reviews for: listing #49595 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Townhome rental

La Villa Rincon/ Suite 8
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $250 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

What a wonderful vacation home! This was our first time to Rincon and we loved the feel of being amongst the locals rather than in a built up resort area. Robyn and Andy's townhouse is truly a perfect getaway! Located in a residential neighborhood and steps to a picture perfect beach which we had pretty much to ourselves everyday. The townhouse is tastefully decorated with a bit of a contemporary look and a tropical flare making it very welcoming and comfortable. All of the appliances, furniture and bedding was new and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with every amenity you may need. Robyn and Andy are very gracious and even keep a nicely stocked closet full of toiletries and other essentials that you may have forgotten to pack....very hospitable and have thought of everything in detail. We have rented through Homeaway often and this was the first time that we had such items available to us if needed.....very thoughtful! We truly felt like we were staying at a friend's home.

The property manager Josue is very kind and professional. He returned our phone call immediately and was able to assist us promptly with our request. We felt very well taken care of!

The private pool with waterfall was so nice. Since we were with my mother, it was a low key vacation and we totally enjoyed relaxing in the sun by the pool, upstairs on the roof top terrace or taking a short stroll to the beach. We didn't need to go anywhere else because we had it all at Robyn and Andy's!

Of course we did venture off to explore different beaches. Robyn and Andy have plenty of beach chairs, towels, an umbrella, cooler, boogie board and more. We had so much fun boogie boarding at Sandy Beach! And the sunsets in Rincon are amazing.

Thank you Robyn and Andy for such a great stay at your villa! We are looking forward to returning there soon!!

Owners response: Thank you, Lisa!
Each time we hear that guests have enjoyed staying at Suite 8, we are so very happy! We try to respond very personally to each party of guests, and we give our recommendations for things to do, based on what they tell us they like to do. I'm so glad that it was an easy and relaxing week with your mom. Next time, you'll have to bring your kids!
We just tried parasailing at the nearby marina, and it's a "must do!" for those who want a thrill. It's great to know that Suite 8 is an excellent home base for a "low key" vacation and/or an adventure-packed one!
Please come again! It was great to have you. You are welcome back, any time!
Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

There's no snow in Puerto Rico!

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

This was our first experience with HomeAway so we were hesitant on what to expect. After several emails to Robyn, I felt confident that we had selected the right place and we did! Robyn promptly responds to any and ALL questions that you may have about the property, travel, surrounding area, etc... This is their family's vacation home and you feel like you are staying at a special place, not just an investment property. It is very clean and well stocked with just about anything you should need during your stay. The property is quite roomy with two levels plus the rooftop terrace and outdoor pool area. It is a home away from home!! A nice plus is the "Visitor's Book" outlining the house rules, places to eat, shop and activities in the area. Other people have mentioned the noise of the neighborhood dogs and roosters. It was not a problem for us but, earplugs are available if you need them. I would, without a doubt, book my next vacation stay in Rincon at this property. Thanks Robyn and Andy for a pleasant and relaxing vacation at your lovely townhouse!

Owners response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to post this great review! It makes us very happy to hear that our efforts are making our guests happy. I really do hope you come back and stay with us again.
Wonderful guests, like you, make it gratifying to make our townhouse the best it can be! And we will continue to listen, and make it better and better.
You made my day!
Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Again and Again

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

For the 4th year in a row my family and I (All 4 adults) spent the Holidays at this great townhouse. This year we were able to spend an extra week and that even made it better. I think it is telling that we have spent 4 years in a row in the same spot. It is maintained and spotless consistently and it is obvious that the owners care about the property and the people who stay there.

We have appreciated the additions to the home over the years with artwork, kitchen items and essential emergency comfort items all growing over time as needs arise. We cooked in a lot more this year than previous years and everything we needed was available to make some pretty great meals. We have been to every grocery store around and honestly, Edwards at the top of the street is priced right and has about everything. Please be aware: There is no conventional oven in the townhouse but there is a toaster oven and of course the rooftop grille. If you're planning on baking a big old pie you're out of luck. ;-)

The beach is only steps away and we sit on it a lot. The sunsets are amazing and the light lasts about an hour after sunset. We also use the 3rd floor sun deck and Jacuzzi daily. It makes this the best place to stay. It's very private so you can enjoy a soak the way you're meant to enjoy a soak. ;-) It's easy to run up and refresh your beach cocktail several times a day... oops, that sounded like we have too much fun. There are great big adult sippy cups in the cupboard which come in VERY handy on those hot PR days. There are bikes for 2 and beach chairs for many as well as Beach Towels etc. We have a housekeeper come once a week during our stay and they do a great job. Having a Washer and Dryer is terrific because it means we can pack less clothes to come down and wash as we go.

We have been visiting this area of Puerto Rico since the late '70's and it has come a LONG way. This townhouse complex is in a residential neighborhood where many local families live year round. Locals have things like roosters and dogs which can make for some early morning wake up calls. We love it and don't even notice by day 2 but it is something you should be aware of before booking. I also like this complex because it has a great mix of Islanders and Vacationers in it. There are no signs indicating which townhouses are rentals and which are locals which I believe is better for security.

