reviews for: listing #49658 - Manhattan, New York House rental

Unmatched Value on the Upper West Side Sleeps up to 6
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper West Side
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $325 /nt
    $1,673 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

A Big Surprise

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

What a surprise to find out that when we returned on the second day of rental the lock had been changed!
After the owner got a locksmith we went in, gathered our belongings, and hiked to a hotel where we stayed for the remainder of the trip.
Unbelievable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

We loved the location near Central park and great dining. Very clean.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect spot for the NYC marathon

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Just returned from marathon weekend at Craig's place and really enjoyed it! First, he was very accommodating and reasonable on short notice, and didn't price-gouge like so many others this weekend. And he is responsive to e-mails and phone calls, which was very reassuring to me.

As for the apartment itself, it was PERFECT for my trip. I was in town to run the marathon, and the location seriously could not be better unless it was directly on the finish line itself. As it turned out, the exit for marathoners (without baggage) was at W 73rd and Central Park West -- just over a block away! I was so grateful for the short walk to a hot shower and cozy bed.

As a single woman, I felt very safe in the apartment and neighborhood, and I enjoyed my time there. The living room was a good spot to curl up with my morning coffee, bagel, and iPad (I definitely recommend 72nd Street Bagel!). The wifi was good, lots of light, and the place is nice & warm in cold weather. And the bed was very comfortable. Getting ready for the marathon, I needed to sleep well and get in a couple of naps, and I had no trouble doing so.

As others have mentioned, there are tons of good places to eat right near the apartment -- I can recommend Patsy's for pizza/pasta and Cafe Ronda for tapas (my friend said that Arte Cafe, practically next door, is also very good). I also got a head start on my Christmas shopping at the nearby shops... Kiehl's, L'Occitane, Olive & Bette's, Theory, Athleta, etc. And the Museum of Natural History is just blocks away. To go anywhere else, I never had trouble getting a cab on Columbus Ave, even at 6:30 a.m. on Sunday.

I think the apartment would be the best value for a family or small group of friends, but would recommend for anyone for whom the UWS location is important, and especially for the marathon. Thanks, Craig!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great find!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

The location is fabulous and a very safe area. Lots of restaurants, shopping, food markets, public transportation within a block. The owner was great to deal with and very responsive to questions prior to our stay. The photos aren't clear that there are actually multiple levels to this apt, although the levels make it seems extra spacious. Upon entering, the first level contains the entry, kitchen and full bath. Walk up 5 or 6 steps & the next level is the main living area. 3 or 4 more steps there is a landing & the 1 bedroom-3-4 steps is the loft with a queen size air bed. The owner had new furniture delivered while we were there,so there is now a new couch and 2 chairs. The unit was clean and had lots & lots of towels, linens, etc. Kitchen was well equipped & is always great to reduce the number of meals out. The only drawback I can think of is that the walls were a bit thin and you could hear people as they went up and down the staircase, and could hear upstairs tenants moving furniture, walking around, etc. I'm sure, however, that they could hear us too. The property easily accommodates 6 people, as it indicates. I would stay here again and would recommend this property.Owner does not offer a rental agreement but owner is very trust worthy and honors the agreement.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

Great Experience. The apartment and neighborhood were as described. Cannot beat the location. A block east to Central Park and subway (B,C, E) and a block west to subway (1,2,3 lines). Steps away from plenty of restaurants, stores and markets (Trader Joes and Pioneer to name a couple). Great place to come back to after spending long days sightseeing. Craig was great to work with and very accessible by phone or text. I would definitely recommend this place and would come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

great upper west side location for family/kids

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We had a great stay at this small apt on the second floor of a walkup on 73rd street. It was a fantastic location, central to two subway stations each only a block away, one block from Central Park. The appointments were New York small, but well done. The central heat is pretty hot in the early spring, but manageable with lots of fans located throughout the apartment. The upper loft is certainly best relegated to your teenagers or less, but the couch and the bed downstairs (with the small bedroom) would be all you need for a party of four. Kitchen well appointed, moderate amount of storage. The location is the real star here by far; hard to imagine a better place to spend some time in Manhattan than here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Tom Fisker

