reviews for: listing #49779 - Flagstaff, Arizona House rental

"Little Elk Lodge"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kachina Village
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $225 /nt

sort by:

Great!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

The cabin was just as described. It was clean and comfortable. There was also lots of snow play area by the cabin. I would highly reccommend this rental to any one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

happy

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We had a ball! The owner checked in to be sure all was well. It was clean and was just as the pictures showed. I would recommend to friends and would stay there again. We loved that the owner had sleds available for us to use on the sledding hill that was not far away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great cabin

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It snowed the next day we were there so our kids (4-6) enjoyed the snow right in the property. Eve was quick to respond to any of my inquiries. The place is well stocked with cooking pans, utensils pillows and blankets that we did not need to leave the cabin our whole stay! I will definitely be back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of space!

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

A great place to stay! Very clean (so clean the bathrooms had a strong bleach smell but dissipated after a day), and very roomy. The satellite TV is a little tricky to operate, but the owner was very helpful to get it sorted out. Overall, very comfortable, quiet, and located in beautiful surroundings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Elk Lodge

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The listing description and photos were accurate and the location was perfect for us. The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner was very helpful in answering all y questions and I would definitely recommend Little Elk Lodge to anyone who needs a place to stay near Flagstaff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

The house had everything we needed. The outside backs up to a forest, which is really nice for walks and probably great with snow in the wintertime. We were able to get to Old Town Flagstaff easily as well as some nice fishing with the kids. One of the master bedrooms is a loft, so not great for privacy, but very open and comfortable. The other was downstairs on the garage level and was a bit musty, but a nice size room with a private bath. Overrall, very comfortable and would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Elk Lodge

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Had a great time getting out of the city-- it was rainy, but sat on the HUGE deck and enjoyed the quiet time. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review of little elk

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

The owner was very prompt and helpful when responding to our initial query, and made booking the rental very easy for us first timers from the UK.
The property was as described in the listing. It has 2 spacious double bedrooms (one of which is a mezzanine over the living area) and a 3rd room with 2 single beds. There is a spacious deck at the front of the property which has a sitting/eating area and a gas barbecue which we used liberally for grilling our steaks after a busy day of sight seeing. The heating in the property was excellent and we were warm and toasty at all times.
We found the property clean and well stocked with a plentiful supply of clean towels. During our stay the owner was responsive to any queries we had.
The property was located in the Kachina area about 10mins from central Flagstaff. We found this location great for our needs as we could easily access shops/amenities of flagstaff but still felt 'away from it all'. We mostly ate in the cabin but did venture out to one restaurant in flagstaff called 1889 bar & grill which was good.
Whilst staying here we managed to easily visit the grand canyon, painted desert, petrified forest, red rocks at sedona, sunset crater and Bearizona. We spent the 2nd week of our holiday here following our first week in Scottsdale. We found it it an easy 2 hour drive between Scottsdale and Flagstaff.
There are quite a few steps outside the property to gain access and the 3 bedrooms are over 3 floors, so would not recommend for those with mobility issues, apart from this I would highly recommend to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic cabin!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We stayed at this cabin for a weekend of equestrian competitions at the fairgrounds. Girls weekend was so much more fun than staying at a hotel. The cabin was wonderful, clean, and everything we needed for R&R after the day competing! Thank you Eve! We will be back next year for sure!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The best part about renting the cabin is hearing how much fun our guests had! We love to have our guests visit again and again, like it's their second home :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

comfortable but not what we expected

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

this property has 3 bd and 3 baths and was very roomy and comfortable. kitchen is stocked well. it is very convenient to flagstaff and surrounding areas. could have used ceiling fans in the bedrooms. the neighborhood was less isolated than we expected. from the pictures it appears it's in the woods but actually it's in a mountain neighborhood and the houses are pretty close together. just not as woodsy as we wanted. great deck but it faces the street rather than the woods out back. just depends on what you want out of your time away.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Awesome Last Minute Weekend Get-Away

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We were very fortunate to find this awesome cabin available for our last minute trip up to Flagstaff. The cabin is very roomy, yet comfortable. It is in the perfect location, close to everything... yet set back enough into the woods that you feel like you're truly on vacation. We took a day trip up to the Grand Canyon and walked the awesome town of Flagstaff afterwards. I truly didn't want to leave. I will be booking this place again! Eve was wonderful to work with and very accomodating. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad that you had fun and found the cabin to be so enjoyable. We can't wait for you to visit us again!
Eve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than home...

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Little Elk Lodge was a very welcoming place. We had a full house but you never would have known it. The house is quaint and yet spacious, clean and very well-stocked. The owner is very accomodating and friendly and we just loved the area. It is the best of both worlds: you feel away from it all and yet you are only a few minutes from town. We would recommend it to friends without worry and can't wait to go back!

