain prior to our arrival which made for some very nice rushing water sounds from the creeks behind the cabin! So relaxing sitting on the screened in porch. Ceiling fan on the porch is a very nice touch on a warm evening. The little shed was a great place to stash the golf clubs and bikes when not in use. No complaints at all about the place, nice and homey! We had no problem spotting the Bear Paw sign as someone else commented. Would we recommend this place? In a heart beat! The new fire pit was put to good use for night time fires/hot dog roasting (nice grill fork and mountain pie maker in shed). Last two nights were pretty humid and while very tolerable w/ fans, a small window ac unit would have been nice to knock down humidity. Notice that we still rated this "5 Stars" The bike trail in nearby Confluence and other points of interest are very nice. Nice base for day trips to Deep Creek Lake, MD as well as other sites east/west on I-40. We really enjoyed this place! On our short list of places to return to ! Great job by Scott, the owner. Excellent communications from initial inquiry through final info on lockbox info, etc. Nice paths/trails going off into the woodsy part of the property for exploring. DirecTV nice touch for "downtimes"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic Anniversary Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this cabin for our 7 year wedding anniversary. It is just as the pictures show. The cabin was clean and very welcoming. The only thing i will mention is that others have commented that you cannot hear the road from the house, this is not quite true, although it is not overwhelming and would not stop us from revisiting, you can hear the cars while outside and it is a pretty busy road. However, we LOVED the screened in porch and the beautiful front yard with playground! I would suggest that the owner provide towels, this is just an extra annoyance to bring your own. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this cabin to anyone. This cabin does not have air conditioning so keep that in mind if you are visiting during the summer months.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bike and golf trip

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

The Bear Paw was a great location for our bike/golf trip. Easy access to the GAP trail. Drive into Confluence to get to the trail, State Road 281 is too heavily traveled for safe bike riding. The only small issue we had was seeing the Bear Paw sign (It's a 1 ft x 1 ft brown sign with a painted bear paw). Hint, the cabin is exactly 1/2 mile North of US 40 on the right.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great visit!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

This was our second time renting this cabin. (See prior review) Still wonderful to visit. Even when a freak snow storm hits! The fireplace takes a little finessing to get started but once going, it is a wonderful source of warmth and relaxation. Owners are very understanding and hospitable to guest requests, needs, and last minute updates. If renting this property, a few things to bring with you: hand towels, bath towels, and pot holders (all mentioned to be not included). Highly recommend it. We will be back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking forward to another stay

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Bear Paw Cabin and really loved it. The king size bed was a real treat. The kitchen was stocked better than I imagined. The fireplace does take a special touch, but once you figure it out there's no problem. And the heat lamp in the bathroom, loved that!! The dog next door even comes by for a visit several times a day. We hope to stay at Bear Paw Cabin again in warmer weather so we can make use of that great screened in back porch and outdoor fire pit. Would definitely recommend this place. The owners have done a great job and are very nice. We even got a call from them after we checked in to let us know a previous issue had been addressed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Weekend; Awesome Cabin

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We rented the Bear Paw Cabin to get away to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was everything it was advertised to be and more. The owners really thought of everything you could need and more, in case you forgot anything from home. We will definitely be going back to the Bear Paw Cabin!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Little House in the Big Woods

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Bear Paw cabin in Confluence, PA. The setting was on 8 acres, mostly wooded. The yard area was well kept and had a play area for children with a swing set and climbing rope. The cabin was clean and well maintained. There was a nice fireplace in the living room which we didn't use due to the warm weather. The screened back porch was great in the evenings--cool, dry, and bug free. We also enjoyed a full front porch with outdoor seating. Our last day we built a fire in the fire pit, roasted marshmallows and listened to the night sounds. The area around Confluence has a lot to offer, including hiking, biking, rafting, antiquing, Fort Necessity, and Frank Lloyd Wright houses. Even with all that, we didn't see or do everything there was to do. I highly recommend this vacation rental. Note: You must bring bath linens and bed linens for all beds except for the king size bed, which are included.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We had a great time on the opening weekend of trout season. The cabin was great and the scenery was beautiful. Can't wait to go back next year... Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We had a great time on the opening weekend of trout season. The cabin was great and the scenery was beautiful. Can't wait to go back next year... Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Cabin

