reviews for: listing #49653 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Apartment rental

Ocean View & Great Location at Condado
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Juan
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $665 - $665 /wk

sort by:

Less than mediocre. 4.5 wks-no deposit refund.

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Reserve here if you’re looking for second-rate accommodations and are not expecting your deposit back.

We booked and paid for 4 nights, we left after 2 nights! A storm hit the Island the evening of October 4th and the condo flooded and lost power for 5 hours. Water came in through the sliding door tracks in the bedroom and living room. We contacted the owner's sister and emailed the owner, who was out of town, and expressed our dismal situation. The owner proceeded to accuse me of having left a window/door open. I took pictures which showed exactly where the water was coming from and forwarded those to the owner. My husband was in crutches and nearly fell when he walked in the wet floor. I advised the owner that we would be leaving the following day and she agreed to refund the 2 nights. Furthermore, a building employee told us that many units experienced water intrusion on the evening of October 4th.

No toilet paper even to get you by. We arrived from airport, put luggage down and walked to nearest store for toilet paper. Pictures on the website are misleading; there are no pictures on the walls, only holes where pictures once hung. There are no wine glasses as pictured, no cushions on the futon, bar stools are not as pictured, no balcony furniture, no headboard. The wall outlets are loose; there is 1 functional bulb in the bathroom 3-bulb light fixture. The toilet tank chain fell off every time we flushed. We had to place our hands in the toilet tank and put the chain back in place. The A/C felt muggy; not par with continental US. We had WI-FI password but username was not provided although we asked and paid for it. The stench from neighboring units’ cooking smells permeated throughout the night. The caulking in the kitchen is moldy; the walls are dirty. This is far cry from a vacation get-a-way. I did not wish to have to write this... but we feft 4.5 weeks ago and are still waiting for our deposit plus the two nights which the owner agreed to refund us IN WRITING! Our e-mails have gone unanswered. We’re mature adults and caused NO DAMAGE to this property. Her contract stipulates that the deposit is mailed 7 days after departure date. It's now November 6th and she is in breach of contract. A formal complaint has been filed with vacationrentals.com. Do not trust this owner. There are 12 reviews for a 42 month period (Jan.’10-June’13). This should have been a red flag for me. Especially when all the reviews are 5 stars!

Owners response: Thanks for your review.

We are proud of giving a service of excellence since 2010. As result of that all our reviews are true from true customers.

We really appreciate your point of view but, please take into consideration that this is not a hotel but a Family Condo, for that reason we do not provide for personal toiletries such as toilet paper or soap, but we were compliant with all what the signed agreement stated from the free parking space to the wifi, towels, cooler, beach chairs,AC and cable TV, sheets and all the furniture such as the bed, stools balcony chairs etc.


And please take into consideration that we have a cancellation policy that you did not follow through and as a courtesy we returned the money for the 2 nights that you did not used, but we kept the deposit for not leaving the Condo in excellent conditions as the agreement stated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No regrets, perfect place

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

This place was very cozy and comfy. The ocean view and waking up to the sounds of the waves was incredible. I may say its a bit small but, it's all we need. The condo was very clean and it has very friendly security guards at the entrance. The pool is fantastic and big, but what I liked the most was that not many people used it. Sometimes my fiancé and myself were the only ones in there. The owner also provides 2 beach chairs and an a small cooler that we carried every where. The Torre Del Mar condominiums are located right in Ashford Ave, this is a very popular strip where all the restaurants, bars, and people are at. This strip gets packed at nights especially on the weekends and it is very nice. This was a great stay for my fiancé and me, I would rent this place again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

My second home!!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

I have been going to San Juan every year for the past 4 years and this is where I stay! Laura is the absolute best and so professional! The condo is great! It has all you can need. The parking spot is ideal and definitely needed for this busy part of the city. Also the building is very secure and the beach is literally a few steps away. I have stayed here with my fiance' (now husband) & family. We married last year in San Juan since he loved my island so much! This is the place to be for your trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Ideal place to stay in Puerto Rico!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