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This is a great escape following a busy day in pulsating New York. The appartement has a very pleasant and warm atmosphere to it. You would enjoy this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Very happy with our recent stay for Spring Break. Craig was great to work with in setting up the reservation. Had no issues during the stay. The apartment is on the second floor and convenient to both the 1,2,3 line and the A,C line within a block each way. Restaurants on Columbus are numerous. We loved Patsy's on 74th for pizza. Fairway Market at 74th and Broadway is excellent for groceries including bakery, etc.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay in NYC just after Superstorm Sandy

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

I traveled with my wife, two daughers and my mother-in-law to NYC to celebrate a B'day. We wanted to experience NYC like a New Yorker and this was a great way to do it. The upper west side has great charm, excellent restaurants, and some beautiful architecture. The building is located one and a half blocks from Central Park and very close to several subway stations for easy movement about the city. The accomodations are just as described in the listing. The sleeping accomodations fit our party nicely. All air matresses worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen is small, but contains everything you need since you'll probably be out most of the time anyway. The owner is very accessible by cell phone if you need him (had to check on storm related issues seveal times). I highly recommend this for those looking for an affordable weekend getwaway in NYC. If I were to go to NYC again I would definitely book this place once more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

Excellent location, clean, perfect for a Family of 4 ( 2 teen boys) .
We went for 11 days and was a wonderful time. The subway is at the corner, central park is half block, perfect to sleep , quiet neighborhood with many restaurants.
Craig was excellent with me answering all my emails with my questions. I recommend this place and we will stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

In NYC this is the place to be!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Location, Location, Location. If you want a genuine NYC experience than few places beat this. First it is a charming brownstone on the Upper West Side (definitely where you want to be) and it is very close to Central Park. The best part it is just down the street from the 72nd/73rd subway stop (1,2,3) and it is express stop so that means you can get anywhere in NYC in a jiffy. And you can get home fast too. No worrying about taking taxi's etc if you are staying here.

Also it is in walking distance to fabulous restaurants, cafes, shopping etc. The Upper West Side is chock full of all kinds must visit places. I just loved being able to walk out the door and start exploring the neighborhood.

The place itself is really cool since it is on a bunch of levels and includes a sleeping loft.

Again if you are looking for real New York City experience this is a steal. I lived in NYC a long time ago and staying here made me feel like I had come home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great location on the Upper West Side

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Our family of four from Austin had a blast staying in this cozy apartment on the Upper West Side. My teenager loved the sleeping loft and our younger son was comfy on the inflatable bed in the living room. The apartment was clean, well maintained, with plenty of linens, and spacious enough for our family. We appreciated the charm and character of the apartment and the neighborhood rather than staying in an anonymous hotel. What a great way to experience real NYC living by staying in such a great neighborhood. Tons of stores and restaurants nearby including the best chocolate chip cookies in the whole city at the Levain Bakery. Central Park and the subway station are just two blocks away. It was so easy to wake up and jump on the subway for our daily destinations.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Size and location awesome! Needs wifi, some maintanence and a decor facelift.

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

I searched relentlessly for weeks for the most perfect NYC apartment I could get for our budget. I was really excited to find this large, unique charmer on the UWS. The location is unbeatable! Its on a quiet street but there are a ton of shops and restaurants at each end of the block and on neighboring streets. There is a local and express 1,2,3 subway station a block away so getting on and off the subway after a busy day was convenient to the apartment. Having 3 separate sleeping places is great for three travelers who dont want to share beds.

The apartment had most everything we needed… except the wifi that was advertised. This was a huge disappointment since iPads were the main source of our planning and communication. I notified the owner the first night that there was no wifi. He said he had been coasting off the neighbor and maybe it got changed or cut off. Instead of arranging for wifi to be installed, he suggested that we can go to the Starbucks down the street. I can say without hesitation that I would have never chosen an apartment without wifi. It was a requirement.