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

The cabin is very well maintained, and the setting is beautiful and peaceful. There is one bath, which can be challenging, but the three bedrooms comfortably sleept 5. The kitchen and living room are spacious and well stocked. The screened-in porch in the back overlooks a river and is simply gorgeous. We could not have been more pleased. The owner is organized and responsive. Highly recommended for a place to stay while visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's two homes--both about 30 mins aways. OhioPyle State Park also close by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Escape from the City

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

The cabin was beautiful. Everything I expected and more. Close to Nemacolin, we went to a festival there. Also close to Ohiopyle, where we went rafting there another day. So many more things that we wanted to do in the area, but didn't have time. This cabin is on a busy road, however it sits back far enough and the large yard is shrouded by trees, giving you enough privacy. It was very peaceful just sitting on the front porch. The screened in back porch was great for nighttime. My daughter loved playing in the large yard and on the rope swing and swingset. It is comfortable with enough amenities to make you feel at home. Will visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

This beautiful cabin was well furnished and everything that was advertised and MORE! The location is very convenient; 15 minutes to the town of Confluence, Ohiopyle Park, Maryland and Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. The cabin is well set up. Everything that one could need to cook is provided including pots, pans, dishes, utensils, cups, glasses and cleaning supplies. The back screened in porch is an amazing getaway especially on a rainy day. We enjoyed playing board games (that were provided), listening to music (through the WiFi provided) and preparing cocktails with the blender (provided) during a strong rain storm. Great for a couple, family or large crew, there is plenty of room with the 3 bedrooms. Between the King bed, double bed, and 2 twin beds there is sleeping quarters for many. The fire pit and grill are fun to use and convenient. The only pitfall is the proximity of the front yard to the pretty busy main street. With two puppies, we had to be extra vigilant that they would not get in the road. This is a wonderful find. I would HIGHLY recommend it and hope to rent the property again. When you rent, definitely get some pizza from Riverside (delicious) and check out Deep Creek Cellars Winery for some great wine.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this cute cabin that was comfortable for 4 adults. Located on a beautiful site, had everything we needed. If the weather had been nicer, we would have enjoyed a few evenings around an outside fire. Very nicely furnished. Owner was very nice to deal with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this cute cabin that was comfortable for 4 adults. Located on a beautiful site, had everything we needed. If the weather had been nicer, we would have enjoyed a few evenings around an outside fire. Very nicely furnished. Owner was very nice to deal with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WHAT???!!!!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

The owner did not hassle me when I asked that he return my check, as I would not be staying due to the condition of this cabin upon my arrival. He did not seem surprised. The reason for my very honest review is to hopefully spare another guest the disappointment of finding the true condition of this cabin and an equally disappointing experience. My trip was totally disrupted & that first couple of days totally ruined. I booked this cabin based on the "glowing" reviews. Because those reviews told a totally opposite tale from what I actually walked into, I took photos upon my arrival & before my immediate departure. The integrity of all reviews is crucial, as the purpose of them is to give fellow travelers a true "feel" for what they are getting into when they book this property. I would be happy to share my photos. Potential guests need to know the truth....and to see for themselves the credibility of my review as opposed to the others. The condition I found this cabin in....it did not just get this way since the last several reviews! Upon entering the cabin, we were greeted by a dirty mop and a broom/dustpan flanking a bookcase strangely placed just inside the door, concealing the washer/dryer hookups (no washer/dryer now). The cooktop, microwave hood, and oven have not been cleaned in months, probably years. Gross! A huge (and I mean huge) cobweb swung from the cooktop down across the coffeemaker. The sink & dish drainer...simply nasty, a dirty wet sponge still on the counter. This cabin is absolutely NOT well-maintained and clean as stated in other reviews. Want to see my photos? The shower was absolutely horrible. No way I was going to even put my toe in that shower. Again, this was not "new" grunge and mold. It has been there for a long time! I do not believe for a minute that the owner is simply unaware, since his cabin has so obviously been in such terrible condition for quite some time. Well maintained??? The walls need fresh paint, the hole needs to be repaired...and much more! I would just yank that shower out & replace it....IT'S THAT BAD!!! Sofa needs to be dumped. BTW, the only linens provided are for the king bed. The soothing sound of the "stream" from the screen porch???....upon stepping out, all we could hear was a steady roar of traffic on the busy highway. Smelled like something dead in the shed, w/out opening the door! Not enough space allowed here, but I hope this offers some reality in these reviews!