The only down side at this property in Rincon is that we have to wait a whole year to return.

Owners response: Chris,

Although we have never met in person, it has been such a pleasure to have you stay at Suite 8 these past 4 years! Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests.
I appreciate you mentioning that with each passing year, we have added things for our guests comfort, convenience, and fun. Many of the additions and improvements have been born from feedback from our guests - several from you guys! We really do listen, and we take feedback very seriously.
I also thank you for mentioning that we are meticulous in our maintenance, providing a squeaky clean experience for each party of guests. Cleanliness is something we expect when we stay in other accommodations, and we hold Suite 8 to a very high standard.
Believe it or not, I have actually baked a pie in the counter-top convection oven. And I do bake mango scones and banana bread in it as well. How could we pass on those, with all of the delicious fresh fruit in Rincon? Guests will find pie pans and bread pans, if they care to do the same. But, alas! If our future guests want to eat lasagna, they will find it amongst the many wonderful restaurants in Rincon.
I love that you utilize all of the amenities to the fullest - the terrace, the jacuzzi, the bikes, and the drink-wear! I feel honored to have you return each year, and glad that you feel so at home in Suite 8.
Thanks again for your kind words. Before you know it, you'll be back again! Until then, take care.
Robyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an amazing place for a get away...

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

I was impressed! What I read was true to the letter! Robyn has done an amazing job of putting together a great home that she and her family are willing to share with complete strangers. We loved everything from the townhouse itself to the amazing guest book to the surrounding town, beaches etc. You will read in many of the reviews that there are dogs and roosters that do make noise....it's great that I was aware of this prior to getting there, but honestly it's just not an issue. It's the sound of Rincon nature. Also, there are earplugs in the nightstands if you require them....we did not!

It's great that you can all be on different schedules by having your breakfast right there and then go out for other meals as you wish....great food everywhere!

Beds were comfortable, everything was super clean and no clutter....except for our own!

Highly recommend this place and I will definitely return....hopefully soon!

Owners response: Jodi,

Thank you so very much for you delightful review. What a great way to begin the 2014 season, with wonderful guests!

We are so pleased that you found our guest book and recommendations to be helpful, and we will be sure to try the places you loved that we have not tried! We'll be there in February and will be excited for different spots to go to!

Suite 8 has a unique floor plan. We thank you for mentioning the comfortable amount of space, as well as the convenience of having all the equipment to prepare meals and relax with ease. We're also glad that the local "wild life" was part of the cultural charm of Rincon for you, as it is with most of our guests.

Please do come again! It's been very nice communicating with you. I wish you and your family a wonderful 2014.

Sincerely,

Robyn (and Andy)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful place to visit!!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Aside from Rincon being such a beautiful area to visit, The home was an added bonus and was definitely up to standard! Everything was clean and the home provided just about everything you would need for your stay! Robyn is great to deal with, Very helpful and always available. There is an absolutely amazing restaurant called Lucky 13, If you are in the area and want a really great place that has really delicious food then that place is a MUST (their Mac and cheese is out of this world!) We really enjoyed our stay at your home and hope that when we make our way back it will be at your home again! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful place to visit! Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Aside from Rincon being such a beautiful area to visit, The home was an added bonus and was definitely up to standard! Everything was clean and the home provided just about everything you would need for your stay! Robyn is great to deal with, Very helpful and always available. There is an absolutely amazing restaurant called Lucky 13, If you are in the area and want a really great place that has really delicious food then that place is a MUST (their Mac and cheese is out of this world!) We really enjoyed our stay at your home and hope that when we make our way back it will be at your home again! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing and relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Suite 8 easily provided all the comforts of home but it's located in paradise. My family of four, including 2 young children, traveled to Rincon in late July. Suite 8 had almost everything we needed (we did pack our own snorkel gear), including a body board and beach toys. The beach is just a 2 minute walk away and the water is viewable from the rooftop. Also close by is a great BBQ place and local grocery store, which was open at 8:00 on a Sunday night.

Couple of helpful tips for future guests...I would recommend sand shoes as the ocean has a reef break. We walked down the beach about 100 feet to a sandy entrance but sometimes felt more comfortable with the shoes on. Our kids wore the shoes most of the time. The upside is that the reef provides for wonderful sea life for viewing. Secondly, the roosters and neighborhood dogs can be loud at 5:30 in the morning. We brought along a sound machine which provided enough white noise to drown out the dogs. The owners also have iPod (30 pin) docks in each bedroom. There are many apps that provide white noise for such cases.

Suite 8 is well-kept and well-maintained. Robin is very easy to work with and quick to reply to any questions. Inside the condo are plenty of PR magazines and she has a binder of local things to do and places to eat. Overall, my family was very happy staying at Suite 8 and doing business with Robin.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A True Gem

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Thank-you to Robyn and Andy for allowing people to experience Puerto Rico in their beautiful home. They were very gracious and accommodating proprietors. If you want to experience a typical Puerto Rican lifestyle this is the place for you. I can't say enough about the people of Puerto Rico and their friendly and helpful ways.