The apartment is very funky and on 4 different levels so its not recommended for anyone with knee problems or issues with stairs. The apartment could use some cosmetic touches and décor. Cracks in the wall could be patched and painted. Stained window curtain and mildew shower curtains should be replaced. A board under the couch cushions would make it possible to stand up from the couch. I understand that you don’t want to put your best stuff in a rental, but it could look better than frat house furniture. Perhaps a unifying accent color or some crisp new decor items would make a world of difference in making it look cleaner and more inviting. I would stay here again if the wifi were fixed and I would recommend it to my friends if it got a little clean up and facelift. Like I said, the apartment is huge by NYC standards and the location is THE BEST and so convenient to everything. Also, everyone we met on the street in the neighborhood was so nice and helpful. The pictures show different and nicer rugs, blankets, lamps etc than what is in the apartment now. Maybe pics are old and were taken when the couch was new and had a matching chair. Its not pretty like that now. Everything is functional, but mismatched and dingy. Could be a 5 with wifi and the recommended touch ups.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: The router was bad and has been replaced
Wi-FI is working perfect

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Needs wifi & some TLC. Otherwise awesome.

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

I searched relentlessly for weeks for the most perfect NYC apartment I could get for our budget. I was really excited to find this large, unique charmer on the UWS. The location is unbeatable! Its on a quiet street but there are a ton of shops and restaurants at each end of the block and on neighboring streets. There is a local and express 1,2,3 subway station a block away so getting on and off the subway after a busy day was convenient to the apartment. Having 3 separate sleeping places is great for three travelers who dont want to share beds.

The apartment had most everything we needed… except the wifi that was advertised. This was a huge disappointment since iPads were the main source of our planning and communication. I notified the owner the first night that there was no wifi. He said he had been coasting off the neighbor and maybe it got changed or cut off. Instead of arranging for wifi to be installed, he suggested that we can go to the Starbucks down the street. I can say without hesitation that I would have never chosen an apartment without wifi. It was a requirement.

The apartment is very funky and on 4 different levels so its not recommended for anyone with knee problems or issues with stairs. The apartment could use some cosmetic touches and décor. Cracks in the wall could be patched and painted. Stained window curtain and mildew shower curtains should be replaced. A board under the couch cushions would make it possible to stand up from the couch. I understand that you don’t want to put your best stuff in a rental, but it could look better than frat house furniture. Perhaps a unifying accent color or some crisp new decor items would make a world of difference in making it look cleaner and more inviting. I would stay here again if the wifi were fixed and I would recommend it to my friends if it got a little clean up and facelift. Like I said, the apartment is huge by NYC standards and the location is THE BEST and so convenient to everything. Also, everyone we met on the street in the neighborhood was so nice and helpful.

It could be a 5.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location. Disappointing place. Great potential.

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Our first impression of the apartment was it took five minutes just to get the street level door unlocked. It took MUCH longer to get the apartment door unlocked. I honestly worried we'd been sent the wrong key. It finally opened but I was never able to get the key to work in that lock again. So when we were not there the only lock on the door was the doorknob lock which didn't seem very secure.

Our second impression was a stuffiness and overpowering incense smell that never did air out. The place was dark and dusty, floors unswept, and rugs not vacuumed. I do feel like the pictures make it look brighter and airier than it felt. We turned on fans full blast and made the best of it though because it's NYC!

Having been to NYC before I knew this location was ideal. And it is. You are 1 block from the closest subway that will take you everywhere you want to go! And we were in easy walking distance to a grocery and restaurants. Also we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the apartment building was! We only saw 2 other people in the building during our stay.

The place is small--but ample. 2 kids in the loft, 2 kids on the air bed in the living room and we took the bed upstairs (no door, just around a corner). The tiny kitchen was comical to the kids and they had fun prepping dinner on the glass table in the living room to make do. Internet and cable were also nice.