For us this condo was the perfect place to stay with easy access to old town San Juan and the beach. The owner was businesslike and efficient in making the reservation over the internet and was very gracious waiting for us there on our arrival to show us around. The condo is on Ashford Ave which is the main drag in Condado so everything we needed was close at hand within easy walking distance including; restaurants, markets, pharmacies etc. The building security staff was very courteous. The WIFI in the condo was a big plus. We used the bus for the first three days for going into old San Juan; the bus stop into old town is just outside the condo. The beach chairs and cooler in the condo were convenient for the one day we spent on the beach there. Later the free condo parking place was a major plus since we had a rental car the last couple days to drive out into the mountains to see the parks. This condo was an ideal home base for our first visit to Puerto Rico. We always rent condos, apartments or houses when we travel around the world and this was a good one.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect getaway!!!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Very professional and quick to respond to inquires from the beginning. She answered all questions I had and was very friendly. I was hesitant to rent because I had never done this way before and had always used hotels. My worries are gone and I would not hesitate to rent from her again. The apartment was clean and ready for us upon arrival and the view was amazing. I honestly didn't want to leave. We went to sleep and woke up to the sound of the ocean everyday. The building security were kind and helpful also. There is so much to do within walking distance from restaurants to casinos to shopping. Also, just minutes from the airport, Old San Juan and other tourist areas. I hope to visit again very soon and would not hesitate to choose this quaint and adorable apartment again!!! Thanks to her, our vacation went very well and we felt at home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Great condo, great location, close to everything, right in front of the beautiful beach. Condo very cozy and comfortable. Everyone of the property very helpful and friendly. Owner provides all the home comfort you need when traveling. Will definitely return to the condo in the future, A++++

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Experiance

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

I must admit, I was a little skeptical about this at first, but I went forward and glad I did. The place was awesome, and was in a good location. Beside the guard not knowing English and me struggling a little bit to get the key..lol, the transaction was smooth, even woke up home the next day with the deposit back in my possession.
One of the best experiences is the view, waking up with the window open hearing the waves crash was awesome. Also, just like the other reviews say, everything you need is there. Just note that you have to flip the switch in the kitchen to turn on the water heater. I struggled with that for a bit.

I will be using this place again, thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great location

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

My friend and I had a wonderful time at this condo. The condo was bigger than a hotel room and had all the supplies we needed (including beach chairs and a cooler). The view of the ocean is incredible and being so close to the beach was a definite plus. There are restaurants and shops nearby and there is a bus stop just down the street. I highly recommend the smoothies at Pinky's. And the French bakery two blocks down is not to be missed. We felt very safe at the condo and were greatful that there was a security guard on duty 24/7. When you arrive or leave by taxi make sure they know you are staying at the Torre del Mar - most cabbies don't know addresses, just building names.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your words! We hope to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Excellent. Rental

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

Nice condo in a great location at a very reasonable price. Will be back. A+++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great rental

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

Nice condo in a great location at a very reasonable price. Will return again. A +++.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything was very nice...

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My husband and I spend a week in the apartment, it was very nice in a great area. Walking distance to many restaurants and Casinos. We enjoy staying there. Ms Laura send our deposit right away, will stay again....

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks again for everything

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Laura,

I wanted to send you a message yesterday to thank you for everything, but was so exhausted after coming back that i didn't get around to it. I saw that you sent the deposit back to us. Thanks for doing that so quickly.

Your condo was great and the list of places that you sent to me was very, very helpful. Our trip definitely wouldn't have been as enjoyable without your help.

I'd already fallen in love with Puerto Rico on my first visit last year and i'm even more in love with it now. I'm pretty sure we'll be staying at your place again in the near future.

Thanks again for everything.

Matt

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We miss it alredy!

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

My husband and I had a great
time! It could not have been any better. What a wonderful place. We miss
it already! Thanks for a great stay and when we come back I will be
looking to see if you still have your rental. Take care!

EBerry

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review