reviews for: listing #49675 - Navarre Beach, Florida House rental

Joe's Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Needs Maintenance!!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Let me start by saying the owner was very responsive, although not too helpful.

The property was not worth the price, even after discount, due to the constant maintenance problems we encountered. Below is a list of only a fraction of the issues found...

- AC was not working properly upstairs (temp set at 70, but read 77)
- hot water heater was malfunctioning (not enough hot water)
- surround sound/speakers not working (couldn't use DVD player)
- house was dirty (needed paint in/out, doors & walls nasty)
- clogged bathroom sink
- towel racks falling apart
- no ice dispenser (but had ice-maker; old frig)
- old TV with fading screen
- window & door leak (during rain)
- door handles not functioning (couldn't lock most)
- oven breaker kicked off & top microwave not working
- shower door de-railed
- wine frig iced over
- ants in food
- dirty shower curtain
- cobwebs
- entrance gate not working (got locked in & had to manually disconnect)
- pool was way undersized for neighborhood & not well maintained
- garage/basement locked to block access
- most furniture is old
- leaking bathroom faucet
- master BR ceiling fan creaks (made hard to sleep)
- cracked balcony railing & cracked porch rail mounts (major safety issue!)
- broke bathroom cabinet drawer
- lamp shorting out
- no phones (for emergency)
- bathroom exhaust fans clogged with dust
- major carpet stains
- no inside recycling bin (required to place recyclables in outside recycling bin)
- and much more...

We loved Navarre Beach, the location close to Nat'l Seashore, the inlet view (not much ocean view), and the house's potential. The photos make both the property & house look much better than they really are. The owner just needs to hire a maintenance man. I spent 5 out of 7 days dealing with him on maintenance issues, which was a real hassle to our schedule & privacy.

DO NOT RENT until the house has been properly maintained!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Love this house! Perfect for us and the family we vacationed with. Beautiful views! Comfortable! Everything we needed. The owners are very helpful and nice to work with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

OMG!! Perfect!!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We searched F O R E V E R, before finding this house as the site for my daughter's wedding. She wanted a house for 9 with a private beach so she could walk right out the door to the altar. We chose the house because it had 5 bedrooms with king beds, 4 baths, access to both the Santa Rosa Sound and Gulf beaches, and the pictures posted looked nice. When we saw the house for the first time and walked inside, we were blown away at its beauty. The pictures really do not do justice to the house. It was clean, spacious, more beautiful than the pictures, private, and, in a word - perfect. My daughter chose to have her wedding across the street on the Gulf side, and it was amazing. We are planning a return trip!!!! Thanks, Skip!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

My family loved this house and the beach! The house was in excellent condition, very clean, and accurately described. The owner was very nice, easy to work with, and responded promptly. I would definitely recommend this property. We are planning our vacation here again this year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

T R C

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This house was super for a girls "Get A Way" week. Super spacious and extremely clean and well stocked! Owner Skip was very kind and answered all our questions promptly. Really loved having the beach/bay in back yard for afternoons after a morning spent in the waves at the beach. Hope to visit again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Getaway

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

We had a great time at Skippers Cove. The owners are local and easily accessible and were very acommodating on a special request. However, after that we really never needed to call them for anything. We did meet them at move in and talked on the phone a couple times. Everything was clean and worked properly. The house is laid out well, The house was very pretty and comfortable, the furnishings were fine. I still miss the master bath shower!! We basically felt like we had our own private beach across the street, beautiful setting. LOVED IT. I would recommend it and I would stay again. Navarre Beach by nature is a quieter place. If you are looking for fishing, sunning, swimming and yet not too far from town and restaurants, this is perfect. If you are looking for nightlife and tourist traps, you probably would not want to be at Navarre Beach to begin with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Skipper's Cove

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Great place with a few minor problems, like outdated kitchen equipment, non-working jet tub and a dryer full of sand. Overall I would recommend it for it's location, style and marvelous views. Our family had a great Thanksgiving together, thanks to Skipper's Cove!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The 'outdated kitchen equipment' refers to some cookware in which the non-stick surface had peeled off and the can opener did not work well. The owners have taken a recent (12/8/10) inventory of the kitchen equipment, and replaced the cookware with new a T-Fal Nonstick 18-Piece Cookware set, and also replaced the can opener with a new manual can opener and electric can opener. The jet tub issue was corrected the week of 12/13/10. The 'dryer full of sand' problem refers to some sand which had blown into the dryer vent from the outside and had clogged the vent, thus reducing the heating effectiveness of the dryer. This situation will be monitored by housekeeping and the owners to prevent this from occurring again. .

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Dream Vacation House

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

I can't put it in words how beautiful this house is! We loved this house because of the setting it was in. You feel like you are on your own private island and talk about peaceful! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! We have had a wonderful time, shared alot of laughs, and best of all the kids didn't want to come home. The boys loved fishing in the Sound and the girls looked for crabs. Again thank you and I would highly recommend this house to anyone. May God Bless You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Skipper's Cove was a great house. The photos on the website were really close to the interior/exterior of the house. Beautiful views from every room. The furnishings were nice with an upscale kitchen. The master bedroom bed was a bit uncomfortable. It was beginning to have some "sinking spots" in the mattress. Also, the jets in the tub were not working. The owner was excellent and very quick to respond to getting it fixed.
It was nice to have the swimming pool close to the property since it was a bit of a hike to walk to the beach, especially with small children. All in all, I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Location, Very Nice Home

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We rented this home the week after Christmas for a family vacation. The house was very comfortable and nice - great views of the gulf. Great location to get away from it all and enjoy the beach. We had one problem with a thermostat which we called the owner about and he had a repairman there to fix it the next morning. The owner was very easy to work with. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review