I just would have liked to have felt more welcomed when we arrived. Instead it felt like the last tenants might have just hauled their bags out five minutes earlier. Other VRBOs I've stayed at think of little extras to show they are happy for your business...things to make you feel at home and welcome. Just a little bit of effort and attention could have made this apartment a winner.

Hopefully it receives some TLC and a jolt of hospitality and becomes it's best potential.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Absolutely fabulous!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

What a fantastic apartment. It has tons of character and was clean and well-equipped with everything you may need for your visit. The beds were extremely comfortable and it was an unexpected bonus to have free access to high speed internet in the apartment. The location is just perfect for what we needed. Walking distance to hundreds of restaurants, ice cream stores, convenience stores and amenities. Especially enjoyed stocking up on groceries from the nearby Trader Joes. Finally, the landlord is friendly, responsive and helpful. Will definitely come back again, and strongly recomend the place.
Carol (Connecticut) travelling with 2 teenagers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Great safe location close to attractions, restaurants,grocery store, and other amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Spent a week in Manhattan and absolutely loved staying in the upper west side! Everything you ever need is only a block away. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy their time in NYC. I can't wait to come back again and I would definitely stay here again. Great times indeed! Cheers!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Return visitors

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Location, location, location. If I were buying a flat in NYC, I would really really look at this neighborhood. The Dakota is one block over on Central Park West. Levain's Bakery is on 74th at Amsterdam. Patsy's Pizza at 74th at Columbus. We love Columbus Deli at 72nd. Trader Joes on Amsterdam. Natural History Museum is an easy walk to 81st at Central Park. You could just stay right in the neighborhood. Or, the 1 2 or 3 trains to Times Square to anywhere. Just perfect.

Thanks again, Craig. I'm sure we'll stay again... unless we buy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thanksgiving in NYC

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

This was a trip of a lifetime. The location of the apartment was unbelievable and the quiet of the neighborhood was appreciated. We did not want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the downtown crowd. We wanted to visit all that NYC had to offer but retreat to a quiet place to sleep when the night was over. This apartment was FANTASTIC. Yes it is small, but so is everything else in NYC. You must be able to climb stairs to get to the apartment, but nothing extreme. We had plenty of room as a family of 4, including a teenage boy (13) and girl (11). I felt very safe and even let me kids walk to the Starbuck’s and local grocer by themselves. The subway is one block away as is Strawberry Fields in Central Park. We never had any trouble getting to where we wanted to go on the subway and used it for 100% of our transportation. Craig was amazing in his responsiveness and his patience with all my questions. I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location with reponsive landlord

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Craig had good tips as to where to eat; shop; events going on in city that we appreciated;
He was very responsive; coffee maker broke and he brought a new one the next day; provided umbrellas which came in handy;
Went above and beyond when my earring fell down the sink drain. He had the super come get it out of the drain!
Loved the large amount of sheets and towels; we stayed a month and didn’t have to do laundry for the linens the entire time.
Very well located, by 2 fast subways; lots of fun little restaurants nearby. We did not eat a bad meal while in NY
Loved the Triad theater nearby. Saw 4 performances there; reasonably priced and quality shows.
• Patsy’s Pizza 73rd & Columbus is good
• Arte’s – good brunch
• Pappardella – good Italian place
The apt. was plenty warm when the weather turned cold. As a matter of fact we ran the AC at night because we wanted it to be cooler. Beware that there are a lot of stairs inside apartment and extra stairs to get to it since it is really located on the third floor (not good for elderly people). By our standards this is a very small place (700 sq. ft.), but by NY standards it is typical.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Women's trip to NYC

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

Craig was great to work with. He responded promptly to our questions and needs. The neighborhood is delightful and convenient for shopping, subway access and touring. We ran out of time before we ran out of things/places to visit. We enjoyed Trader Joes, GiGi's Diner, Alice's Tea Room and Tip Top Shoes. Next visit will include The Arte Restaurant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location with unintrusive but most accommodating host

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

Thrilled that we found Craig's apartment. Unbelievable location close to Central
Park, restaurants ,entertainment and public transportation. We never met Craig but he was always available and most accommodating on the phone. Problem we had with aired was dealt with immediately and to the best of our needs. Apartment can sleep 6-7 if double beds are shared, otherwise not suitable for more than 4 people.laundry located in the basement, but an abundant amount of towels and sheets were available. I definitely intend using Craig's apartment again if he will have us. We saved at least $500 over 5 nights if we compared to the cheapest hotel accommodations in the neighborhood. Strongly recommend .