This very clean and well maintained vacation rental has everything you need and more. The dip pool was a welcome relief from the day's heat while the private rooftop jacuzzi was a relaxing way to end the day. The beds were all very comfortable. The owners have left a book filled with suggestions of things to do, places to go and restaurants in the area. There is also a market within walking distance to pick up groceries if you are so inclined.

The beach is a very short 2 minute walk away. In the garage you will find all sorts of beach paraphernalia including chairs and sand toys. We made use of the boogie boards and the swimming noodle that we found in there.

I had heard tales of roosters and dogs wandering around and while they are there they are not as overwhelming as I had been led to expect. The neighbors do have dogs and chickens and roosters. With the earplugs that were thoughtfully provided I must have slept through the crowing and barking because I do not remember being awoken by this any day while we were there.

If you are looking for a vacation on the west coast of Puerto Rico I highly recommend you consider this townhouse. The location is great for a central place to explore or just stay in Rincon.

Owners response: Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with our future guests. Suite 8 is situated in such a wonderful family neighborhood, and I'm glad you felt welcomed and enjoyed the local culture. We love our neighbors, and they love us and our guests. Thanks, also, for sharing all the other positive things you found at Suite 8. You were fun correspondents, and wonderful guests. I hope you come back again soon! Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing stay!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

WOW. This was our first visit to not only Rincon, but to Puerto Rico as well. We immediately fell in love with the laid back and very humble feel of Rincon and its people.

Robyn and her husband went above and beyond when it came to making us feel prepared prior to the trip (driving directions, etc.) to even checking in on us the day we arrived to make sure we felt at home.

The property manager at Suite 8, Josue, was an amazing gentleman who directed us in the dark when we got lost our first night in over the phone, and replaced the propane tank on the grill in less than 24 hours once we discovered it was out. He was very accommodating, and we appreciated that very much!

The beach was incredibly close, and the Suite has everything you'll need when it comes to having a relaxing day on the warm sand. Chairs, an umbrella, beach towels, goggles and even a cooler for drinks!

The only drawback for us was the roosters and the barking dogs. We had been warned ahead of time, so we knew to expect it. There were earplugs available in both bedrooms, and it did help suppress the noise a bit. But when you're not used to either, it can be a bit overwhelming at times, especially if you have young children.

Overall, we were very pleased with Suite 8! It was very clean, comfortable and well stocked. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and will recommend this amazing destination to our friends as well.

While in Rincon, you must do the Batey Ziplining tour which is about an hour and a half away. Worth the drive! Also, be sure to visit Ship Wrecked at the marina in Rincon and Lucky 13 which is a short walk away from Suite 8. Both had amazing drinks and food.

Rincon is by the far, the most beautiful beach town I have ever visited. I can't wait to get back. Our family misses it already. Somehow, Rincon just captures your heart. That's what we loved about it.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your lovely review of Suite 8! You were wonderful guests. : ). Every email and every photo brought a smile to our faces.
Your visit inspired us to do our own research on fun places for families with young children. We had a great time doing it. We are also glad you made it to the zip-line! I loved your story about it! Glad it was fun.
The roosters can diligent in their determination to announce the dawn. If you have not been around roosters, it can be surprising. The roosters are part of the experience of vacationing within the authentic local charm and culture of Rincon - part of the local landscape, wandering freely throughout the town. I'm glad the earplugs we provide, helped.
We truly hope to have you return, as we enjoyed your positive energy, sense of adventure, and appreciation of the magic of the place.
All the best to you and your family,
Robyn and Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

The home was so fantastic!! Myself, my fiance (we actually became engaged while in Puerto RIco!!), our 10 month old and my parents rented this wonderful home for a week long stay and it couldn't have been more perfect!! I loved that it was steps, literally, steps from the beach! The dipping pool was perfection and I enjoyed lounging my time in there with a great book. This was our first vacation with out little one and having a pack N play there was an absolute life saver!! As well as the baby gate! I was so anxious about travelling with her but the amenities at the rental made our lives so much easier! I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to spend time in Puerto Rico! My fiance enjoyed the hot tub on the roof immensely!! I would love to return another time - thank you Robyn for sharing your beautiful home with us!
Nickie