Owners response: Thank you for your review and we hope you return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Great Christmas Vacation!



Very spacious cabin and great for our Christmas vacation. We had two couples and two teen siblings which left us plenty of room with the two master bedrooms (each with private bathroom) and separate room with two beds and a bathroom. There was a lot of snow and the national forest is literally right out the back door. We went sledding on the hill and had snowball fights in the forest. There is a huge front porch with a grill so we cooked out a few nights. Flagstaff is 15 minutes away so the women weren't far from grocery, clothes, etc. shopping and I wasn't far from Starbucks. The wireless internet access was used simultaneously by 5 of use and we had three laptops and 4 iPads and an iPod Touch with no problems. There is a TV with satellite access but we never used it because it was so nice to lounge around in the evenings and talk, play on our iPads etc. There isn't an indoor wood-burning fireplace which is about the only thing I would change, but there is an electric fireplace which is nice to have on and gives the look of a fireplace.

It's very quiet outside and we never had any disturbance except the dogs next door occasionally barking when we went outdoors. The driveway was pretty icy so we mostly didn't use it and just parked on the street so if you're there in the winter with snow you should consider needing to carry suitcases (can't roll them) up the driveway (~10 yards). We loaded our gear on the sled and pulled it on the ice because we had lots of big suitcases with Christmas presents. I would imagine this place would be phenomenal in the other seasons as well. It's tucked away in a very quiet cul-de-sac yet the city is very accessible. Our teens drove into town and rented snowboards and went for a day trip to Snow Bowl and had a great time snowboarding.

There is a nice laundry room with washer and dryer in very nice shape so you can even pack much lighter than we did.

Eve was very accommodating and easy to work with and provided clear instructions and the cabin was ready when we got there.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Christmas Vacation!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Very spacious cabin and great for our Christmas vacation. We had two couples and two teen siblings which left us plenty of room with the two master bedrooms (each with private bathroom) and separate room with two beds and a bathroom. There was a lot of snow and the national forest is literally right out the back door. We went sledding on the hill and had snowball fights in the forest. There is a huge front porch with a grill so we cooked out a few nights. Flagstaff is 15 minutes away so the women weren't far from grocery, clothes, etc. shopping and I wasn't far from Starbucks. The wireless internet access was used simultaneously by 5 of use and we had three laptops and 4 iPads and an iPod Touch with no problems. There is a TV with satellite access but we never used it because it was so nice to lounge around in the evenings and talk, play on our iPads etc. There isn't an indoor wood-burning fireplace which is about the only thing I would change, but there is an electric fireplace which is nice to have on and gives the look of a fireplace.

It's very quiet outside and we never had any disturbance except the dogs next door occasionally barking when we went outdoors. The driveway was pretty icy so we mostly didn't use it and just parked on the street so if you're there in the winter with snow you should consider needing to carry suitcases (can't roll them) up the driveway (~10 yards). We loaded our gear on the sled and pulled it on the ice because we had lots of big suitcases with Christmas presents. I would imagine this place would be phenomenal in the other seasons as well. It's tucked away in a very quiet cul-de-sac yet the city is very accessible. Our teens drove into town and rented snowboards and went for a day trip to Snow Bowl and had a great time snowboarding.

There is a nice laundry room with washer and dryer in very nice shape so you can even pack much lighter than we did.

Eve was very accommodating and easy to work with and provided clear instructions and the cabin was ready when we got there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an amazing Family Vacation!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Eve was aweome to work with! She was very accomodating and she helped me to schedule this vacation last minute. The cabin is beautiful and was clean and ready when we arrived. My family and I cannot wait to visit again. I highly recommend this cabin "Little Elk Lodge" and Eve to anyone and everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for 2 families

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We have stayed at this property twice. Our first stay was in the winter with another family. We liked it so much we came back in the summer with some realtives.
This is a great place for two small families to share. The bedrooms are each on a different level. All of them have their own baths. We never felt crowded or like we were on top of each other. There is plenty of space. We especially liked the large covered deck with plenty of seating. Great place to have your morning coffee, or BBQ on the grill. The home backs up to National Forest and was great for the kids to sled in the winter and explore in the summer. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to prepare meals. The property is only a short drive to downtown Flagstaff and Lake Mary. The owners are very accomodating and are always available if you should need them. This home is exactly how it is described, no smoke and mirrors.
We look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lots of room and nice

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Little Elk Lodge. The owner was very easy to work with and the entire process was very smooth. The house was very clean and it had LOTS of space for everyone to sleep. It was a very nice weekend and we had the opportunity to sit on the large front porch to watch and smell the rain.

Thanks and we will definitely stay with you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Our goal is to provide a wonderful experience at an affordable rate. Hope you give us a try.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review