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing apartment

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Very good contact with owner. Answers quickly and is very helpful. Great location, only good thinks to say.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic New York experience!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

I stayed here with a couple of friends a few weeks ago. We were visiting from Australia. It was a great apartment - we really felt like we were living in new york, except it also had all the conveniences expected in a hotel! Amazing location, right near the Dakota Building and Central Park. The apartment was clean, the owner was very prompt in all communication and very helpful (we arrived after 11pm on our first night and Craig was great arranging access to the apartment for us late at night). There were absolutely no problems at all with the apartment and I have already booked it again for my next New York adventure in a few months!!! You will not regret staying here. Perfect for small groups of friends wanting a real Manhattan experience together.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New York Trip

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Best location in NYC. Easy access to the 72nd and Amsterdam station and easy access to the 72nd and Central Park West station. Enough room for 5 women. The owner was very pleasent and accomendating.

Thank you, it was a great trip!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We liked it a lot.

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

We stayed here for four nights, 2 adults & 2 teens, it was perfect for us. Great location, clean, not fancy but comfy, and with some panache. We liked it a lot. We would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Christmas in NYC - What a trip!

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

Just spent 4 nights with my husband and two adult children in NYC and had a wonderful time. The apartment is convenient to public transportation and many restaurants. We found it to be small but very accommodating. This Texas family will be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great deal

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Great location! One block from Central Park. Everything you need is within a block. 2 subway lines.
Very convenient for a group of friends. Not recommended for older people. Could need a little work done to it to make really great.
The owner was really easy to communicate with. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love NYC

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Older building as talked about in previous reviews but overall we found it to be
adequate, clean, and great location.
thanks Craig

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect apartment for a family visit to NYC

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We are a family of 5, who stayed in the apartment for 4 nights on September 2010. The location is perfect - a short walking distance to central park, the Museum of Natural History and two subway stations. The apartment is not large, but is conveniently designed to create the impression of a real home with many rooms. There is everything you may need, including useful NYC travel books and a nice library. There is no dining table, but we knew it in advance and did not plan on fancy cooking. For microwave food and morning cereal the living room coffee table was good enough, and sitting on the rug for a short time was a nice vacation experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Long Weekend in NYC

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

Thank you for the great apartment that worked out perfectly for our long weekend in NYC. The location and apt worked perfect for our group of 4 ladies; shopping and eating our way thorough Manhattan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Location - Brownstone needs TLC

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

The location is Terrific and the owner was kind enough to let us leave our luggage in the apartment for a latter in the day departure. If we were to do it over again, the upper West Side is still the place to stay in NY when visiting.

We live in an older 1930’s home in California and we were looking forward to staying in a signature brownstone on NY's Upper West Side. We found it quite disconcerting upon our arrival to read the less than positive renter's review of 8/1/2010 on this site.

That review can be used as context for my two sons subsequent comments, 16 and 20 years old regarding the state of the apartment. The twenty year old stated “Well it isn’t much different than living with my 3 male housemates in college…” My 16 year old who definitely is NOT the neatest kid not only commented on the lack of harmony in the furnishings but the smell. Based on 8/1/2010's comment regarding the closet, I took it upon myself to rummage through it to find a bottle of Fantastik and with it lifted off an indescribable amount of black buildup in the bathroom. Unfortunately, the extra ammonia did not eliminate the smell nor the mildew permanently stained on the shower curtain.