Owners response: Nickie,
Thank you so much for telling our future guests that you and your 3-generation family had a great time. I'm so glad we had everything you needed for the baby, and that all the adults enjoyed the jacuzzi and the close proximity of the beach.
Congratulations on your engagement! We have had honey-mooners, but you and your fiance are our first engagement! We are lucky to have had you and your family. I think your happiness will stay with Suite 8! Come back again soon. Robyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Wonderful Vacation for All!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We just returned from our family/friend vacation in Rincon! A great time was had by all. We stayed in this lovely and immaculately clean townhouse in the heart of Rincon. We walked to the beach in about 3 minutes (or less) and walked the neighborhood to a local store in about 5 minutes. Giving that we have two boys, ages 9 and 11, we were excited for the beach toys, bikes, dipping pool, and cable. There was never a comment like "I'm bored!". We stayed in the large second bedroom which contains two queen size beds and TWO closets. Additionally, there is a closet outside the bedroom which contains every possible item that one could have forgotten. We were supplied with bath and beach towels as well. Our friends who have adult children stayed in the Master Bedroom. We never felt like we were on-top of each other, and adults enjoyed the rooftop terrace and hot tub at night.
We met the owner of an inn down the street and he showed us around to local restaurants, bakeries, and areas of interest! The kids especially loved Mr. Nelson. Two of our favorite restaurants were two local restaurants that catered to both kids and adults with games and friendly staff. One of our favorite memories of the trip is the total inclusion of children in all activities. Kids are welcome in all restaurants and bars, with games and activities available to them as well. Our older son and my husband were able to perform karioke at an outside bar.
During the day, if we were not at our mostly private beach down the road, we went to local shops, farmer's market, caves, snorkeling, Cabo Rojo, Arecibo Observatory, and other close by activities. The locals were embracing and kept us well-fed.
We are looking forward to return to Taino Divers for some scuba lessons and possibly some surfing lessons.
You can't go wrong with the accommodations, the location of the accommodations, and the people.

Owners response: Thank you very, very much for such a wonderful review. It's great to hear that there was plenty to keep they boys busy and happy. We try hard to provide something for guests of all ages, but in honesty, Rincon is such a friendly place - it's hard to NOT be happy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Suite 8, and we're hoping you'll visit again! R & A

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything we needed and more

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Suite 8 is by far the nicest vacation rental I have rented in Puerto Rico. Everything was as described and the pictures simply don't do it justice. The place is very clean, well laid out and has space to accommodate numerous people, comfortably. It's about a 10 minute drive to great surf and 5 minutes to good snorkeling. If you need a quick jump in the ocean, just walk a block down and there you are.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby but if you like to cook, there are several eating areas, excellent stovetop/microwave and fantastic grill on the rooftop. 2 excellent grocery stores are also close enough that you can get to them worry free.

Robyn was great doing business with. If you are interested in staying in Rincon then look no further, you wont get any better than this!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pleasant Moments in Rincon...

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

My wife and I,along with another couple, had a wonderful stay at Suite 8 in Rincon, P.R. The property description and the listed amenities on the Homeaway website were accurate. The internet WiFi was good for those guests who can't resist the temptation to surf the web and/or check work email, etc. The bedrooms and all areas of the house were clean and well-maintained. The proximity to the beach was another plus - I counted 30-35 long strides from Suite 8 and you've arrived at a quiet, clean beach from where you can watch the legendary Rincon sunset over the ocean. The property manager, Josue, was a gentleman and provided helpful information about the surrounding area. I highly recommend El Rincon Tropical Restaurant (Mofongo con camarones and/or pedazos de cerdo!) and El Tamboo Tavern (food/live music/salsa/roof deck lounge)I have already recommended Suite 8 to my work colleagues and members of my family.

Owners response: Thank you so much for you kind words. You were a pleasure to correspond with, and we are very happy you enjoyed staying at Suite 8. Come back, anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

3rd Time is the charm.

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

This is the 3rd year we have spent the Holidays at this property and I have to say it really feels like our home away from home. Not only is is always super clean and comfortable for my partner, parents and myself but it remains well maintained and stocked with everything we need to make our 2 week stay a total pleasure. The townhouse set up means that we can all find our own space and that is important when mixing generations over a long period of time. The roof deck and its 3rd bathroom make for a private sunny sanctuary with a great shower, hot water and our favorite place to have a cocktail after sunset: The Jacuzzi!

The Townhouse is an end unit which is nice because it means that there is a grassy area and an entry gate on the ist floor which is easy access after the beach. A quick dip in the plunge pool is a great way to cool off if you're doing some rooftop tanning (Privately) ;-). The cupboards are well stocked with all of the cooking utensils that you could possibly need to cook. There is no large oven so if you were thinking of a big Lasagna you're out of luck but there is a great toaster oven, large cooktop and big microwave that makes cooking easy. The grill on the 3rd floor is also a good place to get your BBQ on but we don't grill much because we love to hit the local restaurants, and there are plenty to choose from. Edwards Grocery store at the end of the road is an easy walk and they are very "Gringo" friendly with just about everything you could possibly need, including Booze, Beer and Wine.

There are more than enough towels, beach chairs and linens to accommodate several guests and the washer and dryer are quiet and efficient so pack light, past bathing suits, shorts, t-shirts and flip flops you're over dressed in most local hot spots.

The beach is literally steps away and since all PR beaches are public, you can respectfully plop a chair down anywhere the mood strikes you. There are shady palms to shield those who need it and very sunny stretches of sandy heaven that make you thankful that a place like Rincon exists.