Owners response: It is very unfortunate that the above party was unhappy with the cabin and decided to find accommodations elsewhere, which I found out through an email. Everyone has their opinion but I strongly disagree with this review. In the last few months I have received many positive reviews along with personal feedback from many of my guests, a good number whom are repeat customers, some having stayed over 6 times. If the claims she cited in the review were true I am sure I would have received negative feedback earlier. Immediately upon receiving the review I contacted the party who had departed the same day to inquire about their stay. The guest told me they had a great experience and were very happy with the accommodations and have already rebooked for the Spring. We take great pride in renting our cabin and continue to look forward to renting to great guests that we have been fortunate to have over the last few years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

bear paw

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Great rental. Owners went out of there their way to accommodate a last minute rental. Everything was clean and neat. Nice flat yard for kids and dogs to run around in. WiFi was a nice touch. Located short distance to Ohiopyle State Park. Is a great rental for families with small children, couples, fishing, or outdoors-man.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Get-Away!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed staying here for 4 days for a little get-away. The cabin is well maintained, clean, and the listing photos and description are accurate. It was great to be in a quite, wooded setting and relax yet still have telephone access, satelite TV, Wireless Internet access, and a DVD player. The owner was helpful and willing to answer any questions we had. Great trout fishing is only 15 minutes away at the Yough River (Outflow Camping area). We would certainly recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Larry, thank you for review, I really appreciate it and I hope to hear from you again in the near future. Have a great summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT getaway!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

PERFECT!!!!!! I can't even begin to explain how wonderful our weekend was staying at the Bear Paw Cabin! I rented the cabin for a little getaway for my husband and myself for his birthday weekend. I had read all the wonderful reviews and knew before going that we were not going to be disappointed! We LOVED it!! My husband and I both agreed that we will be making this a regular vacation getaway spot! We really did not know much about the area so used one of the travel guides that were at the cabin and just went exploring! There was so much to do and we had a blast! We had the fire going at night and just enjoyed being away from everything and everyone else and just being together there! The cabin was equipped with everything you would need!!! I was so impressed and extremely happy with our stay!! I can't say enough positive things and could just keep going on but by now you probably stopped reading!! =) We will DEFINITELY be back!!! Thank you!!!! =)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking Forward to Another Stay

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Bear Paw Cabin and really loved it. The king size bed was a real treat. The kitchen was stocked better than I imagined. The fireplace does take a special touch, but once you figure it out there's no problem. And the heat lamp in the bathroom, loved that!! The dog next door even comes by for a visit several times a day. We hope to stay at Bear Paw Cabin again in warmer weather so we can make use of that great screened in back porch and outdoor fire pit. Would definitely recommend this place. The owners have done a great job and are very nice. We even got a call from them after we checked in to let us know a previous issue had been addressed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin for a Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

This is our second year staying at the Bear Paw Cabin, and surely will not be our last! The owners have taken great pride in providing their guests awesome accommodations at a very affordable price. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or a family vacation, there are plenty of year-round activities for all ages. We went snow-tubing at Seven Springs Resort the last several years, but are anxious to get back to the area during the warm weather to try some other activities. Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is right down the road from the cabin and, among many other activities, has an incredible Wildlife Academy that was very popular with our three young girls. “Fallingwater” is a National Historic Landmark and is in close proximity, but it is closed during January and February each year. The kitchen is very well equipped, which is nice if you are not looking to dine out for all of your meals. Our family travels a good bit and this is definitely one of our favorite spots!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Little get away

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

We enjoyed our three night stay in the cabin. It was a great place to just relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

What a warm and cozy place to be, when the wind and snow are howling around the pine trees...Bear Paw cabin is beautiful; with many extras (i.e. coffee and hair dryer) that other places don't have. My dog enjoyed the snow, and tracking the many deer that make their way through the property. (Wonder what he would do if he actually saw one?!) My friend and I just enjoyed reading by the fireplace and relaxing. Would reccomend this cabin to anyone! The owner was most helpful, answering any questions we had. Hope to see you again next year "Bear Paw"! .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Cabin

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Had a great time, was clean and all aminities, looking forward to next year. Owner was very caring about our stay and comfort. .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming Getaway