Finally, my biggest point of concern is the multiple applications of tape, silicon, caulk and paint in the owners' unsuccessful attempts to plug gaping holes around the shower and tub. For an old brownstone it doesn’t take much imagination to contemplate the “wet rot’ that has more than likely permeated the floors and walls of the apartment and hence the probable smell my son was alluding to. Finally, from a safety perspective the stair rails are coming off the walls.

My purpose for writing at this juncture is to advocate a plea for this brownstone gem – “please fix and take care of me.” It really has such potential to be quite lovely.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay in NYC!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in April 2010, we had a wonderful time the apartment was clean and well appointed. Nice residential area, booking was simple and owners answered questions promptly. Great place to stay 1 block to Central Park had a nice run each morning. Try Alice's teacup for scones in the morning next door to the apt. A big plus subway on 73 st (at the end of the block).. Also great wine bar at 73 & Columbus (Wine and Roses Bar) !Wonderful, thank you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Mediocre at best

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We just finished a 1 week stay. My first impression was this was a dark dingy tired apartment. The fridge was broken and we needed to alert the owner to that fact. It took until Thursday to get a replacement (I called him early Monday with the news!). In fairness he did refund some money but only when I asked. The kitchen is hot and tiny with no where to prep food if we had cooked. The bathroom was fine with a great shower. The bedroom was a hot stuffy room without a door and we had to run 2 fans to stay comfortable. There was a bridge table in the closet to use for eating, but only 2 chairs.Most of the closets are so filled with "stuff" that they are not usable. The couch was uncomfortable. Nice size TV, DVD etc. While theoretically you could sleep 6 people it would be hard to image where everyone would sit when not sleeping, especially when the bed is set up in the living room. The loft for sleeping is a crawl to the bed, you cannot stand up. With some help and remodeling the apartment could be more comfortable but not as it is. The neighborhood is great. Cafe Rondo has great tapas and Arte a bargain early bird special.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: I do not want to refute the above review, however, I would like to elaborate on a few of the comments made. This space exists in one of the old classic New York brownstones, which people either love or hate. I just need to stress that you are not checking into a brand-new build with walk in closets and gourmet chef's kitchen. Anything within the apartment that is not up to par with the expectations of renters, I am very quick to accommodate in almost every instance within reason. The refrigerator was replaced within the earliest time frame possible, plus a refund was completed with the hour of her complaint. I do not want anyone to turn away from this space because it is truly a gem located a block from Central Park. The renter must understand that things happen, and when they do I am right on top of working it out.
It rarely goes a week with out being rented. Bear in mind that people who write review feel their expectations were not met. Finally, if you are interested in this rental, please feel free to email me any questions you may have.
Craig

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay in NYC!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in April 2010, we had a wonderful time the apartment was clean and well appointed. Nice residential area, booking was simple and owners answered questions promptly. Great place to stay 1 block to Central Park had a nice run each morning. Try Alice's teacup for scones in the morning next door to the apt. A big plus subway on 73 st (at the end of the block).. Also great wine bar at 73 & Columbus (Wine and Roses Bar) !Wonderful, thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Location

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

Location of the apartment was perfect. close to the subway and shops and on a very quiet street.

Apartment is not ideal for eating in as there isn't much of a dining area.

Beds were very comfortable.

Highly recommended. i would stay here again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: two TV Tray tables were added for eating and a folding card table

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Location / Decent Apartment

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 5, 2008

The apartment was clean and certainly can sleep 5 although 4 would be ideal but I would not say 6 because the sofa-bed was broken and one of us slept on the sofa as is.

The location is great and this is certainly what gives this apartment its appeal. Just one block from the subway and close enough to walk to a lot of sites. We walked to Times Square several times and it was a very walk.

Everything worked well and we were provided with sheets, cooking utensils, etc... The shower has good pressure which is a big plus!

The biggest difficulty we had was that there was no dining room table or natural eating area at all. This makes eating with two children very difficult. So I would not recommend this for families traveling with children.

But for couples or groups of four looking to sightsee and experience the city it's great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: thanks the bed has been replaced with new air mattress

Helpful votes: 38 / 39

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review