I think it's been said before but, if you've never been to Rincon, you are on your way to a real town where real people live, not a self-contained resort property. There is local flavor which includes neighborhood dogs, chickens and roosters. We find this charming and we like the atmosphere it embodies so it's cool, but new visitors should be aware.

Once you've experienced sunset here, you'll be hooked.

Owners response: Chris and AJ, It is a real pleasure and an honor to be your hosts for the holidays. Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We take great pride in making Suite 8 a haven for those in need of rest, relaxation, rejuvenation, and FUN! Your description of Suite 8 and the lovely town of Rincon is just as we see it. We welcome future travelers who are looking for a vacation, just as you described it.
It's a pleasure doing business with you! We look forward to your return next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent vacation!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

This was our first vacation in Rincon, Puerto Rico and we enjoyed it very much. The house is really nice, everything just as described - fresh, clean, tasteful, comfortable, beautiful dipping pool outside. The house was very good equipped with everything you need for a perfect and relaxing stay. We felt like home. You cannot go wrong staying in this place. The owners are very professional and caring to see that you have everything.
The beach is about a one-minute walk away.
A good place for people to stay when they want to feel comfortable and relaxed.
We had a wonderful time.
Thanks to Robyn and Andy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Second Time Around

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

This is our second time around coming to Suite 8 and we loved it even more.
We were very fortunate to have wonderful weather and we had a very relaxing vacation.

The place is a full blown house with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, grill, patio, jacuzzi, dipping pool and cable TV. They also have all the beach "utensils" including snorkeling gear and - very important - a beer cooler.

The owners have a very nice book with suggestions of things that you can do while in Rincon including restaurants, snorkeling and places to see.

It is 2 minutes from the private beach and 10 minute walk from the nearest grocery store.

Robyn and Andy are by far the most gracious people and are there to respond any of your questions should you have any.

This is by far the most relaxing vacation we have ever had and I strongly recommend it to anybody.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Honeymoon!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a quieter, more romantic honeymoon! We loved Suite 8 and can't wait to go back. We would highly recommend it to couples and families!

We rented a car (in advance) from Charlie's and easily found Suite 8 from Aguadilla Airport. Our first day we didn't leave the Townhouse. First of all, we were exhausted from our red eye and secondly we could easily relax at the townhouse. We really enjoyed the dipping pool (especially with a rum drink in hand) and roof top jacuzzi. The ocean is less than a block away! If you are wanting to stay in, is a large flat screen tv, dvd player, internet, & ipod speakers. There is so much space, it is hardly a townhouse. Everything is spotless and organized. Also the owners are very thoughtful and accommodating. Leave your beach towels, hairdryer, etc. behind. It's all right there. There are even shampoo/conditioner, first aid kit, sunscreen samples in case you forget anything!

On our more active days we ventured out a few miles down the road to Steps Beach. You can bring goggles, noodle, sand toys, etc. from the townhouse to the beach. We shared the beach with other couples and families. It is in a protective cove with spectacular coral and tropical fish. Grab a noodle and goggles and float for hours in awe! Don't pack a lunch, because the food cart had delicious empanadas. They will even cut open a coconut and serve it to you with a straw and ice!

On our last day we hired a surf guide from Mariola Surf School to take us out. My husband had surfed before but I had not. I was really intimidated and nervous, but Robert was awesome! He gave me all the confidence to catch several waves! Such a positive experience!

If there's anything we love to do, it's experiencing different types of food and restaurants. Rincon offers a plethora of eats! If you prefer to stay in, Suite 8 has a fully equipped kitchen with anything you would need to make a meal. The owners included a binder full of information on restaurants (and activities) they recommend. The restaurants we loved were The Horned Dorset, Tamboo, Ode to the Elephants, Tropical, The Lazy Parrot! Also we highly recommend visiting a fruit stand. For $2 you can get a lot of local, fresh fruit!

Overall, Suite 8 is a lovely place to stay and the owners are accommodating and helpful. They and their property manager can be reached at any time if there is a problem. I would highly recommend this spacious townhouse to anyone

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Suite 8 was simply perfect! It was just what we where looking for. The dipping pool was perfect o coolig off, the beach just steps away and the jacuzzi was great for relaxing! The suite has EVERYTHING that you need to feel right at home and the owners where very attentive and eager that we had a wonderful stay! We will surely be coming back! :)

Owners response: Thank you so much. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to be delightful. It has been so nice corresponding with you. We look forward to having you come back!
Fondly,
Robyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous and Fun

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

My first trip to the Caribbean and Puerto Rico was everything I imagined and more. Robyn (the proprietor with her husband, Andy) was my host me so I had the added advantage of an almost-native tour guide. The condo is beautiful with a pristine and tasteful interior, delicious outdoor dipping pool, and a rooftop terrace for breakfasting or watching the sunset. This is not your homogenous resort, it’s a real place where people live and work. Modern townhouses and inns are juxtaposed with street vendors and restaurants selling authentic Puerto Rican food. Local Pancho Villa’s Grill was friendly and fun and the bar at Sandy Beach was spectacular. I loved hearing roosters crowing, seeing emerald-green butterflies fluttering by, lizards flitting in the grass, pelicans fishing offshore. The beaches were beautiful. My favorite was Steps Beach, a marine preserve with crystal-clear water and multicolored fish. I went snorkeling for the first time in my life and loved it. We spent hours playing in the big waves at Sandy Beach and walking on the sand at the lovely beach across the street from the condo.