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Bear Paw Cabin lived up to every aspect of its accurate description, extensive photo documentation, and previous glowing reviews. Our active family, including four teenagers, their parents, and three standard poodles, found the facilities ample for our herd and enjoyed the cabin immensely. Our oldest son - on the cusp of entering college and not prone to awarding praise - even deigned to award it an "awesome" rating. While our tribe was too old to take advantage of the attractive and extensive playgroud equipment, the tire swing did receive its fair share of attention. Confluence was readily accessible for supply runs and full use was made of nearby recreational opportunities, including boating & rafting on the Middle and Lower Yough, and hiking on various trails in Ohiopyle State Park. At the end of our 8-day stay, we still had more that we would have liked to do. A return visit is definitely on our "to do" list! .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Worked Well

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

The cabin was well appointed, comfortable and convenient to everything we were doing in Uniontown, on Yough Lake, at several nearby National Parks, and more. .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming Cabin

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

The Bear Paw Cabin was absolutely delightful. Our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer. We were impressed with the quality of everything — from the furniture to the dishware to the amenities, (the teens were thrilled to have a nice TV and DVD player — we even found a place in Ohiopyle to rent movies — and the 10-year-old headed straight for the tire swing). I particularly enjoyed the screened in porch with its cool breezes and lovely view. And it may sound silly, but I have been in the process of rehabbing my own home and my sister is a kitchen designer, so we were both impressed with the quality of the floors, cabinets and fixtures. We also appreciated the Bear Paw Cabin sign on the road, making it easy to find from both directions. If there was any downside at all it was the lack of air conditioning. Normally, this would not have bothered us, but we happened to be staying there during a heat wave with temperatures in the high 90s.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay at the Bear Paw Cabin!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

This is such a great cabin! Plenty of room, clean, and comfortable. We did a raft trip on the Yough, went fishing and hiking, and relaxed at the cabin with a campfire. Our 3 boys had fun on the tire swing as well.
By Traci Zahniser (Pittsburgh, PA)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice relaxing trip

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

The boys (ages 39/6/4/ and 2) all had a great couple of days at the cabin.....clean....neat....WELL DONE! The little boys loved the creek...tire swing..fire pit..and play area The Big Boy watched world cup soccer while lounging on the couch...and mom just read a book under the pine trees... Just what this crazy family needed
By Cortney (South Side, Pittsburgh)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bear Paw Cabin

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

The cabin is very well done - a great getaway and rest. Location is great -- we biked, fished a little, wife went to the spa at Nemacolin. Had a very relaxing three days in May. The play area for the kids is the perfect touch for a family with young kids like us. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks. Joe (Pittsburgh, PA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the place

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

Cabin was great, and I fell in love with the back porch overlooking the creeks, and the laurel! I hope to go back sometime this fall.
By Clay Braswell (Annapolis MD)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice cabin,

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Great place to stay, staged our annual Crappiethon this year, very nice accomadations, A little tight for the larger boat trailers but real nice location to access Jockey Hollow and 40 launch...highly recommended.
By Len Hillegas (Johnstown, Pa.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

This cabin is a great place to go and relax too. The scenery is just beautiful and the water running sound is great. Highly recommend renting this cabin. Kelley (West Newton, PA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bear Paw Cabin

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Wonderful, I would rent it again,and recomend it to anybody!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

This cabin is absolutely beautiful, inside and out. We were only able to stay for one night, but I wished we had more time to stay longer. The property was very impressive. There was a play area for children, an open fire pit and the enclosed back porch over looked the small stream in the back. I will definately visit again and will recommend this to all of my friends. The owner was also very nice to deal with.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A++++Place to Escape and Enjoy

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

We were so fortunate to find this Lovely place for our ThanksGiving Holiday! The3 of us Myself, Hubby and youngest son) went on Wendesday to settle in - We were Joined later by our older children who came the following for Thanksgiving dinner. Our oldest Daughter decided to stay the remainder few days- as she too was taken prisoner by the homey atmosphere and cozy, cottage comfort! The owner is as kind and friendly and very helpful! The cabin/cottage was even prettier than the photos and the surrounding view was as pituresque as any Country magazine! It even snowed for us Friday morning! If I could have my way- I would stay there hidden from the rest of the World until Springtime of 2010! I amalmost afraid to say more for fear it will not be available for me to rent in the future!! We loved it and recommend it highly to all who love comfort and coziness!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy Comfort