Fresh mangoes for breakfast, passion fruit mojitos and spectacular sunsets in the company of my good friend Robyn – Jimmy Buffet would have felt right at home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing vacation

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Overall we had a wonderful time in Rincon and I give our stay a 4.75 star. The only drawback was the beach. Anyway, it was fun to return to our island (my wife and I are Puerto Ricans). Matter of fact, my wife is from nearby Aguadilla. Here goes my review:
* Property: a 5 star. Well equipped with modern appliances; three powerful AC units in the living room and both bedrooms; just as described in the listing.
* Cleanliness: 5 star. Well maintained.
* Amenities: 5 star. as described in the listing. Two bicycles in the garage although one had a seat missing (just being picky since that's an easy fix). Everything you need for the beach is provided, i.e., at least 4 beach chairs, beach towels, toys for kids, etc.
* Beach: 4.0 star. Less than 60 seconds walking distance. The beach is not crowded and clean. The drawback is the rocky floor under the beautiful, clean water. You have to be careful not scrapping your feet. Something that I was not good at. If sunbathing is your thing, then this beach is for you. However, there are better beaches (no rocky floor) less than 5 miles away.

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your great review. We appreciate your complements on all we have worked so hard to provide, and we are delighted that you had a great vacation at Suite 8. So sorry about your feet! From here out, we will be sure to let future guests know that we provide water shoes, and that the floor of the ocean is sandy to the left of the big rock! I do hope you used our goggles and masks and got a chance to look at the gorgeous fish that swim around the coral. We are vacationing in Rincon at Suite 8 right now, and I am always amazed at the yellow, blue, purple, and silver fish, in the ocean, right outside our door. Thanks again and we hope to have you return. Warm Wishes, A & R

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Taste of Local Puerto Rico

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Unit 8 for a week and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The condo is in great condition with full amenities and the dipping pool came in handy on those hot afternoons. The beach is a short block away through a quiet neighborhood path and onto the sand. There were very few people on the beach when we were there, making it great for the late afternoon snooze. Each morning we cycled to the gym for an 8 AM aerobics class and on the way back picked up "road mangoes" from the trees for part of our breakfast. The rest of the fruit we got at roadside markets -fresh guava, bananas, and avacados. While there are beachside bars and restaurants near the condo, we tried the local places in Rincon and the surounding area. The various mofongos were great and the fried sweet plantain kept us coming back -one of the reasons we did not cook at the condo -even though it had a great kitchen. We really enjoyed Tamboo bar, especially the Baralito rum punch!
There were roosters calling each morning from the surrounding houses -something strange for us city dwellers who would nornally hear sirens and car alarms. I guess it was a good sign we were in the real Puerto Rico. Friendly neighbors and dogs -another
good sign. We are planning our return to PR next year!

We would definitely stay again. Thanks to Robyn and Andy!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic and Authentic!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

My wife and our 2 friends stayed at Unit 8 a couple weeks ago and had a wonderful time! First of all, the condo was beautiful and situated in a very calm and authentic Puerto Rican neighborhood. The kitchen was clean and inviting, and the grill on the rooftop deck was brand new and fully utilized during the week. Every morning we awoke to the call of zealous roosters and loved peering into our neighbors yards to watch their dogs, hens and even horses romp around! The beach was only a block away, and very quiet and serene. We spent many wonderful mornings and nights there, wading in the ocean and drinking under the palms. If we didn't feel like making the small trek to the beach, we cooled ourselves in the backyard dipping pool or warmed ourselves in the rooftop jacuzzi. And for the nights that we didn't feel like cooking, we found fun beach-side restaurants to enjoy fantastic mofongo dishes and fresh fish. It couldn't have been a better vacation. Great friends, a beautiful locale, and a first-rate place to stay! Thanks Robyn and Andy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful but we won't be back!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Let me start by saying this review has nothing to do with the owners of the townhouse. Robyn and Andy were very nice to talk to and were truly sincere about our MANY issues.
GOOD:
Nice owners
Nice, clean townhouse
Well-equipped kitchen
Hot tub
Close to beach
Beach gear-cooler, chairs, towels
GOOD AND BAD:
Dipping pool- cloudy, cleared up but didn't looked vacuumed
Wi-fi- doesn't work upstairs
Good restaurants- not close
BAD:
Poor property manager- never showed up to show how things work
No A/C 2nd bedroom
Water not hot enough, not enough hot water- 2 quick showers
RELENTLESS DOGS, DOGS, DOGS!
No tv in bedroom to drown out relentless dogs
No grill- called prop. manager Sat.- told me he didn't live in rincon, would call someone and get back to me, DID NOT! Plumber came Mon. 3pm, helped him myself... Needs to be replaced
Lost power 7 hours 2 straight days, no rain, just windy
We were very disappointed about the power. We were told by people who live there all year that outages are common. Many houses had generators. So should this one, especially if you're renting it as a vacation home.
We were also disappointed about the grill. We bought food thinking we would grill it, but had to fry our chicken and pork chops, and broil our steaks in the toaster oven... Again disappointed! Josue did not seem to care and actually made me feel as if I was bothering him on a Saturday, when really this should have been taken care of before I got there.
Also, my flip-flops were stolen from the backyard our last night. Had this happened earlier in the week, we probably would have left. The neighborhood is FAR from desirable, as stated on the website. It's downright scary, especially when the power is out and the only lights are the police patrols checking for looters... My girlfriend was on the verge of tears!
Robyn and Andy were very apologetic about our issues and were surprised that Josue wasn't more helpful. I found him to be very unprofessional. From not showing up to show us around to brushing our grill problem aside. He didn't even know who was cleaning the townhouse or have her number. I had to give her my phone to talk to him when he finally called me back after 4 calls.
The good news for future guests is that the owners were going down there the day after we left, so I'm sure they will take care of most of the issues we had, minus the generator. We've asked for reimbursement for a night, based on our many issues. I hope they agree!

Owners response: For our future guests: Please see every other review written by our guests! As with most stories, true and otherwise, there are always at least 2 versions.

Our neighborhood is safe and friendly - although it is a very typical Puerto Rican family beach neighborhood - and not anything like a suburb in the States. As you will read in other reviews, the vast majority of our guests find this difference in culture to be just the thing they are looking for. It is true - our property would not be right for travelers who are accustomed to resort-type vacations. The luxury provided at Suite 8 is familiar and delightful to US, European, and other travelers, while experiencing the delicious flavor of authentic Puerto Rico. Where else can you walk down the street and pick up a ripe mango, just fallen from the tree?

Located on an island in the middle of the Carribbean ocean, storms do sometimes cause power outages, which are very quickly restored. Larger resorts do have back-up generators and we do not. But if you want a large resort, you would not be looking on HomeAway!

Additionally, we stand firmly behind our very professional and patient property manager. Again, please read our other reviews for confirmation. He will be there for all of your needs, as he has been for all of our guests. His cleaning people have been with us for several years and keep our place absolutely SPARKLING.

Lastly, Although our gas grill was repaired within a day of the report of malfunction, we did purchase a brand new one last week. (As well as brand new deck loungers on the terrace, and iPod docks in all bedrooms!)

Unfortunately, we do not have control over the weather! At the end of last summer, we had guests who needed to stay for several additional days when there were flight cancellations due to a hurricane. We were very happy to allow them to stay the extra time for free. It makes us very happy to have happy guests. We aim to please in a very big way!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful find!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

If you are looking for a place in Rincon on a good swimming beach, this is definitely a great choice. The unit is a two minute walk to the beach and most of the houses for rent that are right on the beach are much more expensive. Suite 8 has everything you will need, is very clean, well-kept and nicely furnished. I do think the elderly should know that the unit is on three floors and the whole place is tiled.

The owners couldn't be more helpful and lovely and the manager of the place was terrific and sent a plumber over immediately when there was a problem. He is really there to help with any problems that may arise.

I was worried about the internet connection because it was an 18 day working vacation for me. It worked like a charm--as good as my connection in NYC! And our cell phones had terrific connection worked better than they do in NY, and we do not have G3 or G4, we have really simple, old phones. Go figure!

You will love Rincon and will have a marvelous time exploring all the beaches in the area, driving through the beautiful hills, but most of all, walking and enjoying the beach outside your door and swimming in the wonderful warm ocean water.

For new travelers to Rincon, you should know that there is hardly a beach in the area (we found only one small part of Corsega beach south of Stella) that is stone and reef free and that is a pretty popular beach.

For serious foodies, I don't think anywhere outside of San Juan is going to live up to your culinary standards. The food markets are far from great, no fresh fish!, as are the restaurants. We thought we found two really good restaurants but they were great one night and pretty awful another night.

HAVE FUN!!!

Owners response: Thank you very much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Suite 8!
I would like to mention the following for future Foodie guests: About the fresh produce: there are fruit stands all over Rincon. There are 2 within walking distance from our townhouse. Our favorite is right across the street from the supermarket. The fruit stands sell whatever is in season: Mangos, papayas, avocados, incredible bananas of various varieties, watermelon, pineapple, etc. The local vegetables are a little more limited. Puerto Ricans do not do a lot of vegetable farming. At the fruit stands, we have found local beans, arugula, squash, yuca, and plantains. Organic vegetable cultivation is emerging in rural Puerto Rico. Imported vegetables from the states (even a selection of organic) are easily found in the local supermarket, which is .8 miles from our townhouse.
Fresh fish is everywhere in Rincon. There is a great fish monger about 2 miles from the townhouse, attached to a nearby restaurant. The fisherman goes out almost daily. We've had a delicious variety of wonderful fish that we've grilled at Suite 8. We've even made our own sushi with some fresh tuna, because when we asked the fisherman how to cook it, he said "Don't!" All of the restaurants serve fresh fish, and we are happy to share our experience and give recommendations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An outstanding rental that felt like home

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Suite 8 in Rincon is the perfect home away from home. It had everything we needed, with plenty of extras! The pool and hot tub were favorite spots for us and our two 13 year-olds, and the close proximity to the beautiful beach made this a win win. The house is furnished nicely, with top notch linens and a completely furnished kitchen which we took advantage of when we weren't eating out. We absolutely loved our week here!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We LOVE happy guests, and we continually do our best to make Suite 8 as welcoming and comfortable as we would want to find it. Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We feel great to have been able to make your vacation memorable! Come back any time!

Best Wishes,

Robyn and Andy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in Rincon

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

This townhouse was perfect; everything just as described--new, fresh, clean, tasteful, comfortable. Really enjoyed walking around the neighborhood. Edwards market, right at the end of the street, has everything-great supermarket. Loved the local restaurants and beach bars, all described in the owners' helpful binder. Best sunsets every night right from the beach at the end of the street. Word of warning: the neighborhood roosters and dogs are noisy at all hours, but we got used to it. Part of the whole vibrant atmosphere. Loved watching the pelicans fish all day long. Don't miss out on a snorkel trip with Katerina or Taino: saw lots of coral and fish. Thanks, Andy & Robyn!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway!!!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

Three weeks after our stay and we're still enjoying the memories. The villa is all that is described. Well built, nice decoration, very well prepared. You literally only need your personal needs because this villa has it all!!!
It was like being at home with all the commodities.
We would (will) go back in a heartbeat.
Thanks to the owners. A great job well done!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

Puerto Rico is beautiful on its own but when you add in this stunning townhouse your vacation is absolute golden! The house is full of many ammenities -- hot tub on roof, wading pool in backyard and a/c throughout! We enjoyed the sunset on the rooftop terrace while our dinner was cooking on the outdoor grill... divine! The management team was always available to us when we had questions and the ease of checking in/out was smooth and seamless! I highly recommend this rental, although hopefully you won't snag it next year when I return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

I spent 10 days with my family in August, 2009. It was spacious, immaculate, gorgeous, and really well put together. There were 5 of us: my parents and my two sisters (ages 19, 21, and 22). There was plenty of space. Everything we needed was available to us, and the beach is so close. The dipping pool was was really great. The terrace was a great, private place to catch some rays. The owners responded to our every request. If you like nightlife, there are some really fun places you can walk right down the beach to. I would recommend Suite 8 and I would absolutely go back myself!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

RIncon Neighborhood

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

If you like staying in a tourist area, then this house isn't for you. But if you want to reside in a typical Rincon neighborhood, then this is the place. Plus it is very close to the beach-1 minute walk. The beach was uncrowded the whole April week we were there. The house is an end unit of 8 townhouses so you get a side yard. The dipping pool is not for laps fbut or a relaxing cool down after a day in the sun. It is only a few minutes drive to a nice coffee shop, supemarket, restaurants and downtown, The owners were pleasant to deal with and the house was clean, had beach chairs, cable tv, and internet.

The one big problem was that when it rained (two nights) the house leaked through a poorly caulked bedroom wall. This was in April so I would hope and assume the owners have had the issue addressed.

I would definitely visit Rincon and again and would certainly consider staying here again assuming the leak was fixed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Fun

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

My husband, two-year-old son, and my mother spent a week at this property in June. We had a wonderful time. The property is brand new and super comfortable with a lot of great amenities. The dipping pool, open downstairs
area (living room/kitchen/dining room), or the roof deck (with a grill) are great places to hang out together as a group while the very comfortable and sizable bedrooms
provide privacy when needed. The beach is about a one-minute walk away and is great for both swimming and snorkeling. The palm trees provide natural shade for those who want to hide from the heat during the day. Our son loved the sand on the beach and the warm water and he would have spent the entire time in the dipping pool if we'd let him. The Rincon area is ideal for people who want to relax and enjoy fun and low key vacations. There are plenty of places to eat or to go out for drinks but it does not feel overcrowded and hectic as some beach destinations can get. We would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Place to Get Away To!

Review submitted: December 19, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

I spent a terrific long week-end here and would have loved to extend my stay. The townhouse is brand new and modern, yet has a warm homey feel due to its well-appointed decor and amenities. The beach is steps away - a great place to take a dip, watch the wildlife and relax. There are plenty of things to do within walking distance and even more a short drive away, including surfing and snorkeling. Local eateries offer delicious Caribbean fare and the shops offer unique merchandise at reasonable prices. Best of all. the Rincon area is a fabulous place to relax and enjoy life at a moderate pace. The weather is usually warm and sunny; the few clouds that occasionally roll through don't last too long. It's a great vacation experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review