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

The cabin offered a wonderful escape from the miserable weather outside. We looked forward to enjoying some outdoor activities like hiking and biking and with rain and snow showers in the forecast..yuk. Being die-hard people we continued with our plans and coming back to the cozy little cabin was most gratifying. The leaves were at peak or a little past but even so very beautiful. We were able to get outdoors and enjoy all the sights and came back to the comfort of the cabin. We wish we could have enjoyed some of the many things outside the cabin surroundings but the weather did not permit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay at the Bear Paw

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin and would consider it again for future trips. The back porch worked well for our Golden Retreivers. The cabin was well stocked and the previous visitors left a few essentials that were helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place to relax

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

Wow what a wonderful place.. The pictures do not do this cabin justice. We saw the pictures on-line and decided that this would be a great place to take our 2 and 3 year old children for a 12 day vacation. When we arrived the fun began right off the bat and never stopped the entire time. The kids spent numerous hours on the play equipment, watching the deer along the woods as well as just playing in the yard. The Fire Pit outside allowed my wife and I the opportunity to relax and enjoy the fire after the kids went to Bed.. The kitchen was perfect and allowed us to eat at home every night we were there. We loved our stay so much that we have decided to make this cabin a family vacation spot every year after my military retirement next year.. Thanks Scott for the opportunity to stay in your Cabin Get Away..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very pleasent trip

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

It was a very clean, nice, and cozy 3BR cabin. The lawn was well-groomed and the inner tube swing and picnic table were a nice surprise. The place was perfect for the two of us. Our pug enjoyed herself too!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

The accommodations were very nice, well stocked with the essentials (aside from a hair dryer) and clean. The grounds were well maintained and allowed plenty of romping around space for our four-year old.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Laurel Highlands Getaway

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

We rented the Bear Paw Cabin for a quick summer getaway with my sister, her husband and their toddler. We picked the Laurel Highlands because it is midway between our house in New Jersey and theirs in Ohio. The cabin is everything it says on the website, very clean, and the kitchen is well-equipped. Ceiling fans everywhere so no air conditioning is really needed; the mountains cool off very quickly at night. The cabin is also very child-friendly with no valuable antiques or ornaments at kid height. The play area was a hit, too. We had fun building a campfire in the fire pit and grilling on the front porch. The cabin is quite close to a number of attractions, including Laurel Caverns and Ohiopyle, so there are lots of things to do. My husband and I agree that we actually had more fun in the Laurel Highlands than the Catskills.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Listen to the rhythm of the flowing stream

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

This place looks like the pictures, clean relaxing and beautiful. The owner is a great person to work with when renting and this always helps the renting experience. When you enter the back screened deck with comfortable chairs and glass table you are greeted with the sound of the rushing stream. The sound make one wish they could spend their entire time there while on vacation. We spend are evenings playing cards on the back deck while listening to the sound of the water. If you go for no other reason this is a good one also do not miss Falling Water while there. One of the best I have rented.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Bear Paw just spending time with the family and watching Penguins Hockey. We live in the Pittsburgh area and the short drive was a plus. Our son works for White Water Adventures and we highly recommend rafting and bike riding. What a beautiful river!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

The Bear Paw Cabin was truly an enjoyable experience for our family. We enjoyed the outdoors with bondfires, smores and mountain pies, with many of the comforts and amenities of our own home at the cabin. We were excited to use our new boat on the Yough, and this cabin was not only a short 3 miles from the boat launch but was situated on property that we were able to pretty easily maneuver our boat on the property. We played tennis and went golfing at Nemacolin about 6 miles away. What a great location for this cabin, right in the middle of many fun family activities. The owners were very gracious hosts, with their top priority being that we enjoyed our stay. We probably should be keeping this place a "secret," because we will definately want to come back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

My husband and I so enjoyed our weeks' stay in this cozy, clean, sweet cabin. It is perfect if you want to enjoy a quiet relaxing time in the mountains. We had a little mix-up regarding check-in time with housekeeping. I called the owner who was across the country on business and he immediately returned our call and was kind and understanding and reimbursed us a nights stay!!!! The king size bed is soo comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped with all you need. The creek on the property offers such a wonderfully relaxing setting as you enjoy the sound of the water on the screened in porch. We even built a fire in the fireplace outside one night and the firewood was available for our use! Many restuarants and recreation within minutes too. We are looking forward to staying again in the fall as the leaves are changing and we can use the fireplace inside to add to the coziness. I would and have recommended this getaway to family